USA Oregon Northern Oregon Coast Manzanita Listing #293

The Little Brown House ~ MCA 705 - Manzanita, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
165 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 2 bedrooms  plus loft 1 bathroom 2 dog max  (50 lb weight limit) 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly downtown home moments from the beach w/ distant ocean views

This adorable two-bedroom is perfect for small families or a close group of friends. Only a few blocks from both downtown and the beach, you're in the perfect location for exploring everything Manzanita has to offer, with a wamr wood stove and sunny deck awaiting back at home.

What's nearby:
Manzanita is packed with charming shops and restaurants to explore, like the Manzanita News and Espresso for breakfast or Manzanita Grocery & Deli for lunch and shopping. The town also features a wide variety of art galleries, Cloud & Leaf Bookstore, and a great location near the soft sands of the beach. Hiking at Oswald State Park and Neahkanie Mountain are both less than 10 miles to the north.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen (no dishwasher)
Up to two dogs under 50 pounds welcome for a small nightly pet fee

Manzanita Certificate Of Authority: MCA #705

City/town permit number: MCA #000705

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Baby gates



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Wood stove

House rules


Kitchen & dining





Ocean view

Water view


Internet : Charter


Cable : DirecTV

DVD player

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions



Gas grill : Private


165 reviews

Leonard P. Oct 2022
We had a great time, relaxing, enjoyed the ocean view and a time away from the rush of everyday life, it was a nice house.
Diana S. Sep 2022
House was perfect for our little family. 2 blocks from the beach, clean, and quiet neighborhood. I will stay again if I come to Manzanita.
Tanya S. Aug 2022
Family of four enjoyed four nights that Manzanita and we love that the house is only one block off the beach and walking distance to town
Peter N. Jul 2022
Nice setting and view of ocean!
Large deck, easy access to ocean 1/2 block away!!! Clean and comfortable. Would definitely come back! ❤️
Carol G. May 2022
This is a cute house that is nice for a small family and right down the way from the beach. We enjoyed the house and our only issue was we weren't sure how to turn the heat on. Once we figured that our, all went well.
Angie B. May 2022
This house is VERY small, don't let the pics fool you. The kitchen is so tiny its impossible for more than 1 person to cook or be in there at a time. The fridge is in SUCH an awkward spot. There were just 2 of us in the house and I felt that was enough. I dont know how people would do it with 4 and a couple of kiddos. Especially on the days its raining and youre all in the house most of the time. There is just no way. The furniture is all pretty old, the bed is small, and the bunk beds have a weight limit. The toilet is about a foot off of the ground, bathroom counter so short. I wanted to grill outside one day but the grill looks like its 100 years old so we didnt. Just couldn't really get comfy at this place. Have to go upstairs for most things, so know that in advance if stairs are an issue. I would highly suggest maybe an ottoman, even a storage ottoman with some blankets upstairs with the couch, and a full sized over the door mirror on one of the doors. The location however, was wonderful, short walk to the beach, you can see a little bit of water, and hear the ocean. For as much as people pay on YOUR home, I would think some updates would be fairly simple. It would make such a difference.
Manager response:
Angie, thank you for your review. We are glad that you found the location to be wonderful. We're sorry to hear that the house felt smaller for your party and will follow up with our management team regarding this feedback. We will certainly keep your comments about the furniture in mind when planning updates to the home. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future!
Rianna Y. Apr 2022
We took our 3 kids here for our eldest daughters birthday and had a great time. It’s a very cute, small house very close to the beach! It was perfect for us and we will be back!
Carole K. Apr 2022
The place is quite small, but good for 2 people. Loved the deck and you get a decent faraway view. No wine glasses and the oven was pretty dirty. Also, no toaster. Need to put instructions on how to use the remotes for the TV. Actually had to have someone come out to fix. In spite of all this we would come back. Close to town and beach.
Manager response:
Thanks for sharing your experience, Carole! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us. We have passed along your comments to the local operations manager and will use it as a means to continually improve. We hope to host you again soon!
Carolina v. Jan 2022
Great little place in an amazing location, one block to the beach and a short walk to downtown Manzanita. The place was clean and child friendly, my daughter loved the bunny decor. Would suggest a new blind for the slide door, as some pieces are missing. Will definitely be returning!
Duras C. Dec 2021
Close to the beach; easy access to shops. Great location!
Karen J. Oct 2021
This place was OK if you like a bare bones kind of place. We had to call the property manager to open the bedroom windows for us, we had to go out and buy our own HMDI cord so we could watch a DVD. The light over the kitchen table was useless, it just flickered on and off. Most of the furniture looks and feels like it came from Goodwill, except the couch is new.
Manager response:
We appreciate you staying with us, Karen. It's disappointing to read you were unhappy. The property manager was glad to come to the house to show you how to operate the windows. He was also happy to purchase an HDMI cord for you, but you beat him to the punch. The light bulbs in the kitchen have been replaced. Thank you!
Daina B. Aug 2021
Close to beach. Easy in and easy out
Emma J. Jun 2021
This place is much smaller than it looks in the listing and is overall in terrible condition (dents/gashes in walls; stains on heaters; dirty paint; sticky, weird and uncomfortable furniture; tiny kitchen and bedrooms; gross bedding; weird rabbit theme in the "decor" ... the list goes on). When we checked in for our 10-day stay, both bedrooms had a terrible stench of dog urine, and although Vacasa staff was friendly and responsive, it took two days for someone to make it to the place to check out the situation, and they were unable to do any mitigation of the issue. (They did refund us half the cost of the booking, but we would have given a lot to be anywhere else.)
Manager response:
Hi, Emma! We are sorry to read you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. The drywall has been damaged from improper use of the futon; the futon will be replaced with a sleeper sofa, and the drywall will be repaired at that time. There is a professional carpet cleaning scheduled to address the pet odors. Thanks!
Martha M. Jun 2021
This house is in a great location. The house itself is funky. It really needs some TLC. Though clean, the furniture is stained and scuffed. I wish the owners would give it some attention.
Christine S. May 2021
The view of the ocean from the back of the house was amazing. It was great to just leave the sliding glass door open and see, listen and smell the ocean without having to actually be on the beach. The house itself was clean, but the pillows, furniture, decor etc. could use a bit of updating. The location and walkability to downtown Manzanita couldn't have been better. I would definitely stay here again even without any updates to the decor!
Patricia m. Apr 2021
Great relaxed place especially if you have dogs and kids. It is a short walk to the best part of the beach. Love Manzanita. Thank you Little Brown House for a great stay.
Mavis H. Apr 2021
Loved the little rental but a little hiccup with heating. After reading previous reviews I was a bit skeptical but it had everything we needed. I will say because of the previous reviews I emailed through the VBRO App twice with no response. While driving to the destination the day of check in I received a phone call from someone in Florida representing the Vacasa Vacation rental telling me that the thermostat was broken and to control the heat in the home was to flip the main breaker to off. This made it difficult to get a good temp in the home. It was either too cold or too hot. But other than that it was fine. I wished they would have offered some sort of discount/perk but nothing was offered. Also we had planned to bring our dog but ended up finding a sitter so we didn't bring our dog but we were still charged the pet fee the entire time. I wish there was a way to modify something like this. All it all the location was prefect, loved the deck option and was within walking distance to downtown Manzanita and the beach!
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Mavis. We are glad you enjoyed this home but we apologize for any inconvenience due to the non-working thermostat. We are happy to report that the thermostat has been repaired by a technician, and we've removed your pet fee. We would love to host you again in the near future!
Caleb G. Mar 2021
Loved this little cabin, but the thermostat upstairs doesn’t work. Fortunately, the outdoor air cooled the space off nicely, but woe to the visitor arriving in a season that is not so cold outside...
Manager response:
Hi Caleb! Thank you for your review! We're sorry to hear that the thermostat wasn't in working condition. Since your departure, we have had the thermostat repaired for the comfort and use of future guests. We do hope that we see you again in the future!
Yuri T. Feb 2021
This house is so conveniently located a block away from beach 10 mins walk to downtown Manzanita. It is very cozy house. Kids loved bunk bed. We got to watch from storm to blue sky sunny of the beach from the house. A few things about the house, this house is located on the corner of 3 streets. Shade panels were missing so at night it makes it very visible from outside. No privacy much as long as you are in the second floor. Kitchen is missing can opener and clean cutting board. Rather than that, it was very comfortable stay. I would stay here again.
Manager response:
Hi, Yuri! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The can opener, cutting board, and blinds will be replaced right away. Thank you!
Kenneth M. Dec 2020
Close to the beach and town. Great view of the ocean from the deck. Had everything we needed.
Gary H. Dec 2020
Loved the accessability!
Jamie J. Nov 2020
We read the previous reviews and were prepared for the Little Brown House to be quaint, which is totally up our alley! However, we were not prepared for broken furniture, a missing coffee maker, and one roll of toilet paper for two people for three nights. We tried our best not to go into the shops in town in an effort to keep our possible PDX COVID cooties to ourselves, but in the end had to pop to the shop for provisions. This rental relies too heavily on its location (yes, you can can see the ocean from the living room, which is so so lovely), but VACASA should put in a little bit of effort and money into the maintenance of this property. I tried to call about the missing coffee maker, but did not get a reply; though my email about the broken living room futon was answered quickly. TL;DR: if you are planning a trip to the Little Brown House (at least during the pandemic), BYO EVERYTHING (especially toilet paper and coffee maker).
Manager response:
We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay, Jamie. We always want our guests to be able to use all of the amenities they are expecting at the home, such as a coffee maker. There is now a new coffee maker in the home. We do provide a starter pack of supplies such as paper towels, toilet paper, and trash bags, but after this is gone we do ask our guests to provide their own. The futon has also been replaced in the home. We apologize that you did not receive a call from us, we do have a 24/7 customer service line that is always available for our guest's concerns.
Sieu I. Oct 2020
Location was great! Few blocks from the beach and a few more to get to the Main Street in Manzanita. The house has a cozy wood fire stove, a great deck to bbq on and to enjoy your morning brew with a slight view of the ocean. The house stays warm. Kitchen is small but you are able to make simple meals. If you are the kind of person that needs the latest and greatest in living conveniences, this place is not for you. But, if you are low key, down with rustic elements, then snag this place. The price is right, it’s got most of what you need and the location is wonderful.
Kim H. Oct 2020
Clogged bathroom sink, FILTHY mini-blinds, dirty windows, eclectic CHEAP furnishings. It would take SO LITTLE to make this place cozy and comfy. Really disappointing.
Manager response:
We apologize for the issues you experienced during you stay, Kim. The bathroom has been fixed since your stay. Some furnishings, such as the futon, has been updated since your time in the home. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback.
quin c. Jul 2020
The view from the porch was wonderful and we were lucky that with the good weather we could use that extra space, because the house was a bit smaller than I’d imagined. Kitchen is tiny but functional, though no coffee grinder ( the blender did the trick!) great water pressure in shower and great location, both to beach and town.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us! We work hard to ensure our homes are inviting for our guests. Each home has up-to-date pictures, amenities listings, and a virtual tour so guests can choose the home that best suits their needs. We hope you choose to stay with Vacasa again!
Joanne and John B. Jul 2020
It was nice to have the ocean views while eating outside.
Owen P. Mar 2020
The Little Brown House was very cozy for my family of 4 and two pups. In fact, it felt downright small for the price. I suppose proximity to the beach (a 2 minute walk) would explain the price, but this was early March - not exactly peak beach season in Manzanita. The fresh-water filter attached to the kitchen faucet was leaky, but serviceable. The second-floor deck looked like a great place to hang out when it's not raining. In all, I think it's a lovely place to stay, but don't plan on spending a lot of time there, and I really think the listing should be cheaper - $95-100/night - in the off-season.
Tarra C. Nov 2019
The cabin was perfect for my family of 4 with one small dog. The view was so much better than I anticipated. The deck was awesome. Location was great. 1/2 block from beach and about 3 blocks from town. Only problem was the dryer. It was super old and never dried my clothing. If you are looking for luxury this is not for you. Cute, comfy, great price, and close to beach. We will be back!!!
Caroline P. Aug 2019
Nice, cozy beach place. Perfect for you if you are looking for a laid back, casual setting without any pretense.
Michael A. Aug 2019
We loved being so close to the beach and coming back to a home to rest and share a meal with views of the ocean.
Richard S. Aug 2019
I would give 3.5 stars if possible. The little brown house is in a great location: A pretty and quiet street one block from the beach and an easy walk into town (about 4 blocks). Nice view from the deck. Kitchen stocked ok. No dishwasher. Everything is old (stove, grill) but works. Dryer is very slow to dry clothes. This rental has basics but nothing extra. For example, other beach homes I've rented had beach chairs and beach towels for guests. We brought our own this trip. Living room furniture was very uncomfortable (my biggest complaint). The larger bedroom had a comfortable bed. No closets, just hooks on wall. I do like that they accept dogs. Manzanita is the most dog friendly town I've visited. Love Manzanita! Not sure if I would rent little brown house again but it was a nice enough stay this trip.
Nicholas H. Jul 2019
This house was exactly what we needed for a long weekend! There are plenty of supplies (pots, pans, silverware, towels, blankets, etc.), it is in a great location, and has an extremely easy entry.
Jason W. Apr 2019
While the home shows its age, it made for a great weekend getaway. The house is walking distance to town and the beach. The deck offers a great place to relax and watch the waves.
Wenelle J. Jan 2019
We were close to the beach and town. Loved the walk ability from the cottage to every where we wanted to go. The house was clean and well stocked with dishes for on site cooking.
Terrence R. Dec 2018
Debra J R. Oct 2018
to the Little Brown House this spring.
Hadi A. Oct 2018
Pretty clean place in a nice spot! close to downtown and the ocean
robert h. Aug 2018
Location was good with a great deck for relaxing.
Debra T. Aug 2018
It is close to the beach and town. Very convenient! Had a great stay!
Laura P. Jul 2018
Definitely recommended. Fast answers and nice, clean, spacious place. Very happy with it
Terence T. Jul 2018
Great location, 1/2 block to the beach.
Gloria F. Jun 2018
Will not recommend.
Manager response:
We encourage all guests to reach out during their stay so that we can make sure they have the best possible time.
Ned D. Jun 2018
Nice little house, close to the ocean with views of the waves from the living room and deck. The wood stove made for cozy evenings.
Indi E. Apr 2018
This house was great for a couple things: the deck with a view of the ocean, and the proximity to the ocean itself. The house itself is really not all that nice and felt pretty cramped with the 5 adults we had, but it served its purpose while we were down on the coast. The natural beauty is pretty great so there isn't much of a point in just laying around the house anyways, right? The bedding felt pretty cheap and it was strange to have carpet in a beach house, but all in all, it was a good place for us to crash at night after exploring. While there wasn't a significant problem and I would do it over again if this was the best spot available for the price, if we head back to Manzanita we will try another place to stay.
Brooke B. Apr 2018
Quick walk to the beautiful beach was amazing. The house was nice, but expensive for what we received. Functions more like a hotel room than AirBnB. For instance, I enjoy the personalisation of an owner-operated property to leave a review in a little book, have coffee left over from another visitor, sometimes flowers or bottle of wine or breakfast treats. We had utensils and cups, plates, etc...but nothing personal for our visit (which included a child and dog).

No dishwasher makes things a little difficult and the upstairs had a tendency to get super hot from the fridge running constantly.

But you still have the amazing location in Manzanita. So it depends on your priorities. :) Comfortable to sleep and stay for a couple days.
David H. Dec 2017
150y to the start of the gorgeous beach -- just visible from the deck -- and a few blocks to town. Cute little place, dog friendly -- what more could you ask? We had a terrific winter getaway to the lovely Oregon coast, and no complaints about the house. Easy and fun.
Terrence R. Dec 2017
No comment, I don't do reviews
Renee H. Nov 2017
The little brown house was just perfect for two people and two dogs. We loved all the little decorative touches and the welcoming package and sundries from Vacasa. It was cozy and cute and had everything we needed. We definitely stay here again.
Cynthia B. Oct 2017
Little is correct. If you want rustic this is your place. Great deck to watch the surf, but can not see the surf from inside the house unless you stand at the door. The bed is hard and a double. The living room furniture is very uncomfortable. If you are not going to be in the house a lot then this a a good location house.
Tracey F. Sep 2017
The house was adequate for 2 but any more than that would be awful. Neither the bathroom nor kitchen would be amenable for more. The location is great for the beach and for a few block walk to ‘downtown’.
Kate H. Sep 2017
This house has a GREAT location and is only 1/2 a block to the beach. There's a great outdoor patio on the 2nd floor that you can see the ocean from too. House is older, but clean. Be prepared, the house is pretty tiny. My kid loved the few toys and book that were there, but we didn't love that there weren't any sheets for the couch bed, no board games, and no beach toys. I know, houses aren't required to have this stuff, but it sure is nice when they do!
Lea B. Sep 2017
Nice, quiet cabin, really nice for 2 or 3. A block to the beach. Great little getaway.
Patricia S. Aug 2017
Close to the water and a great place to stay.
Chris B. Jul 2017
It's a simple little house just down the street from the beach in Manzanita. It's not fancy or anything, it's comfortable and just right. It could use some simple repairs (the screen door slams shut, the shower door is wobbly) and maybe updated appliances, but everything is functional and works as expected. The beds were comfortable and everyone slept soundly.
Manager response:
The shower door has been fixed, and we have adjusted the setting on the storm door to make it more user friendly. Thank you!
Heather H. Jul 2017
Perfect for 2 people and a dog. We loved it. Short walk to town.
Omar S. Jul 2017
My wife and I loved staying in this beautiful little home by the beach. The deck, the proximity to town and the beach were perfect - as was the wood burning stove and pleasant living area upstairs. i would definitely recommend this place for a couple.
Daphne P. Jun 2017
The place is small which makes it quite the getaway for 2 people. The view of the ocean from the living room and deck was spectacular.
April W. Apr 2017
Our family enjoyed being so close to the beach . The queen size bed was comfortable and our girls enjoyed the bunk beds. It had everything we needed. It was on the smaller side , but worked for our family of four with our dog. Thank you.
Renee R. Apr 2017
The cabin was private and very clean. The furnishings are dated but so one would expect for a beach hang-out that is dog and kid friendly. The queen bed was comfy. The heating took quite a while to warm the house, but the wood stove is extremely warm and snug. For warm weather, the house is well designed for cross-drafts so I would imagine it would be very comfortable then as well. There is plenty of room to hang-out and the dishes were plentiful. Proximity to the beach is great and the peek-a-boo view is just right.
Stay in Manzanita and take a day trip to Cannon Beach: you will be very glad that you did!
Kay C. Feb 2017
Great place to stay for a short amount of time. Bunny theme throughout the home was quite humorous! Bunk beds are nice for Children. However, it would have been nice, if ,there would have been an additional full size bed available in the property. Futon was really uncomfortable, due to bent frame. Overall. place was really charming and close to the beach. Nice Deck and cute kitchen. We really enjoyed our stay here! What a great gem to stay at for a beach get away!
Stephen M. Dec 2016
Assuming problems I mentioned are fixed, we might stay again but certainly not with more than 3 people (or 2 adults and 2 smaller children). Location is good, and the deck would really be nice during better weather.
Mark H. Nov 2016
One block from the beach, a few blocks from the main drag--pretty much a perfect setting. Kitchen upstairs, with a huge balcony with a view. We found it peaceful. Has the amenities (wifi, tv, equipped kitchen). Top-notch.
Kathy M. Sep 2016
We had a good time at the little brown house. Very clean, and it was a bit larger inside than it appeared in the photo. We were quite comfortable with four adults. The deck was nice and big with plenty of furniture. The living room futon was comfortable--as was the master bed. There were plenty of nice towels. I appreciated having filtered water. Beach access was easy, and the neighborhood was very quiet. The stairs in the house are very steep. That wasn't a problem for us, but anyone with a balance problem or mobility problem should be mindful of the stairs. I would not bring a toddler there due to the stairs and the insufficient baby gate at the top of the stairs. A lovely stay, all the same. We'd go back.
Elmer B. Aug 2016
Our stay started off the wrong foot..check-in is at 4P and we got there 4:15p and the cleaning crew was still there and needed fifteen more minutes. For our short stay this place worked out nicely though. If we were to have more of an extended stay you would likely need your rental to have a little more amenities compared to the other rental options. The location is more than ideal!

Richard F. Aug 2016
The deck is the best part of this property. Overall the property is as described. No kitchen towels or oven mitt. Kitchen could use additional lighting. Most electrical outlets need to be replaced. Could use a new vacuum cleaned. Had to remove about 2 pounds of human hair from the roller to get it to work at all.
Bob P. Aug 2016
The house is small but we had 5 adults staying there for four days and it was quite comfortable. The location is ideal with a short walk to the beach or town.
Michael D. Jul 2016
Good little place - could use new carpet in the upstairs due to mild pet odor (kept smelling cat litter box odor when we returned from outings and had the sliding glass door closed). Not a huge deal but a little annoying. Other than that VaCasa is a great management company and we really like this place overall for location and simple amenities.
Manager response:
We apologize that there appears to have been an unpleasant odor during this guest's stay. Housekeeping and the Property Manager have all confirmed that there is no odor in the unit, and we want to assure our guests that there has never been a litterbox in the unit as cats are not allowed on any Vacasa property.
Jen M. Jun 2016
The house was perfect for our family and in a great location!
Thaddeus S. Jun 2016
Bruce R. Jun 2016
Although the location of the rental was good we were disappointed with the maintenance, quality of furnishings, and amenities this house offered. This vacation rental needs some upgrading, updating, and repair. I'll be looking elsewhere next time I stay in the area.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest was disappointed; we will take this feedback under consideration.
Taylor C. Jun 2016
Beach access was great from the house. From there though- blinds were rusty and dusty, there were sixteen end tables in the house, one end table near the kitchen was completely delaminated, the refrigerator door storage was broken, the kitchen sink was slow to drain all weekend, blinds to back deck were broken with one shade not being present and the top cover falling off. The futon upstairs is insanely uncomfortable to sit on.
Manager response:
We apologize for the maintenance issues and inconveniences experienced with this reservation; the Property Manager and owner will work together in phases to complete improvements as they are able to.
Cheryl R. May 2016
Great experience
Julie K. May 2016
The little brown house is not big enough for 6 people, comfortable for 2 and a dog.
Jill M. Apr 2016
Loved our stay here. We had an ocean view from the deck, easy beach access, and a short walk into town. We will be back!
Abigail H. Apr 2016
Manzanita is among our favorite spots and it never disappoints. The house is small and a little dated, but there is a partial ocean view from a very nice deck. A comfortable mattress and a wonderfully quiet street made for a restful weekend. Overall, we had a lovely stay.
Sandra A. Apr 2016
We had a wonderful time, perfect for the four of us and our little fur baby. Very close to the beach and a short distance walk to downtown Manzanita. Short drive to other places too. Definitely coming back.
Sheila M. Apr 2016
Cute beach house. Perfect for a couple or small family. Close to town and the beach.
Beth B. Mar 2016
Great location, can see beach from deck! Quiet retreat, close to town.
Jenn H. Jan 2016
This little house is perfect for a small group that wants to be close to the beach.
Ruth M. Jan 2016
The little brown house has a perfect location one block from the amazing manzanita beach.The view from the deck and living room is lovely,watching the waves rolling in at different times of the day, in varying lights was amazing. The cabin *is* small and only really suitable for a couple or family with 2 small kids. It would be cramped with more. Furnishings are cozy,clean and warm. The main bed, although only a queen, was really comfortable.
On the negative side, the garbage can in the kitchen had not been emptied after the previous renters which is kind of gross. The kitchen is small and if you're planning on cooking a gourmet meal, it can get tricky. The oven only has one shelf which only takes one pot or dish,( and the oven seems to run hot), but there is a bbq which I used to help out. Although there were logs, there was no kindling or axe so lighting the fire was tricky until the second day when we grabbed some small pieces of driftwood to get it going. The cabin could use a few staples like aluminum foil and spices and oil etc. to get you on your way. And it would have been nice to have access to cleaning supplies like a broom and vacuum cleaner, because 2 small kids make a continuous mess!
Overall though, the positives greatly out weigh the negatives and they seem like easy fixes. Great location and really cute and cozy.
Valerie A. Nov 2015
Can't beat the location and view for the price. November visit cold and clear. Quiet nights.
Steven W. Aug 2015
Very close to the beach. You can see and hear the beach from the deck.
Kate H. Aug 2015
The location is great, short walk to beach or town, and that is really what you want from a beach house right? You can see a sliver of beach and water off the corner of the deck too.
It's nice that they provide some beach towels, as a lot of rental homes don't.
If you have a group for whom one full size bed and a twin bunk bed works, and no crawling babies, this is a great place.
The bunk bed is sturdy
For an additional sleeper or two, sleeping on the Futon couch is ok, but the neighbors have a lot of barking dogs (at 4:30am? - they might run some sort of dog boarding?), and the fridge is sort of loud when its motor kicks in. Also, we didn't have an extra set of sheets or blankets for the futon.

The place is not baby proof at all, so was a bit of a challenge with the crawling baby we had with us. (and would be more so in winter with wall mounted electric heat and a wood stove central to the living room) But so long as you don't have a mobile baby to contend with....

and if you like bunnies, this is totally your house, apparently the owner has a bit of a thing for rabbit decor, there are a bunch of bunny tchotchkes throughout the house....
Leah T. Aug 2015
The Little Brown House is a perfect beach getaway for a couple or a small family. There are two bedrooms downstairs (one with a queen and one with twin bunks) and a full size futon upstairs. The twin bunks are only suitable for children, but my husband and I slept on the futon upstairs and it was very comfortable. We had our family of five: two adults, two college kids, a middle school kid, and our dog. The space was cozy and might be considered small by some, but everyone in our family loved it. It was spotless when we arrived and smelled fresh. The kitchen is well-stocked with utensils and cleaning supplies. The dining area is small, so we mostly used it to lay out a buffet and then ate on the deck. The best part about the house is the location -- only a half-block walk to the beach and about 4 blocks to the main street of shops and eateries. We love Manzanita for it's small, beach village feel, and we will make the Little Brown House our annual place to stay. We loved it!
Kevin B. Aug 2015
Exactly as advertised. Cozy, nice deck, very close to the beach, and a short walk to town. Great spot for a small family or very small group of friends to enjoy Manzanita.
Peter H. Jun 2015
The Little Brown House is an absolutely darling little house within walking distance to a gorgeous beach and downtown. We enjoyed our stay tremendously; however, it is worth noting that there is no bathtub in the unit. We made it work, but with small children it can be a challenge to wash sand off of little bottoms without a tub! There is, however, a safety gate at the top of the stairs, which was wonderful with a busy little walker attempting to get into everything. We will absolutely stay in Manzanita again and are very likely to book the LIttle Brown House next time we make the trip.
Michele M. Jun 2015
We had a lovely stay. We especially liked the lay out with the bedrooms on the ground floor and the living space upstairs. The sunny and warm deck, with views of the ocean (even though a block away) was wonderful. This house allows dogs and we were so happy to bring our yellow lab. However, unlike other houses we have stayed in, there was not lingering smell of dogs from previous guests. The owners and caretakers are certainly doing something right.
Erin D. Jun 2015
The house itself is a bit outdated, but we didn't mind. The floor plan was perfect for our family. Wish there had been some beach chairs and sand toys and some games or movies or something at the house. Make sure to bring all your own activities. The location was excellent! Very close to the beach and walking distance to the main street in town. Unrelated to the house, but it was frustrating to find that many of the restaurants in town were closed on Tuesday and Wednesday.
Manager response:
Thanks so much for your review. Providing information about local restaurants is helpful to both our guests and staff, and we're happy to report that this home has a well-stocked kitchen for those times when eating out is not an option.
Susan S. Apr 2015
Our family of 4 escaped for 3 nights to the Little Brown House and had a fabulous time! Manzanita beach is steps away from the house... perfect for flying kites, taking long walks, throwing and kicking balls!
Ashleigh Y. Oct 2014
We had a lovely stay here. The location is perfect with a small view of the ocean from the deck. It's a perfect and cosy home for 1 or 2 couples.
Marcy J. Aug 2014
I would highly recommend the Little Brown House, especially for a solo stay. The space and locale were just right for me and I loved the view to the ocean just a block away. I also loved how the house is situated so that you get both morning light and also evening sunset! While this can sleep up to 4 people I think it would be pretty tight for more than 2.
Manager response:
We appreciate you sharing your 5 star review! The Little Brown House is cozy and comfortable and the location is perfect for a solo star or for a small family. Just a block from the beach and with a lovely ocean view. Thank you for allowing Vacasa to help you plan your getaway.
Paul E. Aug 2014
We enjoyed the stay and location so close to the ocean. We could see and hear the ocean from the deck which was awesome.
Bruce G. Apr 2014
This was a great find for our family of four - two girls ages 10, 8. It was very clean and tidy on arrival with plenty of towels. The lack of dishwasher would get old during a longer stay, but it was no big deal for a quick trip. Great location. We'll be back.
Steve D. Feb 2014
I asked about early check-in, and they sent an email the day before we arrived letting us know it was available early, which was great. We arrived and had a problem unlocking the front door, as the lock would not accept the key. Once we got unlocked with some persistence, we really enjoyed our stay. Good location, comfortable, and a bit rustic. The kitchen is very basic, and there is no exhaust fan, so if I was doing a lot of cooking, or fixing something that was a little smokey, that would be a negative for me. It was not a problem for this trip, but thought it was worth mentioning for any serious cooks. We had a lot of fun. Great price for mid-week.
Dianne R. Aug 2013
We so enjoyed our stay at the Little Brown House. Very clean and cheerfully
decorated. Fabulous location, very close to the beach and walking distance
to town. We barbequed on the deck which has a view of the ocean. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils and nice dishes. My grand daughters loved their bunkbeds. We would definately go back! Vacasa was wonderful to work with.
Garisha D. Jul 2013
This will be a place we will continue to come back to over and over again. Would not recommend more than 4 people with one bathroom and total size of house. But overall, great place. Provide everything you need and close to everything!
Mike T. Jul 2013
Rustic, small, well-worn and dated, but we knew that coming in. Still enjoyed it thoroughly. It's part of the charm. High-speed wireless internet, satellite TV, and a great wood stove were a bonus. Nice deck with ocean view - great place to BBQ from. Loved being 1 block to the beach and a short walk downtown too. Would stay here again.
Erin T. Jul 2013
The Little Brown House was perfect for a weekend getaway. It's a little rustic - no dishwasher but, has all the basics you need. Having a nice ocean view from the deck was a bonus! Just steps from the beach and a short walk to town. The location is perfect. Slept 4 adults just fine. Pet friendly. The house had 2 fans which we used since the house got a bit warm when the sun hit it in the afternoon. We can't wait to book our next trip back to Manzanita.
Mark H. May 2013
The little brown house was fantastic plenty of room for 4 adults and 2 kids even when the weather got bad. Loved our holiday weekend there would stay again in future.
Joyce L. May 2013
It cost us 95$ a night. Can,t get a motel for it is good deal nice view of ocean off deck...not real fancy, no dishwasher kind of a pain,,,but again for under a hundred bucks it was fine......
Marylin S. Apr 2013
All and all it was a good place to stay. With very little improvements the place would even be better.
Sandro P. Mar 2013
It was in a good location, very clean and comfortable. Just an overall great relaxing stay.
Megan L. Nov 2012
We enjoyed our stay on this house. Our kids and dog loved playing on the beach. Being so close to the ocean was really great. The only thing we expected were basic spices for cooking. The only thing in the house was 1/2 full salt shaker, no pepper or anything else. If you are planning on cooking, bring your own supplies. Other than that we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly!
Manager response:
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that there were no basic spices provided. We provide salt & pepper, sugar, creamer and coffee. If these were not present in the home, we'll make sure to supply them for the next guests.
Heidi S. Oct 2012
The Little Brown House was perfect for a weekend getaway to the beach at Manzanita. Steps from the beach, within walking distance of town (coffee, eats, grocery, library), easy drive to other beach adventures (recommend tidepools at Haystack rock, hike in Oswald West St Park, fresh crab from Wheeler). The cabin was cozy, warm, clean and comfortable. View of the waves. Bring your own firewood if you want a fire but know that the electric heat gets the house plenty warm.
Joanne S. Sep 2012
we had a wonderful time. I'm from the East Coast and must admit the Oregon. coast was beautiful.
The whole community was charming as well as "The LittleBrown House"
Leslie B. Sep 2012
Had a great time at the little brown house. It was great for 2 people, but would be tight for more as there is only one bathroom on the downstairs floor, and the living area (kitchen, TV room was on the second floor). The location was great, easy walking to the beach and town.
Stacy M. Aug 2012
Nice little place. Cute neighborhood. Very close to the beach.
Chris B. Aug 2012
We had a very nice three-day stay here in August. The house is about a minute's walk from the beach and there is a great ocean view from the deck. We have a two-year-old daughter and we appreciated the child-proofing throughout the house; there is a baby gate built in to the top of the main stairs and the whole upstairs deck is fenced in to keep little people from falling (without obstructing the views for big people.) The only thing we didn't anticipate was that there is no bathtub, just a shower - our daughter thought this was just an extra-fun way to get clean, so no complaints on our end, just something to be aware of.
Susan M. Jul 2012
This house is pretty basic, but it does the trick. One block from the beach and a 5 minute walk into town made it the perfect location for us. Nice view from the deck. Technically it can sleep 6, but we found it very cosy with just 3 of us. Any more than 4 would be crowded.
Katie M. Jun 2012
We loved the location of the little brown house! We loved the deck, the town, the beach, the surf, the three wheeled bikes- we had a ball!!!!!!!!
Jonathan B. Jun 2012
We really enjoyed our stay at The Little Brown House. The house is in good shape, and the deck is awesome. Great location as well. We'll be back.
Emily H. May 2012
Thank you so much for allowing dogs!
Maggie B. May 2012
The Little Brown House was a great little place. A lot of the managed vacation homes that you find say they can sleep a large number of people, but this one could actually sleep six comfortably. The main part of the house is on the upper story and the only bathroom on the lower level so you'll have to up and down stairs a lot. The linens were new and attractive and the decor was what I would call American Zen.
I would recommend this place to anyone. Two thumbs up.
Heather C. Apr 2012
Hello! Overall, very happy with the house. One thing-I remember reading on the house description page that it had a record player. This was definitely a selling point. But no record player on arrival :(
Nora L. Apr 2012
Very nice little place enjoyed stay easy walk to beach and small but nice beach view