USA California Shaver Lake Ockenden - Shaver Lake Listing #13451

Forest Falls - Shaver Lake, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
25 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed, 2 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms 3.5 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Welcoming Mountain View Home w/Large Deck, Easy Lake Access, Wood Stove

Savor the gorgeous wooded landscapes of Shaver Lake at this three-bedroom home, an inviting mountain view retreat with an expansive back deck, shuffleboard, and a wonderful location for skiing, boating, hiking, and more!

This alpine home sits among the evergreens in Ockenden, a quiet neighborhood one mile south of the village of Shaver Lake. Take out your kayaks and canoes on Shaver Lake two miles north, spend sunny summer days hiking around Huntington Lake 17 miles north, and pass the sparkling winter months on the bowls and trails of China Peak Mountain Resort 20 miles northeast.

Musick Falls is located just below the cabin and is within walking distance. Guests can enjoy the sounds of Musick Falls while sitting on the deck. During winter months, there's a great sledding area that starts in front of the cabin and ends up behind cabin.

Whether you're a family of skiers or a group of good friends seeking summer adventure, you'll love coming home to the warm, lofty living space. Grab a toasty pair of socks from the private washer/dryer, take a seat on one of the plush sofas, and choose something fun to watch on the wall-mounted flatscreen TV.

Read the sports section at the breakfast bar each morning, and fire up the stainless steel gas range to prepare meals as a family. Linger around the dining room table with your loved ones, log onto the free WiFi to make plans for the day ahead, and hop in the car to spend the morning out on Shaver Lake. Back at the house, you can soak in the sunshine on the large back deck, sip cocktails as the sun illuminates the hills, and head inside for an evening nine-ball tournament on the private shuffleboard table.

Ski, hike, and swim to your heart's content - discover some of California's most beautiful scenery at this Shaver Lake home! A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: Street parking is available - the front edge of the driveway should be open. No parking permits are needed.

Other permit number: EXEMPT

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.



Jetted tub


Children's games

High chair

Common areas

Game room



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining






Mountain View




Cable : Dish Network

DVD library

DVD player

VHS library

Wireless router

Netflix streaming


Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private


25 reviews

Lindsey P. Aug 2021
We loved it there! The rooms are spread out enough to ensure quiet and privacy but close enough to still hear your children arguing 😉 so roomy and had all the essentials one would need. It was clean, cozy, and had magnificent views. Will definitely be back to this gem.
Patricia G. May 2021
My family and I stayed at this cabin this past weekend. The first level was great spacious and clean although the living room furniture seemed a little dated. We did have some trouble trying to just get the cable going. Upstairs rooms also seemed a little dated and dusty, downstairs pool table was not sturdy but I did see prior reviews about that. Overall it was a nice house with a great view, maybe it just needs to be updated a tiny bit more as far as linens and sofa beds.
Manager response:
Hi, Patricia! We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review with us. The furniture is a little dated but still in good shape. Unfortunately, the pool table is the exception and will be removed shortly due to being broken. The property manager will be checking the cable to ensure it is working properly. Thank you!
William K. Mar 2021
Pros: Lovely neighborhood, easy hike/walk to Musick Falls behind property, spacious home, great floor plan for families or couples, sleds for use in the garage, fun sled run beside the house, linens and towels provided, board games, legos, Lincoln logs for the kiddos, kitchen well stocked with dishes, pots, pans, coffee pot, wine glasses, etc...
Cons: House is in need of TLC, gutter or roof piece hanging from roof in two places, floors were not swept well, area rugs were dirty, large black ants in kitchen, one upstairs bedroom and master bathroom, several spiders throughout the house, thick dust behind headboards in all bedrooms, pool table, but NO pool balls or pool cues, management said they'd bring some, but never did. This home has so much potential, but unfortunately it's been neglected. The entire group was disappointed.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, William. We apologize for the service and communication issues impacting your visit. We are continuing to adapt and adjust our efforts to best meet the needs of our guests. We hope to host you for a great vacation in the future.
Karen G. Aug 2020
Very nice place great deck with an awesome view sweet game room close to town and lake would rent again for sure
C F. Aug 2020
The house is nice. There are many places to sleep, but the house is really hot in July. NO AIR CONDITIONING. (Apparently there's one in the house, but you aren't allowed to use it.) So it's really hot. Early mornings and late nights are GREAT, It's just the main part of the day and into the evening that is challenging. The upper rooms could really use some ceiling fans to help circulate any air. It could use some tvs upstairs in bedrooms. There IS a very loud whole house fan, that helps draw some air in....for late at night... But one of our Adult family has kids and had to shut the door for them to sleep. That eliminated any of the outside air coming through - so even in the night they were hot. If you feel comfortable enough to allow the doors to stay open downstairs, there is a late night cool, but if you have to shut the doors - once again - HOT.

HERE ARE SOME SUGGESTIONS: clean the oven. It's nasty inside. And the microwave came on, but doesn't really work. Tried to heat up some tea and after 6 minutes - no heat. DK why. In the kitchen, there were NO open cabinets to put your stuff in. They supplied so many things, but there was not a place for your food, or utensils, or spices, or towels etc... There should be at least 2 cabinets where you can temporarily put your things. (The skillets need changing- they are scratched up.)
It is a pretty house. Easy to get into. Clean. Room for 10, except for dining together. (The table seats 6) Comfortable beds! 3 1/2 baths. Many games in the bookshelf. The view is nice. The waterfall below is a great little hike (beware of loose dirt).

We DID SEE a mt. lion/bobcat (?) crossing our backyard area.
That was a treat! (Glad I didn't see it BEFORE we went hiking)

If you're gone all day into the evening - you will avoid the heat - and you'll enjoy this place. There's plenty of nice white towels in each bathroom area. There is a pool table (but it seems like it's going to fall down - the base is not stable), a large tv and a dartboard (with no darts - which I didn't understand) downstairs, with patio doors overlooking the beautiful back area.

If only it had an air conditioner - we probably would stay again
CF July 2020
Manager response:
Hi, C! Your input is so important to us, and we appreciate you sharing it with us. We are discussing the microwave and skillets with the owner, and housekeeping will do a deep clean of the oven. Thank you so much!
Jeanne M. Jul 2020
6 adults and 6 children were very comfortable during our stay. Plenty of space to either gather together or get some alone time. Not fancy - but so comfortable! We spent days at the lake and cooked every meal at the house. It had everything we needed.
Aimee V. Jun 2020
House is in a great location and a quiet neighborhood. However, we had issues with mice (even saw it run through the kitchen). Mouse poop in every drawer, cabinet and countertop in the kitchen so we washed everything we used before using it. We tried calling the number on the refrigerator and the app numerous times and never got through (on hold for over 30 minutes). We should have packed extra things too like trash bags and bath towels. House needs a deep clean and the carpets cleaned.
Manager response:
Hello Aimee, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologize for the issues with the mice as they are very common in the mountains. Our local team has deep cleaned the home and addressed the mice issue. We apologize for the inconvenience and do hope we can host you again in the future.
Carolina G. Jun 2020
I love that the house felt so homey. The house was fully stocked with blankets extra pillows enough towels, One of my favorite things was going out on the balcony to my room and looking up at all those beautiful stars and laying in bed with the screen door opened and listening to waterfall from the back yard! We absolutely loved it there we didn't wanna leave, we will definitely be coming back I recommend this beautiful home to anyone 😉
Mirna M. Jan 2020
This home comfortably accommodated the 12 of us. Plenty of room for everyone, the kitchen set up was great, some of the pans needed replacement but still usable. Loved it has 3 and 1/2 baths.
David B. Oct 2019
The home was very roomy and accommodated 12 of us very well. The deck on the back side of the house was the place to be as the view is beautiful. The home is showing it’s age in a few places but we would recommend this home.
Ventura G. Oct 2019
I Loved how much room it had for my group of family. The waterfall and creek nearby was awesome! You can hear it from the deck, which was relaxing. I would definitely rent this cabin again 😘
Janeth H. Jul 2019
Fue un exelente paseo junto a mi familia les agradecemos de todo corazon la confianza
Solo falto el aire acondicionado y una lista de marquets y lugares cercanos para visitar pero fue una experiencia muy grata mi familia y yo les agradecemos todo. 🙂🙂☺☺
CHERYL O. Jul 2019
The cabin fit us all (6 adults & 6 kids). The kids had a blast going down to the falls and playing near the creek; you really can hear the falls from the porch!
Trish H. Feb 2019
We really felt right at home in this house. There was plenty of room for our group, and the scenery was beautiful.
Evelina A. Dec 2018
Very nice location.
Teresa C. Oct 2018
Our family enjoyed the pool table, great addition to our vacation. We loved having breakfast out on the deck with plenty of seating for everyone.
Giles M. Jul 2018
Overall the cabin was a real treat for our extended family vacation. We had 6 Adults and 6 children (12-17 years old) and there was PLENTY of room. The pool table was great and the back patio was ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS. We had dinner each night on the deck with seating for all 12 of us overlooking the Forrest. The sound of waterfalls in the background was also very nice each early morning off the Master bedroom and deck. The kitchen was nice and roomy for 3-4 people to move around in and prepare meals. The only thing that was a bit dissapointing is that originally when we booked the cabin it was shown as having air conditioning, as this is something I always look for when booking a cabin in the Summer months. However, this was not the case. I went to recheck the website to see if I missed something, and after we had booked our stay it had been removed? Maybe from an earlier guest comment that stayed just before our family and noticed the same thing. Due to the warmer weather this last weekend (mid 80’s in Shaver) It was fairly warm in the upstairs rooms that made it somewhat difficult to sleep until it cooled off a bit later in the evening (around 11:30 pm). However, this is more of me nit-picking as this is the nicest, cleanest cabin we have stayed at in years. The privacy was as advertised and the distance to the lake was a 7 minute drive. Thank You for the experience in this beautiful cabin.
Samuel H. Jun 2018
The deck was great and the sound of the falls so soothing. We enjoyed our time at Shaver.

Note that we called vacasa thee days to fix a toilet that we found brocken upon arrival. Very disappointed they said they would come on first call to fix but never showed up. The other two days we called they just us placed on hold. Thankful we had other toilets to use but when renting a house one expects all the toilets to work. Also, this Home is advertised as having Air Conditioning. It only has a whole house fan. This was fine since we were at the lake during the heat of the day and there were cool summer nights. The listing needs to be changed. Thank you.
Manager response:
The toilets have been fixed, and we have updated our listing to accurately reflect the cooling system. We apologize for these issues.
Jazzmen R. Apr 2018
We had a magical time staying at the great cabin! It had everything we needed and it’s so spacious. We explored all of the gorgeous waterfalls and fell even more in love with our place! We plan to go back very soon!
Fadi B. Mar 2018
very nice home feels comfy and the view is amazing.
Maria V. Mar 2018
We had everything that we needed. It was very tidy. Very comfortable, just like home.
Gina R. Jan 2018
Overall had a great time.