Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >
Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.
Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.
Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.
Mt. Hood lodge in Forest Setting W/ Firepit & Private Hot Tub!
Times come in life when you just need to escape and get away from it all! When those times come, retreat with your family or friends to beautiful Sycamore Lodge. This amazing rental provides guests with a true lodge experience with handcrafted furniture, warm woodwork throughout and a huge stone fireplace that is the centerpiece of the downstairs living area. Upstairs is a separate loft area with its own wood stove, the perfect spot to relax with a good book on a cold winter day. Outdoors, you can spend time soaking in the private hot tub or unwind on the large stone patio and roast marshmallows in the fire pit. Whatever you choose to do, Sycamore Lodge is the ideal home for rejuvenating your mind and body.
What’s nearby: Government Camp is just a short drive from the home. In town during the summer, you will find the Mt. Hood Adventure Park with over 20 exciting activities to choose from including an alpine slide, zip lines, and mountain bike park and much, much more. Each winter, skiers and snowboarders will love hitting the slopes at Mt. Hood Skibowl, Timberline Lodge or Mt. Hood Meadows.
Things to know: Free WiFi Full kitchen Wine cooler Private washer & dryer * Active security cameras are located outside of the home pointed at the driveway and at a trail coming to the home. Larger groups can book an adjacent retreat as well at Syca-LOT-More Lodge
2 dogs , weighing 60 lbs or less, welcome in this home. No other animals are allowed without specific Vacasa approval.
Parking notes: Parking is available in the home's driveway
Security camera details: Active security cameras are located outside of the home pointed at the driveway and at a trail coming to the home.
You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.
Hot tub (Private)
Washer/dryer : Private
Heating & cooling
Kitchen & dining
Nearby activities & attractions
Hot tub : Private
Gas grill : Private
Patrick M.Nov 2022
This lodge was EXACTLY what we were looking for! Everything was clean, the kitchen had ALL the gadgets we needed (including a coffee grinder and even a food processor which we used for our sweet potato casserole), and the fireplace was AH-MAZE-ING (we had Bud Carrick, a local vendor, deliver plenty of firewood - I highly suggest reaching out to them for good prices and easy delivery)! While there are neighbors nearby, you still feel plenty secluded, and the surrounding forest is absolutely gorgeous!
Shawn A.Nov 2022
The fresh air and very quite neighborhood.
John H.Oct 2022
The house was great for family vacation. Perfect space for six of us. Large open living room with fabulous fireplace open to second floor so we could be connected while enjoying different spaces. First floor bedroom and bathroom essential for us elders and two bedrooms plus single bed alcove upstairs. Our 3 yr old grandson loved the alcove and slept well in there. Hot tub was well cared for. Good times. Beautiful patio space
Michelle F.Oct 2022
Quiet. Peaceful. Loved the little nooks around the place!
Taylor D.Jul 2022
That first time walking into the main living area was jaw dropping —the wood floored and paneled living room opens to the second floor with a massive stone fireplace as a central focal point and lit by an antler chandelier. It really earned the name "lodge!"
Hillary R.Jul 2022
Beautiful home, all things functioning, clean and in perfect order. We had a lovely stay. No issues.
Jessica G.Jun 2022
Space was roomy and well furnished.
Rosalynn M.Jun 2022
Rustic, cozy, and enchanting. We loved the fireplace and hot tub. We were sad that weather did not permit us to use the outdoor fire pit. We’ll be back for sure!
Stephanie C.May 2022
I booked this spot when it first was listed back in 2020. But when the pandemic happened I canceled and I am so happy I was able to book again in 2022. After looking at the reviews I was a little worried about a couple things, but once I got to the cabin everything was fixed (from the things people said in the reviews).
There was plenty of wood, There's an extra loft spot at the very top of the cabin that the listing didn't mention (which was so cool), a rock climbing section for kids in one of the private rooms (super rad!!), and everything was seriously top-notch.
I am definitely going to book this cabin in the future, and recommended to all my friends and family members.
The only thing I would say is the hot tub lights were not working, and there is no lights in the hot tub section. Thankfully I did bring a couple Christmas lights and hung them above the hot tub so we can see where we were going at night, but that was probably the only thing that I would say needs work.
Everything else was amazing! The cabin was bigger than I even expected, the cabin was in the middle of two other cabins but there was so much space, I didn't even notice them. Such a hidden and beautiful gem! Thank you!
Brad K.Apr 2022
We loved everything about the place. It was nice My only suggestion would be to let people who are staying there no early that they need to buy firewood. Didn't even cross my mind. It doesn't bother me that firewood wasn't supplied, but it would be nice to know to pick it up before you get to the house. Thank you
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, Brad. Please note that the first fire is provided and additional wood can be purchased at the local market. We are so pleased to hear you had a good stay at our home and we look forward to hosting you again!
Steve T.Apr 2022
Everything was perfect…..The private serene location….The tall amazing trees the perfect mix of old world rustic cabin life and modern technology. The most amazing northwest decorations and artwork nestled inside an amazing designed and built home with all the amenities needed for a relaxing time away from the hustle and bustle of the busy world. The family had an amazing time making wonderful memories !!!!!!!!
Nancy M.Apr 2022
We all loved staying here. The kitchen was very well stocked which made it easy for fixing meals. I loved that each bedroom had it's own heat control and the kids loved all the ladders & stairs. This place was perfect for all of us. This lodge is full of unique accessories which made it very homey. It's fairly close to stores, the Lodge and playing in the snow. Totally recommend staying here.
Cheryn R.Mar 2022
The beds upstairs weren't very comfortable, the heater in the second bedroom upstairs didn't work, and you can see your neighbors when you are outside. We loved the tree swing, indoor fireplaces, the game room that had an extra futon in it, and the hot tub even tho cold water leaks into it from the deck above when its raining.
Troy S.Mar 2022
We used this home for our home base while skiing on Mount Hood. Such a charming home and location. Everything was great. Would highly recommend.
Susanna M.Feb 2022
Upon arrival our faces and spirits instantly lit up. The cabin is hidden in the woods and had everything our group needed over the weekend. Once we stepped inside we were in awe of how beautiful the cabin was decorated and the layout is spectacular. We were two families so everyone picked a bedroom that was perfect for them. My son especially liked the twin wall bed that had curtains and the upper loft area. The teen girls loved the DVD collection and games tucked away in a cabinet. The adults enjoyed cooking in the kitchen, sitting around the fire pit and soaking in the hot tub after skiing each day. We would love to come back to the Sycamore Lodge each year as do my Facebook friends (lol)! Highly recommend this vacation rental.
Bethany M.Jan 2022
The house is amazing and beautiful. Great location, very comfortable and kids LOVE IT!!! A couple down falls.... 1) hot tub was gross and wouldn't stay running (kept tripping the breaker) and when you were on the lounge part of the hot tub, cold water would drip on you from the ceiling above. Next, there was literally only 3 coffee cups. Next, not enough toilet paper was left in the house to make it the whole trip and for the price you pay to rent this, there should be. Next, not enough towels (especially since the washer and drier were broken). Next, the washer and drier weren't working (not acceptable, especially when they don't tell you this before you arrive. Next, the 2 beds upstairs are extremely uncomfortable and one even felt like it may fall apart. Lastly, they leave you with a small amount of fire wood but don't tell you that if you want to use the amazing fire place, you will need to bring wood or buy it for a small fortune locally. I'd stay here again and just come more prepared. However, I feel like the owner of the home probably isn't aware that the vacation rental company in charge of this house isn't doing a very good job and poor communication as well.
Hello Bethany, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about the maintenance and cleaning oversights found upon your arrival. We are disappointed to see that these concerns were not reported to us during your stay as we would have been happy to assist. Our property manager confirms the washing machine was working during your stay and the dryer is now fixed. To clarify, we provide our guests with a starter kit of supplies. This includes cleaning supplies, toiletries, and paper products. A small amount of firewood is also provided. Once these supplies run out it is the responsibility of our guests to provide any additional supplies throughout the remainder of their stay. We hope that the refund that you were given has helped with some resolution for the issues you experienced.
Zoe E.Dec 2021
This is a beautiful home with lots of space for sitting/reading/eating. Located in Rhododendron, OR it is not too far from the ski area and Government Camp. We have come a few times and always enjoyed our stay. This time we were disappointed to find the amenities a bit lackluster. There were only four bowls and four coffee mugs - which made it hard for our large family to have soup one night. There were also only a handful of plates. Plus the drier was broken - with a sign on it that seemed like it had been there a long time. It would have been nice to have known about the drier ahead of time - things get wet when skiing and we would have brought more base layers. All in all a nice house but needs a bit more TLC.
Zoe, we strive to give guests the most enjoyable stay, and we sincerely apologize if that standard was not achieved! Thank you for notifying us, allowing our local staff to address the matters at hand. Our local team is currently repairing the dryer and commencing updates. Again, we appreciate you allowing us to host you and look forward to another opportunity to give a more pleasant stay!
Riana W.Dec 2021
This cabin is amazing. There is so many surprises around every corner and my kids loved it (ages 13 and 18). Governemt camp is a short drive and has a ton of activities in both winter and summer. You feel nicely secluded in this cabin despite being close to civilization if you need it. My only complaint and only reason i am leaving 4 stars instead of 5, would be that our power went out due to the storm on our last night there and it was freezing. All the neighbors surrounding us had generators and we did not :( so that was a major bummer as there is no cell service in the cabin and you need the power for wifi. So it was pitch black and freezing for our entire last night there so my only nitpicking is that the owner should consider a generator. But this place is absolutely amazing and we will be returning next year for sure!! Wonderful home.
Chris K.Dec 2021
Overall, the house was cozy and we had a good time. There were several things that were not in line with what we were expecting though The washer was not working so we couldn't do any laundry while we were there. In addition, the hot tub has no light which is mentioned in the listing but also has wood beams above that constantly drip water onto you in the tub. The kitchen is fine but a little bit small. We had a power outage the last 12 hours of our stay including overnight our last night. This made packing up complicated and not very pleasant the next morning. It was quite frustrating to see everyone else on the street have electricity from their generators except for us.
We appreciate you staying with us, Chris. The washer is being handled as quickly as possible with the chain supply issues occurring right now. The drips are being investigated. Thank you!
Misti L.Dec 2021
Did not know until we got there we would not be able to do laundry, with 8 people bathing/showering using the hot tub, a pain to have to go into town for several hours and use a laundry mat. beds and furniture other than the 2 club chairs are pretty hard. Place feels private even though neighbors around are close. fire pit not covered and raining most of the time so we could not use. Grandkids had fun, did start snowing a little bit on our last day there. Loved the heated kitchen floor. Also wood floors are pretty heavily waxed or something so be careful if your wearing socks it's quite slippery in certain areas.
Britt C.Oct 2021
What a delightful escape for a girls' weekend. The pictures are gorgeous and reality is even better. This cabin has attention to detail everywhere you turn. The cozy fireplace and living area, the large table for games and dining, the full-equipped kitchen, the cozy bedrooms, the hidden little nooks that you delightfully find. We loved the fire pit and tree swing, the hot tub is covered which makes it perfect for use all winter -- a fun place to watch the rain and stay toasty warm. My friends can't wait to visit again and make this a tradition. I will note that we had a super minor issue with the dishwasher and wanted to report it so that they knew it wasn't working right. It didn't impact our stay in the least. The reason I mention this -- we received a text back immediately with an offer to send someone out that very day to fix it. We declined - totally not necessary, but we were so impressed with their responsiveness. Hey, it's a house - things happen. What you hope for is that if something went wrong that impacted your stay, someone would swoop in to help. I am absolutely confident that should there have been anything significant, it would have been handled on the spot. Great service. Thank you, thank you! Book this place!
Lydia G.Aug 2021
This place was even better than we had imagined. It is an absolutely dreamy getaway and well worth the cost if you’re splitting it 4-5 ways!
Eric M.Aug 2021
My family and I absolutely loved staying here. The cabin had a unique layout with an open space with a grand fireplace as the center piece and separate spaces around the perimeter for the kitchen, bathrooms, and bedrooms. The cabin was clean and had everything we needed. Other unique features included a large bathtub in the upstairs bathroom and secret loft space with a TV and Xbox, both were utilized during our stay. The property is private and secluded. Enjoyed many hours on the patio admiring the large fir trees, hemlocks, and cedars. The swing was a big hit with the family. The location was excellent. It was within 10-15 minutes from some of Mt Hoods best trailheads as well as a grocery store, gas station and restaurants. The Timberline Lodge, Sno Bowl, and Trillium Lake are an easy 25-30 minutes. We already planning out next trip out to the PNW and look forward to staying here again.
Brenda J.Jul 2021
This is our 2nd time to stay at the Sycamore Lodge. It’s so ideal for our family vacation with all the comforts you could want… well stocked kitchen, upscale appliances, theme decorating throughout, board games, huge dvd selection, outdoor gathering areas & games, hot tub, washer/dryer, plenty of linens, etc. Like a storybook place!
michele m.Jul 2021
This home is clearly crafted with personal care, loaded with character and situated down a private lane among towering trees…an idyllic escape. So many amenities and cool kid features …. the rope swing was a huge hit!
Donald S.Jun 2021
We have stayed here about 4 times. This is a special home and one of our favorites!
Allison W.May 2021
My friends and I enjoyed this beautiful cabin last weekend. The property is deep in the forrest, and although you can see the neighbors, the trees help it feel secluded. The kitchen is well stocked. The rope swing outside is a major hit - even for adults! We enjoyed the outdoor firepit as well as the indoor fireplace the entire time. I will say, they only provide about 4 pieces of wood - so make sure to bring a bundle (or 5). The hot tub was hot and relaxing. The only small gripe i have is that the beds are all full size and pretty hard and uncomfortable. For such an incredible cabin, i would have splurged a little on making the beds more comfy cozy. I would definitely recommend this cabin to anyone who wants the Mt. Hood Oregon experience!
phil l.Mar 2021
We had a great time at the cabin. Everything was very friendly and everything worked well great skiing at Mount Hood
Erin E.Mar 2021
My family loved this house. It was large but cozy with tons of things to explore. The outdoor swing from the trees was one of our favorite parts. The kitchen was well stocked and the DVD library was really fun for the kids to pick from then watch in the secret game room. The only disappointment and the reason I'm not leaving five stars was that hot tub was a little murky and the jets stopped responding so we decided not to use it. Even so, we booked the home again for next year.
Hi Erin, thank you for staying with us. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the home! We apologize for the issues with the hot tub during your stay. The house manager is working to repair the issue. We look forward to hosting you again!
Kimberly E.Feb 2021
Lovely cabin! We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return.
Michelle S.Jan 2021
We enjoyed our three nights at Sycamore Lodge. The house is so beautiful and comfy, and the floor plan/layout was great; it had a nice flow that brought everyone together. We did a bunch of cooking in the kitchen and were pleased with the set up. A few very small gripes: we would have preferred if there were one or two of queen-sized beds instead of full-sized ones; one bedroom smelled slightly of cigarette smoke; the firewood was too damp to get started; and the hot tub wasn't working (we were compensated for the broken tub, and I think it has since been repaired). These were very minor concerns in comparison to the overall pleasure of staying at the lodge. It was peaceful and lovely.
Michelle, thank you for staying with us. We are so glad that you had fun on your visit and were able to enjoy use of the kitchen. We are sorry if one of the bedrooms had a smoke smell. Homes with wood-burning capabilities can sometimes cause confusion between wood smoke and cigarettes. During cleaning our housekeepers will notify us if cigarette smoke is detected in the home. We hope that you’ll visit again soon for another truly relaxing stay.
Kim N.Jan 2021
Incredibly beautiful setting, fantastic custom touches throughout the house.
Matt E.Dec 2020
This house is outstanding, and our group loved every minute. It's the definition of cozy, with charming elements everywhere you turned. I loved the giant copper tub (though it took FOREVER to fill thanks to bad water pressure), the centerpiece fireplace, and all of the really nice details. I mean... real Pendleton blankets is not something you expect from a vacation rental.
The only two things I wish there was an improvement on: better water pressure and larger beds. They're all full-sized when it looks like queens could fit pretty easily and be more comfortable. We've got some big dudes in our crew, and it made for tight squeezes.
Even with that, we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Almost a perfect cabin in the woods.
Chase F.Nov 2020
Perfect house tucked away out a quiet road in the forest. Great indoor fireplace and kitchen in the main floor. Media room upstairs helped keep the cabin feel.
More bedding/throw blankets would’ve been appreciated but everything you need was there.
Michelle B.Oct 2020
The first steps into this ineffable home was the cedar wood throughout that gave it that wonderful fragrance of nature. All the extras were the cherries on top like the rock wall to hidden platform beds and the “top of the world” game room!
Christina P.Jul 2020
Great property and location. We used the fire pit every single night, the outside of this property is beyond what I can put into words. I loved it. The fire pit was perfect for relaxing with a drink,
and roasting marshmallows and hot dogs. The tree swing was definitely the kids favorite amenity, the hot tub their next fave. The kitchen was perfect. The only thing we needed and couldn’t find was a baking sheet. The beds were full sized. I was expecting queens, but that is my mistake for not paying more attention to the description. We ended up with a kid and an adult in the fulls and 1 adult ended up sleeping on the couch. This home is full of cool surprises for kids. One of the full bed rooms has a rock wall that leads to a loft type surround with 3 twin sized mattresses that could also be used for a kids sleeping area, however there was no extra bedding available to utilize them for sleeping. Extra bedding would be a great addition. The kids loved playing on the rock wall and climbing into that loft area. There was also a 3rd story loft area that the kids LOVED, a video gamers heaven, but we had to ban the kids from playing up there because nails were sticking thru the ceiling. Nails were also sticking thru the ceiling of the 2nd floor hide a bed area (twin mattress with the curtains in the pics). My 9 year old slept there and he was very careful not to take a nail to the skull. I would like to suggest the nails tips be cut off or bent in those areas because it is definitely a safety hazard. Just in case anyone is wondering about the comfort of the mattresses, the 1st floor double had a tempurpedic type mattress and I think it was possibly the softest mattress available, the 2nd floor double had an extra firm box spring mattress, the 2nd floor bunk room had box spring mattresses that were a tad bit softer. The hide a bed was medium firmness. I prefer a soft pillow top mattress, so none made the cut for me, but the mattresses were on par to other vacation rentals I have stayed at. Another thing I want to point out is that this property has no air conditioning or ceiling fans, which is not a deal breaker for me at all. We visited when the daytime temps were in the mid 90’s, and that is not the properties fault. I just really wished there were screens on the windows because there were lots of bugs and mosquitoes. A few portable fans for hot days would make a great addition. The inside temps with windows closed was 77 degrees. We finally decided to open windows on our last night because we were tired of baking while we slept. I highly recommend window screens so renters can enjoy the very enjoyable lower night temps without fearing being eaten alive by mosquitoes. The bathrooms were nicely done w/ tons of towels. The 1st floor bathroom had 1 shower and the 2nd floor had the copper tub. There was lots of space that can accommodate a large family. The property was really amazing and beautiful. Just a few tweaks would make it truly perfect.
Hi, Christina! Your feedback is so appreciated. We are suggesting additional bedding and screens to the owner based on your review, and maintenance is scheduled to check for nails. Thank you!
Kalani P.Jun 2020
This is the most beautiful cabin we have stayed at in Mt Hood. It's tucked in the forest with an outdoor firepit, hot tub and swing. Inside is very nicely decorated with a well equipped kitchen. Highly recommend.
Craig G.Feb 2020
Authentic Pacific NW Cabin in a beautiful setting ! We will definitely be back again.
Toni B.Dec 2019
What an awesome find!! This house was built with a lot of love. There are so many fine details it’s amazing. We were very comfortable here. Everything you could possibly need was supplied. All the staff from booking to the gal who cleaned the home were very personable and took care of our every need.
We enjoyed the hot tub, the fire pit, the fire place and yes even the copper bath tub.
definitely recommend, definitely will return .
Elizabeth J.Aug 2019
This house is so unique. So much thought and craftsmanship went into building it. We loved the location, back off the road and pretty private. There are several other homes fairly close by but because it is so wooded you don’t even really notice them. There’s really nothing within walking distance but we didn’t mind the short drive to Ski Bowl or little Zig Zag falls.
The kitchen was fairly well stocked except for a good spatula 😄
There are two bathrooms but only one shower. The copper tub is beautiful but not very practical. The hot/cold handle in the shower is really finicky and the water pressure is very low.
Something that is not stated in the description of the home that was a surprise to us is they expect you to cart out all your trash! We are fairly local so it wasn’t a huge deal for us, just inconvenient. I could see it being a problem for someone from out of state or if your car is packed pretty tight and you simply don’t have room to haul out your trash bags. Other than those items, we really did love the house and we all: children and adults, made use of the AWESOME swing outside! If you’re able to deal with the quirks, you will enjoy this home!
Thank you for your thoughtful feedback and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! The owner has purchased outdoor trashcans so that guests no longer have to cart away their trash. Thank you!
Matthew M.Jul 2019
The house was truly authentic and rustic, but with a modern twist. The kitchen was fully stocked with anything you could ever need. Even the kitchen floors were heated!
As you arrive, you come up to a somewhat secluded gravel road that leads you to the front gate. Other similar homes surround the home, but they are far enough away to get that secluded feeling. The house is in a dense forest, level with the trees and surrounding area, so nighttime can get a bit eerie.
Anyone looking to get away from the city to soak in the quietness of the forest should keep this place in mind. Hiking is limited in the surrounding area, and the river is on the other side of Lolo pass road. Hence, most adventures will require a drive or a rather long walk.
Picky notes to the owner: I would label some of the light switches. It took us some time to figure out where all the lights were. For instance, we never found the light switch for the front porch. Perhaps those lights were just burnt out. Either way, labels are easy enough, and they really help! Finally, I would disable the security cameras for the house when people are renting. They may already be disabled, but a note letting us know that ahead of time would've provided better peace of mind. Privacy is critical when renting!
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Our local staff is looking in to the front porch light to make sure that it is in working order, and the light bulbs are not burnt out. We will also be labeling the light switches to make it a bit easier for our future guests! Both of the security cameras on the home are outdoors, one pointing at the drive way and other pointing at the trail coming to the home. These cameras are meant solely for the security of the home and our guests, and are turned off during guests stays. We appreciate your feedback, and are so happy you had a great time. We hope to host you again soon!