USA North Lake Tahoe California Kings Beach Listing #445

Deerhead Cabin - Kings Beach, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
24 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 4 Double Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 2 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible cancellation options. Read our cancellation policy >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Mid-century modern cabin near town!

Deerhead Cabin is a very charming property in the heart of Kings Beach, two blocks walk from Lake Tahoe. Designer-furnished in a mid-century modern theme, it is a time machine back to Tahoe's golden age, when Sinatra and Martin caroused the golf course across the street. And it's pet-friendly for two dogs!

The comfortable rustic great room features a classic wood fireplace, comfortable seating, and an open floor plan to the dining area and kitchen. Despite the rustic charm, you can stay totally up-to-date with Wi-Fi, AppleStereo or AppleTV. Or, curl up in front of the fire with a good book or a game with friends while dinner is cooking. The dining table seats six between the kitchen and living area. And, the newly-remodeled kitchen features a gas range and everything you need to create a lovely vacation meal. Plus, the best grocery store in North Lake Tahoe is right across the street!

Adjoining the great room are two queen bedrooms with plush bedding, and a full bath. One of the bedrooms has a computer monitor for your use. If you do choose to bring your pets along, up to two dogs are welcome with a $10 daily fee per dog (with a minimum $40 pet fee required).

On the other side of the home, there is a large bedroom with a big platform bed, and four sleeping mats suitable for two adults or more kids. There is also a washer/dryer and a full bath.

You can take the fun outside on the new back deck, which faces the large backyard and creek. Trails lead from here up into the woods beyond. Soak in the sun with your morning coffee, or gather with friends after your adventurous Tahoe day.

Kings Beach has great restaurants, shops, a movie theater, miniature golf, and a big beautiful sandy beach with watersports rentals and restrooms. Crystal Bay, Nevada's historic casinos, restaurants, and nightlife are just two miles east. Of course the wider area offers the best skiing in California, cross-country skiing, golf, rafting, hiking, biking, snowmobiling, and much more!

Parking Notes: Please adhere to Caltrans traffic advisories during Winter storms. Traction tires or 4-wheel drive may be required. Please refrain from parking on the street. Vehicles may be towed if they're blocking snowplows from clearing the street.

Water Access: Walk south to the beach.

County permit number: STR20-14318

County tax number: 16004

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Children

Children's games

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Fireplace

Gas fireplace

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Mountain View

Media

Internet : Charter

TV

Netflix streaming

Stereo

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Golf Nearby

On-site activities

Board games

Outdoor

Patio

Deck

Safety & accessibility

Wheelchair accessible

24 reviews

Cynthia J. Apr 2021
We had a great stay at this "Old Tahoe" feel cabin. Convintley located on the 'quiet' end of the lake. It was just what we were looking for. Especially appreciated that dogs were allowed. Everything had been clean and tidied for us, linens were clean and ready. Definitely recommend for the laid back crowd with fur friends.
Abby N. Apr 2021
This home is a dream. We had the best time and the location was PERFECT. So close to the market and some amazing restaurants nearby as well. I highly recommend this cabin for your next stay. We will be back soon ☺️
sharon l. Feb 2021
We arrived at the cabin on time and had to wait for the cabin to get cleaned for about 1 hour. We saw two more people came up to the cabin to help with the cleaning but they did not wear any masks on their faces. Also, I found one of them was together with a dog inside the cabin. I had no idea it was normal even the cabin was a pet-allowed one.

After we moved into the cabin, I had to be in hurry to prepare the settlement and had to cook my children dinner in 1 hour because my old son had an appointment soon at 7 PM. After dinner, I and my husband found the air temperature of the cabin was dropping. Andy my husband increased the temperature of the air conditioning. However, the air did not change warmer and the temperature kept dropping. Andy went to the basement to figure this out but he did not make it. I called Vacasa four times to ask the help but they kept saying they needed to contact the local manager. The time was getting late and no help was available. We tried the fire pit which ended up with the smokes in the cabin. It was totally messed up by the time when Vacasa was trying to contact the local manager.

One of Vaca's team proposed us one solution when we called them 5th time. If we bought a heater in a nearby store and they would reimburse it. So we went to Safeway because other stores were closed already at that time. Unfortunately, Safeway did not have anything like a heater. We had to back to the cabin after wasting 1 hour. We called Vacasa again which was the 6th time. They said they would reimburse the expense to stay in a nearby hotel we would spend. We accepted it and went to the hotel Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort at 10 PM which was a pain to us. After late checking in, we were able to go to bed at almost 11 PM.

The next morning we had to hurry again because we were supposed to go to the Northstar SKI and tried not to be late because the hotel was farther than the cabin to the Northstar SKI place. We thought why we had to act like a refugee every time we moved in a hurry. What was wrong? Anyway, my first son got injured while taking a ski with Andy. I knew this was nothing to do with anything else but I felt we were unluckily by the chain of the events we had the last night in the cabin.

We were able to go to beds in the cabin the 2nd night due to the repair of the air conditioning cared for by Vacasa. It was OK until we found the bedding sheets and blankets were a little bit in old age and they looked not clean. I knew I was sensitive with those but everything felt uncomfortable after finding some corner spots were kept dirty as they were never vacuumed ever before. We had no choice anymore but just went to bed after hearing complaints from my boys about his unlucky injury taken while riding the ski.

The day 3, we were supposed to go outside and take more funs riding the sleds in the snow but we could not because we were not in the mood. And the injury of my son got serious. So we decided to go home without staying the night. So we lost one night and blew off the money worth it.

We felt so uncomfortable while the stays in the cabin and had terrible trips because of the cleaning and air condition issues in the cabin.
Manager response:
We apologize you were unhappy with your accommodations. The fireplace is scheduled for inspection, and we have added space heaters to the home. Housekeeping will be receiving the necessary training to ensure there is not a repeat experience of what you encountered. We hope to be able to impress you in the future, Sharon!
Fiorella L. Feb 2021
We were given two numbers for a lock box. One code opened a lockbox but there was no key inside. The other lockbox couldn’t be opened at all. One of the numbers opened the door keypad. Very confusing notes on the main page. It turns out there’s only one code for a keypad. No lockbox code needed for anything.

Linen was not changed in one room. And carpet was dirty. We had to vacuum as soon as we got in.

TV service is Apple TV only so you have to use all of your different log ins to watch from any other viewing service (Hulu. Netflix. YouTube.)

Internet services notes were confusing as well when I booked it read “internet services available and no password needed”. It turned out to be that the internet service was locked.
Since I had to work remotely for a couple of hours, I did call and was able to get a password. I think they have fixed this issue since.

We had a good weekend in the snow. Customer service was helpful and quick.
Manager response:
Hi, Fiorella! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay despite some disappointments. We have updated our check-in and internet information for ease of use, and we will be taking care of the carpets. We do apologize for any oversights and hope to be able to impress you in the future!
Andy V. Feb 2021
The home was nice and spacious. It was well equipped and the location was great! The only thing we would point out was that it was so dusty that all of our allergies started acting up. We kept the door open as much as we could but it didn't really help. Other than that we had a nice stay.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Andy! We're delighted to hear that you had a great time and that the home had everything you needed. We are sorry to hear the cleanliness of the home did not meet your expectations. We will ensure that all areas of concern are addressed appropriately in an effort to provide a more pleasant stay for our guests. We appreciate your feedback and hope to provide you with a more comfortable experience next visit!
Sung L. Oct 2015
comfortable and clean house, eclectic and cool interior, and nice kitchen with great proximity to lake tahoe beaches. dishwasher would be a nice addition. main bathroom was nice with upgraded fixtures. the kids bathroom could definitely use some work, especially the carpet flooring! house has no a/c which is fine, but we were afraid to keep the screenless windows open for fear of bugs getting into the house.
Amy F. Aug 2015
Overall, this house is adorable and cosy. A nice big flat screen tv with apple tv is a nice touch for the evenings, after you've spent all day at the beach or hiking. Board games and books are available, too. Part of the kitchen has been remodeled, and there's a newer washer and dryer. Very nice.

The third bedroom definitely needs new mattresses. Even my young kids complained it felt like they were sleeping on wood. And both showers need new fixtures. One of them is broken, and the other one shoots out water so hard, you feel like it might blast your skin off.
Molly H. Mar 2015
This place is fantastic!
We arrived late at night during off-season. The home is very clean, neat, and well cared-for. The appletv and airplay are very cool. The wifi is great. We had a fantastic time, and if we head back to the region anytime soon, we will definitely check this place out again! Easy driving to everywhere, quiet, safe, and lovely :)
David E. Sep 2014
Good value, a little street noise, not a view of lake, but a great location with "in the forest feeling." We liked the old craftsmanship mixed with modern convenience.
Matthew Z. Sep 2014
We absolutely loved the cabin! Such a perfect location and all the amenities were perfect! We can't wait to visit again and have already recommended the cabin to friends and family! We live in Mammoth Lakes and we felt at home!! Two thumbs up!!!
Manager response:
Thank you for the great review. We are so happy you stayed with us, and look forward to your next visit.
Jennifer H. Aug 2014
My family of six, including a curious toddler stayed at Deerhead Cabin for our first visit to Lake Tahoe. We loved the mid-century style of the cabin (bonus was not worrying about the little one breaking anything). It was nice to enter to the cozy campfire smell. It was also great to have a nice big table for all to sit around.
Kimberly P. May 2014
We loved staying at Deerhead Cabin. The backyard (including creek and little trail) were wonderful. The decor was funky and cool, and the cabin was comfortable and clean. The only downsides were that it was right on the main road, and some of the appliances could use updating (the fridge was quite old, we couldn't figure out the oven, and we had some trouble with the fireplace puffing smoke back into the house). But otherwise we had a great time. Very well-equipped kitchen, it was fun to cook in every night. And Kings Beach (although under major road construction during our visit) was a great jumping off point for tons of fun stuff in Lake Tahoe.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review. We're very happy to report that as of 9/01/14 the home has a brand new washer and dryer and improvements have been made to the venting on the fireplace to prevent any smoke or backdraft. There are also clear instructions on how to use the oven.
Adabel F. Dec 2013
Our first family vacation couldn't have been better. The kids enjoyed the snow, built a snowwoman out in the backyard. Staff was very courteous and helpful when I had questions about heater, response time was great. Cabin was very cozy, clean and well stocked. Had a little problem with fireplace but got that immediately resolved. Will definitely make this an annual family vacation spot. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Manager response:
We are very pleased that your family had a nice vacation. We are also glad that everything worked out so well and that we could help you promptly when you needed our assistance. Thanks and we hope to welcome you back again.
Karen L. Mar 2013
I would highly recommend Deerhead to a couple with small children or two couples.
This really felt more like a family home, and less like a sterile, generic rental. It's the kind of place you can really settle into and make it feel like your own. I loved the knotty pine paneling, the stone fireplace, but also the huge flatscreen TV and
groovy modern kitchen and bathroom. The perfect balance of vintage and modern.
Lauren M. Dec 2012
Great cabin, great location. An all around perfect stay!