Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >
Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.
Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.
Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.
Sunny, oceanfront condo w/ great views & easy beach access
Take a break from your busy life for some quality relaxation at this oceanfront condo in Gearhart. With ocean views, immediate beach access, and a comfortable living space, this single-level condo provides optimal sleeping arrangements for four.
Located right off the beach, with a nice little path leading directly to the shore, you'll enjoy easy access to a long stretch of sand, and there's a golf course a short walk away.
The condo boasts a very comfortable atmosphere, with plenty of light coming through the picture windows looking towards the ocean. The main open room features a central kitchen, with living, dining, and work areas surrounding it.
With an island and full amenities including a blender, mixer, and dishwasher, the chef in the group will be in heaven in this kitchen, and always part of the action! Everyone will enjoy a meal together at the dining table with seats for six, and maybe a board game afterwards for a fun-filled, relaxing night.
An assortment of furniture in the living area lets you get comfy in front of the wood-burning fireplace, so you can have pleasant conversations or delve into one of the books on the shelf. A flatscreen cable TV on the wall allows you to watch DVDs on a stormy night.
A desk on the other end of the room is available for any work you need to do, with WiFi provided for your convenience. There's another sitting area with a couple of couches nearby for people to spread out.
Two bedrooms and two full baths make this condo comfortable for up to four guests. One bedroom features a queen bed, the other offers a king bed, and there is a queen sofa bed in the living room. Both full bathrooms have stand-up showers.
Head outside to find your own little patio where you can set up your own beach chairs, or walk the short distance to a bench on the bluff to admire a vibrant sunset. You'll find the surf just a very short walk down the path from the back door!
This condo is perfect for a couples retreat or a small family - you'll find golf just a quarter-mile from the house at Gearhart Golf Links, and shared tennis and basketball courts about a mile from the house. With the sand so close, you'll be able to spend all day building sand castles, flying kites, and playing in the surf, heading back to the house for snacks and coming right back out. Though Gearhart may be small, it offers a few amazing dining options, including the Pacific Way Bakery & Cafe.
For more fun, drive the five miles south to Seaside, where you'll enjoy an aquarium, arcade, a variety of eateries, art galleries, and shops galore. The carousel mall is especially fun - you'll find a quirky hat store, a toy shop, and a store to buy any kind of kite you can think of. Head next door for ice cream before you make your way back to the sand!
This oceanfront condo places you close to the beach for a truly relaxing vacation - book today! A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.
Parking Notes: There is one parking space in front of unit #219, and one more available on the opposite side of the lot.
City/town permit number: STR20-00276
You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.
Tennis court (Shared)
Limited mobility access
Heating & cooling
Kitchen & dining
Internet : Century Link
Cable : Charter
Nearby activities & attractions
Tennis court : Shared
Basketball court : Shared
Monica R.Aug 2021
Clean. Great location as very close to beach. Quiet. Well stocked kitchen.
Mike H.Jun 2021
The location is outstanding. Well stocked kitchen, comfortable beds, nice space in front room. BUT, there are a couple of issues. Fix the washing machine please! The one there is broken and apparently has been for a while. Can’t stay past two or three days without one. Major downer. Also, four remotes? Really? There are no instructions on how to use any of them. TV wouldn’t start so we called maintenance. Took him ten minutes to figure it out! Simply type up instructions and put them in the owners manual, which right now is useless. I’d consider washing or changing slip covers in living area, all stained. White not s good idea.
Hello Mike, Sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay. I do not see that this particular unit had a washer listed as an amenity . I will get your suggestions to th local staff about the instructions for the remotes. Thank you for the review and we look forward to hosting you again soon!!
Rebecca W.Apr 2021
Well furnished condo with great view! Easy beach access!!
Jon W.Nov 2020
You cannot beat Gearhart's offerings and location with an awesome beach you can also drive on which is fun. The below comments are directed at the owners and not Vacasa. Vacasa was awesome when I spoke to them about the below and would give them 5 stars. The 1 star listing is for this property.
This property had plenty of things that absolutely turned us off and will prevent me from ever considering this property again. First off, it is a condo. The listing makes it seem like it is a standalone house which I totally thought until arriving to check in. Secondly, there is NO FURNACE, but a thermostat which is comical. No forced air for heat. There is a nice brick fireplace with (2) presto logs left for you. Yay. We stayed (2) nights. Those burn three hours. You do the math. I had to purchase (2) more. There is one small wall heater in each bedroom. The first night, the room with the King bed - the heater didn't work. The other bedroom did. It was 58 degrees in the house when we walked in. We tried to fire up (no pun) the lone space heater in the living room that was available to us, only to find out it would barely make toast. In fact in looks like half of a toaster. Needless to say, it was COLD the first night. Like wearing sweatshirts and sweatpants with 3 blankets to bed cold. Maintenance fixed the heater and dropped new space heaters the following morning. (Thank you Vacasa). House was finally comfy enough by about 3:00pm our SECOND day of renting. I didn't feel comfortable leaving a fire log going when we were away from the condo. Lastly, the listing (as of 11/9/20) does NOT show a door in each bedroom that are right next to each of the windows in the bedrooms. These doors lead out to very messy & weird front patio area that faces the parking lot where you park. The doors are not even covered, they are ALL GLASS which eliminates privacy and you can see right to the parking lot and into the bedroom. I literally covered them with extra sheets to have some privacy and also shade the morning light while sleeping. I had to put pillows in the window of the room with the King bed due to the some sort of window covering (if you want to call it that) due to not completely covering the window. The pillows filled in the gap left. I took pictures of all of this as I wish I could post pics on here to show potential renters. The living room and kitchen are quite nice, modern, and efficient. I would never rent this place from October through June, maybe even July - it is the Oregon Coast mind you. If you do, please pack plenty of warm clothes especially if you have kids (we have 1 who slept in the heated room). Also bring plenty of fire logs if you plan on relaxing in the house for more than 6 hours. I am sure this place would be nice in the Summer months. They just forget to mention that their condo will be 55-60 degrees inside during the Fall/Winter/Spring months.
Hi, Jon! We have checked our listing and feel it accurately portrays the rental; we apologize if you had any surprises upon arrival. The property manager is addressing the privacy and heating situations, and the owner will be coming this winter to address some things around the home. We hope you will come back to see it!
Kelley W.Oct 2020
Well stocked kitchen, comfy beds, very short walk to beach, bright and comfortable living room area.
Melissa H.Sep 2020
This was a perfect spot for out weekend getaway. It wasn't too expensive, in a great location. 1 block from Mcminneman's and the kids loved running out to he beach at night to look at the stars and the campfires. Took surfing lessons in Seaside -- such a great trip!
Luis P.Sep 2020
We loved the location and being so close to the beach is a real treat. The space is great, but the furniture is dated and the washer and dryer did not work.
Thank you for your review, Luis! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our home and we apologize that the washer and dryer were not working. Please note our 24-hour customer service line is here to assist at all times and would have sent someone over to get them working. Thank you again for your review. We hope to host you again soon!
J. G.Jul 2020
On the plus side this rental is in a great location, has a nice big common area and is just a short walk to the beach.
What I wish I would have known prior to our stay is that this rental is not a great fit for small children. There are no window coverings on either bedroom. This property has security lights that are right outside of the bedrooms and stay on all night.
The washing machine is broken. It leaked enough water to completely soak 2 big bath towels. It will not rinse the clothes. Then you have to manually move the knob to make it spin. The dryer only works on the low temp sensor setting, so to dry one load takes a couple hours.
There isn't really a pantry space. If you are staying for more than a day or two, you'll have to rearrange the kitchen to be able to put food away. If you have a toddler or crawler I would not stay here. All ofthe furniture is rod iron with hard corners, lots of glass, hard jagged stone floors and no bath tub. Just 2 stall showers.
For a couple of adults and one or two nights, this is a fantastic spot. Just not family friendly and not good for a 5 night stay.
Thank you for your stay at the Captains Quarters. We are sorry to hear that you did not find this unit a good fit for small children but it is great knowing that you did find the location and some of the unit accommodations to be enjoyable. We definitely are looking out for your safety and health, and in fact, have homes in our inventory with small children and family visits in mind. You can find this information on the properties listing page. With the help of pictures and even a virtual tour in some listings, you can find the best fit for future getaways. All our homes have scheduled inspections for upkeep, cleanliness, and maintenance to include appliance audits. We appreciate the feedback regarding the washer/dryer. Thank you again and we look forward for the opportunity to provide a better guest experience!
Lorin M.Mar 2020
We did enjoy our stay due to having our daughter from Utah and the location of the property. Several inconveniences to note; Note on the washer stating it leaked badly and "the owner was aware", no lightbulbs in the new fixture above the sink in the bathroom (very weird bulb insert, maybe from Ikea?), no presto log for our first night fire as promised in the listing, no curtains over the new glass doors in the bedrooms, pictures no longer accurate: 1 queen, not 2, in bedroom, different furniture, etc. , front patio under renovation and quite a mess - dirt and gravel everywhere, workers old coffee cups, gloves, buckets, etc, smoke detector missing from one of the bedrooms (not enough in unit anyway), door left unlocked by worker who came to install light bulbs (which took 24 hours to complete), no bathmat or rug to step on after shower, ill fitting curtains on bedroom windows letting too much light in, pile of dirt in parking spot, gravel not cleaned up from work, Again these were inconveniences and therefore my rating is very low but we did feel the location was amazing and for the most part the unit was clean and stocked well.
Lorin, thank you for providing your valuable feedback. We are sorry for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. Please know that we do our best to provide guests with the comfort and satisfaction they deserve. Local staff are always available to assist if there are amenities in the home that fall short. We hope to have a chance to host you next time. Thank you.
Blue A.Jan 2020
So quiet, and right on the beach. Only reason I didn't go 5 stars is because you can't see the ocean from the condo, but it is right out the door. Solid amenities. Nice space. Functional. Clean. Good beds. I may go back next year.
Judy R.Sep 2019
Quiet and close to the beach just a short walk over the bluff. Even had some elk in the yard one morning. Well appointed kitchen and comfortable beds. Close to Seaside
Janet S.Aug 2019
We enjoyed our 2 night stay. The location is wonderful for quick access to the beach. When inside, we had a peaceful view of the dunes while listening to the ocean, even while cooking and eating in the well stocked kitchen. The property has a trail outside, but it is still fairly private. We were thrilled to see elk on the dunes one of the evenings before dark.
Madalyn T.Jul 2019
This is one of the best locations and accomodations we have had at the beach. Loved the privacy, the quiet, the lawn, the trail to the dunes, the benches on the dunes. Though it's not new, the unit is really comfortable with a great updated kitchen and everything in it. We met nice people and dogs who resided in the neighboring units. The king bedroom needs the finishing details of the remodel to be completed. Also, lights in that bathroom need replacing. One negative is the courtyard off the bedrooms is not usable due to construction stuff strewn about. Would be nice to have that wind-free space to enjoy. Otherwise, it was great!
Madalyn, we’re glad that you had a great time at the beach and we appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. We’ve made sure that the bathroom lights and items outside have been addressed. We look forward to hosting you again!
George H.Jul 2019
Great condo for the two of us. Couldn't beat the location and it was done up really cute! We will use this place again when we come visit family.
Joel M.Jul 2018
We loved everything about this place.
Ana P.Mar 2018
Todo estaba muy bien!
Gina J.Mar 2018
Great location. On the face of it looks great. Nice layout and newer kitchen. But bedroom carpet is stained and worn, missing baseboards, shower head does not lock in position, sofas are worn and uncomfortable, upholstery needs cleaning throughout, worn out furniture in bedrooms. A bit of a disappointment given the price.
The owner has bedroom and sofa upgrades planned for April. Thanks!
Nicole R.Feb 2018
Cute little place. It is on the beach but does not have a view of the ocean. Still nice and relaxing.
Karen E.Jan 2018
Despite its obvious age, the condominium was clean, nicely decorated, and very comfortable. I would definitely recommend staying here.
Liz G.Oct 2017
Location is great. Beds, bedding , towels and kitchen are well stocked. Living room furniture is uncomfortable to sit one, dated IKEA in style. Walking over the dunes to a beautiful beach is wonderful.
Kristi P.Sep 2017
The layout of the home with the bedrooms and bathrooms and open floor plan was very family-friendly. We were happy to have the beach such a close walking distance and we were extremely happy to have a nice big green grass yard for the boys to play in while we were inside cooking. Another benefit of the location, is that the ability to drive on the beach starts right where the beach house is located so every evening we loaded up our family and drove along the beach which was a very special treat to our children. During those evening drives we saw a huge herd of elk, and a seal up on the sand and too many birds to count.
Suzi M.Sep 2017
Kasey M.Sep 2017
The condo is lovely - but the dryer sheets / cleaning products were overpowering and gave two people very bad headaches. It made it difficult to sleep in the house.
Beth M.Aug 2017
Scott V.Aug 2017
We enjoyed our stay. The residence was clean and had everything we needed. Plenty of new, clean linens and towels this was greatly appreciated. Location is fantastic.
Jacqueline R.Jul 2017
Everything was great except the dryer vent that went to the outside. It was clogged and was a fire hazard.
We are glad to see this was an enjoyable visit! The dryer isn't clogged; it's just an older single stage dryer. Thanks!
BEHROOZ B.May 2017
We had a really great time at the property and enjoyed the location and facilities.
There are two things that I should state them:
-- The address you see before you pay is defiantly INCORRECT
-- It's a pet free property; however, we accidentally saw leftover pet food along with excrement outside and inside the condo under the sofa seat- they probably missed it.
Other than those, we really enjoyed our stay- thank you very much
We are delighted to see this guest enjoyed their stay. If they were using a GPS to locate the home they probably did have difficulty finding it as we have discovered the system does not properly locate the property. Please use the driving directions sent via email. This home is pet free; we are sorry to see somebody was not following that policy. We will ask housekeeping to be more thorough when cleaning. Thank you!
Karen M.May 2017
Good location (good access to the beach, well stocked kitchen, two bedrooms/two baths make this unit work well for two couples. The condo is ocean front but you cannot see the ocean from the condo. Rather you see grasses.
Josie B.Mar 2017
We loved the bright open layout, two baths were nice with the kiddos. Great location, close to the beach and Seaside fun. Dissapointed there was no view of the ocean...we were close, quick walking distance, but a large dune prevented an ocean view...which would have been nice since it rained most of the time. The views of the ocean on the website are not from the room...but from the benches on the top of the dune.
P T.Oct 2016
This property is in an amazing location with easy beach access across lovely beach grass. Highly recommended UNLESS you are sensitive to or prefer not to have lots of scents and toxic laundry products in your surroundings. I am hoping that management can try to find scentless products.
Robert G.Oct 2016
Being close to the ocean and having herds of elk outside your window was great. But having NO screens on the doors or windows so you could not open them made it very musty. Also updating would be a good idea bathrooms had slugs in shower and kitchen had pincher bugs Not a great experience
Housekeeping has inspected the home for slugs and bugs and have not found anything. There are fans in the home to be used if the home is feeling muggy or needs a breeze. Thank you!
Michael G.Sep 2016
Gearhart proved to be a fine center for visiting the north Oregon coast. Accommodation was spacious and comfortable, spotlessly clean, and had the best array of cooking utensils, silverware, and glasses we have ever encountered in a rental. The many Lewis and Clark historical locations within easy driving distance were all enjoyed, Cape Disappointment in particular.
Ryan C.Aug 2016
It did not have a negative impact on our trip, and it was my fault for not doing my due diligence, but this is not a stand alone property, as I thought it was during the original reservation. Great location, great little town, but first glance at the reservation page may have you thinking its a little house on the beach, it's not.
Zoe G.Aug 2016
We had an incredible 5 days at this Gearhart location! We've stayed at many other Oregon Coast properties. This is was, so far, the best maintained. The bathrooms definitely show some age, but the place was so clean and well appointed. Really nice linens in both bedrooms and bathrooms. Great kitchen gadgets stocked with almost everything you would need. The short walk to the beach was nice and we practically had the place to ourselves. Very good location close to Astoria, Seaside, Cannon Beach, Arch Cape and wonderful hiking and state parks. We liked having the privacy and quiet of Gearhart, but heading into "town" for a shopping and dinners out.
Eric H.Aug 2016
Great for our family of 4 - very quiet, comfortable furnishings, great kitchen, proximity to seaside and Astoria was wonderful while still having the quaint quiet of Gearhart.
Kathy G.Aug 2016
Perfect location and configuration for our girl's getaway trip to the beach. We were very comfortable and were entertained by a herd of elk in the field next door!
Juan G.Jul 2016
Cute beachfront property. Plenty of space for four adults and one child. Some highlights included seeing a herd of elk walking by in the morning and having a Sunset picnic in the beach. Highly recommend!
SAM B.Jul 2016
The beach was massive and secluded! Everyone we came in contact with was super friendly!
Yashaswini Raghuram P.Jun 2016
Excellent place with the beach just a few steps ahead! We enjoyed a brilliant sunset and moonrise at the beach. Well lit house because of the sun roof! it was such a cute and a dreamy home. Ideal for a romantic getaway.
Sheetal G.Jun 2016
It was an ideal beach vacation for my family - cozy condo, well maintained, well furnished, great kitchenette. All the instructions for our stay were conveyed to us by email. Less than 5 minute walk to the beach, very picturesque. There was a large herd of elk grazing close by, that was an added attraction for us.
Nancy E.Jun 2016
This place could use some updating in the bathrooms. Very small showers. No tall men allowed. Well equipped kitchen. Lots of seating options and good table space. Great location for quiet stay and access to beach trail or drive onto beach nearby if elderly or handicap guests which was nice. Drive onto the beach for the sunset.
Heather P.May 2016
This home was absolutely perfect for our visit to Gearhart/Seaside/Astoria - having the split bedroom & bathroom layout was excellent for a 2-family holiday, the unit was very clean and superbly appointed!
Melanie V.May 2016
The bedrooms were comfortable. King bed in master was great. Kitchen gadgets were good, and the location great for clamming.