USA Maryland Deep Creek Lake McHenry Listing #10529

Life's A Bear - McHenry, MD

Take a Virtual Tour
52 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 2 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Homey Getaway Among the Trees with Bar, Foosball Table, Hot Tub, Deck, & Firepit

Please note: There is a 13 night limit on reservations per local regulations. Reservations over 13 nights are prohibited and cannot be honored.

Enjoy your next vacation in western Maryland at this family-friendly home in the woods complete with a furnished deck, a private outdoor hot tub, a wet bar, a foosball table, and room for up to eight guests.

Located near the northern tip of Deep Creek Lake in the quaint community of McHenry, this two-story home is perfect for those looking to spend their days out on the nearby lake indulging in a number of watersports or just casting a line for bass, trout, perch, or pike. The Wisp Resort, just a little over a mile from this home, offers a wide variety of year-round activities including skiing, snowboarding, and tubing in winter, and climbing, biking, golfing, and even gem mining during the warmer months.

Guests of this rental will enjoy the quaint cabin feel. The lovely backyard is perfect for lawn games. The well-appointed deck with ski slope views includes a gas grill for summer cookouts and a private outdoor hot tub. Cook s'mores around the firepit. There's free WiFi, multiple flatscreen TVs, and a foosball table for nights of entertainment inside. Set the mood during the cooler months with the fireplace.

Get away from it all with the family or a group of friends at this charming and very affordable home.
4WD/traction is required in winter.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.


Common areas

Game room


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Kitchen & dining








Cable : Other

DVD library

DVD player

VHS library

Wireless router



Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private


Gas grill : Private

Beach chairs



52 reviews

Kate H. Jan 2023
Great place great location I would recommend it highly
Caren J. Nov 2022
The space and hot tub.
Vicki B. Oct 2022
House was nice and super clean. Needs some updating and flatware but otherwise we had a great time. A bathroom upstairs would be a welcomed addition
Richard H. Aug 2022
THE GOOD: Everything worked fine but the cabin is dated. Good location as far as a base camp. Felt safe for a family. Hot tub is a nice adder.
THE BAD: Need to fix door molding in bath downstairs. Toilet needs to be "re-seated". Need to fix screen door on sliding glass door to porch. Knives need to be sharpened. Dull knives are dangerous. Water temperature is set to an extremely high temp. Small children 6-11 can easily scald themselves. DVD wiring to den room TV is bad and makes watching movies with kids problematic. High pitched humming sound during DVD play. All of these items wouldn't take long fix to allow this to be a higher rating. It's the little things that people notice.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Richard, we hope you enjoyed your stay! We apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your visit with us. While we encourage you to call us during your stay so that we have the opportunity to address matters at hand, we understand that our guests are simply trying to enjoy their vacation and may feel hesitant to contact us for assistance. We have forwarded your feedback to the local staff so they can work to improve the house for future guests. We hope to host you for a more comfortable stay in the future.
Timothy K. Jul 2022
The home was super clean and plenty of room for multiple families. Space was more than expected.
Only reason 4 stars for home was , not central air.
Ceiling fans in all rooms certainly are great
susan b. Jun 2022
Perfect vacation spot. Minutes from the lake, shopping and activities
Sherry B. Jun 2022
So much space, had everything we needed. Could use a new hot tub- jets worked on and off - will definitely be back
David W. Jun 2022
This home is close to everything right off Garrett Highway, but feels secluded and hidden away in the beautiful woods. Quiet and relaxing. Impeccably clean and comfortable!
Bill M. Jun 2022
House very well equipped. Bed is comfortable
Sam T. Feb 2022
I've stayed at Life's A Bear several times over the last 13 years and it has always been a good home to rent. The house is dated, but it's solid and the location is great.

The hot tub (same hot tub for 13 years now) and rear deck could use some updating (some boards are very weak), but again the house is solid and the location is great.
John J. Nov 2021
This home is ok but needs serious attention. The floor in the house is rotted in front of the sink and wavy in other parts of the house. The deck for the hot-tub is in serious need of repair as it made you feel like your going to fall through. Every bed is outdated and un-comfortable. On Thanksgiving the hot tub broke, we called the number and was told someone would be out within the hour. I didn't expect someone being thanksgiving. We left Saturday morning and still didn't see anyone. This is a Vacasa issue and not the cabin issue.

would recommend staying away from Vacasa and waiting on the repair's and upgrades for the house. Great location and very beautiful town.
Manager response:
John, we appreciate your feedback as we utilize this to improve for future guests. We sincerely apologize for any structural issues and if the beds were not suitable for your needs. Our property manager is pleased to report the floor in the home has been entirely replaced, including the sink and cabinets. We will notify the manager regarding the hot tub and deck for repairs to commence. We hope for another opportunity to host you for a more pleasurable stay!
Michelle B. Oct 2021
If someone is looking for the Ritz-Carlton they won't find it here HOWEVER if their looking for a cozy - home feeling THIS is it!! We had a wonderful time here - it just felt right The hot tub worked, there were ample TVs and so many rooms for everyone to have a place to go Plus it was close to everything We couldn't have asked for a better place to be!!!! Thank you for letting us rent this home ❤️
Mary Lynn B. Oct 2021
It was perfect for our family,open, clean and convenient to everything!
Fariba A. Aug 2021
The location was good, check in was easy . Need better cleaning of the property.
susan b. Jul 2021
property is clean, organized, and much bigger than the pictures show. Had a problem with refrigerator ...was repaired the same afternoon!! will definitely rent again next year
Heidi H. Feb 2021
We've stayed here three times. This property is not fancy and could use an update, but it is practical and overall cozy/comfortable for a family. We love the location and the layout of the cottage. Our family of six can spread out and fit nicely into the space. We have seen a decline, however, in the condition of the property over our stays. Kitchen equipment is unorganized and sparse and important items seem to be missing. Board games, which used to be a terrific collection, are missing pieces and some of the board games we were really looking forward to from our first visit were no longer there! The fuse ball table and woodstove were both broken. This was upsetting because the fuse ball table is one of the things that made us come back! But the worst feature is the customer service. They called us to cancel our trip one hour before check-in! After much drama, we were able to secure our reservation but continued to have poor communication with customer service. We never spoke to anyone local, all reps were from out of state. We left many messages for the local property management office and had no response. After the stress Vacasa put us through, I would be very wary of working with them again on any property.
Manager response:
Hi, Heidi! We always appreciate hearing from our repeat guests to know how we are doing at maintaining our high standards of providing guests with excellent service. We are disappointed to hear you weren't as happy with this visit and sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding with the cancellation mix-up. The property manager will be addressing any items missing from the home. Hopefully we can impress you in the future!
Brendan T. Oct 2020
Life's a Bear was a nice place to stay for a long weekend. It was well taken care of and clean. There were plenty of provided linens and the kitchen was well stocked with dishes and cookware. The only minor complaint was that several lights didn't work, including the front porch.
Manager response:
Hello Connie, We are happy to hear you enjoyed our home. We apologize for any issues you experienced during your stay. Please note our 24-hour customer service line is here to assist at all times and would have sent maintenance over to replace those bulbs and get those lights working.  Thank you for your review. We hope to host you again soon!
Ben G. Sep 2020
From relaxing on the deck, to enjoying the hot tub, this place has relaxation written all over it. My wife and I spent a week here and enjoyed every minute. The house is as shown, meaning there aren't any surprises, which is a good thing. The market is literally 90 seconds around the corner by car, and takeout options aren't much farther away. We'll definitely be back.
Tiffany C. Aug 2020
The house was perfect and so close to everything, yet it felt so private and tucked into the woods. We had a rainy day and the house had plenty of games and a bar for us all to sit at and enjoy. Love this place and would definitely stay here again!
Jennifer C. Aug 2020
We had a absolute wonderful time, the kids loved the hot tub, there is plenty of space. Everything we needed was stocked for us and very clean. Thank you so much. Our stay was awesome.
Diane L. Jul 2020
Lots of space, but still cozy. Lots of nice touches— extra towels for the hot tub; separate pack of dish soap, fresh sponge, dishwasher tablets; lots of tvs; games; puzzles; comfortable lounging areas. Conveniently located near activities, but still feels removed from it all.
Christina G. Jun 2020
It had everything we needed. Loved the hot tub! The only issue we had was with the pullout sofas. 1 was missing half the springs and the mattress on it was stained. The other was extremely uncomfortable and bent under any weight. But other then that we had a great time and really enjoyed the house!
Jeffrey G. Jun 2020
We loved this property! The location can't be beat-- it's close to hiking, the lake, and restaurants/stores, and the home itself is spacious and extremely comfortable. It was one of the 1st homes we've rented that has provided more than an ample # of towels, and it had so many fun amenities (games, hot tub, fire pit, etc.). We especially loved cooking on the grill and eating on the patio, and then gathering around the fire pit for dessert.
James R. Mar 2020
Private yet extremely convenient to the slopes and shopping
Arthur L. Feb 2020
Excellent location!
Several things needed attention such as outside steps dangerous with ice and snow...sofa cushions REALLY soft...there were a number of small lamps but not good lighting. One TV had no sound (room next to kitchen).
But it was very clean, great linens, good bed, nice view to ski area. If things could be touched up a bit we would certainly stay again.
Manager response:
Hi, Arthur! Thank you for staying with us and telling us about your stay. There is a shovel and ice melt provided at the home for guest use. We found the TV was on mute, and the home is in good condition. We hope to see you again!
Sam T. Jan 2020
I've stayed at Life's A Bear several times over the past 10 years and the place basically hasn't changed, which is both good and bad. It could use some updating and some attention. The master bed isn't the comfiest (the queen bed upstairs is more comfy) and the deck looks like it needs to be replaced (at least the railings). There's also a bit of a musty smell in the house; I wonder if there's a moisture problem somewhere.

The hot tub also hasn't changed in those years; it gets hot but only half the jets work properly and the light doesn't work (which has always been the case). Someone also may wanna turn down the temp on the house water heater too, if you use hot water out of the sink or showers it is scalding hot (tho the hot water doesn't seem to work in the master bath sink)!

But with that said it's still a cozy and quiet place and perfect for my family with two kids. The location is excellent, right near the WISP resort and several restaurants and such. So I think it's a good place and I would rent it again, but it needs some attention to make it great!
Manager response:
Thank you for leaving a review for us. We do love hearing from repeat guests! We have turned the hot water down a little and ensured each faucet is getting hot water. We have also verified the hot tub jets are all working and are happy to assist guests with this if they need help. The owner has replaced the rails and loose spindle. We hope to see you again!
Brady O. Nov 2019
This cute little cabin was perfect for us!! Highly recommend, much more spacious than we expected!
Mahogany W. Jul 2019
It was amazing. I would definitely recommend this location to all of my friends and family.
SUSAN H. Jul 2019
Very clear and cozy
Staci G. Jun 2019
I loved that the house was privately tucked away in the woods, yet not far from Deep Creek Lake and all that it has to offer. It was so clean & cozy, and had anything anyone would ever need during a stay. Our family enjoyed evenings in the hot tub, but even in bad weather, the house offers many games & movies, as well as a foosball table. We would love to visit again, and would most definitely want to stay at Life's a Bear! We never did see a Bear, but maybe next time 😉
Tammy M. Apr 2019
Spacious and clean! There were plenty of games to enjoy, too! We plan to come back!
Maryann D. Nov 2018
Loved the hot tub. House was very spacious!
C B. Oct 2018
The property was spacious and lots of amenities. Well stocked kitchen, games, movies. Felt like a home. There is though a musty smell. And it felt damp. It reminded me of when there is water damage. The carpet may need to be pulled up and replaced. Also, the bedding needs to be updated. There is a loud vibration noise in the floor of the bedroom. To the point we slept upstairs which was very nice. Hot tub very clean and felt secluded.
Manager response:
We are glad to hear these guests enjoyed their stay! Our local property manager is working together with the homeowner to address the concerns raised by this guest about the carpets and replacing the bedding in the home. We appreciate this feedback, and hope to see this guest again soon!
Mitchell G. Oct 2018
We really enjoyed the location and we hope to return this winter
EMILY B. Sep 2018
This is the third time we have stayed at this house and we have enjoyed ourselves each time. The hot tub is nice and there is plenty of room in the house. The kitchen has pretty much everything you need to cook. We will be staying again next year.
Lisa R. Aug 2018
I've stayed at this home multiple times. It's clean and comfortable, and it's location is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the lake area, yet close to everything. My family used to own the property directly across the gravel road, so Moors Hollow holds many memories for me. It's like going home. I left a note that the freezer needs attention. The door isn't closing properly or the seal may be broken because everything was very frosty. Not a complaint...just an FYI for the owners/managers, and the screens in entry door and sliding doors need fixed/replaced. Thanks for a nice, relaxing stay. I'll be back!
Benjamin S. Aug 2018
The house is great, lots of amenities, close to everything and pretty big. There is plenty of seating indoors and outdoors. The hot tub outside was very pleasant and we made fires in the outdoor fire pit every night to make smores. The only complaint we had was that there was a bad urine smell in the back area of the house, especially the main bedroom. It could be a septic tank issue. It was worse when it rained. If you're sensitive to smell, be sure they've fixed this problem before booking.
Manager response:
We apologize for any unpleasant odors this guest encountered. We were unable to locate any smells when we investigated, but we do have a carpet cleaning scheduled that should help eliminate any possible odors. Thank you!
Peter B. Jul 2018
In a world of identical townhomes and cookie cutter cabins this classic lake cottage stands out. If you are seeking a place with charm, comfort, and convenience this is the one for you. It is very well appointed with everything you might need on your trip. The booking process was a breeze and everything was just as we expected. We will certainly be back.
Nichole R. Jul 2018
We enjoyed our stay at Life’s A Bear. The grill and hot tub were great additions. Home was clean and very spacious. Only recommendation would be to add a window unit out in the main living room area. We love Deep Creek Lake and will surely keep returning.
Jessica C. Feb 2018
We loved the house and the location . It was perfect for my small family! We will definitely be visiting again !