USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Yachats Listing #19087

Belly of the Whale Beachfront Rental - Yachats, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
32 reviews
Max. occupancy: 11 1 King Bed, 3 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 3 bathrooms 1 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-Friendly & Waterfront House w/ 180-degree, Wide Ocean Views - New Hot Tub!

This beachfront house has everything you could want during your next stay on the Oregon Coast. It features flatscreen TVs, a pool table, an arcade game, and most importantly: rare private beach access directly out your front door. You are 39 private steps away from the middle of seven miles of perfect golden sand. The exploring is endless. The home has a comfortable look and feel as, up until now, it was a one-owner, family-owned beach getaway that was never on the rental market. This rare, previously exclusive, private gem is, for the first time, available to the public! This means you! Locals have said that this home sits at a perfect location for crabbing and fishing right at the seashore at dusk when the tides go out (a fishing pole is provided for you in the home).

This home features a theme park-esque, full-size, three-story tower lighthouse with an authentic spiral staircase that features unreal panoramic ocean views from the tower’s full surround top deck! Yes, like a real lighthouse, you can exit the top third-story deck and walk around 360 degrees or sit on the bench with your favorite refresher and soak in the sun and second to none views. We are the tallest outlook on the entire beach! You can literally see from Yachats to Waldport with this central, completely uninterrupted viewpoint, which includes a 'New York'-style, professionally-installed tourist binocular. Sit atop at night and see shooting stars and the glorious Milky Way - no light pollution here!

The tower itself has lounging areas on the interior of each level, with their own spectacular views. The main level of the tower has two beds and is perfect as a 'boys' room or general recreation room, as it evokes being on a pirate ship with its beautiful wood build and non-linear format, all custom made from the original owner, who was a carpenter. For any age, the lower portion is just a very rare and unique piece of “one-off” architecture to experience. Many memories await you in the tower!

The house itself is extremely unique - perfectly portioned, large-square footage rooms with their own doors means that adults can lounge and have serenity while youngsters play in another room. A large interior window (nursery-style) between the two spacious living rooms means you can keep tabs on younger ones while still enjoying your own space, with a curtain when you want and need your privacy. Upstairs is a great recreational room with a pub-size pool table and vintage arcade video game with tons of games on it. This level also features a huge master bedroom with its own deck. Enjoy the sunset with your favorite glass of wine on this outside deck with unfettered views left and right and retire directly to your comfy bed. This is the kind of vacation you deserve. The king bed upstairs can be separated into two double beds 

The downstairs has two private bedrooms with a fully appointed bathroom for each, including separate showers, toilet, and sink, which can be closed off via hallway doors to create a private “suite-style” experience. The house also features two sofabeds: one upstairs and one down for extra guests.

The house sits on half-acre of land, one of the biggest on the beach, and features a hammock perfectly situated for a one-of-a-kind view or simply for lazy afternoons to relax and hear the ocean's soothing roar. As you will see, most properties around us are eroding greatly and their stairways have either eroded away, or it is impossible to have one, and most do not. Our property is one of the few entirely protected by a rock wall/ridge filled with rip/rap (foliage), which has protected this house entirely from erosion for over 50 years! This makes our front yard 100% safe and our poured concrete steps to the beach 100% reliable. In fact, our poured concrete steps are more reliable than the wooden one at the motel down the beach, which itself is private and used only by motel guests. Your visit and repeat visits will always be consistent, and you will always have your own, unshared, private and secure access to the beach. Guaranteed.

NOTE:
The home is accessibility friendly, with two ramps for small steps, a shower seat, a long-handled shower wand and wide doorways for easy wheelchair mobility.

What's nearby:
Yachats (pronounced “YA-HAHTS”) is a short drive to the south, where you can find excellent dining options, as well as necessities. Yachats is like a Cape Cod-style town, full of character and “non-franchise,” unique outlets from espresso cafes to ocean-front dining. For a town of its size, there is, surprisingly, always something new to see or experience. They have their own Yachats Brewery and the famous Yachats Underground where they have live music every Thursday night.

Cape Perpetua is a bit farther south from Yachats, where you can do a bit of hiking and sightseeing or marvel at the natural spectacles Devils Churn and Thor's Well, which lie just to the north of the home and south of Cape Perpetua. Also south is the Sea Lion Caves - very much worth seeing! You're also just a short drive from the sand dunes in Florence!

North, you are near the fully appointed cities of Waldport and Newport, where movies like Overboard with Kurt Russell and Goldie Hawn and Sometimes A Great Notion with Paul Newman were filmed. Some film sets still exist in the area, as well as real locations seen in the film, like the world famous Moe's Diner, known for their clam chowder, and the famous and picturesque Newport bridge. Catch a movie at the Newport Theatre or go try your smarts out at the Escape Rooms (so much fun!)

Things to know:
A new hot tub has been installed in December 2020! It is located behind the back of the garage facing the ocean. Photos coming soon.
Free WiFi, Netflix, and Apple TV for the main floor and upstairs recreation room
Full kitchen with a dishwasher
Dogs welcome for a small nightly fee (one larger dog or two small lap dogs maximum)

TIPS:
There's a room when you first enter the house through the back door marked 'Beachy fun things'. That’s where you’ll find the horseshoes and volleyball net to play on the beach or the kites, sandcastle toys, and beach chairs, along with the hammock (please take it down at night so the wind doesn’t take it away. As well, enjoy fishing right out the back with the fishing pole provided. Feel free to make fires on the beach to enjoy s’mores or smokies. If you like running or walking, you should know that you can walk the beach south all the way to the 804 trail that takes you to popular dining at the waterfront Adobe Restaurant and Lounge.

A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: Please be respectful of the next door neighbors when parking. Park in front of the house and the garage. There is a MAX of 4 cars only. If you have more cars the neighbors will let us know. Please adhere to this rule.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Bathrooms

Jetted tub

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Water view

Waterfront

Media

Internet : Charter

TV

Cable

DVD player

Wireless router

Netflix streaming

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games

Pool table : Private

Outdoor

Balcony

Deck

32 reviews

Jessica H. Oct 2021
There are a lot of reviews of this place and while there could be some improvements, the reason we rented this location was the size and the proximity to the beach and great towns! The cleaning staff was super nice and helpful, the size of the home is great and the view/location cannot be beat! We loved the tower and it was a great place to read a book and enjoy the sound of the ocean. It the game room was very nice and the furniture comfortable.
Alison M. Oct 2021
this house has plenty of room to spread out for a largeish family group. the location is outstanding! Private stairs to a fantastic flat sand beach. The two four year olds had wet suits and they had a blast wave jumping with their dads. We also had a 7 month old baby and, with the ocean views from the family room, play room and deck, no one felt deprived by staying up at the house with him. Would recommend this location very highly.
Elizabeth P. Sep 2021
Shocking, really. On the one hand, this property has extraordinary beauty. On the other, the disrepair and refusal to fix problems make it extremely disappointing and hard to recommend. Reviews and a list posted inside the pantry door document most of the issues, but they have not been resolved. Besides stains on the carpets, they stink with urine. The door handles of both exterior doors come off in your hands. The light over the sink doesn’t work, and it’s not a spent bulb. Nails in the carpet/flooring strip can rip your foot, but you are expected to leave shoes at the door. The screen door has no screen and the only deck chair has no back. The hide-a-bed couch upstairs has broken legs and is unusable for either sitting or sleeping. The king mattress hangs out over unmatched twin springs and is oriented incorrectly, so taller folks’ feet hang over the end. The supposed fourth bedroom is a creepy garage room down two steps and a ramp from a bathroom without a single drawer, shelf, closet or hook to put clothes. The handle on the upstairs tub does not turn off. A broken ceiling fan looks like it could fall off. There is no griddle or large frying pan to prepare food, and even though there is a nice-looking barbecue, it is not available for guests to use. There is no recycling bin even though every other house in the area has one. We cleaned up piles of dog poop in the yard so the grandchildren could play. And there were no smoke or CO detectors, which puts guests at significant risk and is illegal per the state building code. I do not recommend renting this property until the owners take responsibility for and fix these problems.
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback, Elizabeth. We are disappointed to read you were dissatisfied with your experience. Maintenance has fixed the door handle and is working on the sink light. The BBQ is definitely for guest use; we apologize if you were under the impression it was not. Hopefully we can provide you with a better experience in the future!
Allison M. Jul 2021
The house was perfect for our group of 10 adults and one Golden Retriever. The beach access and views were unbeatable and the hot tub was great. The house itself has a strange layout, like a couple houses were stuck together. We thought it was fun and liked it more because of that. The lookout tower addition is very cool. We also enjoyed the pool table! Highly recommend this house. Some people might not like that the carpets are stained throughout the house, but it's a dog-friendly beach rental so we expected it and it wasn't a deterrent for us. Would absolutely stay here again.
Manager response:
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We passed your comments about the carpet along to our local manager to review and we appreciate guest’s preferences as a means to continually improve. We look forward to hosting your next stay!
Tami H. Jul 2021
There is a lot of space in this home located in a quiet neighborhood with lots of privacy. The ocean views are fabulous but the house and landscaping could use some basic maintenance.
Manager response:
Hi, Tami, thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for your disappointment with the house. Our local team strives to provide every one of our guests with the best vacation possible. We are so sorry if our standards were not met during your time with us. This information has been sent to the local staff to take care of to ensure the comfort of future guests. We're looking forward to hosting you again in the future.
Pat B. May 2021
The view from this property is fantastic. Large windows look directly at the ocean and the ability to walk down 39 steps to the beach - an added plus. The house is large but suffers from neglect. Carpet stains, the gate to the steps is off the hinges and the doorknob came off in my hand and a mouse also shared our week. The view is what you are paying. That said, our family had a great time.
Manager response:
We appreciate your feedback and having the opportunity to respond. The gate has been fixed, and we are working with the homeowner to address the carpet. We were unable to locate any pests or faulty door knobs but will keep an eye out. Thank you, Pat!
ronald b. Jan 2021
View of the ocean and beach from everywhere on this west facing property. Have rented many properties on the Oregon coast in the past 25 years and they all have their quirks or minor problems. The main thing I have noticed about rentals in the technology age is there are usually multiple remotes for operating the tv and related devices and no instructions and how to operate, so we had to call for service since we didn't bring a teenager. There was no hood exhaust fan for the stove, so had to use the window. No matches available to light the pellet stove. The king mattress upstairs needs replacement. Did not try any other beds. Found a wet area on the floor in the corner of the northwest main floor bedroom which may have been caused from the disconnected gutter/down spout that rattles in the wind which may be what previous reviewer said about critters living between floors. We did NOT get the impression of anything crawling around. The hot tub area could use some gravel around it so that you don't have to step in mud taking the cover off and getting in.
Thankfully the GOOD in this house far outweighs the minor problems it and almost every rental has. The stairs to the beach are concrete and very stable and easily negotiable even though I'm handicapped. The view and location alone are wonderous. Needed some deck furniture, and I'm sure there was some that was just stored for the winter. House is big and roomy and comfortable, handicap friendly, dog friendly with a huge fenced yard. Young and old will love the tower and spiral staircase to top and the pool table/game room/ upstairs near the master bedroom. Plenty of bathrooms so there is no waiting. There was no door dash or grub hub available during the covid restrictions, but we had no trouble getting takeout, and the Luna Sea Fish house in Yachats was good enough to go twice. Maybe the best ling cod fish and chips I've had.
Overall if you can't relax, have a good time, and enjoy yourself here, its NOT the properties fault. Would/Will return with kids and grandkids.






















































Manager response:
Ronald, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate you making mention of the items in the home in need of attention. We have passed your feedback to local staff for review, and look forward to hosting your next visit, thank you!
Scott W. Nov 2020
Just steps away from one of the best beaches in Oregon.
Kate N. Oct 2020
The location on a lovely uncrowned Sandy beach. The house was basically right on the beach with access.
The house itself is quite rundown Anis a lot of work. The stove had only two burners and only the smallest of them worked, the control knobs for the oven and the stove are so worn away that we can only make our best guess as to the temperature. Rats creed around in the walls at night and the carpet was very spotted and dirty. There is a floor trim broken to expose nails between the kitchen and living room. All of this could be easily fixed with just a little bit of effort. Other than the neglected state of the house that was a lot of room with a lot of privacy. I reported this to Tom But he didn’t seem very interested so unfortunately we will not be staying again
Manager response:
Hi Kate, thank you for staying with us. We are sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us. I have forwarded your feedback to the local staff so they can work to improve the house for future guests. The owner is working with our property manager on repairs, updating the furniture, and pest control. We hope we have the chance to impress you in the future. Thank you.
Jennifer G. Oct 2020
We really enjoyed our stay at this property. There was plenty of space for our family to spread out and work/distance learn from the Oregon Coast. The lighthouse bedroom made the perfect getaway for our teenage son, and we loved being able to take a break to play a game of pool.
Lynn S. Sep 2020
There is no better property on the Oregon coast than this! What a special place. If you want to view the ocean constantly and have easy access to the beach, this is the house.
The heartbreaker is that this house isn't cared for. We dig the 70s interior, but most appliances, carpets, sofas, and mattresses are totally worn out. Regardless, we recommend it because it's an easy house to live in and.... the views!!!
Brent S. Aug 2020
There aren’t many access points to the sand in this area so you really feel like you have the beach to yourself! It’s like having your own giant rustic cabin in the most perfect ocean location. This was our second visit back to the home.
Ben P. Aug 2020
Belly of the whale is on an amazing stretch of beach! The lookout tower is super fun fun kids and adults. The home is older, and the layout is strange but works for large groups. It feels a little run down, and due for some upkeep- thankful that our dog could be accommodated though. Very responsive to a phone call for minor repair which was attended to within 2 hours!
Daniel D. Jul 2020
My family enjoyed our week's stay at this home on the central Oregon coast. We were comfortable there and enjoyed the views, easy access to the beach and the pool table!
Alaina B. Jun 2020
Living with the beach as our backyard was simply incredible. The furnishings are older (beds leave something to be desired) but the location is so incredible everything else is essentially irrelevant.
Andrew S. Mar 2020
This place has beautiful views and amazing craftsmanship you will not be disappointed about a thing when you leave.
Janet O. Oct 2019
A huge, comfortable home with character right on one of the best beaches in Oregon.
Kelley S. Sep 2019
Grandkids loved it.
Phyllis C. Aug 2019
Unique house. Grandkids loved the lighthouse. Easy beach acess.
Sandy B. Aug 2019
We really enjoyed our stay there. So much room and beautiful view. We loved easy access to the beach! We want to visit again
Jan A. Aug 2019
Our recent stay in the Belly of the Whale was great. The new deck was our go to place in the evenings, to watch the sunset, before heading down to the beach for our nightly fire and smores! The layout of the house is great for a large group.
Anurag L. Jul 2019
We were looking for a place where couple of families can have a quiet getaway. We were surprised to find this gem which was a complete package in itself. Along with an easy access to the beach, the house itself had lot of features that every one enjoyed. The open concept, spacious rooms, observation decks, pool table, arcade and other fun stuff kept all of us thoroughly entertained. Will definitely recommend this to anyone visiting this area.
Charissa D. Jul 2019
My family met up here May of this year. It had something for everyone. Wonderful memories made. We played games at the table overlooking the beautiful ocean. Spent hours walking the beach. Newport isn’t far if you want to want enjoy some clam chowder from Mo’s or see the seals or just walk around. My mom sister and I went to the casino and enjoyed the buffet. Another great amenity to this vacation home was the upstairs bonus room with a pool table and video game machine. The tower has an amazing view too. This has to be my new favorite family meet up spot!
Sally R. Jun 2019
This home is unique because of the two separate upstairs areas and two separate living rooms which means you can always find a quiet spot if you need it!. It was a great place for us to have a family gathering. The access to the beach was great because of the stairs for us "old folks " and the large windows let us watch the whales, fishing boats and beach strollers. It was almost perfect!
Wayne H. May 2019
"This was my 5th visit to ""BELLY OF THE WHALE"". The rental has always been extremely well appointed. I must say that the Three story LIGHTHOUSE/TOWER is certainly the most impressive feature on the beach. Beach access is just a few feet away allowing children and adults quick play and walk time during the day. I have no doubt my family will visit again.
Darcy C. May 2019
This place was perfect for our family!
We had 6 adults and 6 kids ages 4 and under plus our dog and had plenty of room to spare. The upstairs pool table, arcade game, and deck was our favorite hangout area. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed to make all our meals.
39 quick steps to the beach where we flew kites, built sandcastles, built a fire for s'mores, and wore the kids and dog out!
We explored south...Yachats, Sea Lion Caves, Thors Well, Haceta Lighthouse, Florence, and the sand dunes. We explored north...Waldport, many beaches, Yaquina Bay & Yaquina Light houses, Nye Beach area and Newport Bayfront. The guys went deep sea fishing & we went whale watching.
So many close-by things to do!
I can't wait to return ❤
Justin P. Feb 2019
Secluded well placed house with direct access to the beach. House was extremely spacious, with well placed windows catching all the natural beauty of the coast. The tower watch was simply amazing to share a drink and chat with a good friend while eagerly awaiting a whale to pass by. Plenty to do inside with pool table, and arcade game my 13 year old loved. I honestly can't say enough about this property, and almost hate to let the world know about it LOL. I can't wait to schedule my next visit with friends and family
Sally H. Feb 2019
This home is a great place for a large family gathering that is right on the beach. The tower provides unbelievable views and a nice place to hide away too. I would definitely come again.
Thank you!
milnor r v. Jan 2019
We loved how big it was so it fit all 10 of us and had a blast playing all the games that were provided
Most beautiful ocean views ever!
Devon D. Nov 2018
"Wow! We took two families (4 adults, 7 kids) to this beautiful home on the coast and it made it one of the most memorable vacations we have ever been on. The steps to the beach were right off of our private lawn which we felt comfortable letting our kids go up an down on their own, and the long expanse of the beach and the flat surf made it a safe environment for kids to play in the water. We had fires nearly every night on the beach which was the perfect place to make smores and watch the sunset on the ocean. The home is very unique with it's large watch tower (which the kids LOVED), 3 bathrooms and large entertaining area upstairs. I would recommend this to anyone with or without kids. We will be sure to come back to get another perfect taste of R&R. Its a 10!"