USA Maryland Deep Creek Lake Swanton Listing #10538

Pee Wee Acres - Swanton, MD

Take a Virtual Tour
23 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 (6 adults) 3 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 1.5 bathrooms 4 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Lakefront Home with Dock, Firepit & Views - Dogs OK, Close to the State Park

Please note: There is a 13 night limit on reservations per local regulations. Reservations over 13 nights are prohibited and cannot be honored.

The banks of Deep Creek Lake will be right outside your door at this three-bedroom (plus a loft) Swanton home, a dog-friendly escape with a private dock, an abundance of cabin-like character, and a wondrous lakefront position ideal for summer vacationers.

You'll find this single-level home on the eastern shores of Deep Creek Lake, right at the mouth of Cherry Creek Cove. Swim, fish, and kayak from your very own dock, head one mile south to Deep Creek Lake State Park to utilize the boat ramp and sandy beach, and enjoy the summer wonders of Wisp Resort (including two golf courses, disc golf, bike trails, and a mountain coaster) seven miles northwest.

Whether you've come to Deep Creek Lake to golf, swim, or take a spin in your boat, you'll be able to do it all at Pee Wee Acres. Use the free WiFi to plan afternoon hikes (bring your dog along for a small nightly fee), and come home to this lakefront piece of property just in time for sunset.

Begin each morning with a homemade breakfast prepared in the country kitchen (with a dishwasher), and cook your lunches al fresco on the charcoal grill. Drop your kayak in the lake for a paddle at dusk, gather around the firepit for ghost stories and s'mores, and end the evening with a movie or two in the warmth of the wood-burning fireplace (a flatscreen TV, basic cable, and a VCR are provided).

Once you've arrived, you'll feel right at home - reserve your memorable stay in Western Maryland today!

*Please note that this home does not accept wintertime rentals. WiFi and basic cable are available from May through October.*

4WD/traction is required in winter.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Lake view


Water view






DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router



Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing





23 reviews

Colleen G. Aug 2022
Had a great time, we enjoyed time with our family. Perfect location, nice dock for both boating and swimming. We will be back.
Donna L. Jul 2022
New flooring is nice upgrade.
Darren W. Jun 2022
This is our 2nd year staying at Pee Wee Acres. The location is still perfect, and the stove is still lopsided (expect to watch your eggs run down to the bottom right every single morning). This year we arrived on a Saturday, by night time my boys were telling me “the toilets are running slow.” By Sunday they were both completely broke, so I put in 3 phone calls to Vacasa. By Sunday night my son was defecating in the woods across the street in the state park (after all we’re not barbarians); I was urinating outside the house cheerfully waving at the neighbors- curiously, they did not wave back.

Vacasa finally texted me late Monday afternoon, and by Tuesday morning a contractor showed up to fix the septic system. I want to give Jay at Vacasa credit, once he reached out to me communication was pretty good.

Basically 3 days without a toilet. And you know what? Honestly, we still love this place. Something about it makes our blood pressure go down, we sleep better, we talk to each other more. We’ll be back.

If you want a Four Seasons experience in Deep Creek look elsewhere. If you want a quiet place on the water with a private dock, a firepit, a massive fireplace, and a huge State Park right across the street…book this place with confidence.

Virginia J. Sep 2021
I should have known we were in for a bad experience the moment I got to the door. The entry was covered with dirt and cobwebs. We stepped in and the smell of dust and mold was overwhelming. The carpet was covered with stains and was not in a condition that you'd want to walk in socks or bare feet, shoes were a must. We covered the couch with towels we brought from home just to feel comfortable sitting on it, it was old and smelled like the house, dusty. The bathtub was covered with in mold and there were boards in need of repair. Had we not traveled for as long as we had, we would have turned right back around and left. We stayed one night, our trip was supposed to be a total of 3 nights, but we left immediately the next morning to get out of there as fast as we could. I called VACASA as we were leaving and told them that the property was less than satisfactory and we were leaving. Such a disappointment as this was the first trip we'd had in nearly 2 years and money down the drain. If this is the quality that Vacasa is going to allow to be listed, then I'll start using other booking vendors.
Manager response:
We are so sorry you were unhappy, Virginia. We hope you will be pleased to hear that new flooring will be installed in October, and a deep clean is scheduled. Hopefully we can host you for a happier experience in the future.
Cheryl T. Aug 2021
Great location. Loved the lakefront and proximity to the State Park. House was a bit rundown. Mold in shower, drawers hard to open, somewhat dirty. Still, we had a great week.
Donna L. Jul 2021
Nice home on the lake. Most every care covered. Dock to launch kayak.
Alice A. Jul 2021
This was our 4th stay at Pee Wee Acres! Yes, the house is older and some of the windows could use replacing, but the bathroom and kitchen are clean and the location is unbeatable!! Highly recommend if you are looking for a comfortable, reasonably priced place to stay right on the lake.
Manager response:
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We passed your comments along to our local manager to review and we appreciate guest’s preferences as a means to continually improve. We look forward to hosting your next stay!
mike h. Jun 2021
Location, view , price, rustic

the poles on the pier need to be removed,they block boat access
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Mike! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. To clarify, the dock is available to use for activities such as fishing and swimming, however it is not available to use for boats. Our guest services line is available 24/7 for any questions. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again!
Nicole B. Jun 2021
Aside from the tranquil back yard and dock, cozy atmosphere the house brought, and the seclusion of the woods the only negative we found was we had to leave! Very commutable to restaurants and shops. This house justified our return to deep creek.
Darren W. May 2021
Pros: It’s a waterfront rustic cabin right on the lake with a private dock. Very private, nice and safe for kids, dogs, etc. Great location, about an 8 minute drive to Unos, Arrowhead, etc. . Inside is a beautiful stone hearth around 15 feet wide, and besides the three bedrooms there’s also two lofts that each have a mattress, great for nimble teenagers or older children to crawl into. The bathrooms were also very clean and have strong cold and hot water.

Negatives- As other reviewer’s have said, this cabin was built in the early 1960s and has a very basic kitchen. Very basic utensils, some things around the house are broken, etc. This was not a negative for me, my gf, and my boys (they are Boy Scouts and have slept in far worse) and our dog, but it might be for some.

The drive way needs to be lit at night, I highly recommend that the house owners consider adding a few solar powered lights out there as it is incredibly dark at night and the driveway was difficult to see.

Other than that, a great place and as advertised, we are definitely looking forward to coming back.
Maura L. Sep 2020
The cabin sits on a terrific lakefront location. We were able to put in our kayaks next to the floating dock. The cabin is clean and there were more than enough towels provided. The bed in the master next to the half bath was comfortable enough.

We cooked most of our meals in. The kitchen is stocked w/plenty of dishes and flatware, but is lacking even one decent skillet. The ones provided are bent and scratched and they do not sit level on the stove for even cooking.

If you want to sit out and enjoy the dock or the fire pit, make sure to bring folding chairs as none are provided. Fortunately, we stuck some in the car.

The yard slopes toward the lake. Rain run off water settles all around the fire pit. So, even when the rain stops, you may have standing water surrounding the fire pit for another day or two.

The DVD player is operational, but none of the remotes worked even after changing out batteries. Besides using the remote designed for the DVD player, we tried the universal remotes, and several combinations with no luck. So, unless we watched w/out stopping, we could not advance the disk as there are no buttons on the player.

The view of the lake from the back porch, living, and dining area is quite pretty and relaxing.
Christopher H. Aug 2020
Cobwebs in every corner, old and dingy carpet and furniture, a bug that ran across my foot 5 minutes after arrival; in other words, this house is a disaster. But, the location is nice with a nice back yard and private dock. The kitchen has lots of counter space and was pretty well stocked with utensils, pots and pans etc. The linens were clean as well. We didn’t plan to spend much time in the house, but 2 days of rain changed that plan, and unfortunately we were able to take more notice of just how gross the house is. A thorough cleaning and an update to the furniture and flooring would go a long way for this place. We would return if these things happen, otherwise, no way.
Manager response:
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay. We apologize that your experience in our home was not the vacation for which you had planned, which we strive to provide our guests. We apologize for the oversight regarding the cleanliness. We have passed along your feedback to the local housekeeping staff and manager so they are aware of your comments. Again we would like to apologize for this experience and hope to have another chance to impress you in the future.
Alice A. Jul 2020
You absolutely cannot beat the location. This is the 3rd time we have come to Pee Wee Acres and every time is a blast! Yes, the house is on the more rustic side, but it has everything you need to enjoy a comfortable stay. The bathroom and kitchen are always very clean. We already made reservations for our 4th visit in 2021!
Patty B. Jun 2020
On the lake with a private dock.
Jennifer M. Aug 2019
-Lakefront access was the highlight!
-Home accommodations were so great we didn’t have to leave ...even down to the ice maker!
-Spacious, comfortable and cozy inside
-Dog friendly is a plus
-Will definitely be back
Denise F. Jul 2019
Early check-in was much appreciated. Waterfront location was wonderful.
Alice A. Sep 2018
The house was quaint and the temperature stayed quite comfortable, even without air conditioning. You absolutely cannot beat the location and outdoor setting. It is not modern, but was charming and comfortable for 4 adults and one dog. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone looking for an affordable, comfortable place to stay in an amazing location.
Kelly F. Aug 2018
Wonderful location, next to everything. House is little run down. I was aware of this prior to booking. However, the kitchen has limited utensils and pots. The carpet is old and really needs cleaning . The bathrooms are horrible and there is virtually no lighting in the house which makes it very dark. With a little bit of money , it could be fanatastic. The layout of the house is great with a beautiful view of the lake. The dock is well maintained.
Manager response:
We have plans for improvements this fall. Thank you!
Cynthia J. Jul 2018
Great location! Loved the dock for swimming and kayaking.
Brenda D. May 2018
Dock was nice and location on lake. Views are great from property, if only another nicer house was on it!! House needs a lot of fixing up to say the least! A lot of things broken. Pots and pans disgusting (wish I had brought my own). Lighting in house dark and dingy. Never told there wasn’t a way to turn around a truck towing a boat in driveway. Took almost an hour and help from next door neighbor to help unhook trailer from truck and turn it around. Husband hurt his foot doing so first day and couldn’t walk on it the rest of vacation!! Ruined rest of the week, we need a vacation from the vacation and paid good money for this!!! Not fun.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest was so displeased and that an injury was sustained. The pictures of the home do show it is a smaller driveway, and there is a public dock available for guest use with larger trailers. We have replaced all of the pots and pans in the home, and there are lamps in each room. Due to the vintage log nature of the home it does tend to be darker. Thanks!
Alexis F. May 2018
You could not ask for a better location or a better view. The lake was just 50 yards from the back porch and we really enjoyed sitting out there watching the boats go by. It was also pet-friendly, so we were able to take our dog with us and she enjoyed playing in the water.

On the negative side, however, there were several issues with the house. The refrigerator leaked, the disposal was broken, one bathroom sink had a leak, several windows/curtains were broken in some fashion, one of the Adrionack chairs on the back porch was broken, and lighting was quite dim -- the house was in need of several repairs and updates by the owners.

We loved the cabin feel, and how cozy the place was. We would love to rent again, but not until this property is improved upon.
Manager response:
We apologize for the myriad maintenance issues this guest encountered and would like to assure all of our guests these issues have been fixed. Thank you!
John F. Aug 2017
If you were here for the great indoors this is not the place for you. If you don't mind traditional-old-Lakehouse imperfections the location could not be more perfect. We loved playing off the dock and the fire pit the most ; easy access to hiking trails; everything you need is here.