Virtual Tour
USA Washington Eastern Washington Chelan Listing #5364

Deep Water Cabin - Chelan, WA

37 reviews
Max occupancy: 4 1 Queen Bed 0 bedrooms 1 bathroom Sleeps 2 comfortably  No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
21820 S Lakeshore Rd, Chelan, WA 98816

Secluded and cozy, private lakefront home w/ dock and amazing views!

Deepwater Cabin is a solid timber framed structure built into the mountain side on the edge of the National Forest in a true, remote wilderness area. It is one of the very last waterfront dwellings up-lake, to the Northwest, that is still accessible by car. The cabin's grass- and fern-covered sod roof blends into the vegetation of its perch on a rocky point surrounded by sparkling blue Lake Chelan waters.

The location on a point gives expansive views up, down and across the lake. Deepwater is half an hours’ drive from Chelan, far from any town lights, so one can see countless brilliant stars on a typical clear night. Watch shooting stars under the Milky Way out on the patio. In the day you will watch flocks of swallows swoop through the air catching insects, and osprey flying by, patrolling the shore for fish.

To access the lake, a steep trail switches back through rocky terraces down to a solid, newly built stairway and dock. At the clear, deep waters edge, swimmers can launch into the refreshing blue depths.

Boaters will have access to explore miles and miles of wilderness shoreline with a kayak, canoe or paddle board. Be aware that the lake access at Deepwater is very steep, so launching may be easier at the nearby 25 Mile State Park, a short paddle to the South.

Inside, the cabin is classic, simple, and cozy, with big sunny windows and two double patio doors. The two wings provide a sleeping space and a living/dining area, with the bath and kitchen in between. The bathroom has a new washing machine and a shower with plenty of pressure; pure water pumped straight from Lake Chelan! There is a drying rack for your wet laundry, which solar drys quickly on a typical sunny blue sky day.

The compact kitchen offers all major appliances offering all you need for great foodie meals, and the sunny, open patio is wonderful for reading, having meals and enjoying time together and an amazing place to chillax. A small gas grill awaits your steaks or brats, or the beautiful trout the fisher-persons in the party may bring up from the lake, where the big fish swim by the dock, hungry for worms.

A very comfortable queen-size log bed will accommodate two, while the living/dining area features a brand new fold-out full-size sofabed and an older long sofa for lounging and sleeping, accommodating one or two extra persons. The cabin is most appropriate for a couple or small family, it can sleep up to four; ideally, family or close friends since there is little privacy here! It's best to bring your own sleeping bags for any more than two, since the linens provided are for the queen bed only.

Please note: Deepwater is located on steep topography, not appropriate for unsupervised small children, but an extraordinary get away for adventurers and outdoor lovers ~ those who enjoy wilderness, silence, and simplicity. Be aware there is no internet available at this location, but there is a land line phone for emergency calls. Rattlesnakes, lynx, and mountain lions have been seen in the area, but are shy and eager to avoid people. Wild turkey and herds of deer are common. Beware the deer when driving South Lake Shore Road.

The historic, scenic South Lake Shore Trail built in the 40s by the CCC parallels the lake shore and begins just a short walk away. Larger boats can be launched at Twenty-Five Mile Creek State Park, which is less than a mile from the cabin. Miles of Forest Service logging roads meander the hills just behind the property, providing access to National Forest lands for mountain bikers to explore the unparalleled wilderness beauty above the lake.

The town of Chelan has good restaurants, fun shops, a great health food store, and plenty of local wine tasting. The region has many wineries and vineyards, so you may want to take a day to sample the local fare.

One day of your visit can be spent on the Lady of The Lake, the local ferry, going up-lake to the remote community of Stehekin, which has a great bakery and access to amazing hikes in the North Cascades National Park. Another day trip nearby could be to Holden Village, a Lutheran Camp 12 miles up into the mountains, which also can be reached on The Lady of the Lake ferry. This is a playful, festive intentional community which is open to guests and provides meals and full accommodations in a village that was once a thriving copper mine.

Deep Water Cabin is an ideal setting to explore and play in the water and mountains, relax and refresh, and soak in the bright sunny skies and the vast deep blue beauty of the lake. Come enjoy a getaway in gorgeous Lake Chelan!

* Please note: Minimum renter age is 25 years old. This applies to all guests that will be occupying the unit with the exception of multi-generational families.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Dock

Features

Disability access

Kitchen

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet
Cable

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Patio

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

37 reviews

Sonja R. Jun 2019
Amazing if you're looking to check out and recharge
Rolando C. Apr 2019
peacefullness
Kim S. Oct 2018
Great spot to get away in Chelan!!!
JUANITA H. Oct 2018
It was wonderful to get away for our 32nd anniversary. No cell phone, no wi-fi, no tv. Just spending time alone with NO interruptions. (Not even work could reach us)The scenery was breath taking. The sunrises and sunsets we lovely. Thank you for the experience!
Laurence S. Oct 2018
Someone spent an inordinate amount of effort, both physical and mental creating an incredibly pleasing and enjoyable place to while away the hours. The cabin, backs into the hill, complete with a sod roof, so as not to cause any commotion with the pristine site. Swear, you can't hear any traffic noise, except perhaps the patter of a chipmunk, but you'd have to have really good ears. At night it's a dark sky with pads provided for lying on the patio and contemplating the cosmos. The kitchen is fine for pretty much anything you might want to invent and I cook! A small, but thoughtful library, good binoculars, nice walking stick, fishing rod, great neighbors to visit with, wow this place is a total find. If you follow Rick Steve's "Off the Beaten Path" philosophy and you can make your own happy music you will be dancing a jig here.
Timothy C. Sep 2018
My wife and I stayed August 29 thru through the 31st. If you are looking for the Ritz this is not your place. If you are looking to get away from it all but have all the basics to have a great time like camping but you don't have to sleep in the dirt your in luck this place has it all. House was clean and has all the stuff you need to cook as far as pots and pans. Great deck on the side of the house with a small bbq. Now I will give some advice. I haven't looked but i believe this is rated as kid friendly. THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR ANY SMALL KIDS!!!!!!!! They are working at improving this but as of now there is a large drop off in front of the cabin that is not safe for any munchkins. Now a lot of people have complained about the path down to the dock. They are also working on this and it is a bit skectchy at the top. If you go slow and even sit down on the first part with the large rock steps it looks way worse than it really is. If you are not real good on your feet don't count on access to the awesome dock till they get more work done on the path. I would suggest a set of hand rails going down the steps on the dock. If you fish don't waste time with a guide. This is the best trout fishing from a dock I have ever had. I fished on Friday from about 11am to 5pm and caught 25 trout all around 15 inches and would have caught more if i didn't stop to go up for dinner. Cast out some power nuggets let it sink for a minute or so and real in slowly. It was a blast. I suggest barbless hooks if you are going to catch and release. I will be back for the fishing for sure. Thanks for sharing your great place and i look forward to the improvements you guys are working on. PS it got hot at night but there is a fan on the top shelf in the bathroom which helped bigtime.
Manager response:
We appreciate these comments. The owners are currently working on improving the path down to the waterfront. We have also added additional information to the listing about the path to the water at this time. We are delighted to see our guest enjoyed this unique cabin!
Amanda K. Aug 2018
This cabin is perfect for people who want to disconnect from every-day busy life. There’s no cell service, no internet, no tv, and it’s 30-40 minutes from town. Definitely private and off the beaten track!

The lake was beautiful and the private dock was fantastic. The cabin itself is adorable and has everything you could hope for. The path down to the lake is a little steep, but easy to navigate for those of us who hike regularly. The driveway could also be difficult for cars low to the ground, but for my suv with 4 wheel drive it was no problem at all.

I definitely recommend this cabin! I don’t know how it could possibly be improved!
CHANDRASHEKAR K. Jun 2018
I like the location of the cabin and special mention about the deck really awesome. Would love to rent again in future.
Caitlin C. May 2018
We loved our stay at this cabin. You could tell there were a lot of new renovations done that made our stay much better. We spent most of our time fishing on the dock and caught 12 trout in 2 days! That was the best part of our stay as the dock is brand new and we never saw anyone else so it was very relaxing. We knew that the walkway down to the dock would be steep but a couple of the rocks were loose so it would have been nice to have those fixed or put in some kind of railing. Overall this cabin was very nice. Lots of games to keep us occupied in the evenings, nice new couches and windows, all the cooking utensils we needed to make meals plus a nice grill. If you are looking for a nice secluded getaway this is the place for you.
Joe V. Sep 2017
The view is amazing. Peace and quiet abound. There is no cell service so if you have kids or want to keep up with current events, like wild fires in the area, you have to drive part way back to Chelan.
Joshua T. Sep 2017
This cabin is about 35 minutes outside of Chelan. It is one of the last cabins on the south side of the lake. It is very quiet and secluded. There are neighbors around but I never saw or heard anyone.
The cabin itself is small but does the job! We stayed 4 no problem.
The walk down to the water is a little interesting. It is just a small dirt trail down to the wood steps to the water.
We had a fun time and was a good experience!
Matthew G. Apr 2017
No internet or tv, feel cut off from the husstle of the city... it was perfect, the time away was needed and was a great spot for the wife and I. I wouldn't go had we had more people but for the two of us the cabin and view was amazing!!!
Jesse H. Apr 2017
Deep Water Cabin is fabulous! Everything was clean and the cabin is stocked with all you need. This is a superb location - private and away from town, beautiful view, very friendly staff.
Kyle R. Apr 2017
Chelan is one of my favorite spots. We wanted our own place, away from the business of the town. The deep water cabin was perfect. It was just the right size for the three of us (a couple and our 4 year old). We loved the beautiful views and all of the fishing at the dock! The drive into town is about 25-30 mins, but if you plan to be in town for a while, it doesn't seem so long. The cabin is fully equipped with everything you could need for cooking and bathing. The little hanging lights are an adorable touch, especially once it gets dark. The only thing it needs is a hot tub under that bright beautiful night sky!
Hannah M. Mar 2017
Excellent little cabin - my partner and I enjoyed completely unplugging and staying snuggled up inside. Though visiting in the summer or early fall would mean we got to do more things and be outside more, we definitely enjoyed the solitude and the quiet - very few of the neighbors were around, and there were almost no boats on the water. I was EXTREMELY impressed with how well-stocked the kitchen was. Since we were 20 miles from town and I enjoy cooking, we stopped in town for groceries but were prepared to improvise if our cooking tools were limited. Our fears were unfounded - there were plenty of pots and pans, spatulas, coffee makers of all sorts, baking sheets - it was like being in our own kitchen. The bed, though a little lumpy, was made extra plush with the super-soft linens, and - for being a fairly rustic cabin - the water heater and pressure were excellent. Thanks for letting us enjoy your little lakefront oasis.
Sarita C. Oct 2016
This cabin is literally located at the end of the road. There are neighbors, who seem pretty close but you would never know it. It is super private, quiet, and views for days. The private dock is fantastic.
As Goldilocks would say... This bed is too soft. The bed was super soft, too soft for me, but that would not keep me from returning.
James T. Oct 2016
Great little spot, quiet, great views and stargazing, almost at end of the road. One problem in the directions- keep the white fenced corral on your left (Not the right like directions said). You head lakeside right after you see white fence. May be hard to find in dark so try to get there in the light.
Phyllis R. Sep 2016
The dock is virtually inaccessible. If you have to get on your hands and knees to negotiate the "path," then it is dishonest to even list the dock as an amenity. If you make it down the approximately 75ft cliff to the dock unharmed, you will find that the owners apparently ran out of money before a railing could be installed on the very steep stairs between levels. There is no floating portion to the dock that would rise and fall with the level of the lake, so when we were there in September the water was about 5 feet down from the dock and we were unable to let our dog go down to enjoy the water (no way to get back on solid ground without climbing the rickety ladder). As it was we were not able to use the dock at all, and had to drive 30 minutes each way to the public beach in Chelan in order to swim.
Furthermore, the patio next to the cabin, with no railing, is unsafe. Our dog fell down the embankment twice. If I had pre-teen children or my elderly parents along I would certainly have asked for an immediate refund.
The floors were not clean and the rug in the living room was full of a previous guest's dog's hair. The floor under the bed featured debris and what looked like months of dust bunnies.
Pros: Very quiet with beautiful views; the cabin itself is nice and well-appointed for a rustic, dog-friendly rental.
Unfortunately the penny-pinching owners have ensured that my family will not be back. When paying as much as a medium-priced hotel, I do not expect to have it suggested that I provide my own toilet paper.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this rental did not work out better for this guest. The Property Manager will work with housekeeping on better vacuuming and inspecting under the beds. Thank you!
Sara G. Sep 2016
This cabin was wonderful! It was out of the way and oh so QUIET! Perfect for a mini getaway! The kitchen was well equipped. It seems they have taken other reviews to heart and made improvements. There was nice outdoor seating and lounge chairs that were perfect for star gazing! They have added books, information on the area, and even coloring books to help you decompress ! It was seriously a wonderful experience. We are already talking about coming back! The only things we saw as room for improvement was a adding screens for the doors, but not a big deal at all! Also, we found the dock too treacherous to get to but oh well! It was quiet, serene, and had gorgeous views! Be aware it is about a 30 minute trek to town, but we didn't find that at all an issue. We enjoyed the remoteness of the cabin and only ventured to town for groceries.
Christopher K. Aug 2016
This is a very intimate and secluded property right on the lake with it's own private dock. You have all the basic amenities, including a full kitchen to prepare your meals, which is important as the property is ~30 mins from town. The unit itself is well maintained, but very small. Even so, an extended weekend getaway for a couple was perfectly comfortable. In the summer it's pretty accessible, but you do have to traverse a narrow, single lane, gravel road with large elevation changes - I'd recommend a 4x4\AWD. It's also worth mentioning that you'll have to bring your own entertainment as an internet connection is non-existent, as was the cellular service (Verizon & ATT, not sure about others). The absence of connected gadgets was fine as this was the entire aim of my trip - to escape the constant stimulus of technology in day-to-day life and relax.
Jason C. Aug 2016
The house is certainly a quirky little thing. Great location, great privacy and very functional. However, there are some things that would be nice to add to it to step it up from budget property to solid vacation getaway.

1st - Lawn chairs-
The first reviews mention that there weren't any outdoor places to sit. This has been remedied, but the owners apparently went very cheap by getting used chairs. Four of the 5 chairs on the property were in disrepair, with one being completely inoperable. There's still no outdoor table or awning. Buying one set would solve multiple issues here.

2nd Screendoors-
This property doesn't have AC. Not a huge deal since Chelan gets cool at night and it appears to be a pretty insulated eco setup. However, there are no bug screens on the two doors that open. So in order to cool the property you have to deal with bugs flying around the place. Adding these would really raise the quality of life for the renters.

3rd Grill-
This is less urgent than the other issues...There is a small gas grill on property. While functional and in good repair, it's more of a tailgate style grill. A proper full size one would have been nice.

4th Sunshades or curtains
Great views could be had of the lake from both the beds and the couches. However, there's no way to keep out the sun. This is problematic for two things. If someone wants to sleep past 6am they'll have to do it with direct sunlight in their face and secondly it harms the ability to keep the building cool with direct morning sunlight into the property.

Note that the steepness and ruggedness of the walk to the dock cannot be overstated. If one of the guests is older or unsure of their steps on uneven surface there is no way they'd be able to get to the dock. Adding more stairs will be necessary to maximize the utility of the amazing dock.

Additionally on the dock be advised that currently the dock is about 6 feet from the water. There was really no way for my 80lb golden to get out of the water. So if you've got an animal, do not expect to be able to get the animal in the water.

Overall this is great property, but the attention to details are certainly lacking. With a little attention this property could go from feeling like a budget rental to one where you're certainly getting more value for your money.

This was my first VACASA rental, and I found the process smooth and simple. The customer service was excellent and prompt. The directions and check in process simple and straight forward.
Kristen E. Aug 2016
The cottage was really cute, but it was away from everything. It took 35 minutes to get into town, there wasn't really anything nearby, and there as no cell reception at the cottage. Everything in the cottage was nicely furnished and it was a great way to unplug and unwind, but I was very disappointed in the inability to open windows in order to get fresh air and how difficult it was to walk down to the dock. I was nervous I was going to fall down the hill and I had nothing to hold on to. If I had small children or my parents with me, I would have been severely concerned for their safety.
Marcia L. Jul 2016
Difficult road for any boat. We had jet skis and would not recommend anything larger. Location/cliff really bad idea for kids. Best for a couple wanting quiet and seclusion. Take some games or books.
Carrie B. Jul 2016
Pros: Beautiful view, nice French doors out the living room and the bedroom, Edison lights to warm up the place, nice patio area, great dock (though somewhat treacherous trek there), nice log bed.

Cons: dirty, livingroom not comfortable (couches too large and stained), no books or games, leaky shower.

When we were getting settled, my husband felt the bed and there was a dish-sized wet spot on the quilt. The area was wet through the quilt, the bed sheets all the way down to the mattress pad. We took all the sheets off the bed, including the mattress pad and stuck everything in the wash.

We ended up finding extra sheets (no mattress pad), so not all was lost, but that, combined with the fact that the house in general was not very clean - there was mysterious gunk on the plates, the shower leaked and were ant traps around - we felt the house was lacking.

We're not OCD about cleanliness, but we should not have to clean in order to stay in a place!

Vacasa was non-responsive when we brought this up (though I got plenty of auto-marketing messages from them).
Manager response:
We are sorry to see that there were a few events that caused this stay to be less than perfect. We have spoken with housekeeping about leaving wet towels on the bed as we believe that is what caused the wet spot, and we have asked that they double-check the dishes that are handwashed by guests. There is an ant trap in the house to help prevent an ant situation from arising.
Gregory G. Jul 2016
Very nice and small cabin set on a very nice lake.
Angela R. Jun 2016
Very nice if you want to stay in and relax. I should have read more on the distance it was from town 20 miles. Ouch!!!! my fault completely. So to stay at this location for too long we got bored, it rained all day, so we had to go into town. Had a great time. Thank you
Juli R. Jun 2016
We stayed for two nights...the weather was good, the quiet was wonderful. There are a couple of things that could be improved...there was no good seating...the couches were old, low and no support...there could have been a bit more counter space for prepping food...we went to get away and get away we did!
Michelle I. Jun 2016
This cabin was, quite literally, about as close to the end of the road as you can come. There were other cabins/houses in fairly close proximity, but I was there during the week and it was really quiet. There wasn't even much boat traffic on the lake, other than the Forest Service boat and the barge. The cabin is small but well-equipped and I loved being able to open both sets of French doors and just let the breeze blow through the cabin. It was awesome.
It IS quite a haul from Chelan, but if you're looking for a quiet place to get away, which I was, this is a great place.
Lori E. Jun 2016
Lovely little cabin on an overlook. Beautiful views of Lake Chelan. Comfy bed!!! Loved the cushy topper on the bed. New dock, but a bit of a challenge in some places on the trail getting to it. We fished off of it and caught to beautiful cut throats. Fun watching the parade of boats going to Stehekin. Very peaceful. Launch your boat or canoe at a nearby boat ramp and enjoy the lake. Did I mention the views were amazing?!