USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Florence Listing #1005

Surf View - Florence, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
58 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 1 Twin Bed 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Unique Cottage Boasts Oceanfront Location & Private Balcony

As your next Central Oregon Coast getaway approaches, consider the comfort and ease of staying in this cozy Florence vacation rental, only a few steps away from the sand.

This lovely beach cottage is in Heceta Beach, just 12 minutes north on Highway 101 from Florence, Oregon. Heceta Beach is a quiet coastal neighborhood with some great local food and gorgeous surroundings. This location maintains a nice distance from the bustle of Florence while still being just a short drive from the restaurants, grocery stores, and activities of the town.

This single-level cottage is simple, with light blue siding and a gorgeous wrap-around deck where you can take in the view of the ocean or just relax in the fresh air with a book and a snack. The front door opens onto the open living/dining/kitchen area: clean and simple decor, with a little added flair like tea lights around the windows and a bright red, old-fashioned wood stove. Enjoy perpendicular walls of windows that allow natural light to brighten the space. Sink into the love seat or kick back on the couch to enjoy a favorite novel.

The dining space is cozy - a round table set for four with views of the ocean, set before the full kitchen with vintage wood cupboards, white appliances, and important additional accouterments like a microwave and a coffee maker. Enjoy the charm of a fun pink accent wall, and find all the necessary utensils you could ask for. Head out the back door to enjoy some fresh air. There's also a washer/dryer set for your convenience, to rid yourself of excess sand.

This cottage has two bedrooms and one full bathroom. There's a room set up for the youngest members of your party with two twin-over-double bunk beds, with plenty of stuffed animals and pillows to make an awesome fort! The master suite has a queen-size Tempurpedic bed with white furnishings and softly patterned bedspreads. With a double sofabed available in the living room, this home can comfortably sleep six people. This rental is perfect for multi-generational family visits, or two small families traveling together.

Right here in Florence, you will find more than enough to keep you busy during your visit. Spend a morning walking along the perfect sandy beaches, then grab lunch at Driftwood Shores, which is just a short walk north. Around town is a surprising variety of restaurants, ranging from Lovejoy's Teahouse to the Waterfront Depot cafe to Big Dog's donuts and sandwiches to Ichiban's Japanese cuisine and everything in between. Take some time to peruse the shops in the historic downtown area, and take photos of the famous bridge and the beautiful Siuslaw River.

Florence also has two golf courses, a casino, and plenty of places to go fishing, crabbing, and clamming. If you drive just north you can reach the Sea Lion Caves and the iconic Heceta Head Lighthouse, and the much larger city of Newport is about an hour drive north along the coast. If you feel like heading south, instead, you can reach Reedsport in about 20 minutes and Coos Bay in 50 minutes. In between these two Southern Coast cities stretch the wonderful Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area, which brings in ATV riders, campers, and sand-boarders from all over the country.

After a long day of enjoying the beach and the town, come back to your Central Oregon Coast vacation rental for a sunset, and rest before your next coastal adventure!

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Kitchen & dining





Ocean view

Water view

Beach access





Netflix streaming


Nearby activities & attractions

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private

Beach towels


Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

58 reviews

Brent S. Sep 2022
Loved all the light in the house and the place was very clean. It was quiet, comfortable and a great location!
Esther H. Aug 2022
Beautiful location, nice house, well supplied with daily items. There is wifi (thought not at first). Florence nice town with good restaurants
Dubbert D. Jul 2022
The house was incredibly clean and ready for our stay. The access to the coast was great. Listening to the ocean was super relaxing.
SARAH F. Jul 2022
Beautiful views and beach access
Todd O. Jun 2022
The house has a nice cottage feel. It is convenient to walk to the beach. Decent view of the ocean over the roofs of the houses across the street.
Debbie F. Jun 2022
It had everything we needed plus a short path to the beach.
Richard or Karen P. Mar 2022
It was a great little spot for spending Spring Break. Nice little walks to the beach and nice view minus the new house being built across the street. People in Florence are quite nice.
Sara N. Nov 2021
We loved this little place, it was freezing cold when we first arrived and my kids were not too happy for that. After we got the heat adjusted it was better. The heat registers in the rooms didn't seem to work. Everything else did though, and there is plenty of bedding. I would stay here again, the views of the ocean were amazing!
Rebekah H. Sep 2021
Beautiful view, beautiful sunsets! The house had everything we needed for a nice relaxing getaway. My only complaint was at 60 years old my knees don't move like they used to and the 3 steps up the deck to get to house were extra tall and hurt my knees at each level and having to carry things in and out of house was a struggle for me and the trail to beach was totally cool, the kids loved the well kept tunnel access but again, my knees only made it one time to beach and back. Would have loved easier access but that is nobody's fault. We used the bbq on deck, it is small but was perfect for our family of 4. I had to search around for things so my suggestion to to cook would be to just go ahead and open all drawers and cupboards in kitchen before you start so you will know where everything is. Enjoy your stay!
Michelle T. Sep 2021
The view is amazing, finding the trail to the beach was fun, Fred Meyers being close by for forgotten items is a plus, 2 hr horseback riding tour is a must..
Janinne Katarina H. Sep 2021
Celebrated our 18th anniversary here and it was wonderful. Great location and very affordable. Old Town is a must see! Heceta Beach Park and short hike to the lighthouse is enjoyable. Food was good no matter where we went but our all time favorite was BJs homemade ice cream…yum (had it everyday we were there). Sea Lion Caves great to visit even though Sea Lions are not there this time of year. Planning another visit during their season because we’re sure it’s going to be amazing. Oh and I almost forgot the best part…beach access is an adventure. Have fun going through the ‘Hobit Trail’ and climbing over the Dunes to get to your beach destination…did it every morning…great exercise!
Elizabeth C. Jul 2021
The view is fantastic. The house is tired and run down. There was a strong smell of mold/mildew in the bathroom.
Manager response:
We are thrilled you enjoyed the view from this home. We appreciate your feedback, and the opportunity to address these concerns with our local team. Please know the issues in the home have been addressed and rectified by staff and we look forward to providing you with an exemplary visit next time.
Isabel L. May 2021
Overall the house was wonderful, but there were a few things which could be fixed on. But don't forget the pros!
- There is no wifi available in the house, which I wish would have been made more apparent in the booking process. While I love the idea of a no-devices getaway, with the pass of my job, it was frustrating to not have any wifi available.
- There was some dust around the windows and many dead flies around the windows as well.
-Kind of an old scent lingers in the house

- It was overall extremely clean! Well equipped with everything we could imagine
-Wonderful view and close beach access. It is the perfect place I wanted to spend my time in Florence.
- My family does hope to come back again, but we hope the cons are addressed for next time!
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, Isabel. We are glad you enjoyed this home and we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. We will follow up with our housekeeping team to perform deep cleaning. Please note that internet is not a listed amenity at the home, and we hope to have another chance to impress you!
Teal W. Apr 2021
Beautiful views close to beach watched fishing boats troll at night
Pauline G. Feb 2021
Good: the view and proximity to the ocean

Musky smell when entering the house.
Rusty shelves in the refrigerator.
No heat in the master bedroom.
Gas bbq is faulty advertising. It’s a tiny propane powered bbq with no table to place it on. I would have to cook from my knees.
No internet (not the end of the world but there is also no cell service from inside the house.
A DVD player was advertised but not there. They have a VHS player but I left my collection at home...
The cable channels are strictly the free, public channels.

Unfortunately this place comes across as if the owners don’t take any pride in owning a vacation rental. Everything seemed as if they pulled out leftover items sitting in their garage and placed them at this house to say they exist. It comes across as purely a money grab to me.

We went in the winter for a little getaway with our kids. I wouldn’t recommend doing that. I bet it’s nice in the summer though. Maybe they will invest in a real bbq, WiFi, and a real DVD player.
Manager response:
We appreciate your feedback, Pauline, and apologize you were not satisfied with your Vacasa experience. The property manager is reaching out to the homeowner to see if they are willing to invest in the improvements you have mentioned in your review. We hope to be able to impress you in the future!
teresa c. Aug 2020
Absolutely loved the view from the house! Liked the fact the path was close by even if you have to tackle dunes to get to the ocean.
Polly G. Jun 2020
I have never left a negative review for anything, anywhere, but unfortunately feel I need to here. This home has a lovely view and nice outside seating, plus strong water pressure. The nearby beach is gorgeous. But overall the house needs a lot of TLC. The carpets are old, there is mildew under the kitchen faucets, the kitchen cabinets are worn and scratched, the mirrors in the bathroom are tarnished. I feel badly for leaving a negative review, but the signal should be clear here: This home isn't at the standard it should be for renting at this price point.
Manager response:
Hi, Polly! We are so sorry to read you were so unhappy with your stay. Your review has been sent to the owner for their consideration. Thank you!
Collin N. Jun 2020
Amazing walk and view to the beach from the home. Only downside wa a few outlets dead in the old wiring of the house, no big deal but could be updated for future use and also a box fan added would e fantastic to help air flow through with the cool ocean breeze. Other than that everything was perfect, romantic getaway with everything needed near by or in the home will come again.
Joseph M. May 2020
Loved the privacy. Nice view. Bring your own bottled water. We brought DVDs but there was no DVD player so we bought our own. Overall it was a nice getaway.
Margaret A. Sep 2019
Location was ideal, wonderful windows with a nice vista of the ocean. Very quiet. Washer/ dryer a huge plus.
Janis E. Aug 2019
POSITIVES: Quiet location, expansive deck, comfortable master bed, nice shower water pressure.
NEGATIVES: filthy blinds and windows, missing 1 blind (repacked 1/2 way thru 2week rental), broken kitchen drawer and fridge drawer, rusty door locks, front screen door broken and was finally taken off 3 days prior to departure, VERY hard to open window sliders, Adirondack chairs on deck are very wobbly, overall musty smell and home could use some major updating.
Vacasa is great to rent from!
Owners could pay better attention to their property needs.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review and feedback, Janis! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, given the negatives you provided. We will address all of these items with the local staff and see that they are taken care of. Once again we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Tomas V. Aug 2019
Cozy, clean, close to beach, ocean view, quiet area, ....
Kirsten L. Jul 2019
Best outdoor space and neighborhood is quiet. House is average...
Kenneth C. May 2019
The view, close to the beach.
Austin B. Apr 2019
This home is so cute and cozy! Our family really enjoyed our stay.
Judy B. Sep 2018
Older cottage, but exceptionally clean and well taken care of. Nice area. Furniture and beds are comfortable. Beach access is short 3 tenths of a mile walk. Sand dunes are fantastic. Will stay here again.
mike j. Aug 2018
The deck was awesome as well as the location to the beach
Cynthia S. Aug 2018
Nice home! Well equipped for cooking and for kids. Walk to the beach was a bit of an adventure but really cool! My only complaint is that the place was a little dated. Overall, I would stay here again. We loved the sand boarding and rented from master sand park.
John M. Jun 2018
Nicely furnished, close access to beach
Debbie H. Mar 2018
We enjoyed our stay . Thanks for sharing your vacation home.
Thomas N. Nov 2017
the view from the front porch was great. the in side of house is ok. but the kitchen and bathroom are old an out date. the beds are so so. they need to put more money in this home. put lock box next to door so you can see it better in the dark.
Sandra S. Oct 2017
This is a very comfortable house with a great view. The walk to the beach is for young people, but it can be done. The house is stocked just right for a get away. Just bring groceries and clothes, then enjoy.
Robert H. Sep 2017
This place is hard to find and is a little run down, over all it is nice but not exactly what they advertise.
Nicola N. Sep 2017
Beautiful calm place. Staff helped us imideately when we had a problem. We had a Great time
Florence, Oregon is a beautiful place to visit. We enjoyed the location and the view of the Pacific Ocean. We were fortunate to have nice weather, daytime sun and evening breeze was cool, but comfortable.
Barbara M. Aug 2017
Be prepared to just want to enjoy this house and Deck!The closest beach is tricky.The other beach suggested much easier but very windy,we found Haceta Beach to be more protected.Go on DuneBuggy tour thru SandLands,Shaun was great driver,but they all seemed that way.
Jan Willem B. Aug 2017
Heerlijk huis met prachtig uitzicht. Prima inventaris. Alleen de buitenmeubelen vragen aandacht.
Jacqueline H. Jun 2017
My family and I really enjoyed our stay here. The cottage is lovely, clean and with all the amenities. The view is beautiful and the fact that it has such large windows is fantastic. The welcome package is thoughtful and deeply appreciated. It is a beautiful place to stay for tranquility and meditation. It is wonderful to wake up in the morning and just sit in a beautiful living room, or out on the deck and enjoy the view, then walk along the beach. I highly recommend it!
Carol J. Oct 2016
your place was just what we needed
Katherine D. Aug 2016
One thing that we didn't realize was that there was no easy access to the ocean. Instead, there was a little 1/8 mile walk through dense, head high, vegetation. That would have been pretty cool, except we were with a toddler and a baby, which made beach access pretty difficult and not something that we wanted to do more than once.
Terza Q. Aug 2016
House was very comfortable. The wood stove was replaced with a fake fireplace/mantel, and the couch, love seat and chair are new and fairly comfortable. It wasn't as clean as i had hoped but livable. I will say the 'hike' to the beach is just that but the dunes were great. Rented sand boards and took advantage of the steep dunes just out the door.
Andrew P. Jun 2016
The essence of excitement runs through my body as we roll up the rocky driveway. It has an appearance of a rustic cottage with the sweet peas and greenery all around.
As I step out of the car the salty seawater smell comes over me. A silent but chill breeze brushes over my cheeks as I glance at the beautiful excellence of the roaring ocean ahead.
the porch was quaint with antique style sun chairs, but yet had a feeling of a familiar happiness.
The door creeks open to the memories of families laughter, excitement and joy that was left behind. I couldn't help but feel a sense of relief off my shoulders knowing that the next five days I didn't have to worry about jobs, money, bills or stress. I just let the time I have here be a happy memory that I will share for a lifetime and I enjoyed the gifts the house and ocean sends my way.

A cute little trail, like something you would see from a fairy tale leads to soft sands where the cold waves strike with force like a tiger pouncing at it's prey.

What I am trying to say is this was one of the best times I've had in Oregon and I love the house and the location. :) :)
Kristie G. Jun 2016
Loved it
Tyler V. Apr 2016
Very quiet setting, minutes from shopping and activities. The are has decent beach access, but does require a short walk down a very narrow, sometimes steep trail. The property needs a little updating, some of the outlets didn't work and the hot water didn't last long. Otherwise, a comfortable place to stay.
Sabin G. Mar 2016
We loved it, it was perfect for the needs of our family and was a good base. We were in need of relaxation and it was perfect.
There is no dishwasher as stated so that might be a disappointment to some, but we managed :)
Dan H. Feb 2016
Conveniently located and close to the beach.
Tanya S. Aug 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at SurfView. Arrived LATE on a Monday night and access to the house was very easy after a long drive. Place is stocked with the basics (and then some), there's a grocery store less than 3 miles away and a convenience store less than 1/2 a mile.

View is great, and we actually appreciated the wind block of the homes across the street from the very strong beach breeze. Do plan on a bit of a hike from the house to the beach - this area has some pretty sizeable dunes between the water and the homes . . . and consider driving a couple of blocks north to access the beach if you're affected by narrow trails. It's a bit of an adventure working your way thru the trail in the dense vegetation and over the dunes to dip your toes in the Pacific.

Also, if you're like my family who needed wifi to do the research on where to go once in Florence - they offer it with lightning fast service, but you'll have to look in their check-in notebook for the correct login info. The details in the check-in docs were incorrect.

For the price, this place can't be beat!
William B. Jul 2015
We have never rented a house before but we will definitely do this again. Thank you for opening you obviously loved home to us. It made our visit with our son so much better.