Virtual Tour
USA California Lakeshore Huntington Lake Listing #26746

Rancheria Chalet - Lakeshore, CA

2 reviews
Max occupancy: 10 2 King Bed, 2 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
62311 Huntington Lake Rd, Lakeshore, CA 93634

NEW LISTING! Cozy chalet w/ wood-burning stove & outdoor space with lake views!

This charming, lakefront chalet, overlooking Huntington Lake and the China Peak Ski Resort, is the perfect destination for your large family or travel group. Enjoy the comforts of a large wood stove, a full, well-equipped kitchen, and plenty of space for up to ten lucky guests. Play horseshoes on the lawn while preparing meals on the gas grill, and then retreat indoors to watch a movie on the cable-equipped flatscreen TV.

What's nearby:
Nestled on the shores of this central California reservoir, guests can walk down to Rancheria Marina to rent a boat or a boat slip for their own boat. You'll be less than a half-mile from the Lakeshore Resort and Beach. The cabin sits right next door to Rancheria Store and Gas for conveniences and where you can rent snowmobiles during the winter season.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen with a dishwasher
Central air conditioning
A 4x4 may be required in the winter

AMENITIES

Features

Central AC

Fireplace

Washer/dryer : Private

Wood stove

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

DVD player

Wireless router

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Patio

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

2 reviews

Jason L. Aug 2019
Great place. We loved it!!! Maybe think about having a different locking system on the front door. It was a key from both the inside and out. Might be a safety issue if you need to get out of the house in an emergency and cant find the key.
Garrett O. Aug 2019
Good:
- The cabin/chalet was a lot larger than we expected. The second story loft was a nice addition.
- Some great amenities were included like a gas BBQ, outside chairs, and a table.
- It's very close to the lake.
- It's quite cozy and charming (if a little outdated).
- It had a well-stocked kitchen and basic necessities all provided.

Not-so-good:
- The employees in the store next to the cabin, who you'll likely interact with to some degree, were generally not nice or welcoming at all though there were a few positive interactions depending on who you got.
- The advertised WiFi didn't work for the half the trip. Once we got it working, it was too slow to do almost anything, and even then, only worked in a few select areas of the cabin.
- The front door doesn't have a lock that you can turn with your fingers. If you want to lock up for the night, you'll be locking it with a key; likewise, if you want to exit after locking it, you'll need to retrieve the key and unlock it. In my opinion: this seems like a fire hazard that could be potentially dangerous if the occupants need to quickly evacuate the cabin.
- All mattresses I tried were not comfortable and provided terrible support.
- We spent HOURS trying to get the DVD player to work correctly with limited success. Many of the DVDs are scratched.
- We couldn't find the DVD player remote. It was chaos, I tell you.
- While it was nice being close to the lake, the "front yard" was essentially right in front of the main road without a lot of privacy. The location was not great.
- Small nit-pick: winter decorations are still up in the cabin during the middle of Summer. e.g. "Let it Snow" decorations, etc

Note: All points above are my subjective opinion and should only be interpreted as opinions.
Manager response:
Thank you for your descriptive review! We appreciate all of this feedback. We are sorry that you had trouble with the WiFi during your stay, we did not have the accurate network and password for that particular home, but this has since been addressed and updated on our guest communications. We are taking the concerns of the front door lock to our local staff to see if we can get something different worked out for our home. We are letting them know about the DVD player trouble as well. Thank you for all of your suggestions, this is how we improve the home for our future guests!