USA California Shaver Lake Ockenden - Shaver Lake Listing #12336

Hatcher's Hideaway - Shaver Lake, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
43 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed 3 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Forest view home w/ partially covered deck, great for anglers, boaters & skiers!

Discover the gorgeous mountain scenery of Shaver Lake at this three-bedroom lodge, a comfortable California escape with an expansive private deck, lovely views of the surrounding woods, and a wondrous location for anglers, boating enthusiasts, mountain bikers, and skiers.

This lofty home is located among the evergreens in Ockenden Ranch, a neighborhood that sits two miles south of the village of Shaver Lake. Spend the summer swimming and trout fishing in Shaver Lake three miles north, take gorgeous hikes around Huntington Lake 18 miles north, and catch a few thrills skiing or biking the slopes of China Peak Mountain Resort 21 miles northeast.

Step inside to admire a floor-to-ceiling stone hearth, natural wood details, and plush carpeting to warm your toes in the winter. Spend snowy mornings browsing the free WiFi, watching your favorite shows on the wall-mounted flatscreen TV, and fixing yourself a mug of hot chocolate in the full kitchen. Come summertime, you can bask in the sunshine on the private deck, use the gas grill and the shaded picnic table for memorable al fresco meals, and leave your bathing suits to spin in the private washer/dryer as you soak in the jetted tub.

You'll find thrilling outdoor recreation in every season at this Shaver Lake lodge - book your memorable stay today!

*All same day bookings must be made through the local office between the hours of 8:30 am-5:00 pm PST. For same day bookings, please call 559-841-4000 A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: Three vehicles can fit in the driveway. No parking on the street during winter months due to snow removal. No recreational vehicles or camping allowed in yards and driveways. Boat & Trailer Parking is only allowed in West Village & East Village. We recommend that all guests utilize Sierra Marina for a wet slip and/or trailer parking.

Other permit number: EXEMPT

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Bathrooms

Jetted tub

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

Wireless router

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

43 reviews

Bheeshma M. Jul 2021
Horrible, here’s list of things

1. Internet wasn't working, still hasn't been fixed.
2. Unit doesnt have A/c which is not clearly mentioned in the website description, and we have heat advisory warning.
3. Patio is not in good condition, wooden rails are about to fall off and its scary to have your kinds around in that area.
4. All the blinds are in horrible condition, once you open them, you cannot close and also they are not cleaned.
5. It really gets hot here in summer and they dont even have box fans at this property which I had to request it later.
6. Refrigerator took 2 days to be actually functional, half of our food was spoilt before the refrigerator actually started working.
7. Microwave is in horrible condition, buttons don't work properly makes all weird noise.
8. Overall quality was just horrible, i would recommend not to choose this property at all, may be pick a Motel 6.
9. Few of the bathroom doors we cant even lock.

I wonder if there is some sort of inspection n process which is done before qualifying these kind a homes

Customers at-least need a good experience then they are away from home, needing a time off rather then an awesome experience.

I can still name a few more points this should be sufficient for now, i wonder if i still need to pay the full amount for this stay.
Manager response:
We're sorry to read you were unimpressed with your Vacasa experience. The internet is scheduled to be serviced by the provider, some blinds have been replaced, and the pocket doors do not lock. Thank you!
Dawn C. May 2021
We had an excellent time and the cabin was clean, well kept, and met all of our needs. There was an issue in the upstairs bathroom but the response was quick and team that came to help was amazing. Would definitely stay here again.
Melinda S. Mar 2021
Beautiful home, so relaxing and comfortable it was a very well maintained, clean and easily accessible. Will definitely book again!
Ernie G. Feb 2021
We loved the location property is nice kids had fun playing in snow & we made memories that's what matters at the end..
Amayrani M. Jul 2020
This home was very clean , we had a pleasant stay. Loved that everything in the kitchen was provided. Definitely would book again!
celine g. Jun 2020
Nice house. The showers could’ve been cleaner. It would’ve been nice if there was an air conditioner as well.
Ryan P. Jan 2020
My friends and I had a lovely time. The house is beautiful and well located to the shops and stores at Shaver Lake.
Tong Y. Nov 2019
Place was clean and quiet and makes for a great place to relax and enjoy the fresh mountain air....definately will stay there again
Guadalupe R. Sep 2019
This cabin was cozy, extremely comfortable, and in a great location! Everything was very very clean. I super loved the jetted bath tub, a now must have for anywhere I stay. You are pretty close to neighbors when you stay here, but there are so many trees around that it hardly makes any difference. Love love love!
vince p. Jul 2019
Beautiful shaver lake and accommodations
Dinesh S. Jul 2019
Very nice location and furnishings ....enjoyed our stay....
Lydia K. Feb 2019
Loved this cabin, we would like to stay there again. The only downfall was the water pressure is very low, took 30+ minutes to fill the bathtub. The hot water ran out and took a while to heat up for the rest of us to shower and bathe. If you have little ones you will need baby proof everything such as chemicals under the sinks and a bring an extra wide baby gate for the staircase. My baby gate didn’t fit but I just blocked the stairs with a pack and play and it worked perfectly.
Priscilla C. Feb 2019
We had the best trip! The house was beautiful! So comfy and clean! The beds were comfortable! We definitely did not want to leave! Will book this again!
sheila h. Feb 2019
I will never go back to staying at a hotel. This was so nice. The home was beautiful, it had everything we needed. Can't wait to go back. There was snow everywhere and made our stay so wonderful.
Ann B. Dec 2018
Beautiful, everything we needed, easy care, simple check-in and check-out. Felt pampered.
Cynthia B. Dec 2018
Loved it.
INEZ B. Dec 2018
House was amazing! Enough room for the whole family. Went into town and enjoyed the location businesses. Had cozy evenings by the fire. Beautiful morning walks and some snow Thanksgiving morning! House fully equipped with everything you need for your stay!
Alison G. Nov 2018
This home provides comfort and is so lovely inside. The beds are warm and comfortable, the living area is spacious, the deck is spectacular. There is a lot of room to move around in. The instructions provided are very easy to follow.
We loved staying here and would love to stay here again in the future.
I do have some recommendations of things that you may need to look into. But by no means do not take it as something we were upset with.
1. The burners on the stovetop would not light when the dials were turned, so we needed to use a match to light each one. The back right dial did not turn at all therefore the burner could not be used.
2. There was a DVD player with instructions indicating that there was a remote...however we never found it.
3. Because the propane is expensive, we were not to turn the heat too high but dress warmly. I suggest maybe providing some blankets/throws or provide that information on the booking for the property so that we could bring our own.
4. The hallway bathroom downstairs has a pocket door that had some trouble opening and closing all the way...sounded like it was either off the rollers or track needed fixing??
5. Upstairs toilet had some issues with the chain getting stuck under the stopper, therefore it would run until we went up and took the top off the tank and fixed it manually.
These items were minor for us, but may not be for someone else so I am letting you know as a courtesy and not as a complaint from our end.
Thank you again for allowing us to use your home. We hope to contact you again in the future!
Famous J. Nov 2018
The time of year provides a quiet, calm place to reflect and bond with the natural and beautiful surroundings of this home!
Art B. Oct 2018
We had the nicest time in this home! It was quiet, clean, there was plenty of linens and paper goods, the deck was big with a nice BBQ, it was amazing! We would recommend this home and we hope to be allowed to come stay again.
Carlos S. Sep 2018
Great cabin and views etc.
Cynthia B. Jul 2018
Nice size home with a lovely back deck. The kitchen accommodated several cooks.
claudia m. Jul 2018
Everything was perfect about this house. It had everything we needed and was very roomy. Close drive to the lake and located in a very peaceful neighborhood. Highly recommend !!
Gustavo M. Jun 2018
Wonderful time whit friends and family, beautiful space.
Josh H. May 2018
The house is tucked away in this cultasc very quiet area. The House is huge with more then enough room to relax and enjoy company. The pictures do not do any justice for this house. I will be renting it again for my family.
Joshua H. Apr 2018
There was more snow in the neighborhood then anywhere else near shaver, the slope of the property made for a perfect 30 foot slide. The house was spacious and clean, old meets new inside, very comfortable bed. I slept all day one day of our trip cause it was so quiet peaceful and safe for the family as it was away from any traffic being near the end of a culdesac. P.S. it was very budget friendly. I will agree with previous comment about firewood and add that there was no propane in tank and grill was filthy. But not a big enough reason to give a lower rating. The family and I loved every minute of our stay. Thank you
Manager response:
We are happy to see this guest found the home and area so peaceful! The owner does not provide firewood, but there is some for sale in Shaver. We refilled the propane tank and cleaned the grill up so it is ready for use! Thanks!
Lisa N. Mar 2018
This cabin was BEAUTIFUL. It is in a great location and only a few minutes away from the lake. There’s a great burger joint down the street that’s a perfect for lunch. Pricey, but worth it.
Each room had a tv, if that’s your thing, and the rooms upstairs had a VHS player! So bring your own movies. The cabin had the bare necessities, which isn’t bad, we mainly used the cabin to eat and sleep, so we’re not complaining. The hot water does go fast, so ration it if you have max guest like we did.
My only complaint was the kitchen, the appliances and dish ware seemed to not be cleaned at all. Old food and grease stains covered a majority of it. Gross, yes, but I just made sure to wash everything before we used it. EVERYTHING. I understand not everyone is as easy going, so if this is something you do not want to deal with, you may want to look elsewhere.
Manager response:
We apologize the dishes were greasy. We will have housekeeping do a thorough clean of the kitchen. Thanks!
Zaruhi A. Jan 2018
Great location. Issues were with house cleanness.
Manager response:
We apologize if any housekeeping was lacking and wish the guest had contacted us so we could have rectified the matter.
Arsen P. Jan 2018
Very clean, nice house, large deck, overall nice house. But no comfortable outside furniture, no boardgames (other places we've stayed had books and games available) and you have to bring your own firewood if planning on using the fireplace, (but thats why you've rented a cabin in the first place, so you can lay next to the fireplace in a cozy cabin).