Virtual Tour
USA North Carolina Western North Carolina Sylva Listing #26166

Hawks Landing - Sylva, NC

15 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 1 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 2 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible travel options.

  • 7+ days before check-in: You can reschedule your trip, or cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit.
  • 30+ days before check-in: You also have the option to cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Exceptions apply. Read our full policy for details.

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean each home with an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Luxurious cabin w/private hot tub, firepit and great views - dogs allowed!

Relax in this nicely furnished cedar chalet and enjoy the sounds of the woods. Enjoy the spacious feeling from the high ceilings and cozy up to the rock fireplace. Outdoor decking overlooks hardwood and pine woods. Log furnishings in the Master bedroom add to the mountain chalet atmosphere. Unwind in the hot tub in the attached screened-in porch, allowing it to be used year-round. Outdoor picnic area overlooks the beautiful mountain views.

What's nearby:
The home is only minutes from Dillsboro, Sylva, and Cherokee. This prime location offers close proximity to hiking, trout fishing, rafting, antique shops, Smokey Mt. Railroad, and horseback riding. Home is located in a peaceful mountain setting and is near the Tuckaseege River. This home offers all of the features needed for a quiet retreat in the mountains while providing convenient access to area attractions, stores, and dining.

Things to know:
Full kitchen
Dogs allowed for an additional nightly pet fee
In house washer and dryer
Free WiFi
Fireplace only available from October through March
Not motorcycle accessible

This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Gas fireplace

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Hughesnet

TV

Cable : DirecTV

DVD player

Wireless router

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Firepit

15 reviews

Steve C. Mar 2021
Convenient to town. Well maintained and beautiful home.
Kevin L. Feb 2021
The house was beautiful and very clean. The driveway upto the cabin was like I had read. Very steep going up. But after the first time I had no worries about getting in and out. The driveway is paved all the way in. We very much enjoyed our stay and loved the hot tub.
Eric E. Feb 2021
Exceptionally clean, good location.
Jessica G. Jan 2021
Very well maintained! Stocked with kitchen utensils. Hot tub was nice. The Heat was an issue. The upstairs was literally 90 degrees and the downstairs was 60. We had it set on 75, but it was so different on each level. Sulfur smell of the water was very strong, but I know there’s not much to do about that.
Manager response:
We are so glad you stayed with us, Jessica! Maintenance will be checking the heat so we can make sure it is functioning as intended. The sulfur smell comes from all the minerals in the water, but it is perfectly safe to drink. Thank you!
Marlene P. Nov 2020
With the exception of issues with the water, our stay was pretty good. The only turn off was the issue with the water. To put it bluntly, it stank the entire time we were there. Smelled like rotten eggs (suspect sulfur). We called maintenance who they responded immediately; we were told the water was safe to drink, bathe, etc,. but unfortunately there was nothing that could be done. This was a major turnoff, and I suspect would be a major turnoff to future guests. For this reason, we would not chose this home for future rentals.
Manager response:
Hi, Marlene. Thank you for letting us know about your stay; we apologize the water made your stay uncomfortable. We have tried water filters, water chemicals, and have had no luck getting rid of the odor from the naturally occurring sulfur in the water. We do hope you will consider staying with us again!
Jennifer N. Nov 2020
Absolutely loved this house for our girls trip! Spacious and very clean. Kitchen was fully stocked with cooking tools which was a great surprise. Mountain was a little tricky getting up in the dark so I definitely recommend getting there before dark!
Betsy S. Oct 2020
Cabin is nice but lacking in amenities.
There is no aluminum foil, plastic wrap, sandwich baggies, basic spices or oil in the kitchen so make sure you come prepared with every last item you'll need. There is no laundry soap provided either.

Kitchen was poorly equipped for a family planning to do most of the cooking at the cabin. No mixing bowls, no serving bowls, measuring cups were spread out throughout the kitchen so an Easter egg hunt to find anything. Cooking pots did not have matching lids. Kitchen in general very disorganized.

No Shampoo/Conditioner/Bodywash

The water smells VERY strongly of hard boiled eggs. It is safe, but off-putting, and you will most likely want to cook with and drink bottled water. A disclaimer in the listing would have ensured we didn't have to make another trip back into town to buy water after we had already stopped to stock up on our way.

We ran out of TP. There were 2 small rolls in each bathroom but with 4 of us here for a week it didn't last.

There are no curtains on at least one bedroom window, so whomever gets that one will be waking up at dawn.

Don't expect to work or study remotely from here if you need decent internet. It's slower than molasses in January.

There are no extra blankets. It got chilly here a couple nights and some folks sleep cooler/warmer than others. Just cranking up the whole house heat didn't fit everyone's needs, so giving the cold sleepers the option of adding another blanket would have been nice.

They say to arrive at daylight because finding this place is tricky, but that isn't always an option. There is no number sign at the end of the driveway so finding it in the dark was very challenging.

The cabin is beautiful and in a good location but I just feel that for the price, the amenities are lacking. I also feel the listing should be more clear about the water and internet situation so guests can make good decisions about their particular needs.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Betsy. We are glad you enjoyed this cabin overall, and we appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement. We will follow-up with our local team to address these areas of needed attention, and we hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Edward C F. Sep 2020
This home is exactly as described, clean and close to great hiking, fishing and rafting.
Eric B. Jun 2020
The location was perfect for this time of the year to visit. We really enjoyed the hot tub and made use of the grill.

Wasn’t to thrilled of the water, it had a Sulphur smell that wasn’t attractive. There were also a large number of dishes dirty, example the pizza cutter had cheese stuck to it and the pressure cooker was very dirty on the outside. It was really disappointing. We had to make sure to wash all dishes before usage.
Manager response:
Thank you for leaving your review, Eric! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hot tub and the grill during your stay. The home has received a deep clean since your reservation to address the cleanliness issues that you experienced. Unfortunately, the water does naturally smell like sulfur, but it is safe to drink. We apologize that the dishes were dirty on your arrival. We do ask that our guests clean the dishes during their stay, but we have no started having our housekeeping staff inspect all dishes in between the guests. Thank you for all of your helpful feedback and we hope to host you again soon!
Maite A. Jun 2020
This charming cabin was just what we needed during these crazy times! Fully stocked. Bed is SUPER comfortable. Great view of the Smoky Mountains. Close to everything!
Veronica C. May 2020
Hawks landing was 3.5 stars. Upon arrival the check in process was smooth. The alarm disarming instructions did not match up with the alarm pad in the home. The main floor was nice and spacious and the kitchen was very well equipped. The master on the main was nice, bed was comfortable but a little creaky, bath was spacious and nice. We did not use the upstairs but it seemed spacious and nice. There were a couple of disappointments, the internet streaming was extremely slow and aggravating so if you are into Netflix and chill, don’t look for good quality. The other big disappointment was the back deck doors being locked with no keys to open them. This meant we had to walk out the main door all the way around to the screened in deck where the hot tub was located and couldn’t enjoy the easy deck access. The final disappointment was the hot tub was cold and took a good while to heat. No instructions were available on how to get it up to a nice temp. Had to figure it out through trial and error. Lastly there is no view with this property so if you want a view look elsewhere. It was quite damp while we were there and it’s very shaded so it did not dry out much.
Manager response:
We appreciate your review, Veronica, and are disappointed to read you were not happier with your accommodations. The property manager has double-checked the alarm instructions to ensure it is clear for our guests, and she has tightened the bed frame. Internet in this area is not very fast due to the beautiful mountains blocking the signal. The deck doors have been brought to the attention of the homeowner so they can determine their course of action. The hot tub was cold on your arrival because it had been drained and cleaned following the previous guest's departure that morning; we apologize if you were not aware of this. Thank you for staying with us!
Tim O. May 2020
Loved everything about this cabin! Great location to base out of to experience all the area has to offer. Would highly recommend for a family getaway.
Olivia J. Mar 2020
The house was beautiful but due to the rain the water to take a shower smelt like death hahahaha but the house was beautiful , the hot tub was hot, and just a great spot
Michael W. Oct 2019
Had nice mountain feel.
Donna P. Jul 2019
Really enjoyed this cabin. Was perfect for a ‘girls weekend’.