Virtual Tour
USA Colorado The Colorado Front Range Estes Park Listing #9122

Historic Wilderness Retreat - Estes Park, CO

24 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 4 2 Queen Bed 2 Bedrooms 1 Bathroom No Pets 
470 Moccasin Circle, Estes Park, CO 80517

Historic mountain home w/ 180° views, fenced patio, & wraparound deck

Estes Park Registration #3417

This historic cabin-style home in Estes Park is the perfect choice for travelers who want that feeling of mountain seclusion and also want to be close to in-town convenience. Ideal for two couples or a small family, this rental offers a large fenced patio, wraparound porch/deck, and beautiful views of Prospect Mountain.

Located under two miles from Lake Estes, this home puts you close to fun lake activities in the summer. Rocky Mountain National Park is only four miles away, offering outdoor activities all year long. And you'll be about a mile from downtown Estes.

The classic leather and antique furnishings in the bright great room give this home a rustic richness. Warm up with a toasty fire in the wood fireplace while you use the free WiFi to locate attractions and find directions to all the destinations on your itinerary. And in the warmer months, hang out on the large wraparound deck, breathe in that fresh mountain air, and gaze out at Prospect Mountain.

When it's time to eat, the kitchen provides the cooks in your group everything they need to make hearty, delicious meals. With standard appliances, including a dishwasher, as well as a coffee maker and microwave, meal prep and cleanup is made easy. Dine together at the unique table in the evenings, and start your mornings in the breakfast nook. Or move mealtime outside, and fire up the gas grill for a tasty barbecue dinner you can enjoy out on the patio.

This two-bedroom, one-bathroom home accommodates up to four guests. Each bedroom has a queen-size bed, and the bath has a tub/shower combo. There's also a full-size washer and dryer in-house for your added convenience.

Stick around home and make good use of the game table while the pianist in your group entertains you with some tunes. Relax on the patio or deck, and catch up on your reading or take a nap.

When you want to get out and explore, walk to the seasonal gondola, the Family Fun Center, and Estes Park Brewery. Drive just a few minutes or take a longer walk to downtown where you'll find quaint shopping and plentiful options for casual and fine dining. Head to Rocky Mountain National Park for hiking, mountain biking, and picnicking in the summer and cross-country skiing and snowshoeing in the winter.

Regardless of the season, Estes Park offers guests spectacular scenic beauty and plenty of space for R&R, as well as endless outdoor adventures. Book this lovely rental today, and start making plans for your next Colorado getaway.

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Washer Dryer : Private

Wood Fireplace

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Century Link

Cable : DirecTV

TV

Outdoor

Balcony

Enclosed Yard

Patio

24 Reviews

Laura S. Oct 2018
The feeling of being in the mountains, and still be close to all the shopping
Jeannie S. Oct 2018
We visited for a weekend get away from the Denver area. House was clean, warm and inviting. It’s only a 2 bedroom home, but with the oversized living area, and wrap around porch, it’s a great size home for a family reunion, or any gathering! Large kitchen, which we did not use, with small breakfast area. A large laundry room, if you need it.
It was the weekend that turned Colorado into winter, so chilly, and drizzly, but we still had a good time💗! We ate at several restaurants, and the breweries of course.
It’s a short drive from Denver, if the weather is good, and much better than a hotel. We would definitely consider staying here again💕💕
Pieter D. Sep 2018
This is a great clean place to stay , lose to everything in Estes!!! Can’t wait to go back to Estes and will only stay here for now on !!!!!
Heather A. Aug 2018
We loved everything about this home. It was close to town, but it felt like you were in the mountains away from town. It was so nice to have a place for my kids to enjoy and be able to chill out and also play. My husband and I enjoyed our coffee every morning on the front porch watching the wildlife and the amazing weather! We will definitely be coming back!!
dennis v. Jul 2018
All of the amenities at the home were fine. spacious living area, one large bdrm and one normal size. The large one worked out well for our party of 4 + baby.
Major YUK factor in the bathroom is the only issue. It was carpeted, and horribly dirty/stained with who knows what. Owner: It's not the hard to remove the carpet and replace with vinyl plank flooring. Do it, Do it now!
Manager Response:
We are discussing the option of re-flooring with the owner. In the meantime, we have scheduled a carpet cleaning.
Sue T. Jul 2018
Perfect location for going to RMNP! Loved the backyard with the grill plus the porch where we had coffee every morning and watched the deer. Appreciated having a dishwasher plus washer/dryer. Spacious living/dining room. Had a very relaxing stay. Just a few negatives - there was carpet in the bathroom and it was very stained (ick) plus the two TV’s worked but you couldn’t access any channels unless you paid for them. Left several messages for the property manager and the owner because we had questions but didn’t hear back from them our entire trip. All in all - beautiful place to stay with tons to do in the area! (But please do something with that bathroom carpet!)
Manager Response:
We appreciate this review. There is a carpet cleaning at the home scheduled for next week. We would like to offer our apologies for being unable to connect with the guest. We are updating the property's welcome e-mail to include our property manager's cell phone number to prevent any such instances from occurring again. Thank you!
Joseph H. May 2018
Everything was good except the carpet. They need to be cleaned.
Anne L. May 2018
We enjoyed our time, with some caveats. The home is comfortable, and conveniently located to town and RMNP. Love the fire place!

Now for the 'buts': The home's beautiful front porch fronts onto a busy and noisy street. So, not so great to sit there and enjoy the view of the mountains. The back patio is small, the equipment and yard in need of sprucing up, and still some very obvious road noise to go with the pleasant view up the mountain behind.

The interior steps really are weird. I saw in other reviews that it would not be good for ADA compliance, but thought, "eh...it will be fine." The step from the kitchen has a ridiculous rise. It should be 2 steps, as should the step down into the (really awesome) den. The beds are also quite...bouncy? If you want or need a firmer mattress, these are not for you. In hindsight, we would have been better in a smaller place further out of town.

So, in sum, lovely den and kitchen, good location if you don't mind road noise and traffic at your doorstep, meh beds, funky smelling bathroom (dear, sweet Lord...that stained carpet!).
Matthew B. Oct 2017
Great place. Open floor plan. And privacy
Amy B. Oct 2017
We had a good time in spite of a few problems. There is a huge step from the kitchen to the level with the bedrooms and bathroom and another to the great room. NOT a handicap accessible property. We liked the great room and the appliances were wonderful. The laundry was a real plus. We saw mule deer, elk and a bear all around the house during our stay. We had a really great time.
Meredith A. Sep 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. Was a great place to relax after hiking for our family. Plenty or room for our twins to play . We loved how owners kept historic details of the cabin while having all the modem convinces. Back yard was great place to have dinner and grill. We even saw an elk pass by a few yards from back fence one evening.
Brad W. Aug 2017
Our family stayed for 3 days in late July/early August and enjoyed ourselves very much. The cabin provided large rooms that were ideal for our toddler to run around, explore and find his own spaces. The main room was incredibly comfortable and we used it all day long and for our meals (most of which we prepared in the cabin with no problems). The bedrooms were very nice and comfortable. The cabin stayed cool and we didn't need to use the furnace. Like most residents, we had plenty of elk and deer sightings in the mornings and evenings. Don't worry about being across the street from the hospital. Aside from 2 visits by the helicopter, we barely noticed the traffic outside. The view from the back porch up Prospect Mountain is wonderful, and the front porch provides a great view from inside and outside. Easy access via backroads to downtown Estes and RNMP keeps you out of range of the tourists. A very good place to sit back and relax, let the kids play inside and enjoy being in the mountains.
Wesley D. Aug 2017
We stayed at this home for a few days during our family summer vacation. The location is great. Close to downtown yet no noise or much traffic. Very clean home with lots of space to relax after our day! Great memories made on this trip! Thanks!
Peter L. Jul 2017
The only tiny downside to this property is that during the day the road outside can be a bit busy.
On the positive side, my wife loved the house and property, the location is perfect distance from Rocky Mountain National Park and the city of Estes Park.
We had herds of Elk come trough our yard twice while we were at home and the front porch was the perfect viewing spot. We also had a Mule Dear strut through while we were having our morning coffee and were always pleasantly entertained by the humming birds that were enjoying the spring flowers.
All in all, we will be back here every time we come to RMNP.
Carrie E. Jul 2017
Very spacious home with lots of interesting decor. Convenient to downtown Estes
Park. There was no access to basic television channels and no dvds to watch in the late evenings. If you have a Netflix account, then you can watch television. The one bathroom has carpet and it definitely needs to be cleaned or taken out as there were lots of soiled spots. Enjoyed eating dinner on the wrap around deck. Thank you for the use of this comfortable home.
Julie F. Jul 2017
We loved this property. The home was close to downtown but was far enough away to feel like we were in the country. The home was clean and comfortable for 4 plus people. We are talking about finding a time to return and we certainly would come back here.
Sarah B. Jun 2017
This home is beautiful and very convenient to whatever you may be doing in the area. I was a little worried about the location at first, but it ended up being very quiet and the perfect spot to spend a few days. The home is beautiful and has everything you could want or need. Nice balance of indoor and outdoor space. We enjoyed our stay very much and recommend it to all who are looking for a great, affordable, convenient place to stay.
Erin B. Jun 2017
This cabin was very clean and nicely furnished. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals. The location was very convenient to everything in town and Rocky Mountain National Park. We would definitely stay here again.