USA Massachusetts Cape Cod Mashpee Listing #30788

Summersea - Mashpee, MA

Take a Virtual Tour
4 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 2 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Family summer home w/ expansive deck & wonderful location for beach-goers!

Find a bright, comfortable family escape at this five-bedroom Mashpee home, a well-appointed Cape Cod getaway with an expansive outdoor deck, a picturesque location, and nearby access to the lovely beaches of the Upper Cape.

Beautifully secluded near the southern shores of Ockway Bay, this three-level home sits among the trees five miles south of downtown Mashpee. Observe red foxes, white-tailed deer, and countless waterfowl at the Mashpee National Wildlife Refuge three miles west, and spend summer days on the shores of Popponesset Beach (two miles south), Mashpee Town Beach, or South Cape Beach State Park (both of which are three miles southwest).

Whether you're planning a summer vacation or searching for fall foliage, you'll find comfort, space, and privacy at this air-conditioned home. Kick off your flip-flops by the door, toss your bathing suits and towels in the washer/dryer, and relax on the sofas beneath two-story ceilings in the living room. Browse the cable channels on the flatscreen TV, set up a board game on the soft cream carpet, and use the free WiFi to catch up with loved ones back home.

Prepare breakfast as a family in the full kitchen each morning, and leave the dishwasher to take care of the chores. You'll have the entire day to swim in Nantucket Sound at Popponesset Beach, rinse off in the refreshing outdoor shower, and flip burgers on the gas grill for an al fresco lunch on the deck.

Treat your family to the quintessential summer in New England - book your memorable stay on Cape Cod today! A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.
This rental is located on floor 1.

Parking Notes: Guests must park in the driveway.

Other tax number: C0239801720

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining






Water view





Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf Nearby


Gas grill : Private



Beach towels


4 reviews

Liz D. Jul 2021
This house had so much potential. We were told checkin was 4pm however when we arrived housekeeping was there and we were told 5pm. Luckily we were able to come in anyway to drop our things.
The home itself is very large with plenty of room for large groups. Plenty of room for more than 8! However, upstairs the bedroom doesn't have a door.
Downstairs smells HORRIBLE. They clearly have a lot of dampness down there and with no dehumidifier they now have a mold and mildew problem. You can clearly see the mold in the basement bathroom! This was stated to be 'fixed' from the last review but it was not.
Overall I would say this home needs some serious updating and care. It has clearly been neglected for quite a while. This is good for maybe a group who doesn't care too much about their lodging. I found it very disappointing
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Liz. We sincerely apologize for the issues that you experienced regarding mold and dampness in the home. We very much appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention and have forwarded your concerns to the local manager who is currently working with the homeowner to address this health concern. We hope to be afforded the chance to make a better impression in the future.
Emanuel C. Sep 2020
The place is great but the minute we pulled into the driveway the neighbors started discriminating against us and said we have to keep it down and don’t be loud. They called the police on ya during the day we continued being nice and neighborly but I believe because of who we are it was a problem got them.
Manager response:
Emanuel, we are very glad you enjoyed your at Summersea. We do apologize for the issues you had with the neighbors although we cannot control others' behaviors. Please come back in the future. Thank you!
Kevin S. Jul 2020
So the house was actually very large and spacious, and can more than comfortably fit ten people. Plenty of seats in the living room / dining area, and a common area on the second floor balcony and in the basement as well. I think each floor's couch was a pull-out bed as well, so plenty of places to sleep along with the five bedrooms. Lots of deck doors and windows in the first floor letting in a lot of natural light.

However, there were many issues with the house that detracted from the stay. From the first picture you can see the driveway and path leading up to the house, with a path leading down to a small backyard to the left of the walkway. In reality, much of the shrubs and plants were overgrown, clearly having not been maintained in quite a while. A lot of overgrown grass on either side of the house.

Ironically, as we were checking into the property, a friend of mine saw Dimitri H's review of the property and over the course of our four night stay, pretty much everything he said was still present even though his stay was from the previous month.

The Vacasa app and check-in/out instructions give no instructions whatsoever on how to dispose of trash, and so, like the previous review, we checked in and saw a huge pile of trash on the front deck. Someone did come an hour after we checked in to pick up the trash, but there was no trash pickup (or places to put our trash) at all during our stay, meaning that our trash just sat on the front deck for all (and animals) to see.

Immediately we noticed signs of under-maintenance inside the property as well. The basement had a very musty and moldy smell. Fortunately, all of the bedrooms in the basement had their own AC unit which mitigated this. One of the closets was full of spider webs. The bedrooms in the basements also didn't have working light fixtures - they were all lamps. The pictures on the listing make the rooms look a lot brighter inside than they actually were.

We found that the first floor and second floor bathrooms did not have any functioning lights, which was also reflected in first review of the property. I found a tripped breaker in the basement, and on a subsequent night I discovered that it was a light switch in the hallway (possibly for a deck light) that was the culprit causing the breaker to trip. Dimitri discovered the same as well it would seem.

The AC leak from the previous reviews was also present. There was a huge puddle on the carpet on the second floor in front of the HVAC unit, and over the course of our four night stay, grew from about one foot in diameter to covering at least seven. The leak in the kitchen was very constant, and we ended up having to use lobster pots that we found in the cleaning closet (???) to catch the water. The house didn't have a mop, so we ended up buying a mop to clean up the water.

If that wasn't bad enough, on the second night, the AC unit for the first and second floor stopped working outright. The thermostat showed the inside temperature as over 80 degrees, and no amount of adjusting the thermostat, resetting the thermostat, or resetting the HVAC breakers would get it to turn back on. We could hear the fan running, but the AC just would not start. emailed Vacasa's customer service about the issue and I have not received a response on the issue even as I write this review today, 9 days after we checked out of the house. I called them the next day about the issue as well only to be told that there was nothing they could do.

The first floor bathroom did not have functioning hot water either, as previous reviewers mentioned. Funny enough, when I mentioned this to the phone support person, she acknowledged that the previous guests had reported the issue, so even after that it still wasn't fixed.

The duct taped deck chairs were still there too. And when lying in bed on the second floor bedroom, I noticed that the ceiling beams had a significant amount of black mold on them.

Overall, the house was in a great location and was very spacious and has so much potential, but it's painful to see how poorly maintained the house is and how great it could be if all of the issues were fixed.
Manager response:
Hi, Kevin! All of your concerns have been resolved, and we do apologize they were a problem during your stay. We hope to see you again when the home reopens next year!