USA Montana Glacier Country Whitefish Listing #7134

Moose Jaw Retreat - Whitefish, MT

Take a Virtual Tour
39 reviews
Max. occupancy: 12 3 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed 5 bedrooms 6 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Ski-In/Ski-Out on Big Mountain with Gourmet Kitchen Hot Tub & Amazing Views

Enjoy a spectacular ski adventure on Big Mountain at this gorgeous condo with a gourmet kitchen, two warming gas fireplaces, and immediate access to the slopes.

Situated within Whitefish Mountain Resort and its 93 runs, this home is absolutely perfect for an exciting ski vacation. And when it gets a little warmer, there are several amazing hiking and mountain biking trails nearby, as well as an aerial adventure park, alpine slide, and zip lines.

This sprawling, multi-story rental has vaulted, log-beam ceilings, hardwood floors, and bright windows along with plenty of top-of-the-line, modern amenities. The large living area on the main floor has windows offering spectacular views of Whitefish Mountain, a floor-to-ceiling, stone-lined gas fireplace, and plenty of plush seating options making this the perfect spot to settle in for the evening after an exciting day on the slopes.

Gather together at the dining room table illuminated from above by a handcrafted chandelier of clustered antlers, or sit at the wraparound breakfast bar attached to the incredible, gourmet kitchen. The well-equipped kitchen features all the essential cookware, utensils, and dinnerware to help even the most ambitious chef prepare exquisite home-cooked meals. It also includes an array of brand-new stainless steel appliances including a side-by-side refrigerator, gas stove, microwave oven, and dishwasher. And feel free to augment those menus with a few barbecued delights on the gas grill located outside on the covered deck.

The primary suite has a soft king-size bed with a dramatic, gnarled, log frame, romantic gas fireplace, and en suite full bath. Two additional guest rooms boast king-size beds, a third bedroom has a queen, and the fifth bedroom has two twin bunk beds, perfect for the kids! With five bedrooms and a total of six bathrooms, this home sleeps up to 12 incredibly lucky guests.

Free WiFi is provided in this home, and the lower level offers additional space for home entertainment with a kitchenette and family room with an entertainment center. There are also multiple flatscreen TVs located throughout the home to let you catch the local news or keep up with all your favorite shows during your vacation.

While there's plenty of outdoor excitement available just beyond your front door, take a short, seven-mile drive south to the small, but the fun city of Whitefish not far from the shore of Whitefish Lake. Check out the local galleries and museums, visit the Great Northern Brewing Company, and dine at some of the area's best restaurants including Loula's Cafe for fantastic breakfasts, the Tupelo Grill, and the Buffalo Cafe & Nightly Grill.

Book this home today and start solidifying those plans for that perfect ski vacation in northwestern Montana.

This property is managed by Terah M. Young of Vacasa Vacation Rentals of Montana LLC, license #RRE-RPM-LIC-98846

County permit number: H-315034

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Kitchen & dining







Mountain view

Walk to lifts




Cable : Charter

DVD player

Wireless router

Netflix streaming

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private


Gas grill : Private



39 reviews

Tayman M. Dec 2022
The house was great and very spacious. Just a short ski to base lodge. The kitchen had everything we needed for dinners at the house. We are sad the pricing is increasing as much as it is for same week next year or otherwise we would be rebooking.
Tia R. Nov 2022
The great room/kitchen/dining is a unique space where small groups can talk or everyone can gather by the fireplace. ❤️
Harriett P. Mar 2022
Six Bathrooms
Ski In — Ski Out
Hot Tub
Large Kitchen
Responsiveness of VACASA
Robert J. Feb 2022
Hot tub well maintained. Skiing outstanding. Home is great for a large group. Accommodations well maintained and bedrooms are roomy. Washer dryer nice add on if needed.
Zuzana C. Jan 2022
It had everything we needed for a family of 10 especially lots of space. We didn't want to leave.
DAVID L. Sep 2021
We had a nice five night stay at moosejaw, as a base to explore glacier and white fish. Check in was seamless and the place was clean and ready. It's a very large house, lots of space. The mountain location is beautiful.
Minor critiques for the four stars, I'd take it 4.5 if I could: the hot tub was not working. I was informed before our arrival but as the fees are relatively high this was disappointing. Guests had trouble with the wifi, though this may have been location dependent as some spots in the house had better signal than others. We couldn't get one of the fireplaces to work with the thermostat, it was on (and hot) or off. It was fine, nice to have it on for a little while at a time but had to turn it off manually. The driveway is odd, very steep pitch into the garage. Not great for a low clearance car.
Note I did not contact vacasa about anything because they're minor and didn't disrupt our trip, the house was overall very nice. Big kitchen, nice bathrooms, all we needed.

One note - it's about 15 minutes into whitefish. And another 45 minutes into glacier. If your primary reason for visiting is to explore glacier it's far. Not a critique of the house as you can look that up on a map, just our observation.

Linda B. Aug 2021
This is a beautiful home located close to all the summer activities on the mountain. We were a large family and the house is big enough for everyone to comfortably fit. The only downfall would be that our hot tub didn't work. The kitchen has just about everything you need except for pot holders and more kitchen towels. We enjoyed our stay so much we already booked this home for January 2022. Highly recommend.
dan p. Jul 2021
This house is spectacular—with a huge great room/kitchen/eating area and with many decorated rooms with adjoining bathrooms. There’s also a hot tub, gas grill, state-of-the-art fridge and washer/dryer, plus a cozy downstairs breakfast nook that’s perfect. At its best, this would be an unbelievable find. Unfortunately, the house wasn’t at its best because the air conditioning was broken during record heat and because there was much about the house that needs replacing or fixing. Somebody did kindly deliver a single window air conditioning unit, but nobody installed it, so we did our best to set it up in front of the window, some of which had broken opening hardware. Bottom line—it was hot until the cool night air settled in, but even then, some rooms stayed too hot. The second most disappointing part of the stay was that some essentials weren’t well-stocked (spoons, zero potholders) while the rugs and linens were awful. Our bathroom rugs looked dirty. The bedding in the master bedroom consisted of a thick microfiber comforter backed with fleece—super hot. One final point—the grass around this house was unmowed and unkempt in an otherwise manicured neighborhood. Nevertheless, I have to admit that we all had a great stay.
Manager response:
Hi, Dan! Thank you for telling us about your visit. We do apologize you had any inconveniences and hope our response will alleviate any concerns. A new coffee pot was delivered, the rugs are scheduled for a cleaning, and we are discussing the lawn care with the HOA. The homeowner prefers the thick comforters on the bed; however, smaller ones are available for guest use. The central air is still not working, but a replacement has been ordered. There is currently one window unit installed in the upstairs bedroom, fans in every room, and the window crank repaired so it can be utilized. Thanks again!
Gwen W. Jun 2021
Absolutely beautiful property. Owner did notify us 10 days before arrival that the air was not working and would put fans in house. At 9:00pm it was 88 degrees inside we sleep with garage door opened all windows opened. Still sweating all night. Asked if I could have some reimbursement for this since property mgr said it would be 2 months before part came in, I was offered $25.00 per night ($100.00 total plus tax), One fan per bedroom just did not help the 3 digit temperature.
Manager response:
Hello, Gwen, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the beauty of the property! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience the heat caused you and your family and glad we could compensate you for the issue. We look forward to hosting you again!
Jenny M. Jun 2021
We had a 3 family group of 12 that stayed at Whitefish and absolutely loved it!! The house was beautiful and met every one of our needs! Our teenagers loved the hot tub, beds were comfortable, kitchen was stocked with utensils, plates and cooking items and we enjoyed the beautiful ski area with some hikes. It was easy to get back and forth to Glacier and the town was very quaint. We have stayed in many places around the area and found this place to be a great stay. We will absolutely return. Thanks!!
Sarah T. Feb 2021
Plenty of room & can't get better ski in ski out. Terrific views of mountain! Roomy heated garage but beware of encroaching on cul-de-sac when parking.
amos t. Sep 2020
It was a great setting with plenty to do. The house was very large and was great for our big family. The only thing was that it was not very clean.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying in one of our homes and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive for a standard of excellence in ensuring the home is clean and accommodating for our guests. If there are any concerns or areas in need of additional attention, we hope to be notified so we can make sure any issues are addressed. We look forward to hosting you for a great stay in the future!
Neil H. Mar 2020
Everything I said last year still applies - see you next year!
Denise Y. Feb 2020
Fantastic large space with all rooms compete with comfy beds, bedding, towels etc. Kitchen sink plugged on arrival but they were quick to try and fix it even though our group ended up dismantling and fixing it. Could use more paper towel and kitchen tea towels/supplies for cleaning. Overall fantastic stay and amazing location. Would stay again!
Melanie S. Mar 2019
This house is truly a ski in/ski out! It was a perfect fit for our family and provided everyone with the opportunity to have flexibility throughout the day. The team at Vacasa was outstanding with communication and helping with a minor maintenance item that needed to be looked at while we were there. The kitchen was sparse on cooking equipment (i.e., cookie sheets, mixing bowls, etc), the heat was hard to control (which we didn't even have to turn on the whole time we were there) and instructions to the in home music system would have been helpful. Overall, the house is lovely and we made some great memories. Thanks for sharing your beautiful home.
Neil H. Feb 2019
In my previous review from 2017 I stated that we'd have no hesitation in coming back. Well, we came back and everything from my previous review holds true. This is definitely our go-to place when skiing in Whitefish.
Why didn't we stay here in 2018? It was already booked out for the dates we were staying.
See you in 2020 Moose Jaw Retreat!
Ryan H. Feb 2019
The house was fantastic. Great location on Big Mountain. Right on the Home Again trail near the base lodge. Really a good ski in/ski out house. Plenty of space for everyone and everyone have a bathroom. It was freezing and dumped snow while we were here, so having a two car garage was nice. The hot tub was well used by the group as well. And someone came by everyday to shovel and check the tub and never bothered us. I give it only 4 stars due to the lack of cooking supplies. And of course the very tiny refrigerator. A place this large that sleeps this many people, on a mountain with no restaurants open after 5, we like to cook and chill out for the next day. Hardly any room in the refrigerator to keep anything, it’s weird. Also one thing that isn’t clear is that this is not a stand alone home. It is the center of a 3 plex condo. Our neighbors where super noisy/ loud music and partying on our last two days. But other than that , beautiful home, right where you want it and we would stay again
Paul O. Jan 2019
Nice large house with plenty of room for the whole family.
Kristie C I. Jan 2019
This house worked great for our large family. Plenty of space for the kids and adults. Nice finishes and furnishings, comfy beds. The location is really perfect on Home Again.
Laura T. Oct 2018
This is a lovely home and perfect for families. We were disappointed to find that there was no cable as they had advertised and had trouble staying connected to wifi in the house. Because we work online this created a problem. We had to instead use our phones as hotspots or use wifi in Whitefish. All correspondence to Vacasa was initiated by us to get updates or ask further questions. While their local rep did come out the first night and try to help, we still had to reach out for updates the next day and the issue was never resolved.
Marian Y. Jul 2018
The home is spacious and has a great kitchen.We enjoyed the location and the comfort very much.
Maja K. May 2018
We had a group of 12 adults coming down for a spartan race. The house was exactly what we needed... lots of room, well-equipped kitchen, comfy beds, a hot tub, and can’t forget the view of the mountains :) Loved it!
Jason S. Feb 2018
Beautiful Home that is the first truly ski in ski out place I've stayed in. Would recommend!
Andrew K. Jan 2018
Please don't stay here --- we want it to be available for us again!! We had a group of 8 adults, a mix of couples and singles, and this property was a perfect fit (the hot tub wasn't... but we took shifts). The location is true ski-on/ski-off, although we frequently took advantage of a shorter trail + short walk combo to get home. (We're all snowboarders, and the Home Again trail is very flat in parts, and can only be accessed from lifts 2 & 3.) The home was in great condition and was well-furnished and well-equipped. The whole-house sound system is great! 2 ovens in the kitchen meant all the pizzas were ready at the same time. The beds and linens were very comfortable. We hardly utilized the lower living room / breakfast area, but that seems like it would be a great spot to put the kids if your group includes any. We got great snow during our stay, and the driveway was always plowed in a very timely manner.
Russell H. Sep 2017
Great location and spotless! The only issue was when we showed up, the key wasn't in the lockbox. Absolutely, no complaints though.....a quick call to Vacasa and we had the spare key in our hand in minutes. The Vacasa customer service was amazing; polite and very quick.
Micara L. Aug 2017
Really nice, well kept up home. More bathrooms than bedrooms, which is a huge plus as we had 10 people stay in the house. Plenty of room and a great location close to downtown Whitefish. Only 30 minutes from the airport and about an hour to the entrance of West Glacier National Park. Recommend highly!
John D. Aug 2017
Great place, but if you are a summer visitor, it is a little far from Whitefish and Glavier National Park. Perfect for skiers.
Jessica M. Aug 2017
We spent a family vacation here and this home was perfect for us! We visited the park many times, went zip lining, went white water rafting, spent some time at the resort, went hiking, hung out in downtown whitefish, went to the huckleberry festival,and had great family dinners each night at the house. Could not recommend more. Will definitely be coming back. :)
Lesa W. Aug 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the house. Had a good time up on the mountain. Went to Glacier National Park several times. Beautiful House!
Tina S. Jul 2017
This townhouse was prefect for our group very spacious, great location ,everyone loved it would go back again.
Stacia B. Jul 2017
If they purchase a new hot water tank to accommodate 12 guests showering without running out of hot water for at least half of them. Adjust hot tub temperature so usable as it was too hot. Remind guests and cleaning staff to leave the front loading washer open after use so that it does not smell when used again like sewer. Kitchen towels and washcloths would have been appreciated. The best thing was having air conditioning with 100 degree weather. Very nice open floor plan and plenty of room for everyone to spread out.
Manager response:
We appreciate having an opportunity to respond to this feedback. The hot tub is maintained by a professional CPO and is kept at a standard temperature of 104 degrees. The home has an ample amount of dishtowels for guest use. The washing machine has had a cleaner run through it, and we have left a note reminding guests and housekeeping to leave the door ajar after use. Thank you!
Sandy A. Jul 2017
This home was perfect for our family vacation. A great location for all of our activities as well as a quiet, relaxing atmosphere. We loved seeing the many deer eating and enjoying the sunshine right out front of the house. The only thing missing was a porch/ outside seating for us all to sit outside and enjoy the amazing weather.
Kenneth M. Mar 2017
We enjoyed the Moose Jaw Retreat! Great location. Very close to the Base Lodge and base lifts. Plenty of room for two families.
Neil H. Mar 2017
This house is just perfect for the skier: open the door, six paces, skis on and you're off. The only way a run could be closer would be if it went through the property!
A very comfortable house, tastefully decorated and ideal for larger groups.
We'd have no hesitation in coming back, or recommending this to anyone looking for a stay on the mountain with some nice creature comforts.
Tyler E. Feb 2017
This house is perfect if you are looking to stay on the mountain throw on the skis and head straight for the slopes. This house was very warm and welcoming right from the first step in. If you want to go downtown the ski bus makes this very convenient and free to ride down to enjoy a nice dinner. Highly recommend this place and can't wait to stay again!!! Cheers the fun boys!
Maelita B. Jan 2017
A true ski in ski out property. Great for a large group. We only go to Whitefish in the winter. This place is perfect for all ages to ski out the door and return.