Virtual Tour
USA Blue Ridge Mountains North Carolina Sugar Mountain Listing #27701

Sugar Top 2816 - Sugar Mountain, NC

17 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 2 Queen Bed 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible travel options.

  • 7+ days before check-in: You can reschedule your trip, or cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit.
  • 30+ days before check-in: You also have the option to cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee & associated taxes).

Exceptions apply. Read our full policy for details.

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean each home with an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Beautiful furnished mountaintop condo w/shared pools, hot tub, & a sauna!

Why just gaze at the beauty of the Sugar Mountain? Come stay in this unique ten-story, high-rise condo located on the top of Sugar Mountain with stunning views of Grandfather Mountain from your private balcony! This condo features a spacious, updated kitchen with all of the utensils you need for whipping up a delicious meal and plenty of seating for dining. With this condo, you will also have access to the building's shared amenities such as the indoor pool, hot tub, fitness room, and sauna!

What's nearby:
When you aren't enjoying all of the fun things to do at the condo, you are just a short drive from many delicious restaurants, shopping, and attractions! Visitors come during all seasons to enjoy the fresh air and world-class activities. You can find a variety of hiking, biking, rock climbing, zip-line, white water rafting within twelve miles of the condo, such as Sugar Mountain Ski Resort! Enjoy golf and tennis at nearby courses at reasonable rates.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen w/ a dishwasher
Free shuttle service to escort guests from parking to condo
4WD or AWD is highly recommended in the winter months. Vehicles without may be required to have snow chains for use in adverse conditions.
* Please note that guests will need to park in the lots below the building on weekends, holidays, and during inclement weather. A courtesy shuttle will provide transport from the lower lots to the building. Guests are allowed to load and unload at the building before parking in the lower lots if they prefer.

This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.


Common areas

Gym/fitness room



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling


Partial AC

House rules

Wedding venue

Kitchen & dining









DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player


Nearby activities & attractions

Golf on-site

Downhill Skiing

Golf Nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Shared

Pool : Shared

Indoor pool

Sauna : Shared

Tennis court : Shared



Parking & access


17 reviews

Michelle F. Feb 2021
The check in process is horrible at this building. We had to wait in line for over an hour in our car at the security gate. The building itself is very run down. There was a hole in the bathroom ceiling, closet door torn up, etc. The bedding was disgusting...luckily we brought our own. I would not stay here again. For the price you can get a much nicer house that is easier to get in and out of.
Manager response:
Hi, Michelle! We are disappointed to read you were unhappy with your Vacasa experience. We do not manage the Sugar Top building itself, so we have no control over the security procedures and do apologize if they were backed up. The bedding has been replaced, and we have sent maintenance to fix the other issues. Thank you!
Krystelle Terry D. Jan 2021
The view
Number of seating
Well equipped kitchen
Christina M. Dec 2020
The steam room, the sauna, the hot tub, and the gym were awesome! The room was really well equipped. The beds were noisy, and not the most comfortable, and the shower filled up fast like a tub, but other than that, the room was perfect!
Manager response:
We appreciate your feedback, Christina, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay! The property manager has scheduled for the tub drain to get cleared. Thank you!
Gladys C. Nov 2020
Wow...where do I begin. I have traveled extensively, using Airbnb properties and this was one of my All Time Favorites. This would be the second time that my family and I have stayed with Vacasa and the home was absolutely immaculate and the views were breathe taking. The home was cozy yet modern and I loved the unique touches around the home. The one thing that shocked us was the kitchen. It was fully stocked to the brim with everything you could ever need.
I can't say enough about this amazing property exempt SUNRISES. You will b doing yourself a great injustice if you don't wake to watch the sun rises. It truly is awe inspiring.
Christine T. Oct 2020
The photos on Vacasa for this property are incredibly deceptive. While the Sugartop Resort shared facilities (gym, pool, hot tubs, etc.) are immaculate, this unit has seen better days. All folding closet doors were broken (missing slats, not in the tract, hard to open), the hall bathroom ceiling is caving in over the toilet, the secondary bedroom window screen is bent/warped and unable to be used, the table on the patio is missing 1/4 of the tabletop, the fireplace is not in working order and instead has a portable heater connected, most if not all doorframes are heavily dented and dinged, and there are numerous small holes in the walls. It is clear that someone tried to update this unit with tile and painted cabinets, but the workmanship is substandard; there are lots of areas in the bathrooms where there is no grout between tiles, there's caulking around the edges of floor tiles that were not cleaned up properly and the caulking was just smudged on to the tile, and the painted kitchen cabinets look unfinished.

In addition to the run down appearance of the unit, the furnishings need to be replaced, or at the very least steam cleaned to remove some of the musty odor that lingers. We stayed for a full 7 nights and left the living room slider and master bedroom window open the entire time and the stale, musty odor from the furniture never dissipated.

Also worth mentioning, this unit has the least amount of linens of any vacation rental I've ever stayed in. No kitchen towels, no cozy throw blankets and bedding was sparse. Each queen bed had one fitted sheet, one flat sheet, 2 pillow cases and one thin quilt, but nothing was provided for the roll-away bed; also, the sheets provided were extremely thin, bordering on threadbare. Additionally, these few linens all smelled musty like the furniture, making me feel certain they had not been recently laundered.
Manager response:
Hi Christine. We’re sorry to hear that the home was in this condition upon your arrival. We attempt to be as transparent with our listings as possible and provide the most accurate and up to date photos. We have passed these comments along to our local staff and homeowners to ensure that we take care of these issues as quickly as possible. We do apologize that these crucial details were amiss and hope that we have another opportunity to impress you in the future.
Todd B. Oct 2020
The home was exactly as represented in both description and photos. The shuttle was quick and easy, and the staff we encountered at the resort were all friendly. The views from the unit were absolutely amazing. The pictures, as usual, do not do it justice. Would stay again.
Carla C. Oct 2020
Great place with great views!!
Maurice M. Sep 2020
Love the Condo and the views. My only wish is that they had upgrades such as Bluetooth for music. The place was very clean and neat. We enjoyed our stay only other thing we didn't like was having to shuttle back and forth to the condo. The area is very beautiful if you stay Stonewalls restaurant is a must visit.
Domia T. Aug 2020
Loved being up so high with the clouds! Lovely home as well. Would come again :)
Briana B. Aug 2020
This could be a nice stay for the right person. We were not that person. The condo is a bit dated, but otherwise nice. A comfy living room, nice kitchen, and 2 bedrooms. Great view from the balcony. The bathtubs didn’t drain very well. The blinds were pretty funky dirty. The AC is in the fireplace. You can’t park at the building. You have to shuttle back and forth, and while this isn’t terrible, it detracts from the stay. We won’t return, but it doesn’t mean this isn’t a good stay- for the right person.
Manager response:
Hi Briana, thank you for your feedback! I'm sorry for the condition of the home. Our team is here 24-hours to assist you with any issues that arise during your stay. We have professionally cleaned the home and cleared the drains. We have also updated the listing to let guests know about the parking shuttles. We hope to get the opportunity to impress you in the future!
William R. Jul 2020
Our Sugar Top Unit 2816 had spectacular unobstructed views of Grandfather mountain and beyond from the balcony. The unit was in great shape being recently renovated. The unit seemed to maintain a temp of 77 degrees (outside temps were highs ~ 80), which was a bit warm even though there was a portable air conditioner. The 2 bedroom unit worked for the two of us, but it would be cramped if you had more than 4 people in the unit. One negative was that the showers and toilets do not drain well, so the water puddles in the shower after a couple of minutes and drains very slowly. The parking situation is a bit of a hassel since you must park in lots below the building and get shuttled back and forth everytime you want to use your car. The shuttle was very responsive however which typically took ~ 5 minutes on each end. Overall, I would stay there again.
Chris E. Jul 2020
Terrific location and view from condo was amazing. Condo was equipped with everything we needed and pool/hot tub was great for kids, however, there are a few items I feel need attention. Beds are very dated (feel springs/squeeks) and master had stains on it. Neither shower drained very well...there were a couple of inches of standing water by the time each person was done. (Side note: each condo has its own 38 gallon water heater, which essentially means only 2 people can take a hot shower per hour.) Also, be aware that it is partial A/C (portable A/C unit) not central...and it was not set up when we got there. I attempted to contact rental company and never got an answer. I "figured out" where/how to use it by looking at the pictures of the condo on AirBnB.
Manager response:
Hello, Chris! Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed both the location and the view during your stay! We value your concerns surrounding the condition of the home and will work with our local staff to ensure these issues are addressed. We apologize that you had trouble contacting us during the height of the pandemic, and we have worked hard to add additional agents to our team and are pleased to note that we are once again able to assist all of our guests in a timely manner, regardless of the time of day. We hope to host you again in the future!
Krystle E. Jul 2020
I booked this room because it had an air conditioner. It did but it was a portable one hooked up in the dining room with the exhaust going into the room. Running it made the room hotter, not colder. We slept with the doors and windows open and it was manageable because the owners did install ceiling fans in all the rooms. Second, the floor was beautiful but was greasy or sticky. I think it must be the cleaners used by the staff. Last but certainly not least the beds. The mattresses are HORRIBLE. The other problems could be overlooked and I would probably book again but the mattresses are a complete deal-breaker. I read reviews before that commented on the mattresses and thought they are probably just old. They were like sleeping on concrete. I even slept on the couch one night. The upgrades to the room are nice and it had plenty of linens.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review! We apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered and value your feedback surrounding the condition of the home. We have worked closely with our local team and the owners to ensure that the home was deep cleaned and that all necessary repairs have been made. We hope for a chance to impress you in the future!
KIMBERLY H. Jul 2020
The view from this property was breathtaking and varied, depending on the clouds, the sun and the moon, making it ideal for magnificent photos. The condo had all of the essentials; check-in was a breeze and the neighbors were friendly. I wouldn't mind being quarantine there for months. Thank you for the experience!
Gary m. Jun 2020
Views fabulous , be aware there can be clouds this high!
Della W. Dec 2019
Condo was great! Amazing view and close to all the local attractions.
Brantley K. Oct 2019
The place was very clean and the view from the balcony was amazing. If there is one complaint it’s that the beds are not very comfortable. The mattresses are very hard. However still a nice option for a weekend getaway!
Manager response:
Brantley, we’re glad that you enjoyed the amazing views from the deck! We apologize that the beds were not suited to your sleep preferences and we will certainly keep your comments in mind when we are considering changes to the mattresses. Thank you for staying with us!