Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Mt. Hood Government Camp Listing #1680

Bear Creek Cabin - Government Camp, OR

39 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 5 Futon 2 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
89765 E Steel Ln, Government Camp, OR 97028

Cozy, two-level chalet near hiking, lakes, and ski resorts!

This unique and cozy Government Camp vacation rental is the perfect place to stay while enjoying the snowy winters and pristine summers of the Mt. Hood region. The yard is great for picnics and basketball games in the summer, and snowball fights and sledding in the winter. With just enough space for eight guests to sleep and recharge for each adventure-filled day, this home is waiting for you!

Located right in the middle of Government Camp (and just a few hundred feet from the Summit Ski Area), this home is in a wonderful spot for lovers of snow sports. Timberline Lodge and its surrounding slopes are a 10-minute drive up the mountain, and Mt. Hood Meadows is just 15 minutes away by car.

This two-bedroom, two-bathroom home has a unique shape - long and thin, with a small but efficient floorplan. The lower level contains a dining/sitting room for guests to eat, catch up, or play games. A full bathroom and a bedroom with a double bed are also nestled on the ground floor.

The full kitchen is snug at first glance, but it is also fully equipped with everything you'll need to cook delicious meals for you and your guests.

Upstairs, there is a second living room with plentiful seating, a flatscreen cable TV, DVD player, Wii system, stereo, and a selection of DVDs and board games. This home also has WiFi and books to borrow, so you'll have no trouble finding ways to keep entertained!

The upper floor also has its own full bathroom with a washer and dryer, which means you won't have to worry about getting your clothes wet or dirty while exploring the area. The second bedroom has a queen-size bed and an outdoor balcony, but please be advised that there is no door separating the bedroom from the second floor living space.

This house sleeps as many as eight guests (including comfortable space for four adults), with two bedrooms and five futons. Bear Creek Cabin is perfect for two families, with sleeping spaces and bathrooms on each floor, but it is also ideal for romantic getaways or ski vacations with friends.

Government Camp is a great place to stay if you love the outdoors. Perched on the side of majestic Mt. Hood, this town has restaurants (including the fabulous Mt. Hood Brewing Company) and a general store, but most people visit to experience the world-class snow sports. During the colder months, you can ski, snowboard, and build snowmen with your children.

In the summer, when most of the snow has melted on the mountain, there are still many activities to keep busy. Miles of hiking and biking trails crisscross the forested wilderness, offering some of the best views of the region. Nearby lakes such as Timothy Lake (20 miles south) and Clear Lake (10 miles south) offer wonderful opportunities for swimming, boating, fishing, and picnicking.

If you crave the amenities of a larger town, take a drive on the beautiful, tree-lined highway west for 30 miles to reach Sandy, which has a variety of restaurants, stores, businesses, and an especially amazing donut shop.

While you're out experiencing everything this enchanting, adventure-filled area has to offer, stay at this comfortable and homey Mt. Hood vacation rental!



Board games

Golf on-site

Basketball court : Private

Downhill Skiing

Golf Nearby




Washer/dryer : Private








Cable : DirecTV

DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router




Walk to lifts

39 reviews

Mary S. Dec 2019
The cottage will fullfill your needs. It's comfy, warm, clean and stocked. There's plenty of choices to sleep around the small cottage. The kitchen may be a tad small but as long as you use a little imagination you can do anything in it. Use the big table for chopping for there's not a lot of counter space and create your own cupboard/storage space. Great location for it takes 5 minutes to walk into Government camp Main Street. It was a pleasure. Thank you.
Dawn R. Aug 2019
went to mt Hood adventure with my daughter and 5 kids. Had a great time. There was plenty of room for all of us
Jeremy D. Apr 2019
Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a cabin
Susan T. Feb 2019
Seven of us in this house had a great time each evening (each day we were out in the snow!), however the tiny kitchen was a challenge. It is efficient in the use of storage on the walls and on the windowsill, however definitely one cook at a time. We though rearranged furniture in the lower common space to enjoy games and music, it was not a cozy space. Upstairs loft is far more warm and cozy, yet it felt awkward not to have the kitchen handy. We enjoyed the house and loved the extra blankets, movies, games, and BEARS.
Megan C. Feb 2019
Cute and cozy, this cabin had everything we needed. Even with the small kitchen area we were able to happily and easily feed 8 adults! There is plenty of sleeping room and the beds are really comfortable. The cabin smelled nice and felt very clean. Would recommend to anyone looking for a cabin up in Govt Camp!
Elena A. Dec 2018
This little cabin had everything we needed for our little family of six. Really enjoyed our stay there!
Diana K. Aug 2018
My husband and I enjoyed staying in this beautiful area. The cabin was spacious.. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked. This was our second time staying here. We will come visit again.
Daniel Y. Jun 2018
Great little place close to Timberline (~10 minutes). Plenty of toiletries were supplied and the gas grill on the porch was great. There's enough beds for 10+ people (2 real beds, 2 full size futons, and 2 smaller futons) which was a bit of an overkill for myself and a friend, but would be ideal during the season if you really wanted to make a dollar stretch by packing people in.

Great place, would certainly rent again if available when I come back through the area.
Amy B. Jan 2018
Great vacation spot! The kitchen is small but we were able to make easy meals like mac, soup, eggs, and chilli. The Wii was in rough shape, but we had a blast. And we had more than enough room and snow on the property to play.
Carlos C. Jan 2018
Best great time 💯
Can again use same..
Alex M. Jan 2018
Amazing location, close to town and close to everything but still in a nice quiet location. Definitely a great place to stay!
Barbara T. Sep 2017
We enjoyed our stay. The gas grill was a bonus and the porch a very pleasant place for an afternoon drink.
Larry B. Sep 2017
Unless you don't plan to cook in the house, the dwelling is just fine
Na S. Aug 2017
Vacasa did a good job maintaining this home. Everything about it was just right. It was clean and comfortable. Although the living area downstairs was small for a large group, there was a very pleasant sitting area outside on the deck and a spacious family area upstairs. My family had a great time and spent a couple of comfortable nights in this home.
Jennifer H. Jun 2017
The place was very affordable and met our needs. Only down side is the kitchen is too small to turn around in.
Thais G. Apr 2017
The house itself was well kept and as described. Plenty of movies, games (wii and board games) and fantastic, large, lounging space (ideal for large parties of friends/families!) Location is wonderful - right at the main entrance to town, close to gas station, but still private/remotely snug in the woods! Several "pros" and we had a good stay overall! Our only noteworthy "con" is that foot access to the house can be a significant issue. Customers should be aware of snow condition before renting, especially if there are young children involved (strollers/baby-seats to lug up/down!!) or if anyone in the party has any slight difficulty walking/handling uneven surfaces. Although we were comfortable during our stay, entrance to house (walk from from driveway) was not shoveled (upon arrival we found hard, compacted ice and snow over barely visible footpath and steps to the house.) We managed our way in, but had difficulty reaching administrator (Vacasa) the following day (a business day) in order to request assistance. Once we were able to contact someone at the office, Vacasa was indeed helpful in sending a local worker (who carved steps out of the compacted ice) in order to minimize the issue. (Note we expected snow - we are used to it - this was not an "average amount from recent snow fall", this was old, compacted snow from the season.) Lastly, we have mentioned in our feedback to Vacasa that they should provide trash and recycling dumpsters since we did not really have a proper location to dispose trash during our stay (a minor issue.) In summary, great house for large families/groups with older children/teens!! (note: no dishwasher!!)
Brian B. Apr 2017
Overall we had a great stay at the Bear Creek Cabin, clean and comfortable.
Andrew V. Apr 2017
We truly enjoyed our stay at bear Creek Cabin. For our needs (a place to stay for a wedding at Timberline) it was perfect place to stay. Easy to find in Government Camp. We mostly hung out in the small are la downstairs but there is a much larger room upstairs for a larger group to congregate.
Heather Y. Jan 2017
We had a wonderful time at the cabin and can't wait to go again. It was so cozy and an easy walk into Government Camp. Everything was clean, there were tons of blankets and pillows and we really loved the upstairs area with the multiple futons and chairs to lounge on. It was very kid friendly which is huge for us since we had three small children with us. We had a blast sledding down the driveway and playing in the snow. There are cabins close by but we didn't see anyone. Everything was perfect and we can't wait to go back!
Matt D. Dec 2016
Accommodations were nice, location is very good. Great house for the price!
Susan K. Nov 2016
Cabin worked very well for myself, husband and two adult sons. Upstairs was great for Dad and sons to watch football, etc. Downstairs was nice and cozy for Mom to get away from football! Loved having the washing machine and dryer. Kitchen is small but, no problem, great excuse for not having to cook!
Christopher R. Sep 2016
This place is definitely a ski cabin. It has the bare necessities. The washer and dryer are a nice amenity. It's a very short drive into the town area to eat. No dishwasher and bring your own coffee!
Diana K. Aug 2016
We enjoyed our stay!
David B. Aug 2016
This is a cute cabin in Government Camp. Comfortable, clean with all the needed basic amenities. But no frills. It's close to the main street with restaurants and bars and a 15 min drive to the Timberline Lodge and trails to explore the Mt Hood area.
Camilla A. Aug 2016
Beautiful surroundings and fun place to stay near Mt. Hood. Enjoyed the BBQ and sitting out on the deck. Toys for kids were nice. Small kitchen, but still had a great stay.
Stephanie T. Aug 2016
The house is perfectly set up for a family, and our kids (ages 1-11) loved all the toys and movies they had available. We would highly recommend this house!
Akhil T. Jul 2016
It was nice to stay.
Toby H. Feb 2016
Vacasa was a pleasant experience,
It was our first time w/ them

We have always booked w/ other sights quite often. (Air bnb) vrbo Etc

Vacasa was easier
Rebecca M. Jan 2016
This is a beautiful property within walking distance of the heart of government camp! It was very clean when we arrived, and because of the cozy size it warmed up quickly! Also, it was plenty big for our family of six. Hope to stay here again soon!
Patricia L. Jan 2016
When we arrived we could not get in because the lock box was frozen. I called vacsa and left a message. Then waited and called again, they said someone called and left a voice message that they last party left it in a different location.My phone is for my business and I never get told that someone left a message and then I never get it. They never left me a message. The shower curtain kept falling down because they put up the cheapest plastic hangers. They decor was random and poor quility, there was cob webs on the ceiling, the kitchen cupboards were a mess. I had to reorganize, the Christmas tree was just thrown together without any thought, I redid it. Cheap old Small TVs, the only room with a door on it had a full bed and no tv? I had to dry the towels three times to get them dry. Having to arrive at 4:00PM and checkout is at 11:00 pretty much cut a whole day out. I will not be back due to the conditions. What a shame because with a very small investment the place could be beautiful. Great location, private but can walk to town, ski and snowshoe without ever even driving, but poor management and quality.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We regret to see that this home was not more to your liking. We will take care of the shower curtain so it is not a problem anymore and will work on the cleanliness with the housekeeping staff. We hope you had a wonderful time enjoying the snow and made great memories while staying with us!
Lei C. Dec 2015
We drove two AWD cars to this house, but only one Subaru Outback with brand new snow tires were able to drive up the slope to the parking spot. The other car had to park a quarter mile away. Over all, we were pretty happy with our stay at this house this week.
Jie H. Dec 2015
It's a very nice cozy house, with well organized furniture. Kitchen is kind small but worked out fine for us. We stayed 3 nights for our ski vacation. There are some nice kids movies for little ones, which is a plus. Due to the snow storm situation during our stay, the steep driveway and parking was quite challenging, and the outside stairways as well. In one morning, we had to borrow a snow shovel from the neighbor to dig out the way for the car. But it's the weather. Kids loved playing snow outside and even made snowman. Overall, everything worked out very well for us and we had a very enjoyable stay at this house. Kids loved the "Frozen" scene of the house :-)
Lisa S. Aug 2015
When we arrived the cabin was a mess. There was old food on the floor , dirty, crumpled up sheets on the beds, hair in the bathroom drains, etc. VACASA sent a housekeeper who spent the next two hours cleaning while we went out to eat. She did a great job and was very apologetic although it wasn't her "fault". Being late,
We requested one of the other available cabins close by but VACASA would not comply. We were all tired after a long road trip to get there & after it was cleaned we had no other issues. Other than the usual road noise it was quiet and peaceful and we enjoyed our stay.
Manager response:
We sincerely apologize that housekeeping missed getting the home ready in time for your stay, and we greatly appreciate your patience as we rectified the situation. We hope you were cozy once you were able to settle in and hope that you enjoyed the peaceful surroundings.
Hilary C. Jul 2015
Bear Creek Lodge is a very comfortable home for a close family group. We were a group of 5, 3 adults and 2 children, and found the spaces cozy and each to use. The kitchen is small but well equipped and everything was in good order. We made especially good use of the porch - the children often played there and we ate a number of meals out there. I would say that opened up the house and made it feel more spacious. I really appreciated the quality of the housekeeping, very clean and fresh feeling. There were also many other very nice touches that we all appreciated - comfortable places to sit, cozy throw blankets and pillows, lots of toys in good order for the children.