Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Mt. Hood Rhododendron Listing #924

Marshall's Cabin in Rhododendron - Rhododendron, OR

64 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 7 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 1 Twin Bed 3 Bedrooms 1.5 Bathrooms 4 Dog Max  4WD/Traction May Be Required In Winter
64987 E.Lupine Drive, Rhododendron, OR 97049

Dog-friendly cabin w/private hot tub, shared pool and sauna

In Rhododendron, settle in to this comfortable Tudor-style vacation home nestled in the foothills of Mt. Hood, tucked away in the little residential community of Timberline Rim. This three-bedroom vacation cabin is loaded with charm and character, and you'll feel right at home snuggling in front of the wood stove, sitting down to a hearty breakfast in the morning, relaxing in the hot tub in the backyard or chatting around the backyard table, surrounded by tall trees. Besides skiing, hiking, and biking in the area, you'll also have a garage game room with a small pool table and foosball.

Inside, the atmosphere is stylishly and comfortably rustic, with a beautiful wood beamed ceiling, cozy furniture, decorative pillows, and designer wall colors. There's a wood stove for warmth and ambiance and a TV with a DVD player for fun movie nights with friends or family. Of course, you may just want to spend a quiet afternoon on the sofa with a mug of hot tea and a good book, while the snow falls down outside.

The eat-in kitchen is large and open, with a farm-style, wooden table, shiny countertops, hardwood floors, and all the appliances needed for everything from gourmet meals to light snacks. There's even a coffee grinder for fresh beans every morning!

In the garage, you'll find a game room, a washer and dryer, and extra storage space if needed for skis, hiking equipment, or golf clubs. In the peaceful, fully fenced backyard with a hot tub, there's a gas grill for outdoor meals, and plenty of space for the kids or dogs to run around and play.

Back inside, all three bedrooms are located upstairs, along with a full bathroom - the half bath is conveniently located downstairs, near the kitchen. There's a bedroom with bright colors and a king sized bed, a queen room, and a bedroom with a twin-over-full bunk bed. All the bedrooms have comfortable bedding and nice accents. This home will comfortably sleep seven guests, as well as being dog-friendly (though a nightly fee per dog and a minimum fee per stay will apply)!

The neighborhood of Timberline Rim includes a seasonal pool and a tennis court at the Timberline Ridge Recreation Club. Other summer activities near Rhododendron include bird watching, hiking, biking, fly fishing in the Sandy River, and rafting.

Come wintertime, this little town along the Mt. Hood Scenic Byway is close to a number of different ski resorts, making it an ideal destination for snow sports. Mt Hood Ski Bowl is 16 miles away and the famous Timberline Lodge is only a 35 minute drive from the house. Plan the day there for world class skiing or snowboarding, followed by hot cocoa in front of the lodge's roaring fireplace.

In the surrounding National Forest lands, there are also multiple trails for snowshoeing or cross-country skiing. For a cozy mountain getaway and Mt. Hood winter (or summer) adventure, look no further than this charming vacation cabin!

Read more Read less 



Ski In/Out
Adult Bikes
Basketball Court

Board Games

Boogie Board
Canoe available for guest use
Child Bikes
Child Games


Game Room

Gaming System (Game console)

Golf On-Site
Gym/Fitness Room
Ping Pong
Pool Table



Baby Gates
High Chair
Not Suitable For Children


Free Continental Breakfast
Heated Pool
Infinity Pool
Rooftop Pool


Gas Fireplace

Washer Dryer : Private

Wood Fireplace
Central AC
Partial AC
Bed & Breakfast
Indoor Pool
Kids' Pool
Plunge Pool
Salt-Water Pool
Disability Access
Jet Tub

Pool : Shared

Propane/Gas Home

Sauna : Shared

Space Heater

Wood Stove


Internet : Comcast


Cable : Comcast

DVD Library

DVD Player

Netflix Streaming
Sound Dock


VHS Library

Wireless Router

HBO Streaming


Electric Vehicle Charger (EV Charger)
Beach Towels Provided
Snowbird Friendly
Paid Parking Only
Airport shuttle (free)


Hot Tub : Private

Gas Grill : Private

Beach Chairs


Enclosed Yard

Outdoor Fire


Walk to Lifts


Gulf View
Gulf Front

64 Reviews

Jack B. May 2018
Excellent weekend away. Loved the private backyard, and the private hot tub! Close to all of the major trails!
Heather L. May 2018
We were looking for a place to stay that was close to home but provided a peaceful getaway. Marshall's cabin is clean, well equipped (even down to towels specific for the hottub to toiletries, to foil and cling wrap in the kitchen!) We appreciated the nice & quiet backyard for the four legged kiddos as well as the comfy king size bed. It was just the two of us with the four legged kiddos this time however we are already planning the next trip when we can bring friends. Side note - Ivy Bear pizza up the street is awesome!! :)
David A. March 2018
Perfectly equipped, hot tub was clean and wonderful after a day on the slopes, wood stove kept it nice and cozy and plenty of supplied firewood, game room was a plus! Would definitely recommend.
Tanya P. January 2018
Cabin is misleading, this place has it all. Amazing house with a great hot tub, dvd library if that's your thing. One of the most noticeable things this host has done well is provide a fully stocked kitchen.
I can not recommended this place strongly enough.
Eli A. January 2018
Grew up in the area as a yoing boy. Fun to bring my 1 year old son here!
Lisa H. January 2018
My family and I stayed in the Marshall Cabin and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The beds were very comfortable and the home had everything we needed for our stay. The location was very easy for all our adventures. I would definitely rent this property again and recommend it to others.
Holly B. October 2017
We (family of 3) and our friends (family of four plus a dog) stayed here for two nights. It was a great little place - I wouldn't try to have any more people than we had though! The backyard is very nice, as was the wood stove. We were nice and warm. The hot tub was also great. Overall, the cabin was clean and cozy, and you can't beat the Welches area. Gorgeous trails to hike and great places to eat and hang out. The only frustrating thing about our stay was getting the TV to work. The cable was pretty much useless, but there was a nice selection of DVDs to keep us and the kids entertained. I wish they just had Netflix or something like it.
Patrick K. October 2017
We really enjoyed staying here and would recommend it to families with small children. They had everything we needed. Well kept and well appointed. Very comfortable beds and beautiful kitchen. The backyard was a real treat. Enjoyed the hot tub and game room. Great property.
Sarah B. October 2017
If you’re looking to getaway that’s not too far from civilization, this is your cabin. Very comfortable, clean and welcoming. In addition to the well stocked kitchen, the backyard patio with the hot tub and mood-lights were definitely the highlights. There’s tons of great outdoor adventures to enjoy nearby and it was great to return to the cabin and relax after a long day of exploring.
Nicole A. August 2017
First, I'll start by saying that Marshall's Cabin is a cute little house. Our family of 6 and our dog fit comfortably, but I can't imagine squeezing anymore than that. The kitchen is well stocked (except for a can opener and wine glasses). The beds are very comfortable. There are plenty of towels. Lots of board games. PS2 console and games and a decent collection of DVDs. The game room kept our family entertained for hours. The bathroom is small, but the water pressure in the shower is great. The community pool was a nice treat. Be aware of the hours though. (No evening/night swimming) The location of the house seems to be a bit out of the way. Expect a 10-20 minute car ride to get anywhere. Also, make sure you stop at Fred Meyer in Sandy for your supplies. The local market charges twice the amount. Marshall's Cabin is a nice place to get away.

While I realize that Vacasa has no control over the weather, during our stay there was a heat wave. Triple digit heat in a house with no AC was absolutely miserable and made it very difficult to enjoy our stay. Maybe during unexpected inclement weather there could be exceptions to the cancellation/refund policy or better fans/window AC's could be provided to make your guests more comfortable.

Stephanie D. July 2017
Pool was overcrowded however the lady at the pool house was very nice and helpful. The hot tub was a good size but even with the chlorine tabs the water was still green. The yard a was large and private but the rad right behind was rather loud.
Shannon H. June 2017
I rented this special cabin for a few days of R&R before summiting Mt Hood. The well stocked fireplace created a cozy mood for a fun gathering of friends earlier in the week and this place is stocked with EVERYTHING you may need! The hot tub was a fabulous way to end the week and celebrate and recover after climbing the volcano. The dog-friendly, fenced backyard was a game changer as the dog could safely join us off-leash in the backyard so we could all relax and unwind. Despite it's close proximity to a sometimes busy road, it was surprisingly quiet and relaxing.
Melissa J. May 2017
This place is great for a weekend away. Small or large groups, this place has everything you need.
Ashley D. February 2017
This cabin is only a little over a hour drive from portland . My boyfriend and our dog wanted to get away for a weekend and this was the perfect spot. The house was clean, we loved the fireplace, hot tub, and fully fenced in backyard for our pup was awesome. The sandy river is only a short walk away. We will definitely be back and tell our friends and family about this place.
Jaclyn S. February 2017
What a cozy house tucked away in the mountains! We enjoyed our stay and had a wonderful time skiing on Mt. Hood. What made it even better was coming "home" to a nice hot tub! We will definitely be coming back again. Thank you!
Deborah G. January 2017
Kitchen had plenty of gadgets & utensils. Loved the decor. Hot tub was our favorite to use at night.
Michelle S. January 2017
This was our first experience with vacasa and it was great! Very simple process to book a home even last minute - house was great - easy to use website etc. it's my new vacation rental company!
Carolyn R. December 2016
This place has everything! All the dishes and cookware you need from a hearty breakfast to a nice family dinner. Lots of games and the DVD movies were amazing! The hot tub was wonderful! So much to do if you are snowed in and want to relax with family. Only a short drive to Ski Bowl and all the great ski parks. Can't wait to go there again!!!
RANDALL L. December 2016
This was a much needed vacation for my family and Vacasa made it easy. The home was great. Very accessible and easy to get to hiking and great food.
Nicole S. November 2016
The cabin was very nice and cozy, my kids enjoyed the games in the garage. The backyard is really nice, and would be great in the summer. Would have liked a better equipped pantry, I've been in homes with more of a stocked pantry and left things at home because figured it would be there. Overall was a nice place to stay for a couple days.
Cassy H. September 2016
We had an amazing time at this rental. My husband and I chose this cabin for our outside wedding. the back yard was the perfect place. Even though it was a downpour, I couldn't have been more pleased.
Amanda O. September 2016
We had a great weekend at this cabin! We had a group of six and our 13 month old! The layout of the house was very open and comfortable! The darts and hot tub where a hit! Very clean and well stocked kitchen to feed a group! Would stay again and recommend this to family and friends! :)
Catherine R. September 2016
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here. The yard is spacious (and fenced), and there are lots of fun things to do: horseshoe pit, mini billiards table, bikes, etc. The house is a great location for outdoors activities on Mt Hood, and the community has a pool, tennis court and access to a park on the Sandy River. We were quite comfortable in the cabin! We would stay here again - but I'd bring my own knives. The ones there are so dull as to be practically unusable. Also, I'd give the counters and table a good wipe-down myself: Everything was sticky and grimy. Yuck.
Maribeth H. July 2016
Great cabin, great location, perfect yard for our dog, comfy bed, super clean. We will definitely stay here again!
Stephen V. May 2016
We arrived at the house on Friday evening and enjoyed getting settled in. After our daughter was asleep I went out to turn on/up the hot tub, only to find that the water was green and definitely hadn't been treated recently. Super disappointing. So we went back in the house and started a fire in the nice fireplace. About an hour later, a mouse ran out from under the closet door directly across the room from us. Our dog shot off his bed and chased it, barking like crazy, of course waking our two year old up who was sleeping directly above us. We plugged the door gap with a towel and went upstairs to bed. Around 3am, our dog spotted another mouse upstairs and went running after it again. After a restless night, Saturday was a bummer. Our daughter was cranky, we were tired but wanting to get out of the house so we could stop thinking about the next time a mouse popped out. I called Vacasa three times on Saturday - finally talked to someone 5 hours after placing my first call. They said they'd notify the property manager and get someone out to help - no one called or showed up. Did Vacasa tell the owners anything? Who knows, we have no way of checking the status besides calling the number that was given. This screwed up our evening plans as we wanted to stay close to the house if we needed to let someone in. Other things like the fridge being ridiculously loud, the bathroom room heater not working and the gutters being packed full of leaves which made the water shoot right over them added to the frustration.

I love the house, the location and the setup. Overall, we came away feeling unsupported by Vacasa and/or the property owners. We'd stay in the area again, but likely with another rental company.
Manager Response:
We are very sorry to see that this was not a more relaxing stay. The hot tub should have been serviced prior to the guest's arrival, and we are disappointed to see that it was missed. We will work with the spa company to make sure this is not an issue in the future. The Property Manager has addressed the mouse problem, but this home is located in the foothills and does get some nature indoors at times. This guest was refunded for their troubles and our slow responses to them.
Tara M. April 2016
We had a great stay at Marshall's cabin. We were especially impressed with the well-stocked kitchen.
Bart Markkus V. April 2016
Everything about the place was cozy, accomodating, and well supplied. All the necessary ammenities needed and more! Woodstove, Bbque and fenced bk yard were my favorites since I have 2 dogs. Location/ convenience to Mt Hood for all activities is 30 mins away. I will be staying here again!
Sandy S. February 2016
Very nice, clean........
Andy G. February 2016
Melissa E. January 2016
We rent vacation rentals several times a year and I dislike having to post something negative. The house was very clean. Unfortunately the hot tub did not work when we arrived so we weren't able to use it the first night and most of the first day until we were able to get a hold of someone to help. Once fixed it was nice.

Biggest disappointment was the so called 'game room.' We had our choice of several rentals when we booked because we planned our trip early and we specifically chose this one because we had kids with us and we wanted to the game room. The game room was falsely advertised and was unusable. Very disappointing.

Good location
Nice fenced yard

Game room not as described- pool table is small and worn, ping pong table missing a net, basketball hoop broken, dart board unusable because all darts were broken.

Other items in house were broken upon arrival- kitchen drawers and kitchen table chairs (not the end of the world, just made it a challenge to fully utilize).

Lacking basic amenities- we had to purchase dish soap, trash bags, dish sponge, paper towel.
Manager Response:
Thank you for your response. We apologize that the game-room and kitchen were not up to standards and that you were missing items that should be replenished for each guest. We will work on making sure that does not happen again in the future. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Mark D. December 2015
This is a good place to go and relax. About 15 miles to government camp. The location is really in ZigZag and was hoping it was closer to the mountain. Knowing where it is now I will definitely stay there again. I recommend this cabin for a relaxing family get away.
Michael H. December 2015
This home was wonderful! They think of everything to help you have the best stay. The home was warm, clean and inviting. The hot tub was fantastic. I can not say enough good things about this home! Plan on coming back many more times through the years.
Christy T. August 2015
Loved staying at Marshalls cabin. Very private, pool close by and private hot tub were an awesome treat. Very close to the river and Ski Bowl. Can't wait to go back!
Andy G. August 2015
We had a terrific time, albeit short, at Marshall's Cabin. It was very clean, well appointed and comfortable. If you have kids and dogs, this is a dynamite place to stay! We were wishing we had booked an additional night and were sad to leave. We'll be back next summer.
Darlene L. August 2015
T.V. and associated electronics only worked sporatically. Bad cords or connections. Beds were comfortable. Drunk neighbors came in around 3:00 AM in the morning with their dogs barking. The noise woke up my wife and I. Over-all, not a bad place, but probably would not come back again.
Manager Response:
We are disappointed to see that you did not have a more enjoyable experience; we will take care of the electronics so our guests can rely on having that entertainment during nights in or rainy days. We hope you were cozy and got to enjoy the hot tub!
Rachel R. July 2015
It was a peaceful cabin to stay in for a couple of nights. The back patio/yard was very private and serene. The house itself could use some minor updating (new sofa, working windows/screens, better electronics), but overall, clean and comfortable. The pool/community center is a short walk away, which was great! We'd stay here again.
Rebecca J. May 2015
The cabin was very clean and comfortable. The only a couple of recommendations for things. There weren't any matches or lighters to get the woodstove going, we couldn't chop any wood with the tiny axes and the floor and counter tops were sticky
Gary W. April 2015
It could use some updating and repairs but was a fun place to stay. We had our family with us and everyone had a good time
Margaret P. February 2015
I recently moved to the Portland area and have been wanting to plan a weekend getaway to see Mt. Hood. I had planned on staying in Government Camp so the drive to the snow would not be so far but since there wasn't much snow on the ground it suited us just fine to stay a little further out. The subdivision was easy to get to and the neighbors were all very nice. The house was nicely appointed and had everything we could possibly need. There were 5 adults and one infant so the house was the perfect size. Having the half bath downstairs was helpful. The house was clean, well stocked and cozy. The garage/game room was an additional bonus. The only issue we had was the hot tub (which was the "must have " amenity) smelled a little like mildew on the second night. Other than that we had a perfect family getaway and would definitely rent this property again.
Tamara H. December 2014
We had a wonderful time staying at this home. We had two couples and two singles -- the house fit us perfectly. We were a little disappointed that the pool table was quite small -- but other than that the house met and exceeded our expectations. We weren't all on the same sleep schedule and the house's acoustics were good enough that the TV and conversation noise from downstairs didn't travel upstairs (to the master bedroom). All in all we had a wonderful time and I would stay here again!
Mary B. December 2014
We were delighted with this property and will consider again. The kitchen was well stocked to cook a large dinner. Plenty of dishes and glassware. Great coffee mugs. Our only note to self is to bring better knives as you can't expect a rental to provide good heavy knives for chopping etc. The beds and linens were all exceptional!!!! There is a great playroom with many kid friendly games for when it is raining - We had lots of rain. The hot tub was also exceptionally comfortable and able to fit all 7 of us. Great walking neighborhood and friendly neighbors. I would recommend this property to any of our friends!
Manager Response:
Thank you for sharing your Thanksgiving holiday with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the home and for the great recommendation.
Christina R. November 2014
We had a good time at this cabin. The kitchen was supplied with all necessary appliances. The house was clean. We played Wii, sat in the hot tub, and went on excursions to Mt. Hood. The local coffee shop (Coffee Brewsters) has some good coffee and pastries. We will be back for sure.
Don A. July 2014
The house was just fine. The kitchen was well-equipped. The internet and TV were good. Everything was very clean and tidy and we felt comfortable. The transition cleaners and maintenance staff were so helpful. The house is in a little sub-division in the woods with a shared pool and sauna. There is shopping nearby.
Manager Response:
Thank you for this review. Its great to hear you enjoyed this great cabin and that you would choose to stay with us again.
Pamela D. May 2014
We stayed here for a girls retreat and were happy with the cabin and area. Everything was clean and orderly - we had everything we needed! The hot tub was relaxing once we got it to the right temperature. At checkout, we appreciated not having to launder all the bedding - that takes so long when you are packing up to leave. We did, however, start the laundry of towels for the cleaning person. :)
Shellie B. May 2014
We had a wonderful mountain get away for Mother's Day. Although it rained the whole time, the house was cozy and had everything we needed to entertain ourselves. The hot tub is amazing and plenty of games to enjoy for hours. We didn't even touch the garage game room. All adults this trip. We will bring the kids next go around and maybe schedule out in late summer, early fall. I have rented several vacation homes and I really appreciated the cleanliness and hotel feel this house had with towels and toiletries, but the hominess of the décor and furnishings.
Manager Response:
Thank you for this feedback. While we're sorry to hear that the weather didn't cooperate with you, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in the home. It's excellent praise that you felt that you had the amenities of a hotel and the comfort of a home. We hope you come again!
Jane D. March 2014
We had a great stay at the Marshall's Cabin. It was comfortable and cozy but still roomy enough for our family of 4 (parents and teenage boys) and 2 dogs. We will definitely be making future reservations!
Manager Response:
We are glad to hear your family enjoyed your stay. Sounds like it was a great fit! Please do come again.
Amanda R. January 2014
My boyfriend, his children (8 & 11), myself, and my children (17 & 18) had a great time. The cabin has plenty of space, videos, and games (including a game room) for all of us to enjoy. We spent each day either at Timberline or Ski Bowl and enjoyed coming back to soak in the hot tub, cook dinner in the nice-sized kitchen, and then relax with a board game or a movie.
We highly recommend it for its location, price, and amenities. We are considering booking it again for later this year.