USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Florence Listing #1034

Fisherman's Cottage - Florence, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
71 reviews
Max. occupancy: 2 1 Double Bed 0 bedrooms 1 bathroom 4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Cozy & Well-Decorated Cabin with Close Beach Access - Dog Friendly

Plan a romantic getaway for two or a solo coast retreat at this cute and rustic Florence vacation cottage! Adorably provincial, yet still elegant, this quaint little spot near Heceta Beach features soothing colors and reclaimed wood accents for a relaxing beach vacation year-round.

It's comparable to a hotel room, but even better because you'll have your own little freestanding cabin to enjoy, with a kitchenette and just a short walk down to the shore. A small sitting area has a rich brown leather couch, TV and a DVD player. You can pop some microwave popcorn and settle in for a night of movies and snuggling on the couch.

When it's time to retire, a full sized bed is tucked away in a nook, with a small bathroom just a few steps away. There, you'll have a shower, as well as a sink located just outside of the bathroom for added convenience. If the bathroom is occupied by your companion, there'll be no wait to brush your teeth or wash your face at the end of the day!

When it's time for meals or snacks, this Fisherman's Cottage includes a kitchenette with a microwave, mini-fridge, and a small eating area. Perfect for heating up leftovers, small breakfasts, or enjoying take-out feasts. In the mornings, there's also a coffee maker if you don't feel like making the trek into town for a caffeine fix.

This cottage will comfortably sleep up to two guests, as well as the family dog (though a nightly fee per dog and a minimum fee per stay will apply). Other amenities include an outdoor fire pit - come back from a dinner out and roast marshmallows for dessert. You can even make s'mores!

Just a short walk away is easy beach access at Driftwood Shores Resort, which also includes the Surfside Restaurant for meals out within easy walking distance of your cottage. Start the day here for breakfast, then head down to the shore and fly a kite or watch for whales in the winter and spring.

For more restaurant choices, make the short six-mile drive to historic Old Town Florence for many other options - fish and chips and chowder at Mo's, crab-encrusted halibut at the Waterfront Depot Restaurant, or caesar salads and grilled Coho salmon at La Pomodori Ristorante. In Old Town, there are also a number of galleries to browse, shops to explore, and even the Siuslaw Pioneer Museum for learning about the area's history.

Just to the south of town, after a short and scenic drive along highway 101, you'll come to the Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area. Watch the off-road vehicles navigate the sweeping dunes, hike around, or just capture some great photographs to share with your friends back home.

Just an hour and a half from Eugene or three hours from Portland, this cozy Central Oregon Coast vacation rental is a great escape for two at the scenic South Oregon Coast!

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.


Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Space heater

House rules


Kitchen & dining




Beach access


Internet : Dish Network



DVD player

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf nearby


Beach towels


Enclosed yard

71 reviews

Sharleen H. Nov 2022
Perfect walk to the beach!
Joseph B. Nov 2022
We loved how quite the area is
Rebecca C. Nov 2022
We had an okay stay here. The location was convenient, and we had easy access to Florence and the Cape Perpetual Scenic Area. But the house wasn't very clean. There was hair on the floor and other cleanliness problems. Some of the outlets and lights didn't work. We were comfortable in early November with the two space heaters. The bathroom is small but fine. Having a sink outside of the bathroom was convenient. Our main complaint was that we didn't feel the house was especially clean, but otherwise it was fine for what we paid for it.
Manager response:
Hi, Rebecca! We're glad you stayed with us and appreciate you leaving your feedback. Our property manager has spoken with housekeeping about your cleanliness concerns. Thank you!
Rich W. Nov 2022
Rustic and clean. Great location. This cabin is a great stay. It was my wife and our dogs and we loved it. Would highly recommend.
anna s. Oct 2022
Cozy and mostly clean. Perfect for one person/couple and a larger dog. Short walk to the beach is great. A couple of minor issues. The access was tricky with both access gates super rickety and hard to open. The one closer to the parking has sharp screws sticking threw where the latch is and the gate itself was falling apart. Not secure for a small dog. The other gate had no latch and the space below was enough a small dog could fit under.
Moldy shower curtain super gross.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Anna, we hope you were able to enjoy your stay. Thank you for sharing your feedback and bringing some items to our attention that may need some TLC. Please know that your feedback is essential, and we have passed your comments along to our local manager, who will work with the homeowner to make any updates. We truly hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future.
Kylee F. Sep 2022
Really cute small cabin. Has a lot for cooking. The bed was quite comfortable, but pillows were flat. The shower had good water pressure.
There were no channels for the tv(there are a few dvds to watch), we found a puzzle in the cupboard which we really enjoyed.
The wifi is quite weak and sometimes doesn’t work.
Could use curtains on all windows to keep the morning light out.
Quick walk to the beach!
Edwin K. Aug 2022
If the place was looked after a little bit it could be a nice little rental for a couple or a single person.
Several of the lights didn't work. I didn't even check to see why.
There was about an inch and a half gap between the bottom of the door and the floor. My wife who is deathly afraid of snakes squeezed a thick quilt that we had brought with us into the gap for peace of mind.
The bathroom is WAY too small.
The fence that surrounds it is in real disrepair and the gate from the parking area is completely falling apart.
All in all I would not rent it again. The money we spent could have gotten us a much more comfortable hotel room.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Edwin. We sincerely apologize for the challenges you and your party experienced during your stay. It is always our goal to provide a relaxing and carefree getaway for our guests, and we are disappointed to hear that we dropped the ball this time. Our local team has addressed several maintenance repairs and updates, and a deep clean has been performed. We have followed up with the appropriate parties to make sure our service standards are met. We would love a second chance to provide you with the great vacations we are known for in the future.
Melanie B. Jul 2022
Although small, quite comfortable for two. Very well appointed and very clean. This little shack has been converted and the interior is just adorable. We had a nice little fire in the fire pit outside. The place could use one more folding chair for the fire area. It was a quick walk to the beach. The kitchen faucet needs tightening and some of the lights did not come on in the back part of the cottage. I would recommend this cottage if you don’t mind small spaces. The bathroom is tiny but shower had good pressure. We did not cook but it was adequately stocked with a small supply of dishes and kitchen stuff if you wanted to make a little breakfast or something. The larger house above took up both parking spots so we had to park in the front alleyway. Would stay here again if back in the area. Two thumbs up!
Carl R. Jul 2022
I loved staying at the fisherman’s cottage for five days, close to the beach, everything we needed, air fryer was a surprise.
John O. Jun 2022
Very close to the beach; perfect one person spot!
Peter J. May 2022
If you like beds that feel like you're sleeping on a kids pool full of slinkies, you've found the perfect space.

Also, if you enjoy having a half bath when you're promised 1.5 baths, here ya go!

Like terrible wifi coverage, this place will feel like heaven. So you want to regret going on vacation because the accommodations are bad. Look no further.
Manager response:
HI Peter, thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We have updated our listing to accurately reflect that this home offers one bathroom. We have also passed your valuable feedback about the home to our local manager so they can work to improve the house for future guests. We hope to have the chance to better impress you in the future.
keith b. Apr 2022
It was clean and comfortable and very private short walk to the beach was perfect
Aminta H. Jan 2022
I loved the cabin feel, very cute! The place was nicely warmed with the two space heaters. I had issues with the outlets working for me but that might have been my plug. I love the privacy. Parking a bit tight. Thank you gor a great stay .
laura m. Oct 2021
Close to the beach
Good hot water

Don’t forget some DVD’s
Bed and pillows could use an upgrade
Jennifer S. Jul 2021
It’s a very short drive to the beach.
Richard W. Mar 2021
The weather was terrible but the cottage was warm and dry. We had a little ant problem, but we did not have food out so it wasn’t too bad. I would not even mention the internet connection because it is practically useless to non existent. The cabin was just what the pictures show and no surprises. The people who rent the house need to be told to park to one side so the cottage renters will have a place to park without parking in the shrubs. Thank you.
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback, Richard. We hope you enjoyed your stay at this adorable cottage, and we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. We're happy to report that the ants have been sprayed and a new network has been added for better internet performance. We hope you'll visit again soon!
Stephanie H. Mar 2021
This cottage is super adorable! This was the perfect getaway for myself and the hubby. Close to the beach and much more private than I expected. We will definitely be returning here.
(Could use a newer hot plate:)
Manager response:
Hello, Stephanie! We're delighted to hear that you and your hubby had a wonderful, relaxing vacation away from it all at this charming cottage! We appreciate your feedback and have passed your comment regarding the hot plate to the local manager so that they can work with the homeowner to get it replaced. We hope to host you again soon for another memorable stay!
Jan B. Feb 2021
Loved this little cottage. Perfect for two. Clean, comfortable and cozy. Rustic and simple( nothing fancy)with only a two minute walk to the beach.
Our US Cellular phones did not work inside, nor could we connect to the WiFi with any of our devices, but that was not a problem for us. Would recommend and would definitely stay here again ourselves.❤️
Manager response:
Hi, Jan! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Service is spotty in the area, but the homeowner is putting in a mesh network to help with the WiFi. Thank you!
tuesday h. Jan 2021
this little cabin is perfect for you and your partner to get away for a few nights, it’s right around the corner from the beach and still close to town.
it can get a little chilly, but the provided space heaters and extra blankets are enough to keep you cozy while you snuggle up and watch a movie. the little fire pit outside is great for toasting up marshmallows (although you’ll need to bring camp chairs & firewood)
it’s not luxurious, just a cute, simple space to spend a weekend to get away from “real life”
Emilie S. Dec 2020
Cozy little cabin just a short walk from a fairly secluded beach. We loved hearing the rain on the tin roof and enjoyed the location and excellent hikes. Florence is an amazing town! The place was pretty clean and had some nice touches. Only 1 of the 3 space heaters seemed to work so it was a bit cold and it could use some extra outlets....maybe a power strip. We had a great time there.
Manager response:
Emilie, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We confirm that more space heaters will be added to the home. We look forward to hosting you again!
Mike E. Aug 2020
The Cottage is just perfect for two. It’s about 2 blocks from the beach & the neighborhood is quiet. If there is a large group at the main house, they can be a little loud for your tastes (especially if they have a bunch of kids). Their back porch faces directly into your space.
The small ‘patio’ area with a small fire pit is nice & out of the wind, but make sure to bring some beach chairs to totally enjoy the space.
I’d also recommend a small camp stove or butane cook stove. They do supply a hot plate, toaster oven & out dated microwave.
The space can get chilly at night, but we put a towel under the door as there is about a 1” gap that throws cold air right into the cottage.
All in all, we’d stay again! It’s small, but just what we needed to get away from Portland for a few days.
Carly B. Aug 2020
Just the two of us stayed here with our dogs. The closed yard was very nice to have with our dogs with us. Cottage was small, but cozy.
I would recommend this place , but with a few tips:
There is little to no cell service at the house, so prepare for that. ( it worked out for us because we were avoiding our phones and social media)
WiFi is available but VERY spotty. Only could get it to connect in one spot in the home.
Shower is very small, but the water warms up quick and stays hot for a while.
The toilet acted slightly sketchy at one point, but seemed to straighten itself out.
There is a DVD player so bring movies :)
Beach access is great! Only a few minute walk!
With windows open house stays very cool and comfy!
Dishes were a bit sparse, so maybe bring your own(disposable) ones. But cooking utensils (pots pans, hot plate, microwave, and toaster oven) were all accounted for!

This cottage was PERFECT for our stay! It served its purpose, and was very cozy! I would definitely recommend for a 2-person(multi-dog) escape from reality!!
Manager response:
Hi, Carly! The owner is planning on updating some of the kitchen items, and the property manager is working on the WiFi. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again!
Wanda P. Jun 2020
I loved that it was so close to the beach. It's a rustic cabin but I was comfortable.
Jeff F. Feb 2020
All very cozy. We had a really enjoyable stay, however, bc my car ran into problems I was stranded for a bit. There is spotty cell service bc of the location which would not have been an issue had their been internet service, as advertised. The lack of both internet and cell service just added to my problems.
Manager response:
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, Jeff. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for any internet issues you experienced. The home offers internet access via satellite service, while it is equipped and functioning, service can sometimes be disrupted during inclement weather. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused. We hope to host you again in the future!
Colleen F. Oct 2019
Clean, quiet and peaceful. Bring movies if you want to watch TV only a vcr. No wifi or cable. It's designed for fishing. It was good.
Lauren M. Sep 2019
The cottage is in a great location for beach access. We were able to walk over to the beach in just a couple minutes.
It's very cozy inside, but not too small. We slept well, maybe even a little too long. The window above where the bed is situated didn't get too much light coming in.
The cottage is darling, and we would definitely stay there again.
Ron R. May 2019
Price/ cute
Christopher M. Apr 2019
Perfect little spot in Florence with all the essentials for a great stay. Will definitely book again!
Christine G. Oct 2018
Clean and cozy cottage.
Jarod T. Sep 2018
It was perfect for my wife and I, so cute and comfortable 😊
Robert K. Sep 2018
Cozy little place if you like peace and quiet with great access to Heceta Beach
Nancy D. Aug 2018
Such a cute little quaint place. It felt cozy and a little rustic. I loved It! Very close to the ocean too.
Hutch H. Jun 2018
Loved the cottage. Will definitely be back!
Carol A. Mar 2018
This place was as advertised rustic and simple, close to the beach 0.2 miles. Near the Surfside restruant which has a great view and a decent breakfast (Dinne just OK for price). I was able to connect to wireless with my phone but not my comouter. I am a writer and I often have to look things up so I would have liked a stronger signal. I had phone service for texts (Verizon) and my email came through to my phone so that was OK, My dog loved the small yard.
Gregory D. Dec 2017
This place is VERY small! It is not a place to stay at, it's a place to sleep at, at best. The cottage is very close to the beach as well as to Florence but do not plan on spending a lot of time in the house as it's uncomfortable, drafty and not worth the money paid.
John S. Dec 2017
The place is a small, rustic cottage with "coastal" atmosphere. There is no stove, but a microwave, etc. You need both space heaters to warm it up, but the shower is hot and full. No cell or TV reception. It's fine if you don't want a view - it is well set back from the beach. Also, the quoted price does not include cleaning fee, local tax, and reservation 'tax.'
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest was not happier with their experience. We feel the home is accurately represented via pictures and description so our guests can anticipate what their stay will (or will not) entail. Thank you!
TIFFANY H. Sep 2017
Leave technology behind, un-plug and relax. Walk to the beach, fly a kite enjoy some good wine around the fire pit. Simple and pleasant and comfortable. We brought our portable BBQ and grilled up some fantastic salmon kabobs with veggies from the farmstand. Did some yoga while listening to the rain on the tin roof, very soothing. I would stay here again
Peter D. Sep 2017
My wife and I enjoyed our stay here. We would love to stay there again. A few little updates and landscaping could take this cottahe to the next level of comfort. Overall though its a fun place.
Robert B. Aug 2017
The house was easy to find. The parking was good. It is a short walk to the beach, but not on the beach.
Jami T. Aug 2017
This is a great place to unplug, relax, and get away from it all. I was quite comfortable in this little cottage for two nights during a solo road trip up the coast. It did not feel cramped (except in the bathroom) despite its small size. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Be aware that the large house on the propert is also rented out; when I stayed there, a group of 6 young people (early 20's) stayed and got a little noisy in the evenings. Otherwise, this neighborhood is super quiet. Bring socks; the painted concrete floor is not conducive to bare feet. This really is a sweet little cottage; I would definitely stay again.
Donay C. Jun 2017
We just loved the Fisherman's Cottage! It was a charming little place just perfect for my Son and I.
Everything we needed was so close and yet the cottage was cozy, quiet and pretty. The beach was a short walk away and driving to town or to the Heceta Head Lighthouse was quick.

Our excursions were the Heceta Head Lighthouse, Hobbit Beach, Old Florence, the Museum, fresh crab from the Crab Pot, the Sea Lion Cave, ice cream at BJ's, dinner at Bridgewater, and Homegrown, the bookstore where we purchased books on cds for the drive home, and of course the tide pools near Tokatee Creek, Cape Cove, and walking Heceta Beach. We topped off one day by watching a DVD about Moby Dick on the player at the cottage.

If you are looking for a pretty little place just right for two, on a budget, this is your spot. Just sweep the sand out the door and it's just as cute and tidy as ever.
Brenda W. May 2017
This small cabin is best for guest that like a primitive atmosphere. I was pretty happy there and would stay again. My friend enjoys more amenities like television. There was a television for playing dvds but no cable. Also, limited mobility might be a challenge. The bathroom is very small with a step up. Overall we both enjoyed our stay.
Christina A. May 2017
Upon arrival you first notice, no cell service. At all. I got there when house cleaning crew was finishing up, she let us in 20 minutes early. We walked in and there was garbage on the floor, garbage stuffed in the coffee pot, and a child's dirty diaper under the bed. Shame on who Ever was there before me, and housekeeping I didn't pay a $70 cleaning fee to arrival to a dirty rental. Dust everywhere to boot. After that, found out there were only plates, no bowls, only coffee cups. No pans for the toaster oven so we couldn't even use it without making a huge mess. Microwave was made in the 60's so be prepared that a plate won't fit in it. If you enjoy the wildlife be prepared for spiders, everywhere. Outside, inside, in your food. So. Many. Spiders. The photos they provide arnt updated, no lawn chairs for fire sitting. Decor inside hasn't changed much. I don't know why so many people said the full bed was soft, it was like sleeping on a brick. NO CELL PHONE SERVICE AND THE WIFI BARELY WORKED! Vacasa you need to install a phone in this unit, it is not safe! What if someone has a medical emergency??? After all these disappointments, here is the good. You are definitely alone, the neighbors never bothered us and I never heard them. There are tons of beaches to visit in Florence, the city is lovely. We went out as much as possible to avoid our cold hobbit hole. If they add a phone line, a rug for that cold concrete floor, proper dishes and cooking equipment I would definitely return. I hope this helps future renters, make sure you bring dvds and games.
Manager response:
We apologize this guest experienced some disappointments with the home. Our new housekeeper felt rushed due to the guest's early arrival and did not complete cleaning the home. She has been further trained and her performance has improved. Additional bowls, glasses, and a pan have been added to the kitchen. The microwave is from the 90s and functions well. The cabin is routinely sprayed for spiders, lawn chairs have been added, the bed is in great shape, and if you have Verizon you will have a good cell signal. Again, we apologize for the disappointments. Thank you!
Jordan R. May 2017
I just needed a place to be by myself with my guitar for a few days. I hope I didn't bother the owners, I tried not to be rude, but writing songs was the purpose of my trip. The cabin was very peaceful and quiet, and I liked how, though it was right next to two houses, the cabin was completely secluded with bushes and fences. It was a picturesque cabin inside and out.
Ellie M. Sep 2016
Tiny fisherman's was minimal with just a microwave and toaster oven...tiny refrigerator..teeny tiny windows in cabin...bed wonderfully comfortable...two heaters were great...cozy...
Orion E. Aug 2016
If you are a minimalist but want just what you need for you and your partner to enjoy a quite getaway, then this is it. The bed was ridiculously cozy. the cabin is bigger than it looks from the outside. There is a delightful scent of cedar from the chest at the foot of the bed. It is cute, warmly lit and romantic. The only minor details are: not having the best internet service (but who cares if you're on a get-away), Not much of a kitchen, not actually on the beach (but very close). The minor details do not offset the delightfulness and coziness of the cabin.
Sarah R. Aug 2016
It was a cute place. Had what we needed. Too small to cook inside- but cozy! Internet does not work since the home is basically in a hole- it's like a bunker.
Overall a nice, relaxing location.
Cierra C. May 2016
Awesome place!! Very clean, cute and charming! Perfect for a couple or small family! Wished there was actually WiFi, but still was a great place!!!
Isabelle L. Apr 2016
Overall I loved the property and location and finishing and cleanliness of the house. However I was very disappointed in the wifi. In the listing for the property it says that there is wifi there and I feel very misleads by that. There is a wifi signal but I could do nothing with it I had no internet access. Being able to access the Internet was a huge deciding factor when I was choosing a rental location as I work daily on my online business. I feel that it is false advertising to claim that this property has wifi
Manager response:
We are so glad that you loved the property and are happy that you were able to stay with us. We appreciate the feedback regarding the wifi. We will have our property manager check the signal and fix any connectivity issues that there are. Thank you again for choosing Vacasa.
Robin B. Apr 2016
The cottage is cute and has everything to meet your needs. The bathroom is a bit small but functional. Cute place in a convent location with lots to do nearby.
Carmi D. Apr 2016
Was everything I wanted/needed for my trip. Loved the style and was just so easy to book and find love vacasa, this is my second time booking through you and will for sure recommend and look forward to my next trip. Thanks!
Alex M. Mar 2016
Had a wonderful time at the cottage - quiet, even with the neighbors close by, and tranquil. Perfect for a few days away. Very close to the beach, easy access to the dunes and shell collecting. Even ventured into the historic downtown and visited the pioneer museum! We'll definitely be back, and will recommend to friends, too!
Shane H. Mar 2016
This place is great. Very cozy and well decorated. Definitely will be back. Thanks
Shawn N. Nov 2015
We stayed here for an extended weekend and had the best time. The cabin was an adorable little gem, just enough space for the two of us. Everything was clean and tastefully decorated making us feel right at home. Our only hope was that it would be a little more private, less neighbors and more woods, but we were not bothered the entire trip. Overall everything was perfect and we'd love to come back. Thanks vacasa!
Harriet S. Sep 2015
The cottage was exactly as advertised. We enjoyed it because it was so quirky and quaint but also very clean. The bed was really comfortable and the linens and towels were spotless. The location was perfect for us as it was private and quiet but also a really short drive into Florence and a quick walk to the beach.
Elizabeth H. May 2015
Great little bungalow, so perfectly decorated. short walk to the beach, short drive to old town and the dunes. We had a great stay and the fire pit was a nice plus! We had a hard time connecting to the wifi and had no phone service there but that was kind of nice for a change.
Shawna B. Oct 2014
We were very pleased with this rental. Perfect for our small family on a budget. Close to the beaches and town, will absolutely recommend this to others traveling to the area. Vacasas the way to go if looking for a stellar get away. Thanks a million!
Manager response:
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Fisherman's Cottage! We also like that it is close to town and beaches, yet quaint and private as well. We hope to see you again soon!