USA Idaho Lake Pend Oreille Sagle Listing #2942

The Osprey Perch - Sagle, ID

Take a Virtual Tour
70 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Futon, 1 Crib 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 4 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Rustic Dog-Friendly Cabin with Wood-Burning Stove and Lake and Mountain Views

Breathe in the fresh mountain air and admire gorgeous lake views at this rustic, two-bedroom abode. With a balcony overlooking the woods and a full kitchen to whip up any meal for the family, this is a perfect place to call home for the duration of your adventures in Idaho. This cabin is filled with character and is about as cozy as can be, so relax by the woodstove (wood is provided) as you admire the outdoors through the many picturesque windows. The private balcony immediately makes you want to head outside for a glass of wine while watching the sunset. With no Wifi connection, this is the ultimate getaway to recharge and fully soak in the beautiful landscape. This is a dog-friendly home as well, so bring your furry friend along, as it is sure to love a dip in the lake!

What's Nearby:
Though secluded, you are just minutes from Garfield Bay and on Lake Pend Oreille, one of the largest, deepest lakes in the Idaho panhandle. All sorts of outdoor activities, ranging from skiing to hiking to boating and much more are available nearby, so get ready for some nature-filled fun! Sagle is a small mountain town just five miles south of bustling Sandpoint where you can meander through tree-lined streets or relax at one of the beaches of the area. If you want to stick around the area, skipping rocks on the lake at sunset is hard to beat!

Things to Know:
Dogs are welcome with an additional fee
Four-wheel drive may be necessary during winter months
There is a wood stove and two mini-split units that provide heating and cooling

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.






Children's games

High chair


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Space heater

Wood stove

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Lake view

Water view

Mountain view




VHS library

Wireless router



Step-free access

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private


Beach towels

70 reviews

Sandra R. Aug 2022
We had a great stay. Enjoyed the views and the nearby Captain's Table.. The early morning sun does heat up the upstairs room quickly, so I suggest pulling the fan out of the closet the night before.
Michael B. Aug 2022
this house was in a great location- we could see the lake from our balcony/windows. Garfield Bay is very quiet and peaceful.
Sean H. Aug 2022
We loved the lake/beach access, and we also loved the location in proximity to Silverwood! The cabin was secluded, quiet, and a great place to relax! Thank you!
rae lynn c. Jul 2022
We stayed here for two nights to mountain bike at the mountain. About 45-60 min drive to Schweitzer. Full kitchen, with a few spices. Has coffee pot and blender. Full size fridge. Concrete counters and floors down stairs, great for dogs. No real yard or grass. Lots of deer. Beds are comfy. Upstairs has great deck and view of lake when you wake up through the trees. Park nearby, has lake access, and food truck. Small store nearby is very small with not a lot of options, go into Sandpoint (25-30 min) for groceries. Quite a distance off main highway. Road is rough once you get to Garfield Bay. I have a all wheel drive car, and we bottomed out each time we came up drive way. Road is gravel and has pot holes. Very peaceful. Cleaning crew did not sweep upper deck, lots of mouse droppings, I notified Vacasa so they would clean this for future people. Wifi and Service were good. I had no issues connecting at all.
Kari C. Nov 2021
Incredibly peaceful. Having morning coffee on the balcony overlooking the lake was amazing! We even had a bald eagle visitor!
Tammy C. Oct 2021
This cabin was a nice hide away from all the electronics we deal with in our everyday life. It is tucked into a beautiful setting.
Kory A. Sep 2021
Right on the lake, surrounded by friendly people and natural splendor, lots of wild turkeys and deer all over, I loved it!
Nels R. Sep 2021
The photos didn't do the quality of the home justice. It is very nice! The master bedroom was delightful and had a good bed! A short drive to a public beach and boat launch is a plus.
On the downside, the driveway is a challenge, but our Subaru Forester was up to it, and there isn't really any yard to speak of.
James M. Aug 2021
Our reserved weekend was very smoky due to fires. Thankfully the cabin has a mini-split, so we could get some respite from the smoke outside. There are a few things that could use improvement. The down stairs shower head needs a swivel and a water reducing valve. If you are short, it will be unusable for you. My short wife and two kids had to use the master shower. There were some dirty plates put away in drawers, not sure if that is a recurring issue. Like another reviewer, we had major problems with wasps. It appears there is nest in the wall on the main floor. We killed a number of them, but not before one stung me on my bare toe (owner says no shoes in the house). It has been a week and I am still in pain. We decided to give the cleaners a head start and washed the downstairs sheets while we were packing our last morning. The mattress has gross stains on it. I never understand why you wouldn't have mattress covers, especially in a rental.

Overall the cabin was nice, and it was remote, which is what we wanted. Outside of a restaurant/bar/grocery store close by, there is not much else. Plan on 25 minutes each way to drive to downtown Sandpoint.

The cleaners were also waiting in the drive while we were packing up. Not a big deal, but if checkout is 10, don't be sitting waiting for us at 9:30am. Kills the vibe a bit.

Overall I'd give it 3.5 stars. This would be good for two small families, but outside of the kitchen table, there is no living room/gathering area. For my family of four with two small kids, it was great.
Manager response:
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, James. The property manager is looking to replace the shower head with something more functional after receiving your feedback. We do apologize if housekeeping missed checking the dishes and will remind them to do this and ask them to set wasp traps as well. A new mattress cover is being provided. We hope to host you again!
Jessica B. Aug 2021
Location and view of the lake were great! Neat little cabin-like home.
Carol S. Aug 2021
Cute cabin on a beaut
These maintenance items would have improved the stay:
1. No house/location specific information on site
2. Can not see the numbers on the lock box after sunset
3. Downstairs shower can not be turned on without soaking the person and bathroom
4. Refrigerator is accumulating ice and water on the floor of the refrigerator portion of the unit
5. One burner on the stove will not light - cook was unsuccessful in using a match to light it
6. Sink spray hose leaks
7. Dishwasher left gritty residue on dishes, hand washed everything after first use
8. Would have been nice to have a screen door on the front door for better air circulation when air-conditioner was not on
9. Land line phone receives calls but does not call any number except local ones with a 208 area code; none in our party had phones with that area code, so we could call them but they could not call us.
Manager response:
Hi, Carol! Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback and suggestions for improvement. We apologize for the cleanliness and maintenance oversights you found upon your arrival. The home has outside lights that we like to keep on before guests arrive so they can see the lockbox, but we will look into adding some kind of nightlight to help with this. We will look at the showers and spray hose and our housekeepers will take care of the ice accumulation in the freezer. There is a grill lighter in the cabinet next to the oven to turn on the stove. While it works well lighting it manually, an appliance company will check it. We have passed all parts of your feedback to our local staff so we can continue to make our homes the best they can be!
John M. Jul 2021
This cabin was my own private Idaho! Perfectly appointed with what I needed, from laundry, to the kitchen, to comfy beds, beautiful scenery, quiet, accessible... the list could go on. A quick to Sandpoint for small twin charm and activities galore! I will be back... I will be back....
John W L. Jun 2021
The location of this cabin was great but there were a couple of things that caused some issues during our stay. First, the main floor has a strong smell of mildew/mold even though there were air fresheners. Second, one reason we picked this rental was the fact that there was a crib upstairs since we have an infant. When we touched the mattress, it engulfed my hand. The mattress was way too soft for an infant per safe sleep guidelines in order to prevent suffocation. As a rental I was disappointed that this wasn’t previously addressed. It is a huge liability for Vacasa and the owner as well. Third, the AC didn’t work upstairs. Like other reviews, the cabin would benefit with better seating and pillows but they weren’t awful since we were expecting this. We enjoyed our stay but these couple improvements above could make the cabin safer and more comfortable.
Manager response:
Hi, John! We are so glad you stayed with us and sincerely apologize for any safety concerns you had. The owner will be getting a new mattress for the crib. The rug in the living room has been replaced to address the unpleasant odor you encountered, and the mini-split AC units are both working correctly. Thank you!
Barbara G. Jun 2021
We were very disappointed with the pots and pans in the kitchen!! They were absolutely terrible!! Buy some new cookie sheets and pans plus better tops cooking pans too! We bought our own and took them with us. Yours were ridiculously old and not worthy of use. There is NO seating for 8 at the kitchen table. FIRST, the table is shakey! Not worthy of a rental at your price! It would easily break,. SECOND, there is no seating for 6 or 8 people in the "main room"! It might sleep eight but NOTHING ELSE. There is no "gathering room" and NO gathering space outside. NO sitting or eating area outside to make up for the lack of space inside. Why? The floor coverings were terrible dirty. Just awful. From the floors up looked fine but UNDER THE BEDS and other furniture was disgusting. Your floors are pitiful. Get NEW STUFF>..,,, I paid over a thousand dollars for the location and we would not dream of going barefoot in your location. The weather was fantastic so that was the best as we remained at the lake as much as possible which was a delight. Other than for that, you need to improve on the above items. Thank you, Barbara Graves Kempton
Manager response:
Hi, Barbara, thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are sorry you had a negative experience in this home. Your concerns shared with our customer experience team were taken seriously. We have since made changes to improve this home, including adjusting the maximum occupancy and replacing the pots, pans, and baking sheets. We also performed a deep clean. However, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the lake nearby! Thank you for the opportunity to improve this home, we hope we have an opportunity to host and impress you in the future.
Anthony M. Oct 2020
This cabin was awesome! Everything we needed was there , it was beautiful and had an amazing lot area and awesome view of the lake. I highly recommend this cabin. We are definitely going to rent it again. One of the best cabins I ever rented!
Suzanne S. Sep 2020
The view was great.
Diane S. Aug 2020
The home was very quite and secluded. We enjoyed our time at the lake.
Amy P. Aug 2020
Loved the view that we had and proximity to the lake. Quiet neighborhood.
Maria L. Aug 2020
The Osprey Perch was a wonderful home base for our family vacation. Waking in the upstairs room with that view was a high point of every day. Thank you so much for a great stay.
Nurveta B. Jul 2020
We loved our stay at the cabin. Drinking coffee on the upstairs porch was the highlight of my stay. Hope to be back with just my lover for a romantic get away soon.
Ayricah Z. Jul 2020
We loved this cabin! The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because the driveway was crazy steep!
Renae S. Sep 2019
I got married at Garfield Bay, so my parents and I reserved the Osprey Perch to have a space to prep everything. Loved that it was pet-friendly! I was a little worried about the fact that there's no curtains on any of the windows, but it ended up not being a problem. I will say the pictures make the space look bigger than it is, but in the end it worked out for the number of people we had. The only down-side of this cabin, is that the walls are paper-thin. If you plan to sleep in the bedrooms upstairs, make sure no one plays any games or music that could get loud downstairs. It can get very loud when playing games downstairs and people are trying to sleep upstairs, even with doors closed. You can hear every footstep upstairs because the ceiling downstairs is the floor upstairs. Also, there's a walk-in closet upstairs that is the perfect size for a Queen air matress. I totally slept in there the night before my wedding. :P
Jannine K. Jun 2019
We enjoyed the views from the home in addition to sitting around the wood stove at night enjoying the fire. There really are no curtains as others have noted but the view is so amazing we didn't care. Because there's no cell service or internet it's a great place to disconnect. Our two golden retrievers enjoyed themselves and the house is set up great for those who have dogs. The beach at Garfield Bay is a 20 minute walk away, there's a shop for any grocery items you might have forgotten, plus they are well stocked with beer and wine. There's also a small bar in Garfield Bay. Easy access to nearby mountain bike and hiking trails at Mineral Point. Sandpoint is about 15 minutes away if you can pull yourself away from the tranquility. We enjoyed ourselves and can't wait to go back!
Arnalee S. May 2019
We had a great long weekend at Garfield bay. Cabin was great. Everything we needed including a full size gas BBQ for grilling our cedar plank salmon and bourbon marinated flat iron steak! Friends from Florida were impressed with the cute cabin and quiet bay. The second floor suite was upscale “cabin” and very private ! Weather wasn’t great so we had a cozy fire in the cast iron fireplace.... very enjoyable. We made wonderful memories!
Would definitely stay at THE OSPREY PERCH again!
Rhonda D. Nov 2018
We loved the location, the view of the lake, nice places for walks, the cozy wood stove, and that there was no wifi or cellular coverage. It was a great place to unplug and recharge!
Kaytlyn G. Oct 2018
We loved this cabin. Great location, off the grid. Note that there isn’t really a living room or hangout area except for the dining space. Not a problem, but good to know.
Lisa P. Sep 2018
The cabin is clean and has a nice view of the lake. The upstairs deck in great for morning coffee/tea and relaxing for a glass of wine in the evenings. Downstairs porch is perfect for bar-b-queuing and leisurely lunches. It is our favorite place to escape and just a short drive to Sandpoint.
Matthew F. Aug 2018
This is the perfect place if you are looking to get away from cell phone coverage! We had a family get together and enjoyed every minute. The guys were able to fish in the bay and catch some small mouth bass.
Rin C. Aug 2018
We love the cozy cabin and the view.
april r. Jul 2018
Me qnd my family of 8 stayed and enjoyed out time. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen had everything you could need when away from home! The only thing missing was curtains for the bedroom windows. Great place we will be back!
Jon G. Jul 2018
My wife and I were looking for a place that was remote and quiet and we found exactly that in this comfy little cabin. We relaxed on the deck, watched the deer and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the lake. The location made it easy to drive to Sandpoint, the Bird Museum and numerous awesome hiking hot-spots. It's an easy walk to Odie's general store for any forgotten supplies and kayak rentals. We found the cabin well stocked with dishes, cookware, etc but be sure to check the coffeemaker/French press. We found it still rather dirty from the previous renter.
Still, overall this was a fantastic getaway cabin and we look forward to our return visit to Northern Idaho.
Manager response:
We encourage all guests to reach out to our Customer Experience Agents so that we are able to take care of any issues the guests have once in the home. We have local staff who are able to come to the unit and do another clean for guests satisfaction.
Teri M. Jun 2018
This home was very comfortable and cozy, not to mention very clean. The beds were all very comfortable, which is very important to us. It was located a bit further away than we thought, but the instructions on finding the home were very clear. And since it was in a very quiet, nice area, the extra drive time wasn't minded. We saw deer every day we stayed, which is always nice. We were in the area visiting family, and we were only sad we didn't have more time to spend at the house.
Diana M. Jun 2018
We were disappointed in this rental. Although we love rustic, we had no cell service at the house. Based on the listing, seeing that it was next to Garfield Bay and the public boat launch, we brought our boat with us from Northern California. After leaving home, we received an email from the manager with check-in instructions. The email informed us that we could not bring a boat up the drive-way. Wish we had known that before leaving home!! The house was clean, however, there were wasps in the house which annoyed our dogs. No wood was available at the house for the fireplace. Disappointed and left early.
Manager response:
We apologize for the disappointments this guest experienced. We have updated our information to address the concerns about lack of cell service and the driveway. Please note there is a house phone available for local calls. We believe the wasps must have entered the home when the guest was unloading from the car as there were no issues with wasps while housekeeping was prepping the home. We did leave some wood for the guests, and the home also has gas heat. Thanks!
Mark T. May 2018
Beautiful place and good view.
Leigh J C. May 2018
View, description of details, proximity to ideal location, cleanliness, availability of supplies, privacy - all excellent. Manager responsive to phone inquiries, once we left area to achieve signal. Difficult to find, no cell signal for us; issue with key box code.
Once we were settled it was an excellent stay.
Robert O. May 2018
Nice spot with perfect lake view through the trees. Quiet and comfortable. The short walk to the beach, which we made many times with the dogs, allowed us the opportunity to meet a couple neighbors and made us feel like locals.
Louis S. Apr 2018
Stayed here for a couple days with a few friends to relax, read, enjoy some drinks, play some chess, and discuss life. Had a great time. The pictures fairly accurately depict the cabin. It's in good order, clean, and well-stocked. The wood stove is in need of maintenance and the roof should be de-mossed. Otherwise perfect.
Rebecca E. Oct 2017
Cabin was beautiful and peaceful! Great view from the upstairs deck. Home was clean and well stocked. We enjoyed our stay very much!
Jason . Sep 2017
great location- nice and quiet- smelled terrible and bring your own pillows. Also no comfortable furniture to relax on.
Kathryn K. Sep 2017
My boyfriend and I stayed here for a mid-week break. The cabin is clean, charming, and close to Sandpoint. Highly recommended!
Melisa H. Aug 2017
This was a very relaxing, very serene vacation for us - and this lovely cabin had everything to do with it! We loved eating breakfast and dinner at the cute farm table with a view of the lake and in the afternoon we would have a snack and read up on the balcony - such a beautiful view of the lake. The cabin had everything we needed to cook and was very well kept. It was wonderful to have a place where we could bring the dogs - it is a nice 10-15 min walk down to the beach and there is the perfect spot to let the dogs swim and play. Overall, we had a fantastic experience at Osprey Perch and Sagle/Sandpoint!
Ivy W. Jun 2017
I am an widowed mom of 5 babies. This was an amazing place to go for peace and quite and be able to re-boot. I had such an wonderful time. I can't wait to go back.
Next time I might bring the whole family.
Anyone who stays here will be amazed at its beauty and tranquility.
Dennis R. Jun 2017
The driveway isn't as bad as it makes it sound. I have a small Honda Fit and I was able to get up it no problem. In the winter, or heavy rain, the driveway might be an issue. Quiet, no internet, no cell reception (T-Mobile, Sprint, and US Cellular) which was exactly what we wanted. There's a small tube TV, with VCR and DVD in the main bedroom, and an assortment of random movies, though we never bothered, as we were there to unplug. Be sure to bring pantry basics with you, most vacasa homes I've stayed at in the past have had an assortment of goods left by previous tenants; not here. There was salt, and pepper (and the stated basics like dish soap, shampoo etc. that all locations have), so if you plan on cooking bring everything you need (not an issue for us). Another thing to note: there are no blinds anywhere. The main bedroom faces the east, and in the summer if you want to sleep in, you're going to be hit by a bolt of sunlight at 5 AM. There are only 2 cozy chairs in the main room, but not an issue for us, we were only 3. I couldn't see there being more than 6 adults/children tops fitting here, other than maybe squeezing a couple of infants in there as well. Highly recommended location, and will probably return annually.
Joyce L. Jun 2017
Had a wonderful time at the property. Great location. Very relaxing. Great accommodations. Everything welse needed was provided.
Anna N. Apr 2017
What a great little cabin!! I was drawn to it instantly just from the pictures, and It did not disappoint! This cabin is way out there... prepare at least a 30 minute trip to the closest town Sandpoint. The view is blocked by trees and other cabins but you can still see water. Everything inside was clean and all you could need in the kitchen. The bed upstairs isn't the most comfortable, and the bathtub is pretty small. But there was a tv with DVD and VCR player and a box of movies. I'd suggest bringing your own movies and board games. Service is very low but enough to send a text. I would also bring extra wood. There was hardly enough for one fire but we came prepared.
We hit up the Captians Table bar (about 3 minutes away) for drinks and some games of pool. It was very quite but this is the off season.
The weather wasn't great.. never really got a good view of the lake which was disappointing because we've never been. And it was snowing hard when we left. But we had a great getaway weekend, exploring Idaho and taking in the views! I highly reccomend this cabin- it would be so fun in the summer! I had a bad experience with Vacasa in the past, but no complaints about this one.
P.S. they aren't lying about the driveway being steep. It wasn't a problem for us, but it was tight for our diesel truck. Wouldn't be possible in winter.
Nils O. Dec 2016
Very nice cabin. Smooth transaction.
Rebecca K. Nov 2016
Super warm welcoming feeling at this cabin. Beautiful view, loved the little porch off the master bedroom. Really liked the kitchen was able to make a real dinner with what dishes were provided. My favorite part was the Christmas lights on the inside and Elvis and Lynrd
Katie T. Oct 2016
A cute little cabin. Lovely view. Wood stove warmed up the place in a hurry.
Ric A. Sep 2016
My wife and I enjoyed our stay here. The setting is peaceful and quiet and the view very pleasing.
Erin B. Aug 2016
It was fantastic, beautiful, and relaxing!
Jacob E. Jul 2016
The view is beautiful, the beach is close, and the cabin itself meets every need! We had high expectations for our honeymoon, and this retreat met and exceeded them!
Denise Z. Jul 2016
We came from CA for our sons wedding on Lake Pend Orielle. We loved our stay. It surpassed my expectations. The cabin had everything we needed. The beds were comfy and the surroundings were breathtaking. Tge driveway is steep but not too scary.
Christina M. Jul 2016
Had a great time the view was beautiful
Tim S. Jul 2016
This was our most enjoyable stay to date! We simply feel in love with this property and location. So many places to explore and experience close by. We will be back again. We have already been sharing our experience with friends and family.
James O. Jun 2016
Took family to visit North Idaho and Silverwood Amusement Park, the cabin was a great home base as we wandered and explored the area. Comfortable and clean. Enjoyable location that seems private and quiet.
Sharon B. May 2016
Enjoyed the vacation home, thanks for sharing. Great view of the Lake.
Christopher J R. Oct 2015
The cabin was a great place for my hubby and I to get away and unplug. We both enjoyed not having a TV, internet, or cell service for the week. We explored the area as well as hung out at the cabin, built a fire, and worked on a puzzle. Would love to come back and stay again.
Deborah S. Jul 2015
This is a lovely little home overlooking Garfield Bay. Be prepared to be off the grid with no cell, tv or internet service which would detract from the peaceful beauty of the surroundings. The lake is pristine and majestic. I highly recommend this spot for a relaxing and memorable vacation.
Calla P. Jul 2015
The house was lovely and was adequate for our vacation plans (as we didn't need Wifi or a TV etc.). We were under the impression that the house had water access, as I had called to confirm this prior to booking. Unfortunately that was not the case, and we had to drive to the public area to get to the water. When we arrived at the house, there was not a book explaining the property/area, which is something I am used to when renting vacation homes. Our cell phones did not work there, so I was grateful there was a home phone for us to use for emergencies and to contact Vacasa. Our power went out for the afternoon, which is something that one should know is a possibility when renting a house in this semi-remote area.
Gail G. Jun 2015
Just a fantastic stay from start to finish. We will be back.