Virtual Tour
USA Vermont Ludlow Okemo Listing #6151

Ludlow's Gem - Ludlow, VT

37 reviews
Max occupancy: 6 1 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed 2 bedrooms  plus loft 1 bathroom No pets 
71 Lake Pauline Rd, Ludlow, VT 05149

Quaint lakefront home with a private deck, firepit, and dock!

Enjoy a picturesque glimpse of Vermont country living at this two-bedroom (plus a loft) Ludlow home, an idyllic lakefront retreat with a wrap-around deck, a small private dock for fishing or launching kayaks, and gorgeous views of Lake Pauline.

Nestled among the trees on a bank overlooking Lake Pauline, this two-level cottage is a wonderful escape for outdoor enthusiasts in every season. You'll be just steps from the lakeshore, two miles from the Okemo Valley Golf Club, three miles from Okemo Mountain Resort, and three miles north of downtown Ludlow.

With hardwood floors, comfortable furnishings, and a cozy wood stove, the living space is the picture of casual charm. Come home from a day on the water to browse the WiFi, read a novel on the plush sofa, or watch a DVD favorite on the flatscreen TV.

Use the Keurig to brew a specialty cup of coffee each morning and take a seat on the quaint front porch to read the newspaper. The full country kitchen also offers a dishwasher, a high-top table with space for four, and an adjacent dining area with a second four-person table.

Spend your summer days basking in the sun on the lakefront deck, fishing for small mouth bass on the private dock, or preparing the grill and patio table for an afternoon barbecue. There's even an outdoor firepit for your family to enjoy - the perfect place to roast marshmallows and tell ghost stories after dinner.

With two bedrooms, a loft, and one full bathroom, Ludlow's Gem will accommodate as many as six guests. On the main floor, you'll find one bedroom with a queen-size bed and one bathroom with a washer and dryer. The second floor features atmospheric pitched ceilings, one bedroom with two twin beds, and a loft with a twin trundle bed.

Whether you're searching for vibrant fall foliage, pristine summer weather, or world-class snow sports, you'll find it all in this scenic pocket of Vermont. In the beautiful winter months, guests can explore 121 trails and glades, 20 lifts, and 667 acres of skiable terrain at Okemo Mountain Resort. Come summer, the resort offers mountain biking, zipline tours, a challenge course, and 18 holes of golf.

You'll also be just minutes by boat from the Green Mountain Sugar House, a family-operated business that has been producing award-winning maple syrup (and other maple products) since 1967.

This charming Vermont home will make your dream New England vacation a reality - don't wait another minute to book your stay!

Meals & Room Tax License #MRT-10082226

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Children's games

Dock

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Wood stove

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

Blu-Ray player

Cable : Comcast

DVD library

DVD player

Stereo

TV

Wireless router

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Firepit

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

37 reviews

Martin L. Mar 2019
Great little place where hou feel like it’s your vacation home. Convenient location near the mountain away from the crowds and traffic. This was second time this year we stayed here. Hope to stay next year. Late check out is great after a day of skiing.
Hans v. Feb 2019
It was a perfect spot for our group of four -- very clean, well equipped, really cozy and close to Okemo Mountain for skiing and the town for everything else. Intending to come back in 2020.
Heather D. Jan 2019
House is very clean and beds and furniture were very comfortable.
Ron R. Sep 2018
I wish I could say that our second stay at Ludlow's Gem was as wonderful as our first. Unfortunately, it wasn't quite the case. We missed the welcome bag that we had last year, but maybe that's just for first-time renters. The house was in good shape and clean, although the sofa smelled strongly of maple syrup. (We can only imagine.)

Our biggest problem was with mold and mildew. The master bedroom smelled of mold, so much so that after our first night we had to close it up and move to the twin beds in the loft. (My wife is very allergic to molds, and was left with itchy eyes and a wheezing cough.) The bathroom also smelled strongly of mildew. I'm not sure if there is anyone to blame for this; we met some locals who said the weather had been particularly wet recently. The very shady lot may have also contributed to the dampness. Still, it put a "damper" on our stay. Perhaps a dehumidifier?

There was plenty of wood for the wood stove, but virtually no paper with which to start a fire. No matter, as the weather was disappointingly warm and a fire would have baked us.

All in all, I don't think we can fault Vacasa, but this vacation didn't measure up to the expectations set last year. We'll have to try another property next time.
Manager response:
We apologize the very humid summer caused the home to be more damp than usual The heat is on now, which will help remove the dampness, but we will be getting a dehumidifier for the home for next summer. The supplies for the wood stove had not been restocked yet as it was still too warm for a fire. We were unable to find any evidence of maple syrup on or under the couch, though we did find a candle nearby that smelled similar to syrup - we have removed it. Thank you!
Jason H. Sep 2018
Bigger towels
Amy T. Jul 2018
House is well maintained and welcoming. Great fishing on lakes Pauline, Rescue and Echo. Close to town. We would highly recommend going to American Pie for some brick oven pizza during your stay.
Gigi C. Jul 2018
The stay at Ludlow's Gem was lovely. It fit our family well. House was very comfortable. Main floor nice size; upstairs smaller than appears in pictures. I would rent again.
Only drawbacks - there were no screens on the windows in the living area - I don't know if this was an oversight by the management company or if the screens don't exist - but it would have been nice to open the windows in that room - especially when there was a nice breeze. Lake is not swimmable at this location which was fine for us because we were had lake access at my in laws place; where the entire family gathered. Would be nice if the there was a row boat or kayak available for use.
Barbara C. Jul 2018
I love till close it was to the lake like you had your own private area people were nice that road by but you really didn’t see very many now the duck families were wonderful they left their young with my grandchildren and would fly back to get them after it was an amazing place to stay I would definitely book this place again so beautiful clean well-kept and the beds were comfortable
Paul R. Feb 2018
For a family of 4-5 great location, very quaint, clean and welcoming. We loved it for our vacation.
Bryce D. Feb 2018
lovely cottage rooms very comfortable, setting beautiful, no traffic, private area kitchen well appointed, even a closet of games, TV good with cable
ample parking we had winter stay so we did not get to enjoy front porch or deck which overlooks lake view from windows in sitting room was lovely
this cottage is well cared for
Kevin N. Feb 2018
Great house, great time. Stayed here with all friends and plenty of room for 6 of us to sleep. House was cozy and warm, and great added benefit of the wood stove. Very enjoyable. Great location for us to ski Okemo and Killington. Great price. Total favorite and if going with small guy trip again, would totally look for this property.
Michael H. Oct 2017
If you're looking to get away for a couple of days, or spend a whole week, this place is right for you. The location of this property makes a perfect hub to do day trips all over the southern half of the state. However, you will definitely need a four-wheel drive vehicle during the rainy season and or snow and ice conditions.

Enjoy your stay!

Mike Howard
Olga Y. Oct 2017
We are very satisfying with this house! Stuff was very friendly and helpful!!!!!!!!!! Im definitely recommended to my friends!!!!!!!! Thank you very very much!!!!!!!!
Karen M. Oct 2017
My first opinion of the property was "Nice!" The second was, "That's a lake????" I expected from the ad about the property that it would be more isolated. Of that I was disappointed.
Having said that, I believe the house was nice, and well cared for. Suggestions: 1. Put a second railing on the stairs on the other side. Having arthritis. it was difficult to walk up the stairs with a rail on only one side. 2. Extend the current railing all the way down. In the dark, my husband fell in the dark where there steps with no support.
Pam E. Oct 2017
This little cottage is a great place for 2 or for a family of 4-6. Close in to town but yet you have good walking trips on the dirt roads right out the door...IF you haven't worn yourself out from a day's excursions of the area. Very comfy and clean place!
My only negative was the close proximity to Hwy 100. It was a challenge to sit on the deck to enjoy the lake.
Danielle N. Sep 2017
Such a cute and homey cottage on the lake. The house had anything you might need from the wood burning stove on a cool night, a well appointed kitchen (appliances, pots & pans, utensils...), games, fire pit, washer/dryer. It was a wonderful get away and we may return. Ludlow is a really cute town with many good restaurants. Just be aware that there is a fairly busy road right across the water, so if you're looking for total seclusion, this may not be it. Not a deal breaker for us.
Abby A. Aug 2017
Very nice ski-style house, managed by Vacasa (nice welcome bag, linen service, very easy check out procedure). Well-maintained outdoor spaces and lots of nice details. Rent kayaks or canoes in town and take advantage of the awesome lake--we went up to the spillway and then portaged into the larger lake to explore and swim. Lake access best for boating, swimming from the dock is a little mucky. The weather in August was perfect and amazingly, not buggy.
Timothy N. Aug 2017
This home is a perfect little cottage. It is a fully functional cozy getaway. The home sits on lake frontage, but is a little close to the highway. The road noise can be a little distracting at times. Our family enjoyed our stay at this home.
David H. Jul 2017
We enjoyed our stay in Ludlow's Gem very much. Thanks!
Chris T. Apr 2017
The house was great! Nicely furnished and felt right at home. Perfect place for a weekend getaway!
Rachel M. Mar 2017
We had a lovely time at Ludlow Gem. It is located just a couple of miles from Ludlow and Okemo. It has a lovely view of the lake, with the highway visible on the other side of the lake. The house is well furnished and clean. There were 4 of us, and it was a good size for us. Very clean, all of the amenities. The wifi worked well, but the TV/cable didn't work for us. Note that the spice drawer is a narrow cabinet between the stove and dishwasher - we didn't discover it until our last day!
Manager response:
We apologize for the disappointment this guest experienced. The Property Manager has inspected the cable and found it to be functioning correctly. We believe this may have simply been a glitch.
Bill G. Feb 2017
Love this place! I felt like home the second we walked in. Very clean and many amenities available. We look forward to returning.
Khamsay P. Feb 2017
We stayed with our two teens and it was the perfect size for the four us. I was VERY impressed with the TV media setup. We had forgotten our FireTV stick and wanted to catch up on our shows after a long day of skiing and to our surprise they had a device that allowed us to login to our Netflix account! Loved it there and will stay again :-)
Tina G. Oct 2016
Enjoyed our stay in this cozy cabin very much!
Heather C. Oct 2016
Overall I was very pleased with the property. The wood burning stove fireplace needs maintence and instructions. However the view is great and is a good distance to Ludlow, Springfield and Chester. Perfect location for foliage season and we recommend this property to someone that loves the outdoors.
Manager response:
The wood stove has maintenance scheduled, and instructions will be provided for guest use so it can be thoroughly enjoyed.
Sandra W. Sep 2016
Super quiet and quaint! If you want the New England feel you got it here! Not far from Killington about a 30 minute drive. Beautiful Home!
Tatiana . Sep 2016
It was a great experience for our small family. Nice and quiet place, exactly what we were looking for. We felt like it was our home as it was comfortable and we had everything we needed. Our LO (1,5 yrs old) inspected the place and we discovered it was dusty under the bed and behind the couches, though I was pleased that kitchen and bathroom were neat... So we hope, if we come to stay here again, it will be cleaner. Anyway, thank you for a great stay!
Samuel K. Sep 2016
It was a great mini summer getaway.
Our children enjoyed the water and the house. Very private property which was perfect for what I was looking for.
Thanks again
Arindam G. Sep 2016
very nice place to stay. had a great fun. will recommend.
Nathaniel R. Jul 2016
The cottage was charming and cute and had everything we needed for our family of 5. One thing that isn't mentioned in the description, but should be noted, is that even though it is on the waterfront on a secluded cul de sac, it's right across the pond from VT 100, which has a fair amount of traffic. It's not a deal breaker but it's not exactly pin drop silence. But the house and the value is great!
Walid E. Jul 2016
Very peaceful and quiet cozy house. Great for a small family. My little kids loved it and didn't want to leave.