Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Mt. Hood Government Camp Listing #1242

Brooke and Dans - Government Camp, OR

52 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
30301 E. Camp Creek Trail, Government Camp, OR 97028

Home w/ mountain views, chef's kitchen, private hot tub!

For a family ski trip or a sunny weather getaway, this gorgeous three-bedroom Government Camp vacation rental will wow your whole group with amazing mountain views, a huge chef's kitchen, and a spacious great room with deluxe set-up for entertainment (including surround sound). There's also a private hot tub for ultimate relaxation!

This location is just blocks away from downtown Government Camp, walkable to restaurants, shops, and the Summit Ski Area - a great place to learn how to ski or fly down the tubing hill. Mt. Hood Skibowl is just on the other end of town, about a mile from your Brooke and Dans vacation home. And for even more downhill adventures on skis or snowboards, Timberline Lodge and Mt. Hood Meadows are both within a 15 minute drive!

This home can be rented as a three-bedroom, or as a two-bedroom apartment. Please check out the relevant listings for details!

When you enter the main floor of this Mt. Hood retreat, you'll be greeted by the spacious great room. With tall, slanted ceilings, a pellet stove, gleaming hardwood floors, a flat screen TV, and lots of space for your whole group to socialize, this may end up being your favorite area of the house. You can come back from a hike and watch a movie - there's both Netflix streaming and a DVD player (Blu-ray), as well as cable.

There's also free wireless Internet here, and with all those other entertainment options you won't have a hard time staying busy! And when you want to just unplug and relax, there are plenty of spots to curl up with a good book or take a lazy afternoon nap. At night, you can even view the Skibowl lights from the large picture windows.

When it's time for a meal, head into the full kitchen space for gorgeous granite countertops and all major appliances (including a dishwasher). Extras include a coffee grinder, espresso maker, blender, mixer, and a toaster. Create everything from a hearty weekend brunch to a roast chicken dinner. And when it's time to sit down and eat, the dining room table will seat seven, with extra spots at the breakfast bar.

In nice, sun-filled weather, head out to the covered deck for an outdoor meal or a barbecue. You'll have a gas grill so you can flip some burgers, chill the beers. There's even a private hot tub!

On the main level, there is one bedroom with a beautiful queen-size log bed, while a second bedroom has a set of twin-over-full bunks beds. Both of these rooms are spacious and comfortable. Upstairs, the master suite takes up the entire floor! This serene spot offers a comfortable queen log bed, a private bathroom (there is an additional full bathroom on the main floor). outside the double doors there is a small loft area with an office space and a twin bed. There's room for up to eight guests. And since two of the bedrooms and one bathroom are on the main floor, this wonderful ski chalet also works well for members in your group who don't want to deal with stairs!

Other amenities include a stereo with a CD player and an iPod dock. This amazing Government Camp vacation home has all of the comforts of home, but with a gorgeous location right near scenic Mt. Hood!

There is also a separate basement apartment that is occasionally occupied by long-term renters; the only space shared with these tenants are the basement laundry room with a washer/dryer and a convenient ski-tuning area.

In winter, Brooke and Dans is a great home-base for skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, or even snowmobiling in the nearby Mt. Hood National Forest lands. And with an ideal location right near town, on the evenings you don't feel like cooking popular eateries like the Glacier Haus Bistro and Ice Axe Grill are just a few blocks away!

In summertime, the Cascade Mountains offer hiking, biking, and fishing. Most of the ski resorts are covered in wildflowers and have operating chair lifts for a scenic ride and hike down the mountain.

Plan a retreat to the Mt. Hood vacation rental and relax surrounded by rustic elegance. Year-round, Government Camp offers fun activities and attractions for the whole family!

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Fireplace

Washer/dryer : Shared

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Century Link

Blu-Ray player

Cable : Dish Network

DVD player

Netflix streaming

Sound dock

Stereo

TV

Wireless router

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Walk to lifts

52 reviews

Eve D. Mar 2019
Wonderful, fabulous stay !
Andrea Z. Feb 2019
We loved the sledding hill right next to the house, so we didn't have to drive anywhere in the snow to get to the fun!
Becca J. Mar 2018
There was no one else staying in any of the surrounding homes-/cabins. The bedding was cozy and once the pellet stove gets going it was warm. The kids loved sledding on surrounding hills and hot tubbing out on the beautiful deck. I loved the well stocked kitchen and learned how to use the weird stove top. Just use the 2 right side burners. Plently of space for our group of 7. Wish we could have streamed Netflix as was supposed to be the case but we survived. Bring DVDS if you want to watch a movie. Also, a speaker system for music as we did not find a docking system. Very clean with plenty of supplies(T.P, shampoo, cond., paper towel, fish soap, laundry soap)
Manager response:
We are very sorry this guest was unable to use some of the advertised amenities. The property manager has ensured guests can access the streaming service and that the iPod dock is easily accessible. Thank you!
Catherine D. Feb 2018
Great area. We didn't have to get in our car - everything is in walking distance. Lots of different activities for different interests .
Steve D. Feb 2018
I would not recommend this property to anyone that wants to use the stove. Oven would not get to temp. Cinnamon rolls that take 25 minutes at 350 degrees couldn't cook in over an hour. Then we tried to broil them to get brown and that was a fail. The burners also cooked either way low or super hot...no in between. It really needs to be replaced...not repaired. Looked to be from the 70's..
Manager response:
We apologize for the difficulties this guest experienced with the oven. We are happy to say it was replaced with a brand new one during the summer of 2018. Thank you!
Karly C. Jan 2018
This home is beautiful and perfect for a group.
Margaret G. Nov 2017
Stayed here this past weekend to go skiing at Mt. Hood. This rental is extremely close to skiing, hiking areas, and walking distance to restaurants and bars. The group we were with can't wait to go back for another ski weekend!!
Liliya T. Oct 2017
Over all the house was nice. There were a few issues. First of all we came out to watch conference. And I double checked several times if the Internet connection is strong enough for streaming and they said yes. However when we turned on the stream it kept loading and hanging up on us. So we had to use our hotspot to be able to stream the conference, or watch any movie. The stove was not working, but the staff was quick to respond. come out and fix the issue. The kitchen wasn't fully supplied. No cookie sheets and some of the pots didn't have lids on them. The twin in the loft area was a little bit wavy and hard to sleep on . Otherwise, a nice place for the price. Good location too.
Hope the staff will replace the coffee maker and fix the issue with the stove, and Internet. and then I would definitely stay there again- if those issues are resolved
Isolde S. Sep 2017
We live locally and decided to stay here for our Mom's weekend away. Great open space and very clean. We loved the open floor plan and the place was spotless. A couple of things we had to figure out the hard way...the pellet stove takes about 15 min to get hot. The hot tub wasn't actually ready to use (temp was set low, so we had to wait several hours for it to heat up). The coffee maker stopped working after one use. The loft bed had no support under the mattress , so it couldn't be slept on. And lastly, the security system alarm kept getting tripped one night, and management was unaware on how to disarm the alarm or how to contact the property owner. It was a very stressfull and sleepless night. However...I was pleased that Vacasa took this issue seriously. They were very concerned that this happened and made sure to right the wrong. Excellent customer support!
Kelaine R. Sep 2017
We enjoyed our stay here very much!
Mary M. Aug 2017
Our family loved the location, quiet and pretty but walking distance to restaurants and the grocery store and a short drive to Mt. Hood & great hikes. We had everything we needed, but some items, like the coffee maker and stove, need to be replaced. The hot tub was a hit with the entire family.
Shyama P. Jun 2017
This was our second stay at this house. We love the scale of the house and the location. It was spacious and perfect for a group of four. If some maintenance issues were addressed (the coffee maker, the stove), would rate it five stars.
Terry I. Jun 2017
We stayed here for a family wedding at Mt. Hood. The cabin was very clean, well kept & well stocked with just about any amenity you could ask for! The location was perfect in a quiet area that gave you the feel of a cabin in the woods. At the same time, you are really close to Timberline Lodge, many hiking trails, and can easily get to Mt. Hood or Portland for the day. It was perfect for our family vacation!!
Jaime A. May 2017
We stayed here for a girls weekend in May 2017. The house had plenty of space for us all to have a nice bed to ourselves. The location was great with privacy out the back door and while sitting in the hot tub. We walked from the home to the village several time and it was a short 5 min walk. The only complaint is that the pellet stove was not working and we read about this in a review before booking where it was said to have been fixed but clearly was not. We found ourselves a bit jealous of the smoke rolling from our neighbors chimney while we turned up the heat to take the chill off. Overall, it was a really nice home. Just needs some minor tweaks by a handyman.
Manager response:
We apologize the pellet stove was acting up during this reservation. We are working with the owner on the matter as it is a picky stove and expensive to replace entirely. Thank you!
Yue Z. Apr 2017
This place is quiet, clean and comfortable. Price is also nice. Perfect for a ski trip to Mt Hood!
Courtney W. Jan 2017
Beautiful home nestled in the woods behind Government Camp. Great space, cozy and comfortable. Would absolutely stay again!
Matt & Tanya S. Dec 2016
The house was great, about a 3 minute walk to town, very quiet neighborhood. House had everything we needed, very clean and comfortable! We will definitely stay here again.
Merissa F. Nov 2016
Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a weekend away and had a blast very quiet neighborhood with great hot tub and very close to government camo restaurants
Cynthia D. Nov 2016
I give this place two thumbs up. My stay was very comfy with the surrounding view of the forest, quiet streets, welcoming locals, beautiful interior decorations and security system that made me feel more secure during my stay.
Carey B. Oct 2016
We were moved by Vacasa into this rental after we spent one very uncomfortable night in a house with mice, holes in the window and mouse poop in the beds. This house is gorgeous! So spacious and well light with natural light as well as light fixtures for evening lighting. The beds were comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked with tools. It is clean house. The hot tub was clean and well kept.
Heidi E. Aug 2016
Home is extremely clean and comfortable. We really liked our stay here.
Karen S. Jul 2016
We had a very nice stay with visiting family from Europe. The access to the mountain for hiking and viewing and the ease of walking into town made this location ideal. After full days outdoors, we enjoyed cooking in the spacious kitchen, soaking in the hot tub and the watching dvd movies on the big tv.
Josh W. Jul 2016
Great house and great location. Realistically only sleeps 6 adults. Definitely would stay here again.
Shyama P. Jul 2016
We stayed at this house for 10 days and loved it. We were two mother/daughter pairs (4 people total), and the house was just wonderful for a small group like ours (note: there is only seating in the living room for 5 people, so bigger groups would have a problem). You could tell it was a real family home--It was very clean, the kitchen was incredibly well equipped, and beds were very comfortable. The kids loved the hot tub, and moms loved the cozy leather seating and quiet location a three minute walk from town. The house manager Cody was very responsive and stopped by the morning after we arrived to show us how to use the downstairs shower (which is not at all intuitive!) and show us where the pellets for the stove were stored in the basement. Our only issues during our stay were with the wifi and pellet stove which are both due for professional servicing. We got the hang of restarting the pellet stove (unplug, plug back), but the spotty (off and on) wifi was a serious issue for one of our party who was working from the house for ten days. Other than that, A+. We hope to return next summer. Thank you, Brooke and Dan!
Steven B. Jun 2016
Nice place with all the basic necessities.
Daisy S. Jun 2016
Thank you for sharing your home! We had a wonderful time. The home, the surroundings, the town...............were gorgeous! Your home was the perfect set up for our group! The setting brings a natural serenity. Can't wait to do it again!
Pat D. Mar 2016
We enjoyed our stay in this house. Loved its distance to Main Street, Government Camp and Mount Hood Meadows. Very clean and warm with the pellet stove. The kitchen is well appointed with pots, pans and utensils. We could not get the stove to operate properly and the refrigerator door does not close all the way without an extra push (be warned). I know hot tubs are difficult to keep running and maintained but we had a bunch of disappointed skiers who thought the tub would be available after our first day on the slopes. Recommend fixing it or getting rid of it. Otherwise loved our stay, especially the variety of sleds which we took out to a local hill for some après ski activities.
Manager response:
We apologize that this guest was disappointed with the broken hot tub - it is currently not advertised as a working amenity. The Property Manager will inspect the stove and refrigerator to make sure they are both operating correctly.
Catherine B. Mar 2016
Accomodations were awesome, great view, clean, convenient location. Good, open hang out space and private bedrooms. Will definitely stay at B&Ds again
Daniel M. Mar 2016
Vacasa went above and beyond our expectations to make our stay functional, enjoyable and memorable.
Nathalie N. Feb 2016
Nice, spacious, clean cabin in Gvmt camp. Great stay if it wasn't for the very poor customer service from VACASA. We would rent it again if managed by a different company.
Manager response:
We are saddened to see that you did not have a good experience due to our customer service. We are actively hiring and training more agents to assist with Guest Services so that our guests will be wonderfully taken care of.
Sean B. Feb 2016
This cabin was exactly what my friends and I were looking for. It's walking distance to the heart of downtown Government Camp and has all of the necessary amenities to make sure you have a comfortable stay. I would definitely stay here again!
Alex H. Feb 2016
Nice location, great place, however the pellet stove and hot tub needs immediate fixing or replacing. It's not fun to have your pellet stove shut off at 3am and you waking up due to being cold. If you would come here and expect to have working fireplace and hot tub - pick a different place.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are so sorry to hear that the pellet stove and hot tub were not working for your entire stay. We have shared your comments with our property manager and they are going to have them working for our guests going forward. We hope you still had a great time at this wonderful home and were able to make some great memories to take home!
Shayna P. Feb 2016
Janice M. Jan 2016
The home is beautiful! Loved the overall design and deco, especially in the main room. We would each like to have a set of those comfy rocking chairs.Very nice location and pretty setting. Unfortunately the hot tub was overly hot and then became murky and had a smell of sulfur to it. I was happy to see that some hot tub towels were provided after it was written that we would need to bring our own beach towels. We needed the property manager to come start the pellet stove. The dishwasher ran, but failed to dispense any soap. The upstairs bed in the alcove by the office did not have any support whatsoever. There were no pillows on the master bed when we arrived, making me kind of wonder whether or not the bed had been freshly made. We located many pillows in the bedroom closet, but hardly any pillow cases. The downstairs shower was hard to figure out, as was the oven in the kitchen. ( My friend burnt her brownies.) A few extra dishcloths and kitchen towels would have been appreciated. The Vacasa property manager did come out on our second day and start the pellet stove with a small butane torch and he mentioned how to adjust the hot tub temp., but it never did get cooler. The directions for setting the house alarm upon leaving need to be clearer. We did not figure it out. We would happily have started a laundry wash, but there was no laundry soap to be found. As a suggestion it would be nice to provide one season sno-park pass for guests.
No, I would not stay here again because of all of the inconveniences. The place needs upgrades. We did have a good time, though. Thanks for listening.
Manager response:
We apologize for the several inconveniences you experienced during your stay. The Property Manager is going to follow-up with housekeeping regarding proper cleanliness and restocking of the home. The hot tub is in need of several new parts and will no longer be listed as an amenity until it is fully operational again. The Property Manager will discuss the other maintenance issues with the owners and look for solutions.
Missy M. Jan 2016
Our family was very excited to stay here as we go to government camp every year as a tradition. One reason we chose this place was because there are 4 families and we finally found a place for all our vehicles to fit. A week before check in I got an email stating that we could not park more than 2 vehicles there. This was never stated on the website or when we reserved the house. The website says someone lives downstairs part time and the week before we got an email stating that someone was living there full time which would effect our stay. The house itself is beautiful and the beds were comfortable. It was nice to be able to walk 5 minutes into the heart of government camp and a 5 minute drive to skibowl. The oven is way outdated and either overcooked or undercooked our food. The main couch was totally broken and with 10 people the seating was needed. The Wifi was HORRIBLE, you couldn't even watch an entire movie on Netflix with it. There were things stated that they had at the house and they were not there. I would not visit this specific house again as it was portrayed on the website was different than the reality.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We apologize that having tenants at the home changed the vehicle plans and that there were some maintenance issues during your stay. The Property Manager is aware and will work with the owner on improvements as they are able. We hope you had a great time enjoying the area!
Larisa O. Jan 2016
There was hair everywhere and couch in living room was broken. most of the dishes were cracked or chipped. toaster barely works, ONLY 3 tablespoons, pots were nasty and some were broken...fridge works really loud.. Jacuzzi is so old and had some pine needles in it and it was so hot we used a kitchen thermometer to see that the water was 115 degrees, had to wait four hours to cool it down. do not recommend this house unless they clean it and fix or replace the broken necessities .
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the poor cleanliness, poor kitchen supplies, and that the hot tub was too hot. The Property Manager is aware of your comments and will look into improvements with the owners as soon as he is able. We hope that you still made wonderful memories and will return in the future!
Marjorie H. Dec 2015
A well maintained mountain cabin with a great hot tub on the deck. A short drive or walk to the town of Government Camp. The pellet stove will keep you toasty warm. Even if you don't ski, drive up to Timberline Lodge to see Mount Hood and this historic site. There are nice hiking, snow shoe trails nearby.
David M. Sep 2015
The cabin was a perfect spot for our group of seven. The spacious house and outside deck were ideal, plus the location was perfect. A short walk to everything but away enough for solitude. We were pleased with the condition and furnishings. I would definitely stay here again in the future.
Hillary C. Sep 2015
We enjoyed every minute! The space is very open, fresh and nicely decorated. The pellet stove worked wonderfully and we really enjoyed the hottub. The view out the back was breathtaking. We loved it!
Dixie S. Aug 2015
Nice location
Jenn L. Apr 2015
This house was absolutely amazing. We had a group of 8 friends and there was plenty of room for all of us. Everything was so clean and the house was so cozy. It was actually a high point of our trip and we were so sad to leave it! I definitely hope to get back for another stay!
David S. Feb 2015
I know the Wi-Fi issue may not sound like a big deal. However, I think a more reliable system should be put in place for rentals of this type
Scott M. Jan 2015
We were generally very pleased with the house. The location is excellent, the setting is quiet but also within very easy walking distance of Government Camp's small downtown. The house is large and slept our group of 8 people very comfortably (with the exception of one of the upstairs single beds, which really needs an upgrade!).

The only real complaint we had was the hot tub -- it is clearly an older model, and it was either scalding hot, or lukewarm. We respected the owners' very clear instructions not to adjust the hot tub's temperature (the controls were not obvious in any case). But we were frustrated by not being able to use the hot tub much at all. In the mornings and early afternoon it was tepid, in the late afternoons and early evening it was quite literally scalding.

As it stands we'd recommend the house as long as people are not planning to use the hot tub much.

If the hot tub is fixed or replaced, we would recommend this house without any reservations at all!
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. The Property Manager will look into the bed and the hot tub. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location! Thank you for choosing Vacasa!