USA Maine Southern Maine York Listing #16056

The Cottage at Long Sands - York, ME

Take a Virtual Tour
40 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Ocean view cottage with grill - near Long Sands Beach and a walk to town

Swim, windsurf, and sunbathe all summer long at this four-bedroom York cottage, a family-friendly Maine escape with a private patio, views of the ocean from upstairs, and an unbeatable location less than a block from Long Sands Beach!

The perfect retreat for a family or a group of couples, this quaint, two-story cottage sits 50 feet from the open expanse of Long Sands Beach. Take sunrise walks along the shoreline toward the Nubble Light to the north, watch the boats come and go from York Harbor two miles south, and sample the darling eateries in the York Historic District one mile west.

Greet the morning sun in the remodeled living space, where you'll find free WiFi, window-unit A/C (in the living room and three bedrooms), and a country kitchen with double ovens to assist with breakfast. Grab the beach chairs and a towel from the washer/dryer on your way out the door, and return home for lunch on the gas grill, a board game on the patio, and a movie or two on the TV with cable, Netflix streaming, DVD/Blu-ray players, and a movie library.

THINGS TO KNOW

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Children

Baby gates

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Ocean view

Water view

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

Netflix streaming

Nearby activities & attractions

Playground

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Beach chairs

Beach towels

Theme

Snowbird-friendly

40 reviews

Jill C. Sep 2022
Easy walk to the beach & quiet off season. This Cape Cod has lots of personality & you can see how it has been a favorite. It worked well for our lobster mission to southern Maine. It is worthy of noting that beyond 2 parking spots, there is no lawn or outdoor space to enjoy, like a yard or patio.
Chantel B. Aug 2022
The cottage was close to the beach. It was clean and in a quiet neighborhood.
Lisa P. Jun 2022
Cute cottage, perfect for our girls trip. Very clean and comfortable. There’s not really an ocean view, other than a sliver from one small window in one of the bedrooms. Great location, you can walk to the beach. Fully stocked kitchen with everything you would need down to corn on the cob holders!!
The only small problem was the tv remote didn’t work, but that’s an easy fix.
I would definitely stay here again!
BRIAN D. Jun 2022
location and size accommodated a family of 5.
Patricia L. May 2022
Cleanliness, location and comfort. We had great walks along the beach, fun playing games around the table, and just relaxing in a clean, lovely home.
Karen B. Oct 2021
Perfect for 4 friends - we each had a bedroom and two bathrooms to share. Great location one block off the beach.
Ron S. Sep 2021
.
KRISTI K. Aug 2021
So close to the beach, comfortable beds, and great kitchen table. The upstairs shower and downstairs A/C weren't super clean and the dishwasher and clothes dryer were confusing to get started. Had a great time anyway!
Kathleen C. Aug 2021
It was a very homey and cozy place to spend a couple of days! It was like a home away from home! You could walk to the beach every day and we were lucky enough to stay when there was a hurricane so the beach was spectacular to watch
Heidi Y. Aug 2021
Loved the cottage. Easy access, comfortable beds, great AC’s, clean, tidy. Our whole family fit! We want to come back! Dryer was broken but they immediately called a tech…
Dona W. Jul 2021
Very Clean and Cozy❤Short Walk to the Water🌊Had an Amazing Stay With Family💝
Rebecca Q. Jun 2021
While the immediate surroundings are crowded, the cottage was very spacious. Great location to explore nearby towns and beaches.
Tonya S. May 2021
The location was beautiful, and the house was very pretty and spacious. Everything felt clean and tidy. It was very disappointing that several items were not working in spite of contacting maintenance: dishwasher kept blowing a fuse, two of the three televisions did not work, the washing machine did not work (and had standing water in in that I did not realize before tossing in a load of towels to try to help with clean-up the last day we were there), and lighting in the kitchen was very poor (even with the dimmers up all the way). If these items were working, it would have been a 5-star place to visit.
Patti M. Apr 2021
We had a great weekend in Long Sands. The Cottage is beautifully decorated with many amenities. I would return in a heartbeat.
Ann Marie C. Apr 2021
There were 7 of us staying there and we were not crowded at all. The place was clean and cozy. I would definitely stay there again.
Dara W. Nov 2020
This is just 1/2 block from the beach - we popped over to have a look at the waves/ walk along the beach many times during our stay.
As far as setup in the house, the larger downstairs bedroom is very roomy. Downstairs full bath is located off of the kitchen. Three rooms upstairs provide plenty of sleeping space - one daughter is STILL raving about the amazingly comfortable bed that relieved all her pains - and the bathroom upstairs easy for 3 of them to share. BUT beware as my tall daughters all needed to duck regularly to prevent hitting their heads anywhere upstairs.
Kitchen has plenty of cookware and plates/silverware. Long table was a dream for all our Thanksgiving serving dishes. Dishwasher, gas stove, double oven worked well. Two small complaints - the toaster doesn't ding/stop on its own and all the knives are terribly dull - but otherwise such a great house to have our small family Thanksgiving dinner at!
Owners were VERY responsive during our stay with questions/ concerns we had. They informed us before we arrived of the cable box needing replacement, but we ended up declining the technician coming by that day due to Covid. And they were able to confirm that the wifi was still operational which was key for us.
Easy to get in with a lockbox.
Agree with other person that you'd have to be in the parking lot if you wanted to sit outside the house, but it was so easy to just go down to the beach and it was also winter when we visited, so not an issue for us at all. Heat worked well too!
Great holiday week for me with my daughters - convenient York location. I would consider booking this place again, especially in the off season.
Spencer H. Oct 2020
House is a perfect location less than a block from the beach. Excellent amount of living space, large dining area, and full kitchen. Perfect for small and larger families. Highly recommend this house.
Pamela C. Aug 2020
Adoreable place and super location. Very roomy.

Only downside is no privacy if you want to be outside. You need to sit in parking lot.
Dana F. Aug 2020
We had a wonderful stay and had everything we needed for 7 people in this cute but very cozy cottage! I would definitely recommend staying here!
David J. Jun 2020
The home had not been cleaned when we checked in. Cleaner showed up 20-minutes after we walked in. We left for an hour for her to clean, but when we returned you could tell that she rushed. After a lot of back and forth with we ended up getting our cleaning fee returned, but they did not offer any additional money back to accommodate us for the inconvenience. We spent our first night cleaning the entire house.

The Vacasa customer service number is automated and just says that we are experiencing 5 times normal call volume. Luckily the cleaner showed up so we could get a direct contact. Otherwise we would have had to deal with piles of used dirty laundry because I could not get through to anybody.

The home has some sketchy wiring through out the house to a point where I would not allow anyone other than myself to plug in the air conditioner because I was afraid someone was going to get electrocuted.

The best thing about the house is the location. It is a full size house right around the corner from the sandy beaches. We have small children so we liked having the full kitchen, washer/dryer, etc., but if I didn't have the children or if they were older I would have rather just gotten a hotel room right down the road. Same location, but without the headache of everything that we went through.
Manager response:
Hi David! Thanks for your review. We apologize for the miscommunication with our housekeeping staff and are glad that we were able to compensate you for the inconvenience. We also apologize that you had issues getting through to a member of our staff during the height of the pandemic, we have worked diligently to increase our staffing numbers to be able to assist our guests in a timely manner 24/7! We hope for a chance to impress you in the future.
William B. Jun 2020
Great location and price
Nicole T. Jul 2019
Great vacation, our family of 4 plus both sets of grandparents stayed here comfortably. So nice to be so close to the beach especially with kids! I recommend the trolley for a fun ride into town and back. The house had everything we needed, I only knocked a star off because there were some minor things falling to disrepair (towel holders, blinds, low ceiling in the bedroom) but nothing that would have ruined our vacation by any stretch. Highly recommend for your beach vacation in York!
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Nicole! All loose towel bars and toilet paper holders have been tightened up, and maintenance did replace a damaged blind. We appreciate your input and hope to see you again!
stephanie c. Jun 2019
The location was perfect. Plenty of room for the family even when it rained!
Mary D. Mar 2019
The house was just a perfect size for myself and my daughters for the weekend. Both the kitchen and living room are great gathering places to sit and chat.
We were very close to the beach to go for a walk. We had a very fun weekend.
Scott W. Jan 2019
I’m notsure I would enjoy the property as much if it were ‘in season’ as it was mid-January that was no problem (I just don’t enjoy the crowds) Everything as expected. We had a lovely long weekend and would return.
edward c. Dec 2018
We had an extended family stay four days for New England Christmas. House looks small but it is well designed and was comfortable for the six adults and two children who stayed.
The two car only rule is cumbersome but we worked it out. House is close enough to kittery, portsmouth n.h. and points north but very private especially during winter. Don't know anything about what summer is like there.
Will definately consider renting again next christmas season



















Patricia A. Oct 2018
We loved the location, a half block from the beach. The home was comfortable & furnished in a cute, seaside style. We loved the full kitchen & laundry facilities. The only drawback was cleanliness -- the ceiling fans were dusty & the floors were dirty. It is an older home, & has that "old wood" smell. Overall, we would stay there again.
Linda L. Aug 2018
Very cute and beachy-rustic. Close to beautiful Long Sands and downtown!
Clean and has everything you need for a comfortable stay! I would recommend and come back!!!
Lynn H. Jul 2018
The house was super close to the beach and couldn't ask for much more than that! My group had a great time and would love to come back!