USA California Shaver Lake Ockenden - Shaver Lake Listing #12362

Paw's Cabin - Shaver Lake, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
69 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Welcoming Cabin with WiFi, Spacious Deck, & Outdoor Seating - Dog-friendly

Escape to this family-friendly cabin near Shaver Lake and reconnect with the mountains! Up to 10 are welcome at this cozy home, where a spacious deck offers guests a chance to breathe in the pine scent and simply relax. The family dog is also welcome to join you for an additional nightly fee.

Fishermen and women flock to Shaver Lake for its abundance of Rainbow Trout and other specimens - start your angling adventure at the marina a little over four miles away. In winter, China Mountain's ski slopes are within about 21 miles of this cabin, an easy day trip.

Young visitors might be especially pleased with the bunk bed accommodations. The chef of the group can take ownership of the full kitchen here, complete with an oven, fridge, stove, and microwave. Four TVs and free WiFi ensure everybody stays connected during your trip to the mountains. A private washer and dryer make post-ski laundry less daunting.

Book this lovely Shaver Lake cabin for your family's next mountain excursion!

*All same day bookings must be made through the local office between the hours of 8:30am-5:00pm PST. For same day bookings, please call 559-841-4000

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining








Cable : Dish Network

DVD player

Wireless router



Gas grill : Private


69 reviews

Melissa A. Dec 2022
Cabin was great & had so much fun out there.
Brenda R. Nov 2022
My family and I booked a last minute cabin for our kiddos 3-day weekend. The cabin was beautiful however, there were a few things we did not like. The porch is a bit small, we did have our family dogs with us and wished they had a bit more space to roam around. The kitchen wasn't well stocked. There was a limited amount of cookware. We've stayed at other cabins that are way more equipped. A major complain was that there was no mop considering that the entire bottom of the cabin is title flooring. Upon arrival one of the kiddos spilled water and we had to use napkins to clean it up. They did have what looked like a steam Shark vacuum but nothing to use for quick clean ups. It's best to come well prepared with kitchenware and spices when booking this cabin. Other than those few inconveniences the cabin and location were great!
Manager response:
Brenda, thank you for your feedback! It was our pleasure hosting you and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We have passed your concerns on the cookware to our local manager to address with the owners. Please note we don't usually stock the homes with spices or condiments for sanitary purposes. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
S Sean H. Jul 2022
Lots of room for hanging out in the living room and on the patio. Very close to town which was convenient. Good off street parking.
Blake B. Jul 2022
Very cozy cabin with everything we needed ready to go. We had a great time!
Eleno Dias V. Jun 2022
The house was spacious and cozy , but there were few things that we were uncomfortable about it
We found alot ants everywhere in the house, and spiders also one of my kids got bite during the night on the ear , all the beds sheets were dirty and smelly the sofas are very dirty nasty and the carpets smelled orine other than that was good
Manager response:
We're sorry to read you had some unwanted company, Eleno. This will be addressed by our property manager who is also getting the furnishings and carpets cleaned. Thanks!
Pedro L. Jun 2022
Cabin was clean, organized. Was a really good experience staying at Paws Cabin.
Jennifer C. Feb 2022
We loved everything about the house other than the fact that it was pretty cold in the living room area but really warm in the master bedroom. Great stay overall! Would totally recommend! Thank you!
Cindy B. Feb 2022
This was our second time staying in Paws Cabin. The home is spacious and in a great location. We stayed in winter both times and the heater takes a bit to warm up so we were all freezing when we arrived. The house cleaners did a good job but the home is in need of a deep cleaning. The carpets and rugs smelled like urine.
Manager response:
Hi, Cindy! We're glad you enjoyed your time at Paw's Cabin and apologize for any unpleasant odors. A deep clean and carpet cleaning are scheduled. Thank you!
Lindsay P. Jan 2022
The cabin was spacious and clean and cozy and we absolutely loved the location because there was lots of open land nearby for the kids to play in the snow. We had a wonderful winter snow experience and the cabin worked great for two families and our pups.
Sammie H. Dec 2021
Went to visit over the Christmas holiday. Received over 3 ft of snow. The home comes with a snow plow subscription so we were able to get out smoothly with the help of the snow plow to clear the driveway. Currently, you can only fit one car in the garage. The other space is taken with the patio set. Otherwise, quiet location and close drive to the lake and China Peak. The pictures are accurate and all the furniture was comfortable. All the appliances were in working condition.
Juan José L. Nov 2021
Beautiful and cozy place
Roger S. Sep 2021
So much room and fully furnished too!❣
Kim H. Sep 2021
We loved the bear paw prints on our car's window. The cabin was spacious and comfortable for our family of 5. The outdoor space was great as well. We loved the quietness of the neighborhood and felt safe in taking our pups for a walk. Shaver Lake was great place to find good swimming! The beauty of the mountains in the regions was stunning!
Lisa V. Aug 2021
The house it’s self is nice but really needs to be cleaned. The bathroom mats were dirty as soon as we walked in. The floors were black and sticky. Disappointing, especially during a pandemic. You pay over $100 for a cleaning fee but I don’t think there is much cleaning going on. Ants in the kitchen and bathrooms, oh and it was SUPER hot upstairs we couldn’t sleep.
Robyn H. Aug 2021
Loved the kitchen size and the living room size.
Judy C. Jul 2021
All the rooms in this home were spacious, clean & comfy! Our family felt right at home here! We had fun playing games, cooking & just relaxing! With the recent fire we were happy to look out all the windows & see beautiful tall green trees!
This place will hold very special memories for our family.
steven i. Jul 2021
It was the perfect cabin for me n my team we had a really good time here n lake was pretty close by only thing is that there’s no ac in the house but other then that everything was great will definitely book again
Patricia L. Jun 2021
However we enjoyed our stay. The only problem was no AC and temperatures got to 89 degrees. Very hot for the kids when they fell asleep.
Michelle F. Jun 2021
We had a wonderful weekend in Shaver at Paws Cabin. This was a perfect home away from home for our two families.
Sara B. May 2021
This cabin was wonderful! It had ample space for our family of four plus dog. The kitchen was well stocked with any appliance we needed. The surrounding yard offered a nice view. The cabin was very close to shops and the lake. We loved using it as our home base for kayaking and fishing throughout the week!
Jennifer W. Apr 2021
Great space and beautiful area. Nice and quiet once neighbor left. Definitely used as a rental so you don’t feel like you are cramming into a lived in or cluttered home. King bed unfortunately is the only descent mattress. None of the bunk beds had fitted sheets on them but everything was well cleaned. Nice patio furniture and seating areas. Room in garage. Kitchen faucet leak that was not easy to report and the multiple fix attempts failed so it ran almost non stop. Dryer sounds like a jet engine. Could use instruction for trash. Only one small container in garage and large receptacles at community entrance is locked...sooo, ya. Pet friendly and free of odor. In great community. Looks nicer in person than in Google maps street view.
Denise F. Apr 2021
We always rent in East Village but decided to try a newer cabin this last time. This place was perfect! The layout is so open with tons of light. The kids had the upstairs bunk beds and we had the bedroom downstairs. The decor was simple and tasteful. I've never seen a vacation rental with shower grout that clean. Both bathrooms were so clean. The couch was comfortable. The beds were comfortable. The kitchen was spacious and had everything we needed. There was snow out back for the kids to build a snowman. The deck was a nice size. It would be nice to have a table and chairs out there but I'm guessing they bring one out when the weather gets nicer. This was our favorite vacasa cabin rental!
Bernadette N. Mar 2021
We pulled up and had to shovel snow to reach the key and entrance of the garage. The garage was blocked by 4ft of snow it took us 3 hours to clear! Old trash was also under all the snow, we dug it up clearing the driveway. Two adults and 4 kids, tired, cold and hungry we finally got in the house. Washer and dryer not functional, burnt clothes and sounded like a jack hammer (not joking). Washer was stuck in a fill cycle and did not spin water out of the clothes!
The BBQ pit also should not be listed as an amenity, it was covered in 5ft of snow. The fire place was also unusable, the wood was soaking wet under a ton of snow and I should mention the house was freezing cold with no way to turn on a heater. We planned to use all of these things and we feel ripped off not to mention we shoveled snow for 3 hours before even getting into the house. 2 stars because I don’t want someone to book thinking it has the amenities listed, I booked this house specifically because of these things.
Pet hair in the beds, dirty coffee maker with used grounds, old food on baking trays.... ugh I could keep going. Such a bummer, it could have been really great.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Bernadette. We’re sorry to hear that the home was in this condition upon your arrival - please know that this is not the regular standard for our properties. We attempt to be as transparent with our listings as possible and provide accurate and current photos, amenities lists, and descriptions so guests can make an informed choice about making the right decision for their needs! Regrettably, due to unexpectedly harsh weather conditions, the home was difficult to access and the exterior amenities were unusable. The comfort of our guests is of utmost priority, and we apologize that this was not your experience during your stay. We thank you for promptly calling us about the cleanliness and maintenance issues, and for giving our local staff the opportunity to assist in a resolution. We hope the refund you received was a necessary step towards making things right, and we hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future.
Samantha P. Feb 2021
The house was well stocked with all the kitchen essentials you would need to cook and bake for your family. The house was spacious and comfortable. A nice getaway with the kids and dog.
Chris B. Feb 2021
The only thing that we didn’t like was the the thermostat would not go over 68 degrees plus thermostat was locked with a security code so there was no adjustment what so ever. Every 8 hours it would shut the heater off. So the heater shut off in the middle of the night in freezing temps and unless you got up to turn it back on you would freeze all night. Other then heating issues it’s a nice place to stay and there was plenty of snow.
Rogelio V. Dec 2020
Everything was so cozy and welcoming. Very clean and accommodating.
Michael C. Nov 2020
Paw's Cabin was perfect for our getaway. The cabin was clean and exactly what we expected. What we did not expect was a fully stocked kitchen with pots, pans, and spices, along with coloring books, games, and wood.
We hope to be back soon and be able to stay here.
George E. Aug 2020
The couch was amazing!!! And the hardwood floors are beautiful.
Amber D. Jul 2020
Perfect for our family and dogs!
Marcus R. Jul 2020
Love the space the location and how beautiful this home was had a great time perfect place to family
Ralph I. Mar 2020
Nice cabin in a nice quiet place. Has it all!
Beth S. Feb 2020
We enjoyed our stay very much. Located in a great spot near Shaver Lake but providing a sense of privacy and calm. Clean cabin and perfect for 2 or a family. This is our second time here and we will definitely come again.
Molly G. Feb 2020
Well equipped, great neighborhood, clean, plenty of space, we had a great time!
Taylor H. May 2019
I really dont think I could've asked for a better stay me and my fiance stayed for 3 nights and ended up paying extra for late check out would definitely stay here again
Trina Y. May 2019
The place was spacious and clean. Had almost everything we needed. The outside table was huge and in the garage. We had to move it to the back deck. Other than that, everything was great.
Jasmin L. Apr 2019
It was cozy, clean and the view was wonderful 😊😍
Evelyn G. Mar 2019
Our 2nd time booking this rental and loved it! Very roomy and perfect location for playing.
William J. Jan 2019
Beautiful home, convenient location
Lindsey C. Dec 2018
Our stay was lovely! The cabin was clean and well taken care of! We can’t wait for our next stay at Paw’s cabin!
Madison C. Dec 2018
We had an amazing stay at Paw’s Cabin! We feel so lucky to have been able to experience a weekend FULL of snow the first weekend of December . It was a beautiful view to wake up to.. we can’t wait to return .
David C. Jul 2018
Nice home, location, well equipped. Only downside dishwasher did not work, and 1 larger burner on stove did not work.
Manager response:
We inspected the dishwasher and stove after receiving this review and found both in good working order. Guests are always welcome to call for assistance with any appliances or amenities they need help with during their stay. Thank you!
Delyna M. Jun 2018
House was clean and well stocked with everything we needed. AC would have been great for our summer trip. It was hot during the day
Shane D. Jun 2018
The way the cabin was set up felt very nice an homey like 😁 can't wait tell our next stay
Benjamin W. Jun 2018
Well kept home with just about everything you need (minus the food) for a great get away. No complaints from us, but I would bring an extra roll of TP with you ... Just in case.

This home exceeded our expectations. ... Thank you

Jason H. Jun 2018
Well the whole experience was great. Home was clean and kitchen was well stock on cooking supplies. Everything worked out great.
Richard G. May 2018
This is my family’s first time renting a cabin/house and it was the best Memorial Day weekend we’ve ever had. The rental had exceeded my expectations and my family and I will definitely do it again. I give this place 100 stars.
Julia P. May 2018
The Cabin is beautiful and set with full amenities! It made my weekend stress free which is exactly what I was looking for! Thank you!
Donna R. Mar 2018
This home was so wonderful, we extended our stay. Perfect for our 7 adults, 2 small children and our family labradoodle dog! Enjoyed the large living room, fireplace, decking outdoors, and especially liked the glass windows from floor to ceiling to see the beauty of the outdoors while still indoors! We visited shortly after a snow storm so everything was white, Beautiful . All the amenities were great! Plenty of room to sled in the backyard for the kids and make snowmen too. This home is located in Ockenden Ranch, a nice community to take morning and evening walks in also.
Evelyn G. Mar 2018
Our first family trip and had the perfect home for it! House had everything you need for a weekend getaway. Very clean and kid friendly. Vacasa was available for all our needs and questions and quick to respond, i loved that! Will definitely book through vacasa again!
Candace D. Jan 2018
We booked this cabin for our daughter's 8th birthday. It snowed the day we arrived and was absolutely beautiful the entire time we were there. The kids thoroughly enjoyed the snowy surroundings during the day and their bunk beds at night. The cabin is in a perfect location within a quiet neighborhood. It was clean, spacious, and stocked with everything we needed. We will definitely be staying here again.
Kelly H. Jan 2018
Paws Cabin was a great place to stay with wonderful friends. While letting the kids play on the back deck and in the yard we were able to relax on the huge couch while enjoying the fireplace. We even did a little sledding in the back yard! Couldn’t have asked for a better location close to town and Shaver Lake Pizza, yum! We can’t wait to come back.
Carolyne S. Jan 2018
New Years in Shaver Lake has been a tradition since 2009. My mom started the tradition and she wanted us to continue it even after she passed. My kids love the snow. This year there wasn’t any snow, but my kids love Shaver so much we didn’t mind! We love Shaver. Vacasa provided us with a great rental!
Sandra V. Dec 2017
We really enjoyed this big spacious cabin. The cabin was very well taken care of & very clean. Kids also enjoyed the game boards that were in the cabin. The neighborhood was very peaceful. Great place to stay with your family to relax & enjoy each other’s company. Would definitely stay here again.
Melody . Mar 2017
Greatest experience. Will book again!