USA North Carolina Western North Carolina Whittier Listing #23443

The Bass House - Whittier, NC

Take a Virtual Tour
24 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Secluded Cabin w/ Pool Table, Large Deck, & Mountain Views!

There is no better way to experience the Smoky Mountains than by staying at this comfortable cabin tucked away in the woods! Surrounded by trees, guests will enjoy privacy and stellar mountain and valley views. Keep yourself entertained inside with the flatscreen TV and pool table, or head outside to the deck that has a picnic table, and a private propane grill. There is also a small, covered outdoor sitting area. And as night falls, enjoy the evening air gathered around the outdoor firepit.

What’s nearby:
This great location between Cherokee and Bryson City will be your home base for all of the area's activities and adventures. The Bass House is just a short distance from Great Smoky Mountain National Park. For additional activities, the Smoky Mountain Country Club and Golf Course is only a half-mile away.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen with a dishwasher
Firewood not supplied
Limited cell service and GPS
*Please note: this home is at the top of a very steep roadway, so we ask that you exercise caution when approaching. This cabin is not motorcycle accessible and a car is necessary to reach it
4WD/traction may be required in winter

This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC.

Parking Notes: Park in the driveway at the cabin. Access: Easy - Gravel With Incline

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Space heater

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Mountain View

Media

Internet

TV

Cable : DirecTV

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf Nearby

On-site activities

Pool table : Private

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Firepit

24 reviews

DARRELL A. Sep 2021
Great private location and spacious home with more than enough room. I enjoyed every minute staying here.
Mae O. Aug 2021
Felt unsafe,downstairs door single glass door,the ac units making noise all night,hot tub un useable,mean reason because of the hot tub,
Deanna R. Jul 2021
We loved the Location! We rafted at the Nantahala, walked around Cherokee & Bryson City, and went on a little day trip to Pigeon Forge & Gatlinburg. We felt like the pictures of the cabin were pretty accurate. We felt like the rates were very reasonable. I had read the reviews about the driveway, so we were expecting the worst. It was steep, but manageable. We were traveling in a van & small car, we were fine. The cabin is older, but from the looks of it, it has been updated a bit. There was 8 of us & we had plenty of room. The kitchen appliances were up to date as well as the washer & dryer. I do wish there were more towels and linens, and more serving utensils for the kitchen, maybe a few more pots & pans. We enjoyed our time there & would definitely stay again!

Manager response:
we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We will be sure to pass your suggestions along to our local manager who will work with our homeowner to make necessary upgrades. We look forward to hosting you again!
Wayne C. Jun 2021
Location is central to the Mountains. Otherwise, the property is not conducive for human living. It was dirty, nothing worked and you will be disappointed.
Manager response:
We wish you had reached out about your concerns so we could have addressed them for you. The homeowner has been made aware of your comments. Thanks, Wayne!
Judith S. Apr 2021
We stayed here for four nights in April. The cabin is in a lovely spot with great views. The road up to the cabin was a little scary; our car was bucking and pitching like a storm-tossed ship. I would want 4WD any time of the year! But we did see some sedans traversing it.
The cabin itself was roomy, plenty for the two of us but I’m thinking a big group would be a little cramped. Mainly because the bedrooms are small. The kitchen and living area are pretty roomy. The kitchen was pretty sparsely stocked but we made do. There were only two table knives so we had to wash some things for every meal. And we couldn’t find a working can opener so my husband opened a can with his handy-dandy pocket knife. But we loved the big island with lots of room for stashing stuff, and we loved the dining room nook with the rolling chairs.
The long-range view from the deck was beautiful, as long as you didn’t look down and see the trash thrown on the slope under the deck. Not to mention a set of car seats half-buried there.
But we loved the location and had a wonderful time hiking and relaxing in front of the TV. The recliners were comfy and there were lots of channels to watch.
The hot tub was pretty much unusable; it was only half-full, and there were leaves in the water. The whirlpool tub in the master bath was nice but I couldn’t get the jets to work.
Overall, the cabin was very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay, but it needs some TLC.
Regina B. Jan 2021
Loved the mountain where it was located. The driveway was a little scary but not out of the ordinary. The home would have been great if the lights in the main living room would have worked. They were not functional. The light switch would not turn them on. I changed bulbs to check and the lights were not getting power. The light fixture over the table was 9 bulbs and only three bulbs were in the fixture. The water pressure was pretty much non-existant. We had to use a pot in the bathroom upstairs to fill and flush the toilet. The well-appointed kitchen wasn't. The pots and pans nonstick was pretty much done. The microwave didn't have a handle..it was broke off. The outside entry door downstairs and the handrail going up to the top deck looked like they have never been cleaned. This could really be a cute place if just a little TLC was given.
Manager response:
Regina, thank you for sharing your feedback and for bringing some items to our attention that need some TLC. We have forwarded your feedback to the local staff so they can work to improve the house for future guests. Our property caretaker will check the water pressure issues and the microwave handle, as well as refresh the pots and pans in the kitchen. We hope you choose to stay with us again!
Cathleen H. Nov 2020
The accommodations are just okay, not very roomy and outside much smaller yard area than in photos. I would not rent here again . The road leading to location was aweful. I am thankful we were in a SUV with all wheel drive. A car would not have worked.
Manager response:
Thank you for the valued feedback and we are updating the listing to clarify that the access roads can be difficult. We recommend guests take a virtual tour to give you a feel of the space as we never want our guests to be surprised upon arrival. Our team is available 24-hours to assist guests in booking the best home for their stay and to answer any questions they may have.
Tammy H. Oct 2020
We loved the pool table and ping pong table. We had so much fun. Super family friendly. The road up was a little rough. Thank you for sharing your home with us.
Heather B. Sep 2020
Had a great time. Close to many things to do. Great golf courses close by.
Natalie R. Sep 2020
We took our children and grandchildren to the Bass House. We all loved it although the road to the cabin was a little scary but worth it! We loved it especially the hot tub !!
Adam K. Sep 2020
We enjoyed the stay. Very well located for many attractions in the area.
Katherine W. Aug 2020
The cabin was very nice.
Danielle M. Aug 2020
Our family of 7 stayed here for 7 nights in August. We didn't eat out for any meals so having a full kitchen was important. This house fit all of our needs, but could use some improvements. For example. The oven/stove works, but is super old. The oven tends to overcook things so check your food earlier then you typically would, and only 2 burners worked. We brought our own Tupperware containers which was good because there was nothing to put leftovers in, and minimal basic cookwear provided. If you don't want to buy it all there i would suggest packing garbage bags, dishwasher tablets, and washing machine detergent. I would also bring a good chopping/cutting knife with you since the ones there are pretty dull, and an oven mitt since we couldn't find one. We packed our own spices (salt/pepper/etc) and basic cooking stuff (olive oil, tin foil, etc) which came in handy since none was there. I don't expect that stuff to be provided though. The hot tub was great and the location was nice. I would stay again, but wouldn't pay as much until some updates/improvements have been made. We spent most of our time hiking in the smokys, and did the nearby kayak trip at the local place which provides freezie pops at the end. I can't remember the name, but that was great. Highly recommend. We did the self guided double kayaks. Super fun. We ranged in age from 16-57 and all loved it.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your home. Thank you for sharing your feedback and for bringing some items to our attention that may need some TLC. I have forwarded your feedback to the local staff so they can work to improve the house for future guests. Please know that our guest services team is available 24 hours a day to assist should any concerns arise during your visit. We hope you choose to stay with us again!
David W. Jul 2020
Dirty with no view. I’ve stayed at many rental units and this was the dirtiest I’ve ever seen. Found glasses and pacifier under beds with tons of crud. I mean tons. Spiders and webs all in basement. Grey water stinks and pours directly down the hill. Terrible view from porch. House needs pressure washed. Pool table about to fall apart. Cabinets stink and make all the dishes smell as well. Food was in the silverware. Fridge did not work for first day and a half. Hot tub cloudy and foamy. Yuck. Electric wire actually sitting on top of metal roof. Very dangerous. Pieces of car seats wedged between trees by fire pit. One tv downstairs. Overall a dilapidated house in need of a deep clean and updates. Spend a couple thousand dollars and hire new cleaning staff and you could have better reviews. Only thing good was square footage, gravel in drive way was nice, water pressure, and location.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered upon arrival. We have worked closely with our local staff to address these concerns and deep clean the home. We have also ensured that all future cleanings and inspections will live up to the Vacasa standard. We hope for a chance to impress you in the future!
Jack C. Jul 2020
Location was great, house was clean. Plenty of space. Nice separation of upstairs and downstairs if you have two separate parties. Fun outdoor deck with hot tub was nice
Jessie K. Jun 2020
Nice cabin up in the Smokey Mountains. The kids and I played pool & pingpong. It was nice relaxing in the hot tub after hiking in the mountains. We enjoyed the fire pit roasting wieners and making s'mores. We did some grilling on the grill. Cooked breakfast in the kitchen every morning. It was great. The location was perfect. Tucked away from traffic but not far away from The Smokey Mountains National Park. We had a lot of fun over the week. We enjoyed our stay in Bass House.
Valery B. Jun 2020
Let me start off by saying don’t rent Vacasa properties in general or off the Vacasa app. I wish I could give this house zero stars. Stick to airbnb where the customer service is exceptional. We arrived at the house and it was like it hadn’t been cleaned at all. There was trash that was piled up outside and dog poop surrounding the driveway. We head inside where we find insects lining up the pool table and the dustiest house you could see. The inside smelled like a sewage plant near the downstairs laundry room. The breaking point was when we were checking the beds and there was still hair on the sheets from whoever stayed before us indicating the sheets hadn’t been washed. I immediately tried to call on (5/31) and it’s now (6/3) and Vacasa has still not returned my calls or emails. So now I’ll be contacting my bank for a refund. We immediately left the property within the hour of arriving and my parents were kind enough to clean up the outside area and put the sheets to wash. We’ve never had such a horrible experience renting a property like we did with the Bass House. Don’t stay here unless you want to catch a rash or you’re a fan of uncleanliness. A short weekend getaway turned into a nightmare. STAY AWAY FROM VACASA AND THIS HOUSE!!!!
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Valery. We appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention and regret to hear that this was your experience. We understand how these clear and apparent cleanliness oversights were cause for discomfort and we have since taken thorough measures in ensuring our housekeeping teams are adhering to our premium clean protocol. We also apologize for the issues you experienced in reaching a member of our team at the peak of the pandemic. We have worked hard to add additional agents to our team and are pleased to note that we are once again able to assist all of our guests in a timely manner, regardless of the time of day. We do show we were able to reach you to remedy the experience. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with a truly exceptional vacation experience in the future.
Michelle U. Jan 2020
The house has a great layout and beautiful views.
Tabatha V. Sep 2019
The Bass House was a fantastic get away for the weekend. The house is nestled in the side of the mountain with breathtaking views. We had a hot tub and pool table for entertainment, which was used all the time. This cozzy mountain cabin was a relaxing get away from the husdle and bustle of city life. The rustic, simple decor made the feeling of off the grid mountain living perfect! I would reccomend this house to anyone wanting a true mountain get away. I would gladly come back to stay at this wonderful cabin.
Neal W. Aug 2019
This a spacious and very clean cabin. The ping pong table was a bonus which we enjoyed immensely. We will keep this house at the top of our list for future trips to the mountains!
Traci Z. Jul 2019
If you're looking for a mountain home, this is the place. Clean, nice, quiet and beautiful views.
Heather M. H. Jul 2019
We all loved pretty much everything about the house. The views were stunning, we pretty much stayed outside the whole time we were there! Loved It!!!
Jordan P. Jun 2019
One issue we had in our 5 day stay was that the water pump broke so we had no water for a day and a half, hopefully they can fix the issue now
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Jordan! We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with the water, and it is now restored. We hope to see you again!