USA Tennessee Smoky Mountains Townsend Listing #22298

Peak A View - Townsend, TN

Take a Virtual Tour
35 reviews
Max. occupancy: 9 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 1 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 2 bedrooms  plus loft 2.5 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Beautiful custom cabin on private lake w/ foosball, hot tub, & fireplace

"Peak A View" is a beautiful, custom-built, all wood, three-bedroom cabin that offers wooded views surrounded by nature, and a small onsite lake for catch & release fishing.

Located between Townsend and Wears Valley, this easy to access property is approximately five minutes from Townsend, 15 minutes from Pigeon Forge, and depending on route, 25-35 minutes from Gatlinburg. Paved roads will lead you all the way up to this beautiful cabin. This beautiful wooded retreat would be considered motorcycle and trailer friendly. There is comfortable parking for up to four vehicles.

This three-bedroom, two-and-a-half-bath unit is three levels and sleeps nine people. There are 16 steps to reach the main level of the cabin. The lower level is inaccessible except for a great deck that overlooks the pond. Upon entering the main level, you will find a living area with a stone-stacked wood fireplace, queen sofa sleeper, loveseat, rocking chair, an additional chair, and a flatscreen TV. And right outside, you'll have your very own hot tub overlooking the forest.

The floor plan is open to the loft and offers floor-to-ceiling windows that allow plenty of natural light and great views of the pond. There is a fully equipped kitchen with dining for 8 and additional bar seating for 4. There is also a Master King bedroom with a large walk-in closet and an adjoining bath with a walk-in shower only. The washer & dryer are also located on this level, along with a half bath. The large deck has two porch swings, patio furniture, a gas grill, and offers a beautiful view of the pond and a wonderful place to eat your meals.

In the upper loft area of the cabin, you will find two additional bedrooms. A private queen and a full in the open loft, each with large closets, and a shared full bath with a shower/tub combo. In the open area, which overlooks the living room, you will find a queen sofa sleeper, twin daybed, and a foosball table.

The lowest interior of the cabin is not accessible for guests. This area of the cabin can be rented by owners at any time.

If you are looking for a gorgeous all wood cabin that is both peaceful & serene and surrounded by nature, away from it all but close and convenient to all of the area attractions, "Peak A View" is the perfect place for you.

This property is managed by Vacasa Tennessee LLC.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining









On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Foosball table


Gas grill : Private




35 reviews

Robin J. Sep 2022
It was very peacful away from everything, but still close to all attractions.
Anna P. Jul 2022
Loved this place! Very quiet. Would come back again. Only bad thing is you can hear everything from any room you are in. I could hear my son cough upstairs when I was in downstairs room.
Robert H. May 2022
Well furnished, kitchen well stocked with items you would need
Danyal M. Apr 2022
Beautiful cabin in the woods tried grilling one night but attracted 4 bears which hung out in the deck for a while. Hit tub didn't have power and the upstairs shower didn't have a water knob so my kids had to use the downstairs shower. Other than that great cabin and quiet placement and upclose encounters with bears my kids loved it
Paula S. Dec 2021
The actual cabin is wonderful, its in a great location, super comfortable and nice. However, it does have a lot of downfalls for the price. The hot tub was so dirty when we arrived, the water looked murky and oily, and that’s unacceptable as this is probably its most attractive quality. The kitchen had a coffee machine but no coffee. The main room has a jacuzzi (which appears on the photos) but you can’t actually use it. So… the cabin is beautiful, the beds are comfortable, and it fits a lot of people. But for what you’re paying they should at the very least have a very clean hot tub.
Manager response:
Hi, Paula! We're sorry if you were expecting to utilize the jacuzzi tub. We're unable to remove it from pictures, but it is currently disconnected due to leaks. Hopefully we'll have it up and running again soon. The hot tub has been addressed. Thank you!
Pam S. Oct 2021
The location was great.
Manager response:
Pam, thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of this home. We appreciate your feedback and hope to host you again soon.
Scott H. Oct 2021
Hot tub needs to be in second floor since there is no access to bottom floor from inside cabin. Jacuzzi tub needs to work. Need WiFi or landline since cell phones do not work.
Jennifer R. Aug 2021
My family stayed for 5 days at Peak A View and we loved every minute. My nephews had a blast in the hot tub and plays games and us adults loved relaxing in the hot tub also. The bears visited us between 1-3 times a day a we absolutely loved it. They were respectful and so were we. They came up on the deck once but they weren’t a threat and they realized we weren’t a threat either. My 18 month old loved watching the Cubs (kitties :) lol) play. I will most definitely be saving this home for future rentals and a possible Christmas/New Years trip.
Meagan G. Jul 2021
The house was clean and met our basic needs.
There is zero WiFi or cell service. Which made us feel stranded and isolated in case of an emergency.

The bears definitely made their presence know. We had a mama bear and 3 cubs hanging around all weekend - even coming up onto the porch several times. While they weren't aggressive, it made us more nervous about letting out kids play freely in the woods. And again, no contact with the outside world if there had been an emergency.

The driveway is a huge concern! It is steep and gravel. There are all sorts of signs to the effect of "backing up and just flooring it" to make it out, and it still takes several attempts. My husband had to rake the ruts out of the driveway MANY times just so we could leave the house. Street parking wasn't an option.

We had to buy (and left) many items for the kitchen/house. Trash bags, a lighter for the citronella candles, dish detergent (but the dishwasher is broken!!), paper towels, laundry detergent, etc.

There wasn't a notebook or info anywhere about basic house rules/policies/area info. What time was checkout? What did we do at checkout? Trash collection day? (Or outdoor bear-proof trash can was overflowing!) Closest grocery store? (couldn't research this on our phone) Nearby attractions?
Manager response:
Hi, Meagan. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. As indicated in our listing, this home doesn't offer WiFi as an available amenity and we are sorry to hear this made you feel uncomfortable. We will be sure to discuss with our housekeeping team the trash that should have been removed prior to your stay and the welcome package that should have been left for your group. We provide a starter pack of toiletries, detergents, cleaning, and paper products for all our guests and we are sorry this wasn't the case for your stay. We will also reach out to the owner about the driveway and how to improve the experience of our future renters. We send emails to our guests with our policies, house and area information, and check-out instructions. We hope we can have another chance to provide you with a much more enjoyable experience in the future!
Latoya M. Jun 2021
This cabin wasn’t all bad but it definitely wasn’t all good either no WiFi one little tv in the living room only. You would have to be writing a book for cabin cuz it’s very boring and very far up in the woods. The owners really need to make this more enjoyable like maybe a pool table instead of foosball table thumbs down to this cabin. Only enjoyable part is the lake view.
Manager response:
Hello Latoya,We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We will be sure to pass your suggestions along to our local manager who will work with our homeowner to make necessary upgrades. We look forward to hosting you again!
Melissa W. Jun 2021
If you want privacy this was it. Definitely secluded. Cabin was clean and in good shape. Disappointed the jacuzzi tub isn’t part of it even thought the photos show it. The pics aren’t current and there have been updates, it’s even better in person ! The drive up there is very narrow, driveway is tricky and if you have a rear wheel drive ( without 4 wheel) you will either get stuck or you need a brave running start to get out. But all in all it was a great stay.
Willard C. May 2021
Secluded family setting, beautiful cabin, clean and well maintained.over all,a great stay.
Edgar D. Dec 2020
We loved “Peak a View” cabin. We plan on coming back....😁👍
Ali P. Dec 2020
Right in Townsend, not too far up the mountain but far enough to have great views! Our boys loved the cabin!
Jennifer T. Oct 2020
We loved this cabin! Had everything we needed, towels, pans, bowls, everything Had a problem with a leaky shower and management was out the next day and fixed it. The only downside is the carpenter bees, one night we counted over thirty bees.
Phil M. Sep 2020
The downstairs main room and master bedroom are terrific. The upstairs sleeping area has only one room with a door (the girls room) so if privacy is an issue you need to know that. Appliances are all great. Wonderful location for access to the park!
Aj T. Sep 2020
Cabin is great, driveway is treacherous, needs WiFi. Was not able to check out on time because of lack of WiFi.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, AJ. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement, and we'll pass your suggestion about adding wifi to the owner for consideration. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Brandy S. Sep 2020
The cabin was great although the hot tub jets are not working properly and the inside jacuzzi tub didnt work at all. Be cautious letting children run around unattended because there is a bear that would visit us several times a day, the bear never offered to harm us but we knew not to feed it
Kenia M. Jul 2020
Due to COVID 19. Summer vacation in the cabin is a perfect idea.The cabin was clean and beautiful. We saw a bear which honestly made our trip. The only thing we were not contacted was that there was no WiFi which was okay and the owners Slept there downstairs Which was a bit uncomfortable. Over all great home.
Philip R. Jul 2020
Had a great stay at this location. Very private with everything we needed. Would certainly like to come back again.
Jillian B. Jul 2020
house was beautiful and veiw was stunning saw bears every day we stayed.
Sheena M. Jun 2020
Beautiful home but many issues. Tubs were dirty, floors were dirty, hot tub was dirty, deck was dirty outside tables were dirty and our grill was broken and it's mess was all over the deck. Called cs many times for no one to call me back. Left many emaiks with pictures upon arrival with no response. Horrible customer service and communication.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Sheena. We apologize for any inconvenience or frustration caused by the housekeeping concerns; please know this is not our standard. We appreciate you calling us immediately, and we are glad to note our local staff was able to come out to the home and address the concerns promptly for you. Thank you for staying with us!
Willard C. Jun 2020
Cleanliness,solitude, beautiful cabin and setting and daily bear traffic,just becareful,they climb the decks
Tamie Y. May 2020
The management were quick to get back with us in every occassion of contact. Very clean, towels and wash cloths in every bathroom. Great TV reception, but no internet in this home.. and nice deck to stand out on. The shower in the bedroom needed to be enclosed for privacy and the garden tub was only allowed for the should be allowed as well. The jacuzzi on the bottom deck was not allowed for use either. We did see many black bears in Caves Cove and one crossing the road as we were leaving the cabin.
H.A. Maria H. May 2020
That is my first advice to anyone considering this stay. It was a test of wills and control for us (newlyweds). The cabin made a nice clean impression, when we finally made it inside. I was worried about the seating and furniture because of other reviews; after testing it, I could understand some statements, but it wasn't un bearable. My sister slept on one couch, and my parents watched tv from the other couch. No one complained about the comfort of the furniture. Although a little testy because of my OCD issue, it was a wonderfully memorable and peaceful experience with my family and new hubby. The driveway/parking area has a steep drop that doesn't reflect in the pics. Discovering that a night, in pitch black, was a bit scary. Follow Vacasa's driving directions, because it's an easy drive-by, after "you arrive." I'd like to return to enjoy the lake, and trekking in the area. Much of our time was in Townsend town. We did not use the hottub, which was at ground level (kind of out the way); All of our gatherings were at the second level deck, living room, kitchen (of course), and dining room. I'd come back here, don't regret the deciding on this cabin. It met all of our need.
Beverly M. May 2020
The cabin was beautifully placed and perfectly done for our family of 8. We had a Momma Bear and her baby (Maple and Molly) visit us every morning! The only cons were the jacuzzi tub in the master is not able to be used (very disappointed), the beds are hard and there is no wifi. Other than that it was perfect!
Kimber N. Dec 2019
I normally don't pay to much attention to reviews until I had the worst stay ever. Couches were horrible. Springs broken, saggy sofa and nasty fabric. Hot tub was grimmy and the cover needed replaced. This place is in desperate need of updating in everyway. VRBO needs to be more involved making sure things are up to par...Shower curtains were soiled and the pic with the jetted tub is not for use. Also the heater kept turning off and on making a horrible racket all night. The ceiling fan needs replaced, I think it may be on it's last leg. Horrible place! Worst $500.00 iv ever wasted! Left the next day after paying for 2 nights. Directions off on GPS! So don't depend on that. Please, if you decide to make a bad choice and stay here... Go during the day so you can find it.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, Kimber. We are sorry to read it was a disappointment for you. The owner is shutting this home down for the winter to do some updates, and all of your concerns will be handled at that time. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future.
Gerald B. Dec 2019
It had all the room we needed and a beautiful setting. The downside was that there was a trash bag in the woods from previous guest and bears had scattered the trash around and I cleaned it up.
Manager response:
We are happy that you enjoyed your home! We are sorry for the inconvenience of the trash. Please call our 24/7 Guest Services line in the future if you need assistance. We hope you will let us host you again soon!
Shelly S. Aug 2019
I loved the seclusion and wildlife. Very relaxing! The home was comfortable and cozy. They had everything you would need for a home away from home. Towels, dishes, coffee pot, full kitchen, and a hot tub.
herney a v. Aug 2019
When I booked this house I knew from the very beginning that this was the house that I was looking for! It has everything you need! I will stay here next time I go to Gatlinburg for I recommended 💯%
Ronald B. Jul 2019
We loved everything, the location was perfect. Out of town by a couple of minutes but super close to the river and centrally located to get to Gatlinburg and pigeon forge with a short drive as well.
Wayne b. Jul 2019
We loved our stay at Peak a View Cabin! Will book again next year!!!
Rusten M. Jun 2019
Secluded but convenient. Great for the family.
Jerry H. Apr 2019
Very roomy and loved the pond and it was very secluded even though it was not that far from all the attractions