USA Alabama Alabama Gulf Coast Dauphin Island Listing #38374

License to Chill - Dauphin Island, AL

Take a Virtual Tour
31 reviews
Max. occupancy: 12 3 King Bed, 4 Double Bed 4 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Beautiful beachfront house w/ stunning views, free WiFi, & outdoor shower!

Make this bright and spacious home your next beach retreat! License to Chill, a four-bedroom house located on the sandy white beaches of Dauphin Island. With beach access directly behind the house and a partially covered and comfortably furnished deck overlooking the Gulf, this home is ready for hosting a retreat to the beach. All one floor, the home features the master bedroom on one side of the house (with its own en suite bathroom) next to the bedroom featuring two double beds. Across the living room, guests can enjoy two more bedrooms with king beds - one has an en suite bathroom while the other has a bathroom right next door.

What's nearby:
Enjoy a little vitamin D and splash in the Gulf of Mexico just steps behind the house. Take a day and take a ride on the ferry( just under six miles away) and head over to Fort Morgan and check out the Historic Site where you can find historical exhibits, nature areas, a boat launch, picnic area, and beaches for visitors to enjoy. The home is also within four miles of many delicious restaurants like Islanders, Reel Deal BBQ, and Dority's Bar & Grill!

Things to know:
Free WiFi and cable
Full kitchen
Snowbirds welcome!

This property is managed by Vacasa Alabama LLC.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining






Ocean view


Water view


Beach access

Gulf view






Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions


Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games







31 reviews

Victor D. Nov 2022
Great floor plan, easy to get to it.
Laurie W. Oct 2022
Licensed to Chill is a great property. Read on for my pros and cons list!

Pros: This home is beautifully designed and decorated. The beachfront location is beautiful! The 4 bedrooms offer a nice space for everyone. The back deck is perfect for watching the sunrise etc. The outdoor table seats 8 — which is great! The internet is high speed and worked all week. If you’re looking for a lovely place to sleep and don’t mind some missing amenities, this house is for you!!!

Cons: If you need maintenance or help on the property and rent through Vacasa, you have to jump through hoops to get to the local management. I only had 2 issues that needed attention, but it took 3 phone calls to get a plan of action. The property could use a little attention to details as well. The fridge doesn’t cool well and has 2 broken drawers. The freezer freezes well, but the ice maker is in need of repair as ice falls from the ice maker into the freezer area. The kitchen could use a full set of pots/pans. The pieces that were available were less than what was expected. Of the 2 pots, both bottoms had burnt crusties in them and the one non-stick skillet had no more Teflon on the surface. The kitchen could also use a full set of cooking utensils. The bath towels could certainly be upgraded and replaced. Most towels had small brown or black stains. Every bathroom could use a small trashcan. The bathrooms would also benefit from a bath mat at each shower. In the bedrooms facing the ocean, the view is magnificent, but there are only sheer curtains. If you like it dark, you might choose a room with a street view. Lastly, public beach is directly adjacent to the property. If you don’t want extra visitors nearby, you might choose a different property.

Overall, Licensed to Chill is a nice place!! It could use some attention to detail and would be A++.
Manager response:
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, Laurie. Maintenance has taken care of the refrigerator and ordered new drawers for it, as well as new cookware. The towels have been replaced, and we have asked local staff to check the utensils and ice maker to determine our next steps. Thank you!
Joshua T. Mar 2022
The house is beautiful! Everyone was very responsive but there were some issues! There are 2 can openers but neither really work. Almost every plate and coffee cup are chipped. But again, beautiful and we dealt with those issues but the utensils and dishes could use an update! Bring a spatula if you want over easy eggs!
Manager response:
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, Joshua. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We will be sure to pass your feedback along to our local manager who will work with our homeowner to make necessary upgrades. We look forward to hosting you again!
Joyce W. Mar 2022
a perfect place for a scattered family to meet and enjoy the beach, thre sunrise, and time together
Angela H. Feb 2022
The location could not be better and the house is beautiful. Alabama has amazing beaches, we will come back.
Dawn P. Jan 2022
We loved the view from this house. It perfect for two families. With that being said the sheer window treatments don't work on the ocean side of the home with two families. Also it is pet friendly and it would be a good idea to wash the rugs, blankets, and pillow coverings before every stay. They were covered with pet hair. I am pretty sure we left the home better than when when found it. I would stay again if you changed cleaning companies because I loved the setting.
Manager response:
Hi Dawn! We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness concerns you encountered during your stay with us. Our team of housekeepers takes pride in their cleanliness standards, as it is a top priority service we provide for every guest prior to check-in. We are disappointed to see that this concern was not reported to us during your stay as we would have been happy to assist. We have passed your feedback along to our housekeeping staff so they are aware of your concerns. We hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future!
Victor D. Nov 2021
The pictures do not do justice to this home! Everything was great. Beautiful home.
Sandy B. Nov 2021
Home had a great open floor plan with beautiful ocean views. Split floor plan was perfect to give everyone their private space.
Would not hesitate to rent this home again.
Billy H. Oct 2021
Only thing was there was work being done and there was some problems with nails sticking out in the path of were you walk a there was a door knob broke
Hope T. Oct 2021
Mylinda L. Sep 2021
Beautiful home that's well stocked and has plenty of space. Steps from the beach! Our family enjoyed our stay.
Joey R. Aug 2021
We loved the house and all the extra added touches. This home is a very family friendly area also. This company went out their way to provide anything needed before you even knew you needed it. Great stay! We will use them again and again. !
Manager response:
Hi, Joey! We are pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable. We appreciate your valuable feedback to continually improve our service. We hope to host your next vacation soon!
Curtis W. Aug 2021
Everything about the place was absolutely great. There was nothing that kept us from completely enjoying our vacation. The house was clean and well-appointed. We felt right at home immediately. Everyone enjoyed being right on the beach - so handy for attending to little ones, fixing snacks, and whatever. We could be on the beach, or off, without the big production of packing everything up. The huge deck overlooking the gulf was the perfect spot for every outdoor thing - sunning, snacks, games, reading, or surveying the day's haul of shells. The perfect gathering spot for all of us to talk about the day's adventures, and plan tomorrow's. Let me name a few things that should have your attention - not as a complaint, but as a way to make License to Chill even better. - The steps on the Gulf side of the home were not in service. They should be fixed asap. It was obvious that they had been previously repaired, but the methods, materials, and workmanship was sub-par. Get a reputable contractor, and have the steps repaired. - Parking was ample, but there were tons (and I mean actual tons) of loose sand in the driveway area. We had to gather up and push vehicles out on several occasions. Part of having the home ready for each arriving tenant should be that the driveway is cleared of excess sand (from storms or whatever). The weekly cleaning crew could easily report on this potential issue, and proper action engaged. - The outside shower was not in service. Like the steps, it was obvious that repairs had been done previously, but not done in a way that would serve for very long. Get a reputable contractor and have the outside shower repaired. Again, We had an awesome vacation. License to Chill is a great place to vacation with family. 5 stars, easily. Give consideration to the things I've mentioned, and this great home will be even better.
Heather B. May 2021
We loved our time at License to Chill! The house was beautiful and comfortable and we had everything we needed. I just wish we had been alerted to the fact that the stairs leading from the back deck to the beach were washed out and unusable. It was quite inconvenient to have to go in and out to the beach from the front door the whole time. Would love to come back and stay again!
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Heather! We are so sorry that the stairs were unusable during your stay. Our local manager has made sure they have been repaired. The high surf and surge did damage them after the stairs had been repaired. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope we can host you again!
Allison K. May 2021
The location of the house was amazing. It is right on the beach. We had a lot of great family time hanging out. It was just the trip we needed.
The house it’s self was nice. It had everything we needed. I was pleasantly surprised by the number of towels. There were so many towels! It was great.
We also would highly recommend going to the dauphin island sea lab and estuarium while you are on the island. We homeschool. Their salt marsh excursion was a perfect educational opportunity for our whole time family.
Stephanie T. Mar 2021
The house was perfect! Directly ON the ocean, just steps from the home! The home itself was beautiful, clean, tidy and COMFORTABLE!! We will definitely be back!
Jordon C. Mar 2021
This was a fantastic stay! Great beach front property. It had a full kitchen with any thing you would need to make your meals I.e. pots, pans, griddle, toaster, coffee maker and gas grill on the front deck. Plenty of extra towels for the beach and shower. The beds were large and comfy with fresh clean linens. It was a Beautiful house in a beautiful place. We will definitely be coming back!
Nicki D. Jan 2021
This was a perfect beach getaway. We had plenty of space for our family of 6. You can see the sunrise and sunset from the gorgeous deck. Woke up to the sunrise and sounds of the ocean. Vacasa staff was available upon check in and came to get our trash twice while there. Kitchen was stocked with plenty of utensils. Grill did not ignite with the push button but we were able to purchase a lighter to solve that problem (and that was a very minute problem). House was very clean. Perfect way to unwind and enjoy the gorgeous beach.
Rhonda H. Dec 2020
The house so was beautiful. Very spacious, decorated nicely and great bedrooms. It was a very quiet stay to relax after the death of my daddy. My husband, stepmother and I was very pleased with the quietness. The only problems we had was with the lights and the door. My husband was going to the car when he grabbed the door handle it came off in his hand. Then the whole 6 days we had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and dining room in the house that would lose power. No lights, no TV and no wifi. After a while it would come back on. My stepmother plugged the iron up and the lights went dim.
I did call the house agency and notified them of the issue. They informed me that someone would come out but never saw anyone. Then I was supposed to get a call back and never did.
The agency has several nice people that I did talk to. They even offered to move us to another house but we did not want to move. It was frustrating to rent this house and could only use half of it. My stepmother has Parkinson and I did not want to put here through moving.
I would highly recommend this house as long as the electrical issue gets fixed.
Manager response:
Hello Rhonda, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologize for the issues with the electrical. Our local manager is currently working with the homeowner to have an electrician come out and make any repairs needed. We apologize for the inconvenience and do hope you will allow us to host you again in the future.
Mike D. Nov 2020
Great place to get away. Better than the crowded panhandle of FL
Susan P. Nov 2020
The house is absolutely beautiful and furnishings couldn’t be more perfect for a beach home. Absolutely loved everything about the layout and appointments.
Our only issue was with results of three hurricanes back to back so we had to have a pass to get pass check point to house. Tides were so high they were under house making beach access very difficult. I tried to get someone to give me a number to call before arriving so we could check on status but was unable so ,y complaint is more with dealing with VACASA than with the actual property.
Manager response:
Hi Susan, we appreciate your feedback. Once a guest books we send a confirmation email with information and then follow-up emails, finally a check-in email a week prior to arrival. Our guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to assist. It looks like you emailed us and we responded that same day to let you know the home did not have damage from the storms. We do not have any control over area check-points or weather-related tides, but we understand your frustration. We hope to host you again soon.
Leslie D. Aug 2020
The house is beautiful, with an incredible beach front location. We loved the giant porch overlooking the ocean. Very comfortable, great floorplan. Well stocked with everything you need. Can't wait to go back!
Anthony J. Jul 2020
Not much more you could ask for with this house. Had a great week fishing right outside our door. Loved it.
Becky H. Jul 2020
This beach home is exceptional. It is updated, clean, and has plenty of room for a large group. The deck is amazing with great seating and you just walk down the steps to be in the sand. So beautiful.
Debbie J. Jun 2020
We absolutely loved the location! We have always rented condos and this was the first year to rent a house and we loved it!
Love the size of the deck off the back and the view! Had everything we needed to enjoy our stay!
Jacquelyne P. Jun 2020
In love with this place!
Kate H. Jun 2020
Cannot wait to come back. Everything was perfect!
Tammy D. May 2020
We always live staying in a home directly on the ocean. Set up is as easy as waking up in the morning and heading to the sand. One consideration to note:this house is directly adjacent to a public access so point so there likely will be some crowds bleeding over into the beach front space. Also had some trouble with the management company responding and repairing a back door that wouldn’t lock, a disposal that didn’t work and an outdoor hose that was broken. Still had a great time!
Manager response:
Hi, Tammy! Thank you for staying with us and telling us about your visit. The back door lock had to be special ordered and will soon arrive so we can repair it. The garbage disposal has been repaired. We hope to see you again!
Rachel M. May 2020
the house was big enough for the whole family and we loved steppingoff the back steps right onto the beach. The back porch was awesome also, plenty big enough for everyone to be outside relaxing at once. Most of the eateries were closed or doing only carryout because of covid 19 but we were still good. will be returning to dauphin island, like the calmness of the area without all the hustle and bustle of other beach areas
Sabrina M. Apr 2020
We loved everything about this place. Hands down.