USA Florida Panama City Beach Emerald Beach Resort Listing #43698

Emerald Beach Resort 2226 - Panama City Beach, FL

2 reviews
Max occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 1 bedroom 1 bathroom No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible travel options:

  • At least 7 days before check-in: You can reschedule your trip, or cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit.
  • At least 30 days before check-in: You also have the option to cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Gulf front condo w/beach views, balcony, shared hot tub, pool - on 22nd floor!

You and your family will be eternally delighted by this Gulf front condo that offers unparalleled and jaw-dropping views of the beach and ocean from your very own balcony! Inside, you'll come across a tasteful and chic interior decor and an open floor plan that combines the kitchen, living room, and dining area together. Enjoy your daily cup of coffee on the balcony as you take in the marvelous views–being on the 22nd floor has its perks, right? The kitchen boasts gorgeous granite countertops and modern, stainless steel appliances that will make cooking a breeze. Unwind in the living room and watch your favorite movies on the large flatscreen TV. The private washer/dryer will be quite convenient when you come back from the beach–all you have to do is throw your swimming suit and beach towels there and you won't have to worry about them anymore. Book this charming, beachfront retreat and you'll be granted access to Emerald Beach Resort's shared amenities that include a lagoon pool with a children’s water feature, Sky Bar, a poolside Tiki Bar, state-of-the-art fitness center, hot tub, and so much more.

What's nearby:
Our Emerald Beach Resort condo rentals treat guests to an unparalleled and unbeatable location right on the beach–this is the perfect location for anyone who wishes to work on their tan while still being close to all the mainland attractions. There are a handful of nearby restaurants you can choose from that include AutentiKa Mexican Grille, Runaway Island, Moe's Original Bar B Que, and more. For a fun and thrilling afternoon, visit the Hidden Lagoon Super Race Track and Golf, a mainstay featuring two 18-hole mini-golf courses and a go-kart track in an outdoor setup–it's only 500 yards away. Half a mile away is Gulf World, a local and popular aquarium that features shark feedings, dolphin encounters, and sea lion, parrot, and dolphin shows. Get your daily shopping fix at Pier Park, only one and a half miles away.

Things to know:
Full kitchen
Free WiFi
Central A/C
Snowbird-friendly!
There's an elevator available

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

Property tax ID: 37024

AMENITIES

Common areas

Gym/fitness room

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Water view

Waterfront

Gulf front

Gulf view

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

Wireless router

On-site activities

Hot tub : Shared

Pool : Shared

Ping-pong table

Pool table : Shared

Outdoor

Gas grill : Shared

Balcony

Parking & access

Elevator

Theme

Snowbird-friendly

2 reviews

Michelle W. Nov 2020
If you plan on staying in this condo based on the pics, don't do it. I repeat, DO NOT DO IT. They are very misleading. This condo would be beautiful if it weren't so dingy and unkempt. The previous comment was correct. The carpet was FILTHY and the fitted sheets don't fit, but there is so much more. Below is my experience.

I've stayed at many Emerald Resorts, and unfortunately this Vacasa owned unit will give them a bad name. Its poorly managed and maintained. I was surprised right as we entered the condo by the many scrapes and scuffs on the walls. It needs a fresh coat of paint to start, but the first issue we had was we weren't given a parking pass or welcome packet for instructions on the condo. Very unprofessional. There was also no ironing board. 2 irons in the condo, but no ironing board. VERY ODD. The condo also has bugs. I saw a few roaches while on our stay. I reported all these issues 3 TIMES and even asked to be moved from the condo since me and my fiance were there to GET MARRIED. Was told someone would at least bring an ironing board to the condo to touch up our clothing for the wedding. We didn't receive a thing. HOW SHAMEFUL. We didn't receive a callback until our last night and it was to say they would refund us the cleaning fee....which they should because the condo is far from clean. Very scary during Covid!!! Vacasa better be glad we are a couple that can make the best out of any situation, this could have RUINED our wedding. They KNEW this stay was for our wedding and still offered nothing but a measly return on cleaning. Below are a list of items that need attention. Again, customers beware. The only thing this condo offers is a beautiful view of the ocean.
*Roaches
*No parking pass
*No ironing board
*Filthy floorboards and walls
*Black mildew ring under lid of toilet
*Filthy rugs
*Jets broken in bathtub
*No welcome packet
*No extra trash bags
*Fitted sheet too small
*Furniture and walls full of scrapes and scuffs
Manager response:
Hi, Michelle! Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are working to get this home deep cleaned and have already addressed the area affected by mold from the previous leak. The property manager is working on replacing all missing items. Thank you!
Cindy B. Oct 2020
The condo was nice. Love the location and the amenities of the resort. They didn’t have enough towels for 6 people (I called and they brought more the next day) and the sheets didn’t fit the beds properly nor did the bunks have fitted sheets just a flat sheet. Rugs need replaced very worn. All easy fixes. Overall was a nice condo.
Manager response:
Cindy, thank you for your review. We are so glad that you had a nice stay and were able to enjoy the amenities. We apologize that there were not enough towels upon arrival. We are so glad that you called us so that we could assist in bringing out additional items. We will give your feedback about the sheets and rugs to the local staff for further review. We would love to host you again in the future.