USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Depoe Bay Listing #17035

Whale - Watcher's Perch - Depoe Bay, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
36 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom Sleeps 4 comfortably  2 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly cottage w/amazing ocean views, whale watching

This oceanside vacation rental boasts wonderful ocean views and a massive deck overlooking the sea. With art deco lighting, a cozy fireplace, and an unbeatable location for whale watching, this dog-friendly home is ready-made for Oregon Coast family reunions or group getaways.

What's nearby:
Located just south of Depoe Bay, you'll find yourself perched right between Cape Foulweather and the Ben Jones Bridge viewpoint. This part of the coast is a rocky cliff, but sandy beach access points are within a quick drive in either direction - Beverly Beach to the south is a great place to look for fossils or take the kids to run, and Fogarty Creek to the north is one of the best spots for tide pool searching and agate hunting. You can find great shopping and dining options to the north in Depoe Bay, or venture south to Newport for whale watching excursions, frequent events, and beautiful bays and beaches.

Things to know:
Full kitchen (no dishwasher)
Nightly pet fee applies
Free Wifi A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: Park automobiles in the designated parking area, and please refrain from blocking the narrow, one-lane roads with motor vehicles. Two cars can fit in front of the home, off the street.

County permit number: 326846

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining





Water view


Internet : Century Link



DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

Netflix streaming



36 reviews

steven w. Sep 2021
It was a roof and windows.
Joseph B. Aug 2021
This house and attached deck were the perfect place to base our vacation to the Oregon coast from. The kitchen was well appointed with item you might need and the deck was a great place to relax, enjoy a drink, and listen to the waves crash against the cliffs. We and our pups had a very relaxing stay!
Jennie B. Aug 2021
The house had a lot more wear and tear than expected and pictured (holes in walls, quite dirty, and very old plumbing/appliances/furniture that could really use some updates).
Manager response:
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.  We are in the processes of working with our owner to improve and update the home. We look forward to hosting you again!
Jaibo R. May 2021
Love the view but please HAVE the place deep CLEAN from top to bottom
It's need LOTS of repairing to do
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Jaibo. We are disappointed to read you were unhappy with the state of your accommodations. This home has been deep cleaned and had maintenance done. Please come again!
Lisa M. Apr 2021
Amazing views and so cozy and comfy! We baked brownies and had a fire almost every night. Great home for relaxing with the family and putting puzzles together and watching movies. Favorite part is waking up to see the ocean while we drink our morning coffee!
Tabitha D. Feb 2021
Great view of ocean, off the grid location and cozy fire place. However very dirty, and I spent the whole first day cleaning it. I found mold and the basement was flooded, the washer amd dryer were in the discusting basement and were seriously gross. Main frustration was in lack of ability to reach the owners. Wifi was not working and everything covered in hair or dust- even the "clean" sheets and comforter. Floor looked like it's never seen a mop in decades.
Manager response:
Thank you for telling us about your experience. A deep clean has been scheduled for this home. The WiFi does work though service in the area is spotty depending on weather. Due to this, we provide a landline so guests can reach out to us if they are in need of anything. Water does flow into the garage during heavy rains; the owners are aware and looking for a solution. WE hope to be able to impress you in the future, Tabitha!
Danny B. Jan 2021
We WFH and therefore everything is the same day in and day out. Except for quick walks for carry out or to the grocery store, we never leave home. Definitely needed a break, even if we had no plans to leave the rental.


* Wide span of windows gave us a great view of the sea and sky letting in tons of light even when storming. Had the weather been clearer we likely would have spotted whales from the windows and porch.
* I love storms, so hearing the sounds and feeling the rumble of waves slamming into the bluff across the street only added to the charm. (It is on Cape Foulweather after all.)
* Tightly built house. Warm and cozy. Don't worry about the weather.
* Short walk to two overlooks, where you can get your fix on the sights and sounds of crashing waves. Exhilarating for us city folk.
* Very close to Depoe Bay and the excellent Bay View Thai Kitchen.
* On our outings to Outer Crest and Punchbowl, nearly everyone wore masks. A family of seven disregarded the health of others - and caused a number of people to turn and flee an overlook. Just the one such occasion though, so we felt safe.


* The house is essentially off the grid: No broadcast or cable TV. No mobile service (at least for T-Mobile customers). Intermittent and very weak internet. I measured 833 kbps down, 32 kbps up - that's a k not an M. This service level was ok with us since we did not plan to connect to work or stream, and we had plenty of books. (In Depoe Bay, expect to find strong 5G service, again if you are T-Mobile.)
* Kitchen and cookware were classic vacation rental-ware. That is to say, nothing has changed since the (previous/former) owners lived there. Stove easily dated to the 60s - my grandmother had the exact same model, just green instead of yellow. All the same, we cooked six full meals without issue using up most of the food we brought with us.
* If you are a coffee snob like me, bring your own device. (I brought a French press.)
* Warm and cozy house - except the bath. But it has a hidden heater. (Use the middle wall switch and give it a few minutes.)

All in all, we got what we wanted from this house - a wonderful change of scenery and some peace and quiet to relax the brain.

Joanna C. Dec 2020
We were absolutely delighted with our stay at the Whale-Watcher's Perch. After nearly 10 months of rarely leaving our house due to the pandemic, we needed a safe place to "get away from it all." This cottage fit the bill perfectly. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook our own meals. The beds were super comfy. The views were lovely. The weather turned out to be sunny and warm, so we didn't build a fire. But being able to sit out on the deck in the winter is a pretty good trade-off. We brought lots of puzzles and games, but it turned out that the house was stocked with them, anyway! There are beautiful non-crowded places within a short drive to walk along the beach, as well. I very much look forward to booking again sometime!
Lael B. Nov 2020
I honestly can’t think of anything I didn’t love about my trip. With the pandemic I have been working some long hard hours as a restaurant GM, and I was overdue for a break. I realized that I was missing the ocean, hadn’t been to the Pacific in 15+ years! So I decided to take a road trip from SLC with my tiny schnauzer as my co-pilot. I loved the home and the view was wonderful! I wish I could have stayed longer.
I loved the older-model home! It had a lot of furniture items that looked so similar to furniture that I remember from my childhood and some that we still have. The windows along the front of the home really opens up the view of the sea! I enjoyed cracking my windows so I could listen to the waves crashing along the rocky shore. Was very peaceful.
Suggestions for future guests: you might want to bring a blanket to snuggle up on the couch with. The heat works just fine, but I like to keep it kind of cool, so I cracked the windows and left the heat down low.
Also, be aware that the washer/dryer are in the garage, under the house... not super accessible, so I didn’t use it.
Kelly B. Oct 2020
Spent just 2 nights here and was EXACTLY as described, we really enjoyed it!!!
Bonnie H. Sep 2020
This is a sweet comfortable place. Perfect for a couple. Only hitch is internet wasn't working when we arrived and there is no phone service without it. Took a day to get that fixed.
Manager response:
Hi Bonnie, thank you for staying with Vacasa! We apologize for the issues you had during your stay and we're glad that the local staff were able to resolve the internet issue. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to hosting you in the future!
Jocelyn A. Sep 2020
The home was extremely cozy and well cared for. We loved the vintage feel and the very quiet neighborhood.
Greg G. Aug 2020
Comfortable and perfect for our stay with our daughter and grankids. Wonderful views and a cute home.
Lisa M. Aug 2020
Great place to get away from it all! We felt very safe coming to this house during the pandemic.
Pamela t. Aug 2020
Partial view of the ocean, we saw Whales !
Kirey G. Jul 2020
We had a relaxing time at this house. The space is perfect for a family of four. Although the listing says there is a queen and a full bed, I think both beds are full beds. One of my sons slept on the sofa bed so they slept well. We loved that the house is pet friendly. It is an older home with some ocean view. The house has a large deck and it was nice to spend a lot of time there. It would’ve been nice to be able to use the portable grill locked in the storage room next to the kitchen. I was told that amenity was unavailable. We could not find a laundry room. It also said to put dishes in the dishwasher but the house does not have a dishwasher. Nowhere it said how to access the garage. Was there a garage? Everything was clean except for the floors. It would’ve been nice to find clean floors. They were not even swept.
Manager response:
Hi, Kirey! We are so glad you were able to relax while staying at Whale-Watcher's Perch. The homeowner does store some personal items on the porch that are not available for guest use, and we do not advertise these items, such as the grill. There is a garage area with the washer and dryer available for guest use. We are sorry you missed these amenities and will be sure the instructions for the garage are easily located. We have verified the home has a queen and a full bed, and we have asked housekeeping to be more mindful of the floors while cleaning. Thank you!
Jean R. Jun 2020
Very comfortable clean delightful, and comfortable. Although the view of the ocean is a little limited, you do have a fair view of it and great beach exploring is only a few minutes away. Great location to many of oregon’s delights including beaches, harbors, restaurants and hikes. All this at a great price!
Amber G. Jun 2020
Loved the bones of this house and the stunning view of the ocean. Thank you for being dog friendly so the entire family can be on vacation together. We really enjoyed our stay. The only thing I would mention that needs improvement is lighting in the garage and directions on where to find the laundry room. Also, we could not locate the trash cans to take out our trash when we checked out but maybe the cleaning service takes care of this? Would also have liked a recycling container. Other then these minor things I would definitely come back.
Jessica R. Jun 2020
This house has an amazing view and great for a little ladies weekend or a sweet weekend with a partner. We came into town early and asked to check in earlier then expected. Was told due to covid that extra cleaning time was needed and this house was not very clean. Also weak deck boards and my sister fell through, hurting herself pretty badly. Other then that it was a cute two bedroom house with an amazing view and perfect for a getaway.
Manager response:
Hi, Jessica! Thank you so much for letting us know about your review. We are so sorry about the deck boards; they have been repaired. We will make sure housekeeping is achieving a thorough clean each reservation. We hope to see you again!
Lisa M. Feb 2020
Beautiful view, comfy home, great fireplace.
Allison J. Dec 2019
Spent a very relaxing weekend here. Loved having ocean views from the living room and being able to bring my dog!
Sean R. Oct 2019
The home is an older home but very clean and the views are incredible it was perfect for our weekend getaway
Lisa M. Aug 2019
This is our favorite place to stay at the beach! It was lovely to sit out on the deck with a cup of coffee in the morning. Watching the sunset each night was also amazing! Such a comfy, cozy house.
Charlie M. Aug 2019
Loved the location, the views and the amenities.
Ruth D. Aug 2019
The first day while reading a book in the living room, I looked up and saw several whales! Saw more over the next few days. The house is beautifully decorated, though clearly quite old.
Sara A. Jan 2019
Spent the new year at this place with a couple of friends. Very cozy, well appointed kitchen (even a sharp knife!), generous quantity of firewood, quiet and friendly neighborhood, view of the milky way on clear nights. A friend described her night on the pull out couch as "sleeping in a bowl," but we all agreed that was to be expected.
Douglas L. Nov 2018
Good view, quiet street/area, dog friendly
Jana F. Nov 2018
My friend and I stayed in this lovely home for five nights. It was one of the most relaxing vacations either of us have ever been on. We had little desire to venture into town because we just wanted to sit in the living room and watch the ocean and the whales as they played! The home is charming retreat and we would love to go back again!
Lisa M. Oct 2018
We love this home! It’s such a great location, with the short drive to Cape Foulweather. I love taking walks to the bridge and Rodeo Point. The user-friendly kitchen makes it so easy to cook yummy breakfasts and dinners. The beds are comfy and you can’t beat the view! We’ve seen many whales from the comfort of the living room, while drinking coffee. Can’t wait to come back!
Michelle K. Oct 2018
My family and I had such a great time at this home that we had a hard time leaving. The location is perfect and the home size was exactly what we needed for four people. We all love whale watching and got exactly that - it seemed I saw more whales in the short time I was there then I have my entire life. I would definitely recommend this place and love to visit again. Many great memories were made here! Thanks for such a great place!
Monika D. Jul 2018
The fire place to the left, the ocean view to the right. See the ocean from the kitchen, dining room, livingroom, and deck. I just wished I'd known it was whale watching season!
Our family loved this place. Although it didn't have walkable beach access, it was located close to a ton of attractions.
We will be back.
BRANDI R. Jul 2018
Got to see whales from the living room.