USA Georgia North Georgia Blairsville Listing #21311

The Grey Moose - Blairsville, GA

Take a Virtual Tour
57 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 2 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly cabin w/fireplace, hot tub, gas grill, and mountain views

Escape to this charming cabin with stunning long range mountain views off the private back porch! Enjoy the open living and kitchen floor plan and cozy fireplace perfect for entertaining. The fully equipped kitchen makes preparing meals easy, and grilling out on the deck is a great option too. There is a private washer/dryer for your convenience. You'll love soaking in the hot tub after a fun outdoor adventure.

What's nearby:
This cabin is private but yet close enough to downtown Blairsville, Vogel State Park, Brasstown Bald, plenty of waterfalls, hiking trails and wineries! You are also near the famous Appalachian Trail, making for easy day trips. Ellijay, the state's apple capital, is about 30 miles away.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Dogs welcome for an additional fee

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining





Mountain view


Internet : Verizon Wireless



Wireless router


Wide clearance

Nearby activities & attractions


Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private


Gas grill : Private






57 reviews

tom h. Nov 2022
Wood fireplace, exterior hot tub
Cheryl B. Nov 2022
This cabin has it all! The hot tub is AMAZING. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were great. The shower ran very hot with perfect water pressure. It is easy to find the home. I had cell service in the immediate area. This cabin is close to a lot of great hikes. The kitchen has everything you would need, except sugar, which we should have brought and didn’t expect the cabin to have either but we forgot, so hopefully you don’t too. There was all of the pots and pans needed and the grill is awesome and was clean. I highly recommend staying here, especially for the price and location!
Joe L. Oct 2022
I had read through some of the reviews and was a little concerned initially but this house was terrific for our stay. Our group was two couples and the photos showed some dated furniture but when we arrived the cabin has new sofa and love seat which look very nice. We also got a surprise but did not get to use the brand new jacuzzi and added on to the back deck. It is not very far outside of Blairsville so a good location and it was not as difficult to get to a some of the reviews stated. Vacasa does send a note not to use Google maps which is a very good suggestion. Stay on main roads to Hwy 19 and then turn on Paradise Road. If we are going to stay in that area again, we will be looking to see the availability of this cabin first. Only one suggestion is to get a king size bed upstairs.
Vera V. Sep 2022
The cabin had everything we needed and the vacation service was very efficient and communicated well.
Charles C. Aug 2022
Had a great stay the house was comfortable and clean . Very quiet enjoyed our stay thank you
Catherine F. Jun 2022
Everything was very clean and we enjoyed our stay very much. Beautiful area, lots to do around surrounding towns. Wonderful stay !!!
DARRELL N. Feb 2022
This was a perfect house for a short getaway. It in a great location to run into town or go visit a few state parks or hiking trails. The only thing missing is a hot tub to relax your muscles after a long day.
Stewart M. Feb 2022
This is our 3rd stay at the Grey Moose. Love it here.
Dejah D. Jan 2022
We were happy with the house itself however winter storm izzy hit us while we were there and road conditions were terrible. Us being from Florida, we were not used to icy road conditions and when I called and spoke to vacasa about it, the gentleman we spoke to stated if driving conditions were poor we could stay another day at no charge. We'll vacasa did not honor that and we were charged an extra day. When we left there were still roads closed down. We were not happy. No shovel was on the premises which would have been helpful while we were there especially because my sister is pregnant. They did provide salt to sprinkle om the icy areas However a shovel would help with providing a pathway to our vehicle. Overall home and location was very nice.
Manager response:
We're extremely sorry to read about any miscommunication regarding adding nights to a reservation. We'll discuss adding a snow shovel for guest use. Thank you!
olivia h. Jan 2022
My daughter and I needed a peaceful getaway and this was perfect for us.
Just a couple of suggestions; more blankets and kitchen not as well stocked as most cabins we’ve stayed at.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Terri And Robert B. Jan 2022
Home is clean, located on a quiet road. Tree across from driveway has been cut down and Google maps will get you to the cabin.

Living room furniture is updated from what shows in photos and is comfortable. We didn't use the upstairs but did walk through it.... spacious and well furnished.

The only real issue that came up is the internet service. The internet shuts off at 6 pm every night. Doesn't slow down.... just shuts off. Tried resetting... doesn't help. Comes back on at 8 am. If it was a high traffic issue it wouldn't still be out at 3 an 4 am, etc.
Manager response:
Thank you so much for staying with us. We do apologize for the internet troubles you had. It can be tricky in this rural area, but we'll look into the situation. We hope to host you again!
Tracey R. Sep 2021
Doris R. Aug 2021
Quiet area, beautiful views and comfortable home. I can’t wait to return.
Marcia F. Jul 2021
We enjoyed our stay at the cabin. The only problem for us is that we had 4 adults and an infant with only 4 towels. I was told by the gentlemen that returned my call that I was not staying in a hotel and that I would need to wash the towels since there is a washer and dryer. We travel to Blairsville for July 4th every year and have been staying in cabins for the last 6 years. If there would have been soap powder available I would not have called anyone looking for additional towels. The cabins we have rented in the past all had enough towels for a three to four night stay.
Manager response:
Hello Marcia, I am glad you enjoyed your stay!! We supply enough towels for the allowed occupancy of the property. We also supply a starter set of incidentals, soap, washing powder tabs. We advise guests who are staying more than a couple days to bring their own or purchase additional if needed.
CLAIRE S. Jun 2021
This cute little cabin was perfect for a getaway! Walking distance to a little winery, plenty of great hikes at Vogel State Park and Brasstown Bald! Cuteness overload with the moose decor, loved it and everything worked. I would stay here again👍
Laurie C. Apr 2021
Lovely 3-day stay at this home that had everything needed. Enjoyed sitting on the porch at twilight and in the morning. Convenient to the many hiking trails in the area as well as the amenities in Blairsville (terrific Ingles grocery), and walking distance to a charming winery at the end of Paradise Rd.
Ryan M. Mar 2021
Great location for hiking!
Stewart M. Feb 2021
Always a great stay at this cabin in Blairsville. Glad they changed from a gas fireplace to real wood :-) just a couple of FYI’s: downstairs toilet needs a new fill valve, as it is very slow filling up. Back door deadbolt is very difficult to lock. Also some newspapers to start fires with would be good. I left some there for the next visitor. Thanks again !
Michael B. Jan 2021
Beautifully decorated little cabin with moose theme. It was clean and structurally well kept. Our only complaint is that the living room furniture and first floor bed is dated, very uncomfortable, and beginning to break down from years of use. Both my wife and I suffered from back aches from trying to relax on the chairs and sofa, and found the mattress to be terrible uncomfortable. Several of the window shades did not work property. I would thing that the owners might invest a little money back into the furniture upkeep as much as they charge per week. These conditions were also mentioned in other reviews but we thought we would take a chance. We would not stay in this cabin again.
Manager response:
Hi, Michael! Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay. We will be taking care of any window shades in need of help, and the homeowner is looking at possible furniture updates for the living room. We hope to see you again!
Chad H. Nov 2020
Loved this cabin. We will stay here again. The location is perfect. Central to all of the places we wanted to go. There were lots of little things that we appreciated, such as a chewy bone for our dog and lots of tips for things to do. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you
Kali B. Nov 2020
Great view. Love the moose decor.
Sandy D. Oct 2020
Cozy, clean, comfortable and great views!!
Janice S. Sep 2020
Nice, clean & quiet, but needs a little TLC. Missing or broken shades, lighting in kitchen area is poor. Neighborhood dogs run loose, sleep on porch and under cars. Jump on you when you come out and follow you. Couldn't even go for a walk up the hill without them running after us. I would not rent this property again for this reason.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Janice. We appreciate you letting us know about the neighborhood dog. We'll pass this information to the owner who might be able to offer some suggestions to prevent future guests from having a similar experience. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Wisham W. Sep 2020
The theming of the Grey Moose was fantastic! The shower hooks were tiny bears and moose. The cabin was well appointed, clean and comfortable. Everything we needed was provided. All the appliances, dishes, glassware, silverware, cookware and utensils were there. Even paper towels. The back porch view was nice. There was a distant view of some mountain tops. We had trouble finding the back door key but that was solved with a quick phone call. We really enjoyed our relaxing cabin vacation.
john G. Sep 2020
Cabin was just the right size
Robert S. Sep 2020
Great location in Blairsville GA. area. The entrance road was difficult with the rain wash outs. Needs to be addressed quickly. Found many electrical outlets that would not hold a plug due to age. The refrig. was new but the door swung the wrong way , easy fix. Wi-fi signal was very weak, unable to do PC/online work.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Robert. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement, and we'll pass your suggestions to the owner for consideration. We hope we can host you again!
Kim W. Sep 2020
We were very happy to find such a nice place to stay on short notice. Everything in the house was very nice. Comfy bed, clean bath, newly updated, newly painted. Just a couple things that removed one of my stars. The road is unacceptable. I understand it's the mountains and a dirt road, but thankfully I have an SUV and not a small car, it wouldn't have made it. It's washed out. Secondly, it needs to be sprayed for bugs, soon. Spiders! Nice place otherwise.
Lee B. Aug 2020
Great porch to view the mountains in the distance. Sweet decor, great firm King size bed. Close to downtown Blairsville, Paradise Hills Winery and Spa, and Vogel State Park.
Viola N. Jul 2020
Directions were vague and confusing. After a 9 hour drive we arrived in Blairsville and could not find the property. After 30 mins we called the company A helpful guy named Jamie was trying to help us but even with his satellite data we were lost. Our SUV ended up on a mountain top on a one lane gravel road. Trying to turn around our car was hanging over a 25 foot drop and back wheels off the ground. That was it for us. We told Jamie to get us back to town we were going to find a motel. He asked us to plz give him another chance. We said ok but this was it. Finally he got us on the right road. A road paved until just before The Gray Moose. We are now on a deeply rutted dirt road with patches of gravel. Our SUV is dragging bottom and the gravel won’t let the back tires get traction. We finally got to the cabin. It’s not what you would expect. It’s dark. Poor lighting. The whole cabin needs a good deep clean. We chose this place because of “mountain” views and wanted a quiet place. This is not it. Lots of trees obscure the view. You can see the mountain from the upstairs bedroom. The cabin Is off a main road and cars and trucks run up and down all night. After a long trip and trouble finding the place we wanted to sleep late. Nope. A chain saw or some such started up at 8 am.
We just stuck it out because we paid a lot of money for this mess and knew we would never get a refund.
On the plus side. The downstairs bathroom had a good shower.
Manager response:
Hi, Viola! Thank you for staying with us at The Grey Moose. Your feedback is valuable and appreciated. We will verify the instructions provided to reach the home are specific and accurate. The road to the home has a couple of ruts; our housekeepers make it to the home in their sedans regularly, but we are sorry to read it caused you any concern. Due to COVID-19 staffing, a deep clean for this home has not been able to take place but will be addressed as soon as possible. We hope to see you again!
Marsha T. Jul 2020
Very nice place and located in a great area. The place was really clean. The driveway was washed out some so small cars would have a hard time going up the driveway. I would stay here again.
Tonya W. Jul 2020
We loved The a Grey Moose! Came from Indy for a weekend getaway with friends and had the best time. Cabin was clean and had all our needs. Only one request would be to be able to turn AC down to 68-70 for us ladies that run a little warm! Or have portable fans as an option! 😁
Gay B. Jun 2020
The cabin was great.
Zilah M. May 2020
Brought my 2 kids 18 and 24 for their first trip to Georgia. They loved the cabin and the views!! Plenty of room to spread out and still feel cozy. Great family time!
Daija G. May 2020
The home was perfect and it was designed so nicely! The only feedback is we wish we had access to the AC because it got really hot at night. Other than that super clean and very enjoyable.
Manager response:
Hi Daija, thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed The Grey Moose. To clarify, central AC is provided in the home for our guests to use. We apologize for any confusion regarding this. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!
Robert H. Mar 2020
Wonderful setting. We enjoyed coffee on the porch every morning, and the view was fantastic, even in the cool and damp. Bed was very comfortable. Highly recommended.
Barbara O. Mar 2020
Quiet, views nice, location great.
Kathy R. Feb 2020
We loved the view from the back deck. The cabin was cozy and just perfect for my husband and me to enjoy. There was one con my husband had and that was no tv in either bedroom. But that was no big deal really.
Ramona H. Feb 2020
The cabin was quite charming...we loved our stay and would reserve the cabin again!
Zilah M. Feb 2020
The cabin is so roomy. We loved the view from the deck, windows of the master, and the den. The kitchen had plenty of cookware to use could use more mixing bowls. King size bed was very comfortable. Would suggest a king upstairs as the views up there are beautiful as well. Plan to visit again. Thank you for a lovely place to relax and enjoy.
Stacy M. Jan 2020
Beautiful cabin...well decorated...gorgeous views off back deck...well equipped.
Dee Ann G. Dec 2019
Nice 2 bedroom/2 bath cabin. Indoor wood burning fireplace. Exceeded our expectations with fully equipped kitchen, propane grill, laundry, bedding, & towels. Beautiful views off the balcony porch. Just bring games & firewood.
Located on top of a hill outside of Blairsville, near Vogel State Park, Brasstown Bald, & Helton creek Falls.
Karen I. Nov 2019
Be aware that you should choose your vehicle wisely. The turn out of the driveway is rough because of a tree directly across and another tree within our turning radius. The unpaved road is rutted by a good 8 inches. So if you have low clearance or a long vehicle, choose another property.
We had 4wd and a longbed truck. We got stuck. :(
Additionally if you like cleanliness, this is not the place for you. LOTS of bugs, dirty dishes, sofa fabric and rugs ... and sooo cluttered
The view was awesome however.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Karen. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay, and we appreciate you allowing us to refund you for the inconvenience. We are happy to report that this home has undergone a deep clean, and we hope for another chance to impress you in the future!
Donna S. Oct 2019
Terrible directions to the property. Since you can't use a GPS to locate the property perhaps a more detailed list of instructions, from South and North would be appropriate.
And, the place needs a good dusting and the dishes washed, yuk.
Manager response:
Hi Donna, thank you for your feedback. We will make sure to be more thorough with our cleaning. We hope to host you again soon!
Pamela W. Sep 2019
Beautiful mountain view from the quaint rocking porch and beautiful mountain view to wake-up to as I open my eyes in the morning.
Beth S. Sep 2019
The Cabin was Beautiful, great amenities, kitchen was very well stocked, cabin was clean and private even though other cabins were close by. Private parking but it was very tight to get out of due to the tree right in the way of backing out, downstairs bed was a little high in middle which was a little uncomfortable. All white linens and were very clean. Enjoyed this cabin very much, but would definitely take that tree down.
Ruth G. Jul 2019
Quiet, private, and clean. Love the moose theme throughout the house. Appreciated the clothes detergent and travel sized shampoo, etc. A great place to get away and rest!
Natasha C. Jul 2019
We loved staying here. It was very clean and very accommodating. We loved the quiet, easy going atmosphere during our stay. It was also great to be close to the sights we had planned to see.
Jim M. Jun 2019
The cabin is very nice and spotlessly clean. The 4-star rating is due to lack of a fire pit or other amenities to stay occupied, and the driveway is quite difficult to turn around in. However, there is a very nice winery and vineyard within walking distance and we also saw deer. If you don't plan to spend alot of time at the cabin itself, it's a great place for a fair price.
Michael P. Jun 2019
Nice quiet place. Clean.
David H. Apr 2019
We very much enjoyed our stay at the grey moose cabin. The decor is charming, and the furniture is comfortable. The veranda overlooking the hillside down-slope with a view of mountains in the distance is a wonderful place to relax at the end of the day. The kitchen is well equipped for simple meals. There are many things to do in the area especially for hikers and nature lovers. We visited in early April and loved the wildflowers on our hikes - we can only imagine how spectacular it would be when the rhododendron is in bloom.
Geena P. Mar 2019
I can’t say enough great things about this home ! The location is beautiful ! My family and I came from florida and stayed three nights ! The home was spotless ! Had everything we needed ! Loved the gas fireplace , kitchen , back patio with the wind chimes chiming in the wind ! The beds were so comfy especially upstairs bed.
We left a grill brush and tongs for the grill because that was the one thing I dont think they had :)
We loved relaxing and listening to the wind blow and birds chirp ! I miss it already .
Five stars all the way ! Perfect for our of three ! I All that was missing was our wiener dog Bella and I regret not taking her because pets are allowed ! The area is close to Brasstown Bald and Helton Creek falls and Vogel state park ! We also drove into Blue ridge which was a little over a half hour away as well as North Carolina (there is the best Mexican place ever in Robbinsville called El Pacifico) a little over an hours drive but beautiful back roads and I had to go back to that restaurant we found it on accident while vacationing in Tennessee and we got on dragons tail and it emptied out in the small town and that’s how we found the Mexican restaurant ! Best we ever had !!!
jamie b. Jan 2019
The Grey Moose is a cute cabin with a tremendous view. Well appointed for a short stay. The cabin provides most of what you would need (kitchen amenities could use updating). It is in close proximity to all outdoor activities, downtown Blairsville and 20-30 minutes from surrounding areas.
Elizabeth Y. Jan 2019
I was nervous about picking a new property without any reviews, but we are so happy we did! We were looking for a long weekend Christmas getaway - just myself, my husband, and our dog.

The home is absolutely beautiful - just like the photos! Plenty of space, but perfect to curl up on the couch in front of the fireplace! The back porch frames a panoramic view of the mountains without another cabin in sight. You do have neighbors to the front, but plenty of privacy.

The home is well stocked, kitchen has everything, and the beds are very comfortable! No complaints from us!

The cabin is 10 minutes from hiking in state parks and waterfalls, and 30 minutes or so from Helen. We did a day trip to Helen, and a 3 hour hike in Vogel state park with our dog. We also explored some wineries along the way!

Perfect cabin rental for a couple, small family, or group of friends (and doggies). Hope to be back soon!