USA Oregon Mt. Hood Rhododendron Listing #33809

Hygge Cabin On The River - Rhododendron, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
37 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 3 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 2 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Classic dog friendly riverfront cabin w/private hot tub & wood-burning fireplace

This peaceful and private home overlooking the Zig Zag river is the perfect blend of rustic charm on modern amenities. The large wood-burning fireplace is the ideal spot to gather around to relax and warm yourself up after a day on the slopes. The large outdoor deck, with its private hot tub and private gas grill, offers plenty of space to enjoy evening meals while taking in the amazing river views.

What's nearby:
Mt. Hood Skibowl is just nine miles away and offers skiing, snowboarding, and other winter sports activities in the winter and summer. Timberline Ski Area is a little over 16 miles away. Guests will enjoy being close to a Mt. Hood Express stop - hitch a ride to Skibowl and Timberline! With its proximity to three rivers (the Sandy River is the closest), guests with fishing poles won't be bored. Mt. Hood National Forest (just under 16 miles away) offers opportunities for hiking, biking, and kayaking.

Things to know:
Free WiFi and cable
Full kitchen
Dog friendly

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.






Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining







Water view





Cable : Dish Network

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games


Gas grill : Private



37 reviews

Tullia L. Jul 2022
Sitting above the Zig-Zag river, the home was great for a relaxing vacation with the family.
Well-stocked kitchen. Plenty of books and games to enjoy.
The hot tub was a nice bonus - very clean.
Jennifer F. May 2022
Clean, well stocked, comfy beds, great hot tub. Love it!
Melissa K. Apr 2022
Interior and exterior are lovely. I really enjoyed the reading nook, which was well lit and facing the river. Hot tub seemed well maintained. The sound of the river drowns out light traffic, but you can still hear it at busier times. There is a home right across the river, but it wasn't occupied, so we had plenty of privacy. There are no curtains on windows except bedrooms/baths. I thought that was nice, because you could enjoy the view and scenery all around. Kitchen had everything we needed, although some warped frying pans may need replacing. There was even a coffee grinder and slow-cooker available. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. One bed was more firm and one more soft. We were given one bundle of firewood and kindling for our stay, but we were able to purchase more from the market right across 26. We would love to stay again.
Sara Mei G. Mar 2022
Cabin was perfect and beautiful! Well stocked kitchen and classy decor and furniture which was a pleasant surprise. Some vacasa notes: no laundry detergent on site which made washing towels difficult, one of the beds was stained when we got there (ew), and the hot tub wasn’t kept well— was too many chemicals in there when we got there and there was a bunch of dirt and grime.
Manager response:
Hi, Sara Mei! We apologize the home was not properly prepared for you. The property manager has discussed your review with the housekeeping team. Hopefully we can better impress you in the future. Thank you!
Crista C. Mar 2022
Beautiful home. Loved the sound of the river and the large hot tub. Perfect for any family retreat!
Margaret M. Feb 2022
Very comfortable place and private. Listen to the river from the hot tub.
Only complaint is that the hot tub smelled heavily of chemicals on the first night. It improved after that. Also: don’t follow google maps! We got stuck in the snow
Carrie N. Jan 2022
We had a wonderful stay at the Hygge cabin. The mix of modern and antique decor feels so cosy and relaxing. We headed home a day early because of school but I wish I could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back!
Jason Y. Dec 2021
Better than the pictures. Deck is brand new. Just a great spot.
David H. Dec 2021
River, hot tub, warm - very nice place. Incredibly poor communication from Vacasa when on night 1, rodents or other chewed through ventilation ducts and came in to consumer our food. After contacting, little action, second night rats, entered possibly via antique cook stove. we could see foot prints and bread consumed, even after weighting down all vents. Called vacasa again, little action. Bottom line, we stayed in hopes this would be reconciled. we need corrective action. Until this issue is fixed, I would advise all others to avoid this property. It's infested.
Manager response:
We are so sorry about the experience you had, David. Pest control is scheduled to come to the home to investigate and address the matter. Hopefully the compensation provided helps alleviate some of the frustration you had. Thank you!
amy f. Oct 2021
Clean. Comfortable. Better than the photos. Relaxing. Wonderful.
Kelsey M. Sep 2021
Cozy, clean and private house. Right on the creek, and loved being able to open the window to hear it flow. Easy access to any amenities you might need. Wouldn’t hesitate to book again.
Amber T. Sep 2021
I went with a few girlfriends and we had a great time. The house is wonderful and the sound of the river was amazing.
Diana P. Aug 2021
The place is beautiful and comfortable and clean. We had a few little glitches like bedroom doors that wouldn't close and a doorknob that kept falling off, but otherwise the home had everything we could have asked for. Just a note too that the river isn't accessible from the home (very steep bank). We had wanted to play in the water, but it wasn't an option.
Manager response:
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for any issues you encountered. We are happy to report the doorknob has been repaired and is in good working order. We have since updated the listing to reflect the river access. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. We appreciate your feedback as our guest’s comfort is very important to us. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you for a more enjoyable stay.
Melinda J. Jul 2021
This house was perfect for a gathering of our five adult family members and one dog. It is a lovely, beautifully refurbished older cabin with a very nice kitchen and very comfortable beds. We spent a lot of time on the large deck. The surrounding woods are lovely, with nearby walks available. We enjoyed the quiet and dark at night; everyone slept well.
Sarah G. Jul 2021
The home was great - really clean and the views were wonderful. The deck was pretty old and could be a safety issue if not addressed quickly. Once that is fixed, it would be 5 stars!
Manager response:
We have sent your feedback to the local staff for further review. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement and will work diligently with the homeowner to make any updates and repairs. We look forward to hosting you for your next vacation!
Maria F. Jul 2021
Comfy living area and running stream
Maximilian M. Jun 2021
Lively cabin off of the river. quiet and peaceful, a great getaway from the loud city and work. will definitely be looking to come back next year!
Nickie W. Apr 2021
We had a wonderful time. It was clean and comfortable. I highly suggest the cute little walk up the way to visit the enchanted gnome garden “keep your eyes out”. Definitely will return. Much needed getaway and it checked all the boxes!! Thank you 😊
Stacey Z. Feb 2021
What a wonderful stay. Delightfully charming cabin
Anna C. Jan 2021
We really liked this cabin. It's been renovated with spaces well placed and great location. We liked that kitchen was well stocked, lots of seating here and there and the daybed in front looking out to the deck and river was a perfect spot to read and nap. We would definitely rent it again but there were few hiccups.

1) when we arrived, tree branches were everywhere. It seemed like there was a wind storm. This is no fault to the owners but would have been nice for someone to check in, as we arrived as it got dark. With the branches down, we had to be careful walking from car to the house, no internet/cable/phone service that evening. Next morning, we called Vacasa and they did send someone several hours later. The attendant removed the branches and cleaned out the deck. He tried to help with the internet and cable too. We eventually got cable and internet but no phone reception. Maybe no phone service due to the location or the phone service. Regardless, at least having internet and cable was fine.
2) The cleaning crew left some things behind. When we opened the dryer and it was full of wet sheets. I think the crew forgot to run it and empty it. We also noticed there were wet towels wrap around the floor by the washer. When we ran the washer to wash the towels from using the hot tub, it was leaking. We figured towels were left from damaging the floor. We should have been warned about this. Also, the dryer was making a squeaky notice when running. We dried the sheets, folded and left for future use.
3) The middle bedroom door knob is loose and falls off. We could't tighten it. We were afraid of someone being locked in so we made a point to not close that bedroom door. This should be looked into.
4) 2nd bathroom door does not lock. The lock does not pull in all the way to lock the door properly.
5) The BBQ was left uncovered. We saw there was a cover, so either the cleaning crew forgot to cover it or it wasn't necessary to cover? Anyhow we didn't need to use it but for the cleaning crew, they could do a better job to tidy up.
6) It would have been convenient if there were some serving spoons and tongs in the kitchen. Also, the coffee maker spout was broken so when you pour coffee, it spilled.
7) The hot tub did not shut off completely. When we arrived, we noticed it was still on. After we used it, we tried to turn it off but it wouldn't. Someone should look into this.
8) There were signages about check out and internet but it would be nice to have a house instruction binder. Just a thought.

Despite these suggestions and hiccups, we enjoyed our stay.
Manager response:
We are so glad you stayed with us, Anna, and apologize for the issues you encountered. The branches came down during a large storm that took out the internet, cable, and phones for the entire Mt. Hood area for 4 days during a power outage. We apologize we were unable to get to this rental to clean up the debris prior to your arrival. The door knobs are being taken care of by maintenance, and they have checked the washing machine. We apologize for the housekeeping oversights. Home binders are provided to our guests digitally. Thank you!
Jessica R. Jan 2021
The location was great, hot tub was nice, everything was very clean in the house. The only complaint I had was the doors wouldn’t latch. Two of the bedroom doors and the bathroom door would not latch and they are right off the main living area. We just set stuff behind the door when changing or using the restroom so it was ok but the bathroom door not closing tight was a bit awkward.
Manager response:
Hi Jessica. Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear about the latches not functioning properly. We have reached out to our local staff to make them aware of the issue so that we can get it addressed as quickly as possible. We do hope to host you again!
Caitlin C. Jul 2020
It was very clean and mostly as advertised. However there were a few things like no hot water in the bathroom sink and a broken towel rack that I wish had been fixed before our arrival. Don't use google maps to find this cabin! Would recommend.
Manager response:
Hi, Caitlin! We are so sorry we missed getting the hot water faucet and towel rack fixed prior to your arrival; this has since been addressed. Thank you for staying with us!
Deanna R. Jul 2020
Great location with hot tub right next to a creek. We hiked twin lakes trail and salmon river trail - both were fabulous. House was comfy but needed a little attention to detail to be great though we would stay here again. The creek right off the deck and the hot tub make it.
Kimberly H. Jun 2020
I loved the river next to the patio. Beautiful and all you can hear when you’re outside or even inside with a window open. Was perfect for meditation. Lots of stuff inside needs updated though. Stove needs updated, who wants to scrub black of the stove top EVERY TIME you cook? I wasn’t a fan of that. The door knob in one of the bathrooms didn’t work and the toilet was leaking. Other then the few things inside that needs attending to, the location was great and the river was lovely. It felt very secluded until the people who live across started cutting trees down so you could see their house more. But again, the river next to it made it a great trip.
Michelle H. Jun 2020
We loved the soft beds, amenities of the kitchen (ninja blender!), hot tub, sound of the river while relaxing on the deck, comfy coma couch, options of games, fireplace, cleanness of the property, and friendly helpful vacasa staff.
Estera G. May 2020
We decided to take a girls trip and we just happened upon this home and we could not believe the price! While it was smaller then we thought (for some reason) it was even more beautiful than the pictures, it was comfortable, lots of sleeping areas, and the front deck was just beautiful. We had a great time and it was the perfect way to unwind. Highly recommend!
Andrew L. May 2020
I normally don't write reviews, but felt like I should here because of how impressed my wife and I were with this cabin. It was the perfect place for our family to get out of the city, unwind, and enjoy nature. The inside of the house is well-designed and feels cozy. Our boys loved the bunk bed and we were glad the cabin had a pack 'n play for our daughter. The weather was perfect for us, so we were able to go on walks during the day and enjoy the grill and hot tub in the evening. We had a wonderful experience staying here and will definitely be coming back someday!
Manager response:
We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Melissa B. Apr 2020
We had the best time relaxing, cooking and enjoying the hot tub! This is an excellent location to be in Rhododendron! We highly recommend and look forward to coming back!
Carlee T. Mar 2020
Cabin is wonderfully updated, very cozy, and in a beautiful location. We enjoyed the hot tub, river views, wood burning fireplace, and well stocked kitchen. Beds were comfy. There was plenty of space for the 4 of us friends to spread out and relax. 30 minute drive to Timberline or Meadows, 15 minute drive to everything in Government Camp. We will be back!
Laura O. Feb 2020
We will be booking this cabin for every return trip. It is the perfect ski cabin getaway. Very well appointed and relaxing location. Fireplace, rushing creek, hot tub, sweet reading nook, games and much more. Delightful!
Jayde M . Jan 2020
We enjoyed a relaxing weekend at this cozy cabin right on the river! What a great find in the perfect location - just a five minute walk to eateries, coffee shop, market and only a 10 minute drive to Government Camp. This cabin comes with everything you need for a comfortable stay! We loved how spacious and open the main living space is which made it ideal for spending quality time with friends - they even provide a cabinet full of games for lots of fun by the fireplace! My favorite area was probably the reading nook with a gorgeous view, making it the perfect spot to take a nap after a long day on the slopes. I can’t wait to come back!
Emily C . Jan 2020
We loved staying at this cabin. The accommodations were very cozy and comfortable. It is beautifully decorated yet very functional. The beds are VERY comfortable. We spent time eating, talking, tending to the fire, recharging, and relaxing. Cannot wait to return.
Melanie H . Jan 2020
The Hygge Cabin is a Mt. Hood gem! Would highly recommend to those looking for a Mt. Hood getaway. The owners did an incredible job with updates while keeping the “cabin feel” through and through. The coffee bar, reading nook and fireplace were all a hit. Am looking forward to staying here again!
Eileen . Dec 2019
We enjoyed our stay at the Hygge Cabin in December. The cabin is comfortable with nice linens and bedding. A lot of very nice touches. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. It was nice to be able to sit out on the deck and listen to the rushing creek. Very relaxing and beautiful. We liked that we were able to walk across the foot bridge to the Mt Hood Market to get a few needed items. We also walked to dinner and had a great Stromboli at Al Forno Pizza and again the next morning for breakfast at the Still Creek Inn where we enjoyed talking to the owner. She shared history of the area that was very interesting. Looking forward to coming back and doing more exploring in this wonderful area.
Mike & Audrey W. . Dec 2019
My husband and I recently stayed at the Hygge Cabin and we couldn’t recommend it more! Amazing location; tucked back in the woods nestled along the river but still close enough to restaurants and shops if needed. Great proximity to Mt Hood, lakes and hiking/biking trails. It was the perfect place for us to unwind and unplug. We enjoyed sitting by the fire and having a nice cup of coffee with the sound of the river and a view of the forest. Very cozy and comfortable design making it the perfect “getaway”.