USA Oregon Northern Oregon Coast Seaside Listing #5381

Garden by the Sea - Seaside, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
93 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 2 Queen Bed, 1 Futon 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Charming Dog-Friendly Cottage with AC, Washer/Dryer, Gas Grill, Easy Beach Access

Your next Oregon Coast vacation will be divine with this charming cottage, offering a sunny deck, tranquil garden landscape, and nearby beach access for up to six travelers to enjoy. It's also dog-friendly, so you can bring along your favorite canine for a small nightly fee!

Located at the north end of town, the sands and Pacific lie just two blocks away, and the attractions of downtown Seaside are accessible by a pleasant walk along the Promenade or down the beach. Kids and adults alike will have a pleasurable time at the Oregon Coast Aquarium, where you can feed fish to seals, see vibrant marine life, and learn a little about the coastal ecosystem. On Broadway, you'll also find a full-block arcade, amusement rides, mini golf, and the carousel mall with some fun shops inside - find your inner child at the toy store and try on eccentric hats at the specialty store for a good laugh.

Through the gate, you'll enter a peaceful garden landscape, lush with greenery and with a hammock to relax in the shade. A large deck has patio furniture, a bench, table, and a gas grill for barbecuing, as well as all new string lighting for those nights when you want to hang out just a while longer.

The interior boasts all new decor, giving this cottage a comfortable atmosphere. In the living room is a selection of comfy furniture, a stocked bookshelf, board game collection, and a flatscreen TV with DVD player. WiFi is available for your convenience.

A well equipped kitchen provides everything you need to cook delicious meals, including a blender, coffeemaker, slow cooker, and a dishwasher for easy clean-up. The dining table will fit everyone for dinner together. This home also offers a private washer/dryer for your added convenience.

This home is perfect for couples or a small family - take a short walk to the beach and stroll in the hot sand and the refreshing surf, then make your way down to Broadway, where you'll find a variety of cafes, restaurants, and eclectic shops to keep you busy. You might play for a bit in the block-wide arcade, or head across the street to the bumper cars and mini golf.

This vacation on the coast will be one you won't soon forget - don't miss out!

City/town permit number: 211351

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Internet : Charter


Cable : Charter

DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router

Netflix streaming


On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private


93 reviews

Idan G. Mar 2022
We stayed (a couple + 1 year old) for 4 nights. The house is well equipped, in particular the kitchen. Everything needed for the stay was there - including entertainment.
The house was built in 1938, but has gas heating and AC, and an additional modern bathroom. I can't give it 5 stars because a bathroom and a kitchen from 1938 can't be perfect - but really there's nothing bad, just from a time before modern comforts.

The deck is amazing, and we spent a lot of time sunbathing in the yard. Haven't used the grill, it looked a bit too dirty.

Cleanliness in general was really ok - it's a real home with real decorations and furniture, and I appreciate it's very hard to clean thoroughly, so don't expect a 5* hotel level. The bathrooms and kitchens were perfectly clean.

A very short walk to the north end of the promenade, which is the start of the beach.

All in all, great value, would stay again, not perfect because of the kitchen and bathroom sinks, and one bedroom door not shutting properly.
Michelle B. Sep 2021
This was the only house left for a trip we already had planned. My husband's family has tickets from out of town. Initially, I wanted something different and was set on being unhappy with this place. After the first night, I felt like I was in a cozy cabin and we all really enjoyed our time together.
I walked in after a 4-year-old already found the toys. She has them spread out and said "look at all the toys they left for me"
Close to town and other attractions. Really nice stay. The only downfall was the BBQ grill did not work right and some of the cooking pans were a little weathered.

Our bed was so so comfortable. I loved the bedroom. The smaller bathroom was really nice as well. It has a walk-in shower with adjustable showerheads. It was nicely updated.

I would absolutely stay here again.

Megan S. Sep 2021
I've stayed in multiple properties on the Oregon coast and this one was by far my favorite! We booked this home for myself and partner, my parents, and my grandparents, and it comfortably slept all 6 of us, plus our 6 month old puppy. We were a 10 minute walk from the beach, and only half a mile from all the best restaurants in Seaside. Highly recommend!
Tracy B. Sep 2021
This house was great for a trip to the beach! Just a very short walk to a quiet beach with lots of beautiful sand dollars. The house was clean and well stocked...all the way down to stainless steel skewers for marshmallow roasting! Would definitely stay here again
shelley b. Aug 2021
Me and my girlfriends enjoyed the quiet privacy, and the short walk to the beach! We loved the movie choices, and the landscape outside!! Definitely a wonderful stay!!
Mark H. Jul 2021
Comfortable, cozy with everything you need. Great private front yard and deck. Small but very usable kitchen
Sheri L. Jun 2021
The house was awesome. Really nice neighborhood and the yard is amazing! The house has A/C which was a huge plus!!!
Carl E. May 2021
great location, deep claw foot tub, kitchen aide mixer, huge deck, super comfortable beds.
Ramona E. May 2021
We love this beautiful and well appointed home! It is our home away from home and second time to stay here. We thoroughly enjoyed cooking in the adorable kitchen, taking relaxing baths in claw foot tub and sleeping in the comfortable beds. Plenty of games to play on rainy days. This home has it all and very clean! Had a great time! Loved 🥰 it!
Kristy M. Apr 2021
This home was exactly what we hoped for and better than described online.

The fenced yard was perfect for our medium-sized dog and has little paths that run through the trees for playing. The deck has a table with room for six, outdoor lighting, a grill, and tons of beach supplies if you need them, and we all enjoyed the hammock, too.

There are large windows that let in tons of light and we kept all of the curtains open throughout our stay, but they are there if you prefer privacy. We brought towels, but didn't need to, as there were plenty of them in the home, including beach towels, and the kitchen is stocked with everything you need for preparing meals at home.

The beds are really comfortable and we also spent a lot of time in the cozy living room on the couches chatting, reading, or playing games -- and there are a lot of great books and games available, too!

There are two bathrooms, each with a shower, and one giant claw-footed tub, and amenities are provided if you need them, including a hair dryer.

The home is located in a quiet neighborhood, and we were able to meet some of the awesome neighbors on our (short) walks to the beach.

We will definitely be looking for this home again the next time we travel to Seaside! It is truly a cozy beach cottage, but up-to-date with all modern amenities.
Kelle w. Jan 2021
This home was so cozy and inviting we will definitely be staying here again. The yard was securely fenced and perfect for our dogs. The kitchen was well appointed and the claw foot tub was excellent for soaking. The weather was rough during our stay so we were happy to have such a snuggly cottage to hunker down in.
Barbara b. Jan 2021
We had the best visit to the coast. The fully stocked kitchen was such a relief! We were able to make full dinners, and cookies too!

So often rentals that advertise a full kitchen, haven't got a sauce pan or a lid! This spot means it when they advertise a kitchen to cook in.

The house is close to the beach, an easy walk. The restaurants/shops, aren't far either.

Thank you Vacasa, and the owners for actually providing what you is listed!
Leonard H. Dec 2020
Cozy little place. All the amenities you need. Beds are real comfortable.
Lisa B. Nov 2020
Proximity to beach and Broadway. Well supplied with appliances, dishes, linens and even many cooking ingredients and seasonings.
Ramona E. Oct 2020
We had a perfect stay at Garden by the Sea. The house was everything we desired in a rental property. We loved the adorable coastal decor and the home was extremely relaxing. The beds and linens were so comfortable, the house was very clean and the location extremely quiet. The owners have thought of everything that made our stay perfect. We loved sitting outside on the deck for happy hour. We also enjoyed cooking in the adorable kitchen. We will definitely be back!
Thank you!
Robert L. Sep 2020
Comfort, this house was beach themed to perfection!
Close to the beach, very quiet and 😎 relaxing!
Stefanie K. Aug 2020
We loved the location and charming features of this house.
Albert R. Aug 2020
This home was alright. Good location, however a number if issues including a living rug which was harsh and extremely uncomfortable to walk on consistently through the house, the bed frame broke while we were napping (which I’m sure will be fixed in time), bedding should really be limited to four (maybe five) people as it’s only two beds and a somewhat uncomfortable futon. The home was decorated well and was cute, definitely appreciated the AC in unit and games. Overall, not super impressed as the “garden” was not well kept, our dogs found plenty of old gross toys and old poop just about everywhere on the property. Not sure I will use Vacasa again, let alone stay at this home.
Manager response:
Hi, Albert! Thank you for telling us about your Vacasa experience; we are so disappointed it was not a more positive one. We have followed-up with housekeeping to ensure they are taking care of the home's exterior as well as inside. We do hope to see you again!
Erin G. Aug 2020
For $500+ / night there are certain things guest should be able to expect. My expectations were not met based on the previous reviews so I’m going to be specific and detailed as I can to help others when deciding to stay at this property. I wouldn’t return to stay here, but that’s not to say it isn’t a good fit for you and your family.

-Proximity to the beach and the Prom (10 min walking distance). You can hear the ocean waves
-comfortable beds
- good shower pressure
- clean surfaces
- yard is fenced in and good for dogs
- dishwasher works well

- outside deck area was not comfortable to sit in. There were so many flies, garden plants weren’t cared for and just general junk (broken plant potters, overgrown weeds, dog poop from previous dogs) in and around the deck area made it look a little dirty. The whole deck needs a good re-staining and yard/landscape needs to be cleaned up. This wouldn’t have been so bothersome to me if it wasn’t called garden by the sea. But if the yard is a selling point, then it should be treated as such.
- inside the kitchen needs to be de-cluttered and kitchen utensils replaced
- living room layout was awkward because of two chairs across from the couch where the tv should be.

It would be nice if there was a guest book to sign to look over different reviews from things to do in the area from people. We loved takeout from una vez más.

Overall, if this had a lower price point it per night I wouldn’t be as critical but just because it’s close to the beach you can’t ignore the other details.
Manager response:
Erin,Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay. We apologize that your experience in our home was not the vacation for which you had planned and for which we strive to provide our guests. Please know that the comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our priority and the experience you had is certainly not commonplace, nor is it indicative of our level of service. We hope you will consider us for your next stay. Thank you!
Jamie A. Jul 2020
We loved the location of this adorable home. The decor was fun. The beds were comfy. The kitchen was adorable. We loved everything about the house. The location was absolutely perfect!!We will definitely be back. Highly recommend!
Leigh T. Jun 2020
Loved this beach cottage! Perfect place close to the beach and the prom! The deck is great for meals and the yard is private. Will stay again!
Ryan B. Jun 2020
Great location in walking distance, adorable decor, very cute touches. WiFi great, plenty of amenities to make experience comfortable and relaxing. Definitely recommend!
Amy R. Mar 2020
The house was well stocked with everything we needed and was a great location. 10 minute walk to main street Seaside or a 5 minute bike ride, and 2 blocks from the beach. We loved the deck and the hammock, and our dog loved the fully fenced yard to run around in. It was the perfect sized house for our family of 4 with a dog. The house was quaint, comfortable, and clean.
Zachariah S. Feb 2020
It was really cozy and had everything I was hoping for to the sound of the ocean to the beautiful landscaping
Taunya S. Jan 2020
Great mix of old and new
Patricia R. Dec 2019
We loved this cottage! Clean, comfortable beds, great living space, kitchen equipped with everything (+more) needed for a quick meal if you want to eat in. The beach was just a few short blocks, very easy to walk to, and not too far from the main shopping/eating area. We will definitely consider returning here when we visit the Oregon coast again!
George U. Oct 2019
Vacasa is so nice to deal with from reservation to updates. Love this little cottage, great for the dog, cozy home and has all the conveniences one needs. We liked the location. We will return.
Suzanne B. Oct 2019
Comfortable and quiet home perfect for 4 adults. The deck is the perfect place to have a glass of wine and listen to the ocean. Easy walk to the beach. We’d definitely stay here again.
Carolyn B. Sep 2019
Garden by the Sea is charming: private, well kept, nice amenities (I would have enjoyed a pitcher for iced tea...couldn’t find one at Safeway). Otherwise, it was well stocked with sheets, beach towels and chairs. Just loved it!!!
Stacy D. Jul 2019
Sure cute cozy place with fenced in yard. Great for traveling with our 4 legged kid!
Christine G. Jun 2019
Great location within easy walk to promenade and beach. Well stocked kitchen and comfortable family dining area. Also, comfortable beds and lots of seating in living room for a small family to visit. Would highly recommend!
Sharon C. Jun 2019
Quiet home, lush plants, nice deck, updated bathroom... very short walk to promenade. Very comfortable home.
Brian B. May 2019
Located a few blocks off the Prom, this 2/2 cottage in Seaside is perfect!
Corina B. Apr 2019
Perfect for a quick getaway! Loved the privacy it had to offer with the garden in front.
Thank you!!!
Sara K. Apr 2019
We so enjoyed our stay at this lovely cottage. Beds super comfortable as well as all furniture. Wonderfully decorated and nice, private yard. Very quaint and quiet.
Angie S. Mar 2019
loved that it was close to beach and town but wished it had a fireplace (gas or woodburning) that was usable. Other than that we will be back, super cute, cozy and clean!
Ralph W. Mar 2019
This place is exceptional. It was so thoughtfully equipped for everything you would possibly need. They also did a fantastic job renovating while still holding on to the authentic original vintage feel. It definitely exceeded our expectations.
Maria T. Feb 2019
This was the perfect family getaway. Blocks from the beach and enough distance away from all the main strip. This home has an incredible yard, perfect for dogs. Charmingly appointed interior and an incredible clawfoot tub. We would plan to come and stay anytime. additionally would like to note how well Vacasa was in helping us with this booking. We will absolutely be back!
linda m. Jan 2019
Home was built in 1938, but had many, many upgrades!! Beautiful front deck and heat pump. A new extra bathroom has been added recently. Very cool original bath with claw foot tub, but had been modified with a shower. Very quiet neighborhood with private off street parking.
Christina C. Nov 2018
We loved everything about the cottage and never wanted to leave! The home is charming with and we had more than sufficient amenities. The location is close to the shore (2 block walk) and a short driving distance to downtown Seaside, Cannon Beach and Astoria. We visited in late October so the only bummer was that we could not use the fireplace due to a city ordinance (there is centralized heating and more than sufficient number of blankets). I highly recommend this cottage and plan to stay again.
Sherry F. Nov 2018
We had a wonderful time in this was very comfortable. Convenient location...less than 2 blocks to the ocean. The kitchen was well stocked and we ended up cooking one night. Will absolutely come here again...only minor things is the TV is smaller and it could be bigger~
Matthew A. Oct 2018
We loved the house, we loved all of the convenience. So close to the beach and shops near the Promenade. Private secluded yard great for some BBQ and relaxation. House has been well layed out !! Will definitly be staying again!!
Jonathan E. Oct 2018
Great place, just a 1/2 block from the promenade. Worked just great for the two of us.
Ed D. Oct 2018
liked the little house, close proximity to beach. clean neat. mattress was very strange! Vacasa company, hard to contact.tried numerous times.
Elaine K. Oct 2018
This cottage was very special. It had charm and character and very nice touches. A short walk to the beach and close to restaurants and shops. An ideal place in a great seaside town!
Matthew F. Sep 2018
The house has a ton of character as well as amenities. Older home with some classic and some fun funky features, such as a clawfoot tub. Was very pleased to see they've added a second bathroom with a handicap accessible shower. House has been remodeled and has an updated Hvac system, Smart TV and Wifi. Front yard is lovely and private, with pathways through the trees. Really felt at home at this beach hideaway!
Shivani D. Sep 2018
We were two families with two was a lovely 1930s cottage with a warm and cozy feel just a small walk to beach! They provided everything u can need on a vacation just name it and it’s there...the House was super clean! Every nook and corner was perfect! Next time u r in the area we highly recommend it! The process of booking is super easy and they kept everything in mind for your ease..much better than a 5 star hotel for sure!
Jason B. Aug 2018
Everything you c
Cathy C. Aug 2018
Loved the house, and it's an easy walk to the beach. Very clean--we would love to book again :)
susan v. Aug 2018
The house was amazing! Off the street, fenced. Lots of privacy. Wonderful front porch for relaxing and listening to all the birds. Beautiful garden! Two blocks from ocean and town. I hope to come back and stay there again.
Tony M. Jul 2018
This cottage had a real cozy beach feel to it. The décor was very nicely detailed. The home was clean and exterior was maintained well. It is located in a tight neighborhood, but is off the street and felt private. Short walk to beach. Everything was perfect, highly recommend.
Merri L. Jul 2018
This cottage was one of the best parts of our trip! It was walking distance from the beach,the aquarium,and downtown. It was fully stocked with absolutely everything we needed and what we didn't even know we needed! Loved it!
Lauren V. Jun 2018
We loved staying at this cute cottage! It is just a couple blocks from both the beach and from downtown seaside and it was super dog friendly! We will be back :)
Mary M. May 2018
I reviewed this property earlier (March 2018) so look there for the details. On this visit it was evident that the owners aren't the sort to figure things are good enough. Since March a laundry sink has been installed and some of the deck furniture has been replaced. The hammock, happily, was still there. It's a well-stocked house in a quiet and convenient location: less than 5 minute walk to crashing surf and 10 minute walk to downtown Seaside.
Steven J. Apr 2018
The house is decorated very nice and the beds are very comfortable. It's just a short walk down the street to the beach. Great value for the price.
Mary J M. Mar 2018
I have stayed in plenty of vacation rentals over the years and Garden by the Sea was, without a doubt, the most perfectly appointed one of the bunch. The furnishings are *not* the typical seaside rental sort; they are just what I would pick for myself, if I were to be so lucky to own a house within a few blocks of the beach. Specifically:
There are two bathrooms, one with a lovely, deep clawfooted tub; the other with a large shower. The kitchen includes all the pots, pans, cookie sheets, baking pans, etc. you would need to make complete meals (which, admittedly, we did not do, opting to order pizza delivery (PIzza Harbor--pretty decent) instead on our night-in. The kitchen *also* includes plentiful crockery and cutlery, a cocktail shaker, a french press, a hot-water kettle, a coffee maker, colander, cutting boards, etc. *and* a fully stocked spice rack, oil, sugar, etc. It truly was like staying in a friend's house while they were away. And the decor was all the better parts of a Pottery Barn catalog, without dipping over the edge into excessive tweeness. It was cute, but it was also functional
The bed (there are two bedrooms but we only slept in one; I assume the second one was similar) are on the soft side, but even as firm-mattress sleepers we slept well. There were more than enough hangers in the closet (surprisingly rare in rentals; why is that?), plenty of drawers in the dresser, windows with screens so you could have them open without bugs getting in.
The deck and yard are also delightful, with plenty of seating and tables, as well as a hammock that was ever so comfortable. Seriously, we were scheming to return before we even left.
The downsides: it might be time for the owners to invest in a new hot water heater; the water turned cold during a second shower one morning. (This only happened once, however, so maybe it was something else?) The knives on the knife rack in the kitchen are all pretty dull; we had better luck with the smaller knives in the drawer. I loved the old kitchen sink, but others might find it a little shallow and there is not a plug for it. (There is a dishwasher so it's not like you *have* to wash your dishes in the sink; that's just my way.)
Heidi B. Feb 2018
The house was well set up for a family with or without children. The kitchen was very well stocked with the appropriate pots, pans and even spices. The double oven made it easy to create a large family dinner. It even had a large gas grill on the beautiful deck. The full fenced yard is great for kids and pets. It also made us feel like we were in out own little oasis. The only negatives were that one bed caved in the middle and was uncomfortable. The blankets were clean, soft and attractive but the mattress or support of it needs to be improved. All the rooms were all well decorated. The tv/living room had tiny bugs, possibly sand fleas. We would see about 6 every day here and there, on the coffee table, chairs, floor and couch. House was clean and well stocked. The bugs , to us, were a little unwelcomed but also no a huge surprise since we were by the beach and this is a dog friendly home. We did not bring them in but discovered them upon arrival. Overall we would love to stay here again!
Benjamin B. Jan 2018
It seems obvious that the renters love this place too. It is very well stocked with nice utensils, appliances and linens. Not your usual vacation house experience. Quiet and cozy!
Rusty G. Nov 2017
A perfect beach retreat for small families with or with out pets! The sweet cottage is perfectly appointed from kitchen to bathrooms, bedrooms, etc... really didnt' need to bring any extras. We stayed for the Thanksgiving weekend and the kitchen had everything (except the food!) that we needed to roast the turkey and all the fixings. Tons of good books and games, towels, extra blankets... The fenced yard is priceless for dogs and small kids! Note - The interior is no longer yellow, but blue. I thought we had walked into the wrong place ;) Two thumbs up for this sweet cottage. We will definitely be back!
SADIA K. Nov 2017
The pictures don't do this gorgeous little cottage justice. It was extremely private, clean, cozy and fully loaded. It was perfect for 6 humans and 3 dogs. The owners have clearly put in a lot of thought and effort into this little home away from home. They have you fully covered. There's even a closet full of games for the whole family to play. The beach is literally a 5 minute walk and you feel right at home at this picturesque cottage. We spent 4 days here and did NOT want to leave. We hope to stay here in the near future again!
Tanya J. Oct 2017
My husband and I had a wonderful time in this little cottage. Walking distance to prom, beach and to check out the quaint little shops. The cottage was very clean and provided a restful location to just kick back and relax. We keep talking about the great time we had and hope to make there again real soon.
Didi B. Oct 2017
Wonderful cottage. The location was perfect. Loved that it was within walking distance to beach and Seaside attractions.
Loved the extra blankets and linen.
James F. Aug 2017
House was conveniently located, clean, and has a great private deck.
Tawnya H. Jul 2017
Step back in time to a simpler way of life and enjoy the solitude and beauty of this wonderful vacation spot. Seaside has something for everyone and you will never be dissappointed.
Sarah M. Jul 2017
We had a great family vacation here. There's easy beach access nearby (and road beach access not too far away that was fun to take advantage of), and the house was stocked with everything we needed. The outdoor area is well maintained with lovely flowers, clean furniture, and a very nice gas grill. We highly recommend driving down to Ecola Beach State Park - our kids had a blast exploring the beach at low tide.
JUSTIN P. Jun 2017
Inform guests of potential insect issues or known insect issues. We had a major ant problem one morning we had to deal with. I also informed the property with an email and never received a call or email back regarding the issue.

Would stay again, but under limited circumstances
Manager response:
We apologize for the ant issue this guest experienced. They were refunded for the inconvenience.
Sharon S. May 2017
My daughters and I booked this adorable cottage just a few blocks away from the ocean beaches. We loved the cottage charm and the privacy the gated garden provided. We felt very safe and cozy. The beds were very comfortable and the cottage was well appointed and clean.
Pat M. May 2017
We generally enjoyed our stay .
The unit was clean and quiet and generally well stocked for our stay .

However ...

We were particularly disappointed in NOT receiving an email the morning of our scheduled arrival
about an 'early check in' as indicated in the 'binder' and faq instructions ;
our rental was clearly NOT rented for several days prior to our scheduled
check in,
so why were we not allowed to check in early !!!

Ants, ants and more ants !!! The kitchen counters, around the edges of the floor
and the sink area all had lots of ants .

Although the fireplace was not indicated on the 'features' list,
it obviously was a usable fireplace and there was a significant supply of
stacked firewood outside for use ;
to be able to utilize the fireplace would have been very nice
on cold, wet and windy evenings .

The 'no pets' policy was an important priority for us in choosing this rental .
However, it obviously was instead a 'pet friendly' unit with pet 'utensils' and toys
for cats and dogs and even a pet bed !
We were indeed trying to stay away from potential pet allergies !

Overall the furnishings were more than adequate and quite comfortable .
However, the beds were obviously very well over used and need to be replaced .
One bedroom had NO heat and was missing a door for privacy .

The generic instructions for using the television were totally inadequate .
We needed a lot of time to figure out the correct combination of settings on
which devices using what remotes to get things working ;
perhaps a more specific list of instructions for the actual devices
would save everyone a lot of frustration .

There is no fan in the bathroom and the window does not open !

We were also a bit concerned when we noticed after returning several evenings
that someone had been at the rental while we were away during the daytime ;
we hoped that the 'someone' was only outside !? Privacy ?
Manager response:
We apologize this guest experienced some inconveniences during their reservation. There are several reasons our homes might not be available for early check-in such as extra cleaning time needed, maintenance work, or, in this particular instance, a realtor was showing the home to potential buyers. There is regular pest control for this that is working on eradicating the ants. The fireplace cannot be used by guests as the city does not permit it, though it does permit owners to use their personal fireplaces - the firewood there is for owner use. This home is not pet friendly for our guests. There are no missing bedroom doors and the home has central heat.
Eve H. Feb 2017
We stayed for a quick weekend visit in late February, before the season officially started. Weather was mixed but we did enjoy an afternoon at nearby Astoria and then dinner back in Seaside. We never got a chance to walk the Prom or visit the beach in Seaside as time was short and the weather turned rainy and chilly. No worries though, the cottage had a great selection of games and or visit was just as much about spending time together as seeing sites or beachcombing. We also found the kitchen well stocked with the things we needed for making a couple of late night snacks and breakfast in the morning.

This cottage is older and has a lot of character. It is obviously well taken care of but does have the quirks of an older space, floors have a bit of a slope, doors might unlatch and swing open if you step on the right board... that kind of thing. If you like a quiet, cozy place with personality more than the cookie cutter sterility of a hotel chain then this is the place for you.
Shannon S. Feb 2017
Ver comfy quite and clean ,,, close to everything we did walking to beach and around the shops,
Suzanne R. Oct 2016
This is a quirky little house with lots of charm, but a few odd features to consider.

The cons: If you're very tall, you may have a hard time with the shower, as the ceiling in the bathroom isn't particularly high. Some of the furnishings and decor could use updates, and the beds seemed smaller than Queen size. The fireplace has a sign up stating that it's decorative only and not to be used. Due to the maximum occupancy limit, we were unable to invite friends over to visit for even a brief amount of time.

The pros: We didn't use the kitchen a ton, but it seemed to be well-stocked. There's a bookshelf and closet that's chock full of books, games, and DVDs to satisfy a variety of tastes. Everything was clean and tidy, I even checked out the shower caddy, and didn't spot any soap scum build-up, so the cleaners must be very thorough. The neighborhood is quiet. The yard and hammock are inviting (although we were there on a very rainy weekend so we didn't get to take advantage of them).
Thomas B. Oct 2016
The neighborhood was very quiet-we liked that- 5 blocks to get to the beach and just a few miles by vehicle to a number of excellent restaurants. Seaside is also a bit more "laid back" than Cannon Beach but still within easy visit distance/.
We enjoyed our stay
Wade P. Sep 2016
We stayed with another couple and their total there were 4 adults and 2 babies.
The house was great the old sink and claw foot tub were amazing and the updated heat and ac made the stay with babies easy. The lack of cable is trivial but would of been nice beings that it rained on Sunday and we could of watched football but not a deal breaker. It looked as if the owners are working hard to improve the property with new windows and updated hvac,and newly updated appliances ie. stove double oven and dishwasher. The only downfall was the beds.there was ample space for kings and instead there are not even queens, this being said the couch is very comfortable. I would defiantly recommend
Dileep R. Sep 2016
Great selection of books. Could spent the whole winter reading your collection of books.
Bathroom need to be upgraded specially the bathtub and curtain and some furniture.
Nichole W. Sep 2016
Definitely will return! Great base camp to go and explore or shop. Or just hang out on a rainy day. Washer and dryer was broken and the local facilities are dirty and scary. Overall, we loved the homey feel and the property.
Amy C. Aug 2016
Very sweet house with a great front desk to relax on.
Jeffrey L. Aug 2016
This is an awesome rental. Very good condition, very clean and charming as all get out.
Patti M. Aug 2016
Location was good
It was clean
Check out was ok
Check in was a little late
Celerino N. Aug 2016
Great place to stay and easy to reserve to problems at all will recommend.
Tillman M. Jul 2016
The home was very quaint. It was built 1n 1919, I was told by a neighbor. It looked like there had been quite a bit of work recently and the deck is especially nice.
Stacy R. Jul 2016
The cottage was perfect for our family of 4. Very quaint and gorgeous yard and deck! It was a short walk to the beach and very easy to manage with kids. Easy walks to the shops off the promenade. Would definitely stay here again!
Alan P. Jul 2016
Great little cottage type setting. The interior was very quaint. The antique furniture and decorations had the rustic feel mixed with the high tech heating/cooling controls and internet access made it the best of both worlds... Great getaway place. Also a short walk to the beach made the location very good.