USA Maryland Deep Creek Lake Swanton Listing #15538

Lazy Bear Lodge - Swanton, MD

Take a Virtual Tour
25 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 2 Queen Bed, 6 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Cozy Cabin with Hot Tub, Lake Access, Screened Porch, & Firepit

Please note: There is a 13 night limit on reservations per local regulations. Reservations over 13 nights are prohibited and cannot be honored.

Enjoy a little log cabin luxury at this three-bedroom home located in Sky Valley, Deep Creek Lake, Maryland. It is nestled on a beautifully wooded lot in the Appalachian Mountains of Western Maryland and features a private hot tub, additional loft bedroom, gas fireplace, full kitchen, and a furnished porch.

In warm weather, bring your clubs to challenge the nine-hole championship course of the Thousand Acres Golf Club, just a half-mile from your rental. This home is also close to Deep Creek Lake, Maryland's largest man-made lake, for boating, fishing, and hiking.

With room for up to 10 guests, this cabin offers free WiFi, air hockey, and an outdoor firepit. Take in the fresh air out on the screened-in porch, or curl up in front of the gas fireplace on cold winter nights.

Escape to the Appalachian Mountains of Western Maryland and make the Lazy Bear Lodge the perfect place for your family vacation or weekend getaway. Place your reservation today!

4WD/traction is required in winter.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Internet : Comcast


Cable : Comcast

DVD library

DVD player

VHS library

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

Sound dock



Nearby activities & attractions

Golf on-site

Downhill Skiing



Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games

Basketball court : Shared

Foosball table


Gas grill : Private




25 reviews

Katherine B. Aug 2022
Adults and kids had fun playing games, relaxing in the hot tub, swimming in the lake, sharing meals on the screened porch and reconnecting w family.
Emily A. Jul 2022
Variety of spaces for hanging out, entertainment, spreading out, and sleeping/relaxing.
Diane K. Feb 2022
My family gathered to celebrate my daughter’s 30th birthday. We went snow tubing, and had a great time! The Lazy Bear cabin’s decor gave a welcoming, comfortable atmosphere. The gas fireplace and great room are a cozy space where we relaxed and enjoyed the warmth, comfortable furniture and thoughtfully prepared atmosphere. Everything was clean and ready for us when we arrived. The hot tub was a great indulgence during a cold winter weekend. I had a question, and the Vacasa management answered in 20 minutes. Head’s up to the “no winter maintenance/ 4-wheel drive,” as one vehicle in our group had some trouble leaving due to snow squalls, and the property’s walkways were not cleared of snow and ice as stated in the property description. With the proper vehicles and footwear, property access was no problem.
Jane S. Jan 2022
We had a good time and the house had plenty of space. I felt that it could have been a little cleaner (ceiling fans / silver ware / drawers/ bathroom exhaust fan). The large coffee pot didn't work and over-flowed and needs replaced. Light bulbs out all over the house which was frustrating. Nice house though, and we enjoyed our time.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Jane. We are happy to hear that you and your family had a good time! We apologize for any areas of the home that you felt could have been cleaned better. We are happy to report that our team has since reorganized and cleaned the silverware drawer. We also had the ceiling fans and exhaust fans cleaned. The coffee pot was inspected and tested by our local maintenance tech. It was reported to be working properly. We apologize for any issues you had with it! We'll be sure to have all the burnt-out lightbulbs replaced as well. Thank you for staying with us at the Lazy Bear Lodge!
Randy B. Oct 2021
Great location close to Deep Creek Lake. We enjoyed the large screened porch and the comfy family room.
Barbara S. Aug 2021
We loved the peacefulness of the area. The home was very accommodating. Have no complaints other than the screened in porch that was lovely and needs a deep cleaning. Also, some new cookware would be nice and added cooking utensils are needed. It really is a nice place to stay and I would do it again.
Jennifer M. Aug 2021
The house was nice. The upstairs fan lights did not work.
Daria B. Jul 2021
Very nice screened-in porch and lots of cooking stuff in the kitchen. Would like to stay again.
John H. Jun 2021
Beautiful location, beds & furniture was uncomfortable, cobwebs on some of the lamps.
Manager response:
“Thank you for your recent stay with us at Vacasa. Congratulations on the 30th anniversary. We apologize for the inconvenience of the furnishings and cobwebs. We will let housekeeping know to take care of the cobwebs. Thank you for letting us know about the dock. We would love to host you and your family again”.
Andrew W. Apr 2021
The cabin was secluded and just far enough out to feel like we were alone. We enjoyed the firepit, hot tub, and foosball table (Unexpectedly). Would certainly recommend booking!
Sandy U. Dec 2020
We very much enjoyed our visit at this cabin however would suggest some salt for the sidewalks and steps as they were trecherous! Also front door deadbolt was locked. Could be dangerous in case if fire. Overall very nice though.
Laura P. Nov 2020
This lodge was wonderful. Nice and cozy. Very clean, with fresh towels everywhere. The beds were also super comfortable. They had plenty of dishes, pots and pans. Be prepared to bring your own condiments. The hot tub was great. It got pretty cloudy the 2nd day of our trip, however we made a call and they responded within a few hours and balanced the chemicals. Wish the fireplace remote worked, and the fan by the fireplace. It was nice to use, however warms up very quickly and gets tiring getting up and down to manually turn on and off. The cabin was laid out well and there was tons of room. Wish we could have used the grill, but there was no propane. We made due with the stove. Would definitely recommend this place to others and would revisit.
Enric L. Sep 2020
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lazy Bear! We are a family of six and while we did plan to enjoy some of what Deep Creek offers, we also intended to spend a lot of time at the house, and this did not disappoint. My kids loved the fooseball tables and games... and having Netflix and Disney+ was awesome. We also brought all our bikes. While the hills were challenging, from the 12 year old to the 4 year old they loved riding on the gravel roads. Times around the fire pit and in the hot tub were really great also. Highly recommended!

Jacquelyn D. Sep 2020
We loved this home. The house is really spread out so it was nice when everyone wanted to do their own thing and be spaced out. The one complaint amongst everyone was that the house needs a good deep cleaning. Any house rented to the public should be well-cleaned, but especially during a pandemic. The blinds were extremely dusty and the walls could use a good scrub. We also noticed cigarette butts on the screened-in porch, and those who used the hot tub said they felt slimy in it. Both families own hot tubs so know what to expect when using one. We all agreed we would stay at this house again, but it would be nice to return and not see so much dust and grime there.
Michael B. Aug 2020
This is such a cool design, the layout worked great for our family of 8. Loved having the gas grill and dinners on screened in porch. Loved the hot tub and BIG smart TV. Quiet neighborhood with hilly gravel roads, easy access to neighborhood beach and launch piers, as well as DCL Park beach, stables, hiking trails, Wisp roller coaster and Funland. Rock sliding at Upper Swallow Falls was fun! Please be ready to bring own TP, paper and dish towels, dish, laundry, bath soap if staying more than a weekend, and all condiments even S&P.
Stephanie A. Dec 2019
We had a good time for the holiday. The heat/thermostat made the house very cold. We weren’t able to use the grill and because the weather was wet the wood and beaches prevented us from lighting a good fire. We were disappointed that we couldn’t use the hot tub and other things we went there to use. Maybe we need to try a winter getaway when everything is accessible.
Mark B. Jun 2019
The home matched the reviews. Enjoyed our stay. Screened Porch and hot tub were big hits.
Tonya J. Mar 2019
Gave it a 5 stars. Overall we loved it and everything we expected. Very cozy, comfortable, plenty of room and space. Few suggestions...more then one dish rag / towel for kitchen. Available bag of salt for winter months for steps. Hooks or somewhere outside to hang towels etc for hot tub use. Little disappointed the fireplace in main living room didn't work, but not a deal breaker, would definitely stay here again!!!
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your suggestions and have added two dish rags and salt for the steps. The fireplace in the upstairs living room is in good working order. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait to host you again in the future!
April S. Oct 2018
After a long hike we found the beds to very comfortable and clean! The place was spacious and tidy! It was great for cooking indoors, grilling outdoors, and roasting marshmallows in the fire pit. We also enjoyed the board games in the entertainment area, as well as the enclosed porch for dining outside(away from bugs at last!).The jacuzzi is very modern and well kept, we loved it!
Also, the towel/ tolietries amenitites were a nice touch! Would stay here again!
Juan P. Aug 2018
This cabin was so great. We could enjoy the campfire at the firepit area. There are eating space outside with net and so that we can enjoy BBQ outside without any insect. That's an awesome idea!
Just one thing to a next customer... I think we need long lighter or something to start the grill so you may have to bring it if you plan BBQ here.
Yolande H. Aug 2018
Comfortable place for a family, great hot tub and games!
Tyler P. Aug 2018
I gave this rental 5 stars overall as it was a very nice property. There are 3 twin beds in a bunk room downstairs next to a room with a single queen. Upstairs is a single bedroom with a queen in it. The other three twin beds are located upstairs in the loft area. The only possible issue is if you have people that have issue going up and down stairs. There is a single bath on each level.

There were three small issue we had while there. The hot tub was slight dirty along the back walls with some scum buildup. It was on the back half of the tub and you could not see it until the cover was completely removed, they do have the tub professionally cleaned however. It also required some extra water to be added before use as water was just barely making it into the skimmer. We also were not provided the code to unlock the hot tub, I had to call and get it. The final issue was the coffee pot. There is a Kuerig machine on the counter and a normal coffee maker was found under the sink. The pot itself had not been cleaned and still had coffee in it. I checked the cleanliness of the rest of the coffee maker and it looked good.

But overall, even with those small issues, it was a very nice place we all gladly would return to it.
Manager response:
The code for the hot tub is posted on the fridge, and we do apologize it wasn't perfectly ready for these guests. We have followed-up with housekeeping regarding the coffee pot. Thank you!