USA Oregon Northern Oregon Coast Rockaway Beach Listing #1615

Sand Castle Villa - Rockaway Beach, OR

77 reviews
Max. occupancy: 16 4 King Bed, 2 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 2 Sofa Bed 6 bedrooms 6 bathrooms 2 dog max  (45 lb weight limit) 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Spacious, Dog-Friendly, Oceanfront Home w/ a Patio & Private Hot Tub

The perfect beach house for a great Oregon Coast getaway: visit this Rockaway Beach vacation rental and experience amazing ocean views, easy access to an adorable Oregon Coast town, and all the comforts of home - just a little bit bigger!

Nestled just a few minutes north of downtown Rockaway Beach, and only a hop, skip, and a jump to the beach from your back door, this lovely abode offers amazing access to all things beach - and a few other gems of the area, like recreation centers and state parks. Or, take a walk into town and have breakfast at the Cow Belle Cafe or dinner at the Sand Dollar.

This is a unique rental: set up similar to a duplex, this home is connected via a door through the two living rooms. You can rent this home in its entirety to house as many as sixteen people, or rent a half of the home as its own unit (visit our pages for Sand Castle 1 and Sand Castle 2 for separate booking details).

With cute floral patterns and amazing natural light from all the windows, you'll feel like you live in a house of glass, and that the beach is in your living room with you. The view is best from the main living space; with an open floor plan, your guests will be able to be social, or just be together while doing their own thing. Sit at the dining room table set for six and gaze out the window. Snuggle into the plush couch near the fireplace, beautifully accented by marble.

The kitchen is ready for your deft cooking hand: with amazing counter space, an island for eating or prepping, and sleek white appliances, you'll have enough space to make every meal at home during your stay, or store enough snacks (wine and cheese, perhaps?) to keep you satiated through the night.

This six bedroom, six bathroom Rockaway Beach vacation rental has plenty of space for all guests: four king beds and eight twins means everyone will sleep in an actual room - no one on the couch! And since there are six full bathrooms, there will be no fighting over morning showers! Dogs are welcome too, for a small nightly fee.

This amazing home has fantastic amenities including a private hot tub, cable on the flat screen TVs, DVDs, WiFi for personal Netflix viewing or weather-checking, a garage (one for each unit), and a washer/dryer combo for mid-vacation laundry days.

And what will you do with the rest of those days, with your own stretch of beach right outside your back door? Sand castle contests? Long beach runs? Watch for storms, or whales, or sunsets? Or perhaps you could take a little road trip north to Manhattan Beach State Park for a hike, or visit Lake Lytle for some lakeside fun. Wander around Rockaway Beach's galleries and local eateries, or simply stay home and enjoy some quality loafing time. However you choose to spend your Oregon Coast getaway, this Rockaway Beach abode will make your beach vacation one of sheer luxury.

City/town permit number: 3096

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Ocean view


Water view


Beach access

Mountain view


Internet : Charter



DVD player

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games




77 reviews

Maribel S. Aug 2022
This home fit our whole family of 8 adults and 8 children comfortably. The easy access to the beach made it incredibly easy to get beach time for the kiddos. The path was easy to climb and the beach was not crowded.
Angie F. Jun 2022
We were pleasantly surprised at how wonderful this home was. We rented both units and were able to open it up for our whole family to spend time together. Very clean and accommodating.
Stephanie B. May 2022
Excellent setup for two families traveling together
Sharon W. Mar 2022
This house was perfect for our 14 people. With each having their own bathrooms and the king beds for all of the adults was icing on the cake. The beach access was close. Having two living rooms and two kitchens were a bonus. I would recommend anyone that wants to have a fabulous reunion with family members.
Dwayne M. Jan 2022
We spent a week here with 2 families & some friends (11 people, all adults). The combo of having 2 areas was good - 2 kitchens, TV's, tables (for eating, board games, etc.) worked very well. Having 6 bedrooms and 6 baths was a big plus, as was the configuration of a couple of the rooms with "adult sized" bunk beds so people could share a room without sharing a bed. We had a couple of minor issues (one of the stoves stopped working mid-way through the week, the hot tub was more of a warm tub), but the Vacasa staff was responsive to everything we brought up. We loved being able to walk out the back of the units down onto the beach (via some rock steps), and really appreciated the view - especially from the 2nd floor, which was great for people watching, seeing the sunset, and looking at the glorious ocean view. The units were very clean and tidy and we enjoyed our time at Sand Castle Villa.
Michael G. Sep 2021
Beautiful house on our favorite beach.
Elizabeth W. Jul 2021
My bed was excellent, but the bedside table was only so-so. There were NO drawers in my room. None at all.
The rest of the family said their beds were excellent, too.
Kitchen was best stocked of any we have ever stayed in, and very clean.
I only wish there were some way to keep the birds from leaving deposits on the windows.

PAT W. Jul 2021
The view from the living area was awesome
Keenan R. Jun 2021
If we had not rented both sides, we would not have had a full complement of appliances (several did not work). Several blinds were broken so you get the morning sun in your eyes. We called, they promised to send someone out to fix the blinds and no one came.

It is a beautiful location and has easy access to the beach. For that it gets 3 stars instead of 1 star.
Joyce S. May 2021
The ocean views were spectacular. Access to the beach was very easy. As we rented both condos, it was nice to have two living areas. We used one for eating and the other for playing games. Also there were many other beaches to explore near by.
Carrie C. Apr 2021
Gorgeous view, great location, decent furnishings, home mostly well kept...but broken washer and dryer, gobs of dog hair in livingroom and balcony, no toaster, broken fireplace on the other side (rented whole thing), a couple of the beds not the best. Stocked pretty well with necessities and kitchen items. Even some toys. Hot tub was nice. All the camp chairs were one one side, wouldn't have had any if only rented the one side. ZERO local support. Binder on coffee table sounded like help was just a quick call away but phone number didn't work. Called Vacasa and they took note but could do nothing apparently.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Carrie. We are so glad you enjoyed this home's beautiful views but are so sorry for the details that were amiss. We apologize for the issues that negatively impacted your stay. It is always our goal for our guests to be able to use everything the home has to offer. We hope that the refund that you were given has helped with some resolution for the issue you experienced. Thank you for your feedback and we hope we have the opportunity to impress you in the future.
Marcia P. Aug 2020
Loved the hot tub. Loved the view from the beach house. Loved that it was steps from the beach. Loved all the beach toys in the garage.
Richard G. Jul 2020
We had 8 adults and 6 kids and we were all able to enjoy ourselves. We really were right down on the beach, just steps from the sand, but the beach access does not work for anyone who could not climb down over the rocks.
Marvin C. Jul 2020
Loved how close it was to the ocean and the view was outstanding. There was plenty of room for everybody and loved all the bathrooms.
Gerald M. Nov 2019
Loved my stay at the Sand Castle Villa. This is the fourth time in two years that my group has rented this property. It is perfect in almost every way for our needs. However, this last stay was a bit annoying in that one of the dishwashers was broken, the other didn't wash very well, the microwave is broken, most of the blinds in the basement rooms have no handle to operate them, etc.
Great property, but it's in need of some loving upkeep.
Manager response:
We are happy you enjoy this house and return year after year! The manager has addressed these issues. We hope you will continue to stay!
Angie W. Sep 2019
This was an awesome trip spent in the Vacasa beach house. Having the ocean right out the screen door was amazing. Very cute setup on the house as well.
Sofia G. Sep 2019
The duplex has everything described on the website. The only thing I would love to see next time we go is a grill to bbq, other than that it was perfect for our weekend.
Rebecca K. Jul 2019
Great location in Rockaway beach. Nice hottub on deck. This is a duplex with door access between both side on 2nd level where kitchen is. There is 1 big bedroom on top with its own bathroom (and laundry in that bathroom) per each side of duplex. Downstairs, there is another King bed with its own bathroom, and a room with four beds (2 bunk bed sets). This is per duplex. Altogether it sleeps 16. Few details... there are rock steps down to beach. Not ideal for older unfit folks but can walk two houses south to find an easier beach access. Kitchen well stocked. It even had a food processor!
Shelley C. Jun 2019
Loved how it was steps to the beach.
Lora J. Jun 2019
Everything was there clean towels and linens, everything was clean and great
Javed M. May 2019
Very spacious with great view. It’s right on the beach.
Lynn H. Feb 2019
I rented both units for a family get together to celebrate my dad‘s 80th birthday party. We had 11 adults and three children total. It was awesome having six bedrooms and six bathrooms and enough beds for everyone and no one was fighting over a bathroom in the morning. Cooking for meals was very convenient as each kitchen had a double oven. Although the dining room and living room space is a little tight for 14 it worked out great having two separate kitchens. We used one kitchen for meal prep and the other kitchen to serve. Also loved the fact that there is a king bedroom on the main floors, Same level as the kitchen and dining room. This made it very convenient to get my older parents up the stairs only one time, And then they had a main bedroom and walk in shower on the same level as kitchen and dining rooms.
Beach front was right outside the door.
Loved the units. Would definitely suggest renting both units since it is a shared patio space. We will definitely be back.
Brian R. Dec 2018
Home is right on the beach, with cool steps right down to the sand. View is gorgeous. Great for family reunions.
Dorald S. Dec 2018
There were nine of us there -- old friends getting together to rehash backpacking adventures. This is a beautiful house and worked very well for us. Lots of room for sleeping and for hanging out. The view is wonderful -- right on the beach.
Michelle V. Oct 2018
Very spacious home with bathrooms for everyone. We had a wonderful time with family from California. The proximity to the beach can't be beat. Having 2 kitchens was a real bonus. The living room was a little tight for everyone on either side when we all wanted to watch TV together. We were hoping to book the same house for the same time next year, but were sad to discover that the prices increased by 50 percent compared to what we paid this year. Looks like we will be staying elsewhere next year. That being said, we made some great memories this year.
A few things to consider: We would recommend storing the garbage cans IN the garage since the local wildlife dumped the cans over twice while we were there.
The bunch beds are very squeaky when you roll over in bed.
A couple of the window coverings downstairs are non-functional.
Dixie D. Oct 2018
This is a side-by-side rental, so if you don't need this much house, you can rent just one of the units. Gorgeous views and well organized. Very fun!
Bridget M. Oct 2018
You can not dispute the fabulous view of this duplex/home!!! It was the perfect fit for our Framily group. Bedrooms and bathrooms for all! The kitchen(s) had everything needed and more! Pet Friendly is a must with us! Thank you!!!
Michelle H. Aug 2018
Great location. The kids loved being right on the beach. The adults loved having their own space since each bedroom had an attached bathroom. Having two kitchens and living space was great also.
Elaina O. Aug 2018
My family, plus extended family, stayed here for our 4th annual trip to the coast. This lovely house by the shores made our getaway nothing short of amazing!

We rented both sides of the house, as we had 11 guests. Having this many occupants, having a bathroom off of every bedroom was extremely convenient. Even with this many, the house never felt crowded or cramped, even if we were all in the same room. However, some people did have to take a seat on the couch during meals, as we all wanted to dine in the same room, and the tables were on the smaller side.

The views were amazing - this house is literally steps away from the sand. The ocean was visible from nearly every single room in the house. It was amazing to wake up and see the waves. You can enjoy the beach all day, even if you're not on it.

All in all, staying at Sand Castle Villa was a delightful experience and I would recommend this house to any family searching for a rental home for a coastal vacation.

Tamara A. Jul 2018
Location on beach is great. It's nice to rent both sides and have two kitchens! Only things to point out is that you have to go through a bedroom to get out to the back deck. And the hot tub is not private to the next door neighbor at all. Otherwise, we had a lovely time here.
Tamara C. Jul 2018
This is our second stay at the Sand Castle, and the layout is perfect for our growing family. With six bedrooms and six bathrooms, there is plenty of room for a multigenerational vacation.
MaryAnn C. Jul 2018
We loved that each bedroom had a private bathroom. This greatly added to our comfort level!
Brenda P. Jul 2018
There were a few things that needed tending to. Like a squirrel in the Hot Tub. The maintenance man came quickly and drained the Hot Tub and then had it running withing 5 hours. The WiFi was not working...The maintenance man was there within the hour to get it fixed.
The view and facilities are excellent. Direct Beach access is a real plus.
First vacation home I have rented where toilet paper, paper towels, shampoo conditioner, and laundry detergent is provided.
A place with these facilities really needs a Barbecue.
Cassandra H. Jul 2018
Enough room for everyone and plenty to do!
Steven C M. May 2018
Lots of room plenty of sleep options. Great location and views. Good beach access.
curtis s. Apr 2018
Everything was great, but the hot tub. Should discount stays or fix it.
Manager response:
The hot tub is fixed, and we apologize for any issues this guest had with it.
Lory D P. Mar 2018
Good space. Great location. Good service when things needed attention. Would stay here again.
Carrie P. Jan 2018
Great home for a family reunion. Thank you! The view was absolutely wonderful.
Kathy S. Dec 2017
We had a wonderful time. Two families enjoying the weekend after our daughter and their son got engaged. Proposal on the beach in front of this house.
Jennifer G. Aug 2017
The house was large enough for all 15 of us; and with 6 bathrooms, it was perfect! Nice and convenient to get to the beach from the house! Beautiful house with a gorgeous view! Loved this place and would highly recommend it!
Rodney P. Jul 2017
Great View and easy access to beach
Terri H. Jul 2017
Rental was clean , spacious. The view was spectacular
Would definitely consider renting again.
Patti S. Jun 2017
Enjoyed the sandcastle villa not a 5 star but comfortable,some appliance issues, all minor, nice to have sand toys and some kites there. Truelly beach front property with easy access . So pretty much we all loved it.
William C. May 2017
My family enjoyed a delightful union
Lisa C. Apr 2017
Love the fact that you can walk down onto the beach straight from the back of the house. Great views from the back of the house too. This house can hold a lot of people comfortably. Nice to have a door between the units. But the house needs a major overhaul! Furniture is falling apart and cracked. Very outdated and old. TV and fireplace didn't work in the living room of one of the units! Coffee pot was broken. And to top it off we had some cockroaches come to visit us that came out of the dishwasher. Stay hear at your own risk!
Manager response:
We are disappointed to see this guest did not have a better experience. The coffee maker has been replaced, both TVs are working, and the propane has been refilled so all gas features are working properly. The owner has replaced all living room furniture. At this time she has not found any insects/pests in the home, but she will continue to keep an eye out. Thanks!
Roxanne R. Sep 2016
Our overall experience was great. Clean, right on the beach. We couldn't ask for anything else. The Hot tub was awesome to sit in and was the ocean. We would rent here again. LOVED IT!
Karen B. Sep 2016
We rented the entire duplex (727 & 729) of the Sandcastle Villa. Our family converged upon the place from Wenatchee, WA, Yakima, WA and Tacoma, WA. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there making priceless memories together in late August. The negatives were minimal and nothing that would keep us from returning to this property. The positive attributes more than made up! Thank you!
Wendy C. Aug 2016
Our family really enjoyed staying at the Sand Castle Villa, a perfect location to enjoy the beach, sunset and surrounding area. The beach was just a few steps away from the back deck of the house, perfect for our family with small children, a dog, and many adults. It was wonderful to have two kitchens, a bathroom for every bedroom and two big tables. There was plenty of room for everyone. We will always remember this special place!
Patricia H. Aug 2016
It was very pleasant place to visit ,the family was very impressed with the property I chose.
Dorothy R. Aug 2016
Our family of 16 takes a vacation together every summer. This beach house fit our needs completely. The beds were very comfortable and were just what we needed for 8 adults and 8 children. There was an ample supply of dishes, cookware, silverware and appliances. Having the beach so close made it really nice also. We would definitely want to stay at Sand Castle Villa if we come back to Oregon.
Tami C. Aug 2016
The Sandcastle was a great place for our family of 12. With six bedrooms and six BATHROOMS! We had more than enough space to spread out and be comfortable. The beach access could not be better and both units are well equipped. We found everything we needed. Thank you for the lovely memories.
Richard K. Jul 2016
This place was fantastic for our family reunion. It was really nice having the two full kitchens and the 6 bathrooms. Great being right on the beach as well. great waves for boogie boarding.
Gregory R. Mar 2016
We flew in from Michigan to visit family. We had a great time and the Sand Castle was perfect
Theresa B. Feb 2016
Was a great weekend getaway.
Maria R. Nov 2015
Enjoyed waking up to the scenery of the ocean out the window and the kids had hours of entertainment playing on the beach.
Julie V. Jul 2015
We have a very large family and wanted a reasonable, memorable, getaway. The Sand Castle fit our expectations in every way. We were able to fit our family comfortably with both units and everyone raved about it from the time we arrived until the time we left. It was a trip that we will all cherish and never forget! It was difficult leaving and we would definitely stay here again.
Manager response:
We're delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your inaugural trip to Oregon and that this unique home was perfect for your family's needs. We look forward to hosting your next adventure!
Gloria L. Jul 2015
We loved staying at the Sand Castle Villa and it surpassed our expectations on so many levels. It was steps away from the most beautiful sandy beach imaginable. It was spotlessly clean and the hot tub was sparkling. Where can you find a place that accommodates 4 families with double everything? With 2 kitchens you get 2 fridges, 4 ovens, 2 dishwashers not to mention 2 washers, 2 driers! FYI, included were beach toys, charcoal grills, waffle irons, griddles, crockpots, even KitchenAid mixers. We can't wait to stay there again!
Judith B. Apr 2015
We liked it overall although we did have some issues. There are no end tables, etc. in the downstairs bedrooms, so we had to put our suitcases on ice chests. No where to sit, hang up anything etc. we did have to live out of the suitcases. The one piece of furniture is an amour, but no hangers would work, so it is not useable.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review and your feedback - we will continue to work with the local property manager to add improvements.
Stephen W. Apr 2015
Great location and great size for a larger group when using both sides. Lots of small maintenance items need to be addressed, but none of them detracted too much for enjoying our stay.
Judy S. Feb 2015
We had an awesome vacation at the Sand Castle Villa. Our entire family had a vacation together, which we have not had in many, many years. We had members ranging from 2 years old to an 80 year old stroke patient. It was perfect for all. The access to the beach was wonderful, and we had so much fun playing on the beach and making sand castles all the while my sister (the stoke patient) could enjoy watching everything we were doing in the comforts of the home with the big windows. I haven't seen my niece and nephews playing on the beach all together since they were small children, now they are in their 40's and 50's. It also helped that the weather was gorgeous, sunny, in the mid to upper 60's and NO WIND!!! Both units were immaculate, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. It was a little spendy, but very well worth the price. I would definitely recommend it, and would love to stay again. Did I say the views were AMAZING??!!! Thank you very much for a wonderful vacation!
Manager response:
Thank you for your review and sharing your comments with us. We are thrilled that you and your family had such a great time at this vacation home. The views are definitely spectacular and we are so happy to know that everyone in the family, young and old alike, were able to enjoy themselves at the home and on the beach. Sounds like a lot of wonderful memories were made. We certainly hope to see you again!
Cindy W. Dec 2014
Great facility for large family Thanksgiving get-together, 4 ovens, 2 stoves, 2 microwaves, 2 refrigerators and 2 dish washers - Perfect!
. Nov 2014
The views from this home are just ridiculous: the ocean takes up the entire front window! It was one of those "walk in and immediately post a photo to Instagram" kind of moments!

Other highlights: the hot tub on the deck feels like it's practically on the sand. The home is arranged really smartly for groups: the downstairs bunk room has its own bathroom, which was so convenient. The neighborhood was quiet and peaceful. The couch by the fireplace was a great spot to sit and relax, even in the colder/rainy months. And it was completely spotless when I arrived!
. Nov 2014
Great location with easy beach access. The sound of the surf is great to wake up to! This home has great views and I'd definitely stay again.
. Nov 2014
We really enjoyed our time at this neat ocean front duplex. The units can be rented separately, or together, making this a perfect option for groups small to large. We'll certainly rent this one again!
Nicole J. Nov 2014
My family rented both units for mine and my daughters birthdays this past weekend. We were not only graced with amazing weather(for November) but the house was wonderful as well. just about anything we could of needed was furnished in the house. We had 10 adults, 1 teenager and 2 children and it never felt too crowded. The location was absolutely beautiful, we will definitely be renting this house again.