USA Maryland Deep Creek Lake McHenry Listing #10529

Life's A Bear - McHenry, MD

Take a Virtual Tour
33 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 2 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible cancellation options. Read our cancellation policy >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Homey getaway among the trees w/ bar, foosball table, hot tub, deck, & firepit

Please note: There is a 13 night limit on reservations per local regulations. Reservations over 13 nights are prohibited and cannot be honored.

Enjoy your next vacation in western Maryland at this family-friendly home in the woods complete with a furnished deck, a private outdoor hot tub, a wet bar, a foosball table, and room for up to eight guests.

Located near the northern tip of Deep Creek Lake in the quaint community of McHenry, this two-story home is perfect for those looking to spend their days out on the nearby lake indulging in a number of watersports or just casting a line for bass, trout, perch, or pike. The Wisp Resort, just a little over a mile from this home, offers a wide variety of year-round activities including skiing, snowboarding, and tubing in winter, and climbing, biking, golfing, and even gem mining during the warmer months.

Guests of this rental will enjoy the quaint cabin feel. The lovely backyard is perfect for lawn games. The well-appointed deck with ski slope views includes a gas grill for summer cookouts and a private outdoor hot tub. Cook s'mores around the firepit. There's free WiFi, multiple flatscreen TVs, and a foosball table for nights of entertainment inside. Set the mood during the cooler months with the fireplace.

Get away from it all with the family or a group of friends at this charming and very affordable home.
4WD/traction is required in winter.

A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: Please note that access to this home requires driving down a private road - Moors Hollow Dr.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Children

Children's games

Common areas

Game room

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

TV

Cable : Other

DVD library

DVD player

VHS library

Wireless router

Stereo

VCR

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Beach chairs

Deck

Firepit

33 reviews

susan b. Jul 2021
property is clean, organized, and much bigger than the pictures show. Had a problem with refrigerator ...was repaired the same afternoon!! will definitely rent again next year
Heidi H. Feb 2021
We've stayed here three times. This property is not fancy and could use an update, but it is practical and overall cozy/comfortable for a family. We love the location and the layout of the cottage. Our family of six can spread out and fit nicely into the space. We have seen a decline, however, in the condition of the property over our stays. Kitchen equipment is unorganized and sparse and important items seem to be missing. Board games, which used to be a terrific collection, are missing pieces and some of the board games we were really looking forward to from our first visit were no longer there! The fuse ball table and woodstove were both broken. This was upsetting because the fuse ball table is one of the things that made us come back! But the worst feature is the customer service. They called us to cancel our trip one hour before check-in! After much drama, we were able to secure our reservation but continued to have poor communication with customer service. We never spoke to anyone local, all reps were from out of state. We left many messages for the local property management office and had no response. After the stress Vacasa put us through, I would be very wary of working with them again on any property.
Manager response:
Hi, Heidi! We always appreciate hearing from our repeat guests to know how we are doing at maintaining our high standards of providing guests with excellent service. We are disappointed to hear you weren't as happy with this visit and sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding with the cancellation mix-up. The property manager will be addressing any items missing from the home. Hopefully we can impress you in the future!
Brendan T. Oct 2020
Life's a Bear was a nice place to stay for a long weekend. It was well taken care of and clean. There were plenty of provided linens and the kitchen was well stocked with dishes and cookware. The only minor complaint was that several lights didn't work, including the front porch.
Manager response:
Hello Connie, We are happy to hear you enjoyed our home. We apologize for any issues you experienced during your stay. Please note our 24-hour customer service line is here to assist at all times and would have sent maintenance over to replace those bulbs and get those lights working.  Thank you for your review. We hope to host you again soon!
Ben G. Sep 2020
From relaxing on the deck, to enjoying the hot tub, this place has relaxation written all over it. My wife and I spent a week here and enjoyed every minute. The house is as shown, meaning there aren't any surprises, which is a good thing. The market is literally 90 seconds around the corner by car, and takeout options aren't much farther away. We'll definitely be back.
Tiffany C. Aug 2020
The house was perfect and so close to everything, yet it felt so private and tucked into the woods. We had a rainy day and the house had plenty of games and a bar for us all to sit at and enjoy. Love this place and would definitely stay here again!
Jennifer C. Aug 2020
We had a absolute wonderful time, the kids loved the hot tub, there is plenty of space. Everything we needed was stocked for us and very clean. Thank you so much. Our stay was awesome.
Diane L. Jul 2020
Lots of space, but still cozy. Lots of nice touches— extra towels for the hot tub; separate pack of dish soap, fresh sponge, dishwasher tablets; lots of tvs; games; puzzles; comfortable lounging areas. Conveniently located near activities, but still feels removed from it all.
Christina G. Jun 2020
It had everything we needed. Loved the hot tub! The only issue we had was with the pullout sofas. 1 was missing half the springs and the mattress on it was stained. The other was extremely uncomfortable and bent under any weight. But other then that we had a great time and really enjoyed the house!
Jeffrey G. Jun 2020
We loved this property! The location can't be beat-- it's close to hiking, the lake, and restaurants/stores, and the home itself is spacious and extremely comfortable. It was one of the 1st homes we've rented that has provided more than an ample # of towels, and it had so many fun amenities (games, hot tub, fire pit, etc.). We especially loved cooking on the grill and eating on the patio, and then gathering around the fire pit for dessert.
James R. Mar 2020
Private yet extremely convenient to the slopes and shopping
Arthur L. Feb 2020
Excellent location!
Several things needed attention such as outside steps dangerous with ice and snow...sofa cushions REALLY soft...there were a number of small lamps but not good lighting. One TV had no sound (room next to kitchen).
But it was very clean, great linens, good bed, nice view to ski area. If things could be touched up a bit we would certainly stay again.
Manager response:
Hi, Arthur! Thank you for staying with us and telling us about your stay. There is a shovel and ice melt provided at the home for guest use. We found the TV was on mute, and the home is in good condition. We hope to see you again!
Sam T. Jan 2020
I've stayed at Life's A Bear several times over the past 10 years and the place basically hasn't changed, which is both good and bad. It could use some updating and some attention. The master bed isn't the comfiest (the queen bed upstairs is more comfy) and the deck looks like it needs to be replaced (at least the railings). There's also a bit of a musty smell in the house; I wonder if there's a moisture problem somewhere.

The hot tub also hasn't changed in those years; it gets hot but only half the jets work properly and the light doesn't work (which has always been the case). Someone also may wanna turn down the temp on the house water heater too, if you use hot water out of the sink or showers it is scalding hot (tho the hot water doesn't seem to work in the master bath sink)!

But with that said it's still a cozy and quiet place and perfect for my family with two kids. The location is excellent, right near the WISP resort and several restaurants and such. So I think it's a good place and I would rent it again, but it needs some attention to make it great!
Manager response:
Thank you for leaving a review for us. We do love hearing from repeat guests! We have turned the hot water down a little and ensured each faucet is getting hot water. We have also verified the hot tub jets are all working and are happy to assist guests with this if they need help. The owner has replaced the rails and loose spindle. We hope to see you again!
Brady O. Nov 2019
This cute little cabin was perfect for us!! Highly recommend, much more spacious than we expected!
Mahogany W. Jul 2019
It was amazing. I would definitely recommend this location to all of my friends and family.
SUSAN H. Jul 2019
Very clear and cozy
Staci G. Jun 2019
I loved that the house was privately tucked away in the woods, yet not far from Deep Creek Lake and all that it has to offer. It was so clean & cozy, and had anything anyone would ever need during a stay. Our family enjoyed evenings in the hot tub, but even in bad weather, the house offers many games & movies, as well as a foosball table. We would love to visit again, and would most definitely want to stay at Life's a Bear! We never did see a Bear, but maybe next time 😉
Tammy M. Apr 2019
Spacious and clean! There were plenty of games to enjoy, too! We plan to come back!
Maryann D. Nov 2018
Loved the hot tub. House was very spacious!
C B. Oct 2018
The property was spacious and lots of amenities. Well stocked kitchen, games, movies. Felt like a home. There is though a musty smell. And it felt damp. It reminded me of when there is water damage. The carpet may need to be pulled up and replaced. Also, the bedding needs to be updated. There is a loud vibration noise in the floor of the bedroom. To the point we slept upstairs which was very nice. Hot tub very clean and felt secluded.
Manager response:
We are glad to hear these guests enjoyed their stay! Our local property manager is working together with the homeowner to address the concerns raised by this guest about the carpets and replacing the bedding in the home. We appreciate this feedback, and hope to see this guest again soon!
Mitchell G. Oct 2018
We really enjoyed the location and we hope to return this winter
EMILY B. Sep 2018
This is the third time we have stayed at this house and we have enjoyed ourselves each time. The hot tub is nice and there is plenty of room in the house. The kitchen has pretty much everything you need to cook. We will be staying again next year.
Lisa R. Aug 2018
I've stayed at this home multiple times. It's clean and comfortable, and it's location is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the lake area, yet close to everything. My family used to own the property directly across the gravel road, so Moors Hollow holds many memories for me. It's like going home. I left a note that the freezer needs attention. The door isn't closing properly or the seal may be broken because everything was very frosty. Not a complaint...just an FYI for the owners/managers, and the screens in entry door and sliding doors need fixed/replaced. Thanks for a nice, relaxing stay. I'll be back!
Benjamin S. Aug 2018
The house is great, lots of amenities, close to everything and pretty big. There is plenty of seating indoors and outdoors. The hot tub outside was very pleasant and we made fires in the outdoor fire pit every night to make smores. The only complaint we had was that there was a bad urine smell in the back area of the house, especially the main bedroom. It could be a septic tank issue. It was worse when it rained. If you're sensitive to smell, be sure they've fixed this problem before booking.
Manager response:
We apologize for any unpleasant odors this guest encountered. We were unable to locate any smells when we investigated, but we do have a carpet cleaning scheduled that should help eliminate any possible odors. Thank you!
Peter B. Jul 2018
In a world of identical townhomes and cookie cutter cabins this classic lake cottage stands out. If you are seeking a place with charm, comfort, and convenience this is the one for you. It is very well appointed with everything you might need on your trip. The booking process was a breeze and everything was just as we expected. We will certainly be back.
Nichole R. Jul 2018
We enjoyed our stay at Life’s A Bear. The grill and hot tub were great additions. Home was clean and very spacious. Only recommendation would be to add a window unit out in the main living room area. We love Deep Creek Lake and will surely keep returning.
Jessica C. Feb 2018
We loved the house and the location . It was perfect for my small family! We will definitely be visiting again !