USA Colorado Pikes Peak Florissant Listing #41414

The Hideaway - Florissant, CO

Take a Virtual Tour
19 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 1 King Bed, 3 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms  plus loft 4 bathrooms 1 dog max  (50 lb weight limit)  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Spacious dog-friendly homelo w/ large deck, free WiFi, & separate basement space

Treat the family to that long-awaited vacation and get away from it all at this beautiful lodging offering all of the comforts of home! With a rustic exterior, this home feels like a classic cabin yet the interior is bright and contemporary, making for a comfortable and secluded stay. Enjoy crisp mornings and warm evenings on the spacious deck with your favorite drink in hand and simply soak up the stunning views. When everyone returns from their own kind of adventures, the wood stove, flatscreen TV, and a home-cooked meal prepared in the full kitchen will be the perfect recipe for settling down. Not to mention, breaking out a few board games in one of the two living areas (or the basement retreat that includes two bedrooms, one bathroom, and a kitchenette!) will let everyone indulge in a bit of friendly competition.

What's nearby:
Getting away from the hustle and bustle of city life is just what this home has to offer. When guests want to venture away from this private oasis, heading over to Florissant Fossil Beds National Monument will be a great way to spend an afternoon. If you are feeling adventurous, Colorado Wolf and Wildlife Center offers a unique wildlife experience with wolves and guided tours. Plus, Florissant, Divide, and Woodland Park are all within 17 miles of the home base offering wonderful restaurants and breweries for a night out! Take a scenic trip to Summit County Ski Areas that include Breckenridge (78 miles), Keystone (almost 94 miles), A-Basin (96.5 miles), and Copper Mountain (95 miles). Also, you'll be close to Buena Vista for white water rafting and beautiful scenery.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen upstairs/ basement kitchenette (countertop convection oven, double burner hotplate)
Private gas grill
Dog-friendly (one dog max under 50 lbs)
4WD/traction may be required in winter

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Space heater

Wood-burning fireplace

Wood stove

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Mountain view





Wireless router

Netflix streaming

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private



19 reviews

Julie U. Jul 2022
Loved the layout. Front porch was great! Assortment of board games was great
Michael P. Jul 2022
Not trying to falsely advertise (you will do some driving). The house is great, clean, and I could have been happy in the house for a week and not been sorry, but the area (for us was the beginning of July) put us in the middle of so much to explore. First, you’re in the middle of the world’s largest fossil beds, there is so much hiking that can be done in this area. The house sits atop of a mountain, you are “on” a mountain (9,117’ above sea level) and you are about ten minutes to the main roads; this allows for some spectacular views of surrounding mountains so the drive up and down provides a little entertainment; we had hoped to safely see a bear, but saw deer, wild turkeys and a heard of elk. The town is not much, lots of closed places on Monday and Tuesdays. We needed lunch one day so we went to the Thunderbird, a family friendly “biker bar” and the kids loved playing $1 pool (burgers were very good). Hwy 24 is amazing. From Colorado Springs to the other side of Florissant we had so much fun exploring: the cave of the winds, Terryall Dude Ranch for Horseback riding, Lake George, 11-mile canyon and also 11-mile reservoir ( for a little trout fishing), Happy meadows and Twin eagle campground for hiking (so beautiful), and A wolf preserve just around the corner, back towards Colorado Springs to the Garden of the gods and taking “the Cog” up to the top of Pike’s Peak.
The house is about 10-miles from Woodland Park, CO going East across hwy 24 (passing through Divide, CO).
The house has lots of space (ground floor is a house by itself), very comfortable, the lot has many places to hang-out and I think I saw 2-3 outdoor grills. The deck is great and has lots of seating and again stunning views.
It was summer and I had no trouble traveling up the road in a loaded minivan; not sure what would happen in the winter as part is gravel and steep.
The elevation WILL take your breath away and with 3-floors, take it easy. Don’t get in a hurry: you’re on vacation. Enjoy the views.
Claire B. Jun 2022
The house was wonderful. Plenty of room for all of us (7 adults and 1 toddler). The wrap around balcony made it possible to see all around the area. Neighbors not close so it felt very much private and isolated.
Denise S. May 2022
Our family spent a week at the Hideaway in mid May. The entire process from booking, communication regarding arrival and amenities, and departure information was simple and clearly communicated. Upon arrival, it was evident the house is larger and more picturesque than advertised. The entire cabin was impeccably clean. We had space for our children to spread out in the enlarged finished basement. The two bedrooms and kitchen allowed them to enjoy the time to themselves and watch their own TV. More importantly, the master loft was spacious with a large tub looking out into the steep mountains and forests surrounding the cabin. Master bath also had a shower and large walk in closet. I will forever treasure soaking in the tub watching the snow falling in the snow covered mountains. The fully stocked kitchen allowed us to cook and enjoy family meals around the table. Early mornings we sipped hot chocolate while reading and watching the deer in the front yard. One morning we even saw a fox!
Multitudes of activities are available nearby. Within a 25 minutes drive are Mueller State Park, Cripple Creek and 11 Mile Canyon. Our sons enjoyed learning to fly fish and hiking the Ridgeline. Due to the almost 2 feet of snow we didn’t get out for several days but soaked up the opportunity to build a snowman, make snow angels, play family games, and just observe nature. This is the perfect cabin for a large family to enjoy for vacation.
Michael C. Mar 2022
My wife and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and this was the perfect place to do that. The cabin was comfortable and inviting and we spent some of our time just staying there and relaxing. We also took advantage of the beautiful countryside. We went hiking, rode the train to Pike’s Peak and dined at local restaurants. The cabin is beautifully appointed and maintained. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return.
Haegi S. Mar 2022
I have only good things to say about this place. The location of the house at the top of the mountain felt like the top of the world. The owner encouraged us to take a (less than) 10-minute walk to a view that took my breath away. The space was comfortable enough for the ten friends and family in our party. The open layout of the kitchen, living room and dining room were perfect. The porch is great for relaxing with a cup of coffee and chatting with your dear friends. Overall, a great place to get away from the busyness and chaos for a time of quietness or for having meaningful time with family and friends. And we were within a reasonable drive to go for sightseeing or activities. We visited the Garden of the Gods, antique shops and even a zip line. Great sunrises and sunsets too.
Denise W. Jan 2022
This house was in a nice location with plenty of room, albeit divided between 3 floors. The beds were comfortable. HOWEVER, you were warned to use water sparingly because of this house being supplied by a well - apparently not a very deep one! We were scheduled to have 8 guests, but only 6 went. We read the water usage warning upon arrival & were very careful to take short showers - We even split up 3 in morning & 3 at night. Don't be confused, I don't mean HOT water problem, I mean RUN OUT OF WATER problem! One night we ran out of water. Just one. Also, ALL the toilets need new flush kits in the tanks. They all had stickers on them telling you to wiggle or lift the handle to keep water from continually running in toilet. Suggestion: fix the toilets, take the stickers off!! Dig a deeper well!
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Denise! Maintenance will be checking the toilets to ensure they are not running and wasting the water from the well. We hope to host you again!
Sandra W. Nov 2021
The Cabin was nice and accommodating. Only problem for long stays is the trash bin fills up pretty quick and you can’t leave the trash outside because of the animals. Other than that, perfect!
Kathy S. Oct 2021
My husband and I stayed at the Hideaway for our 30th wedding anniversary. It was perfect! The property is beautiful inside and out! There are places to sit outside and enjoy the view and nature. Inside, the cabin is cozy and inviting. The decor is earthy and minimal. A perfect place to relax and shrug off the cares of everyday life. We spent 2 days lazing around the cabin. The other days we rode the Cog Railway to the top of Pikes Peak, enjoyed a trolley tour of Garden of the Gods and hiked along the Arkansas River in Buena Vista. We dined out at McGinty's Pub and Hacienda Colorado. Both excellent restaurants. Our other meals we cooked in the wonderfully appointed kitchen. It was chilly at night, and we built fires in the woodstove. So cozy! The owners were very helpful with any questions we had about the property. We had a fantastic time and will definitely return!
Scott L. Sep 2021
This cabin was a great vacation time away for our family and provided a much needed rest. The home is very peaceful and has great views in the mountains. We loved sitting on the front and side porch with coffee and looking at the incredible view. The house is convenient to town and provides good access to lots of outdoor adventures. We hope to go back some time. There is plenty of room for a large family to spread out and enjoy time together.
Katie S. Aug 2021
Just perfect for what we were looking for! Tons of space, our in the quiet. Beautiful home!
Marla C. Aug 2021
The house was immaculate with pretty views. The teenager loved the basement apartment. Last bit of the road going up was a little rough. Overall a great place and we would definitely return!
Tara V. Jun 2021
We enjoyed our stay, such a comfy cabin like stay with a amazing scenic view. So I give it 5 stars. Very spacious home with two kitchens. The only small complaint I have is that when the trash is full in the house an we go to dispose outside in the proper bin, it was overflowing so we were unable to rid of kitchen trash in the house. Other than that everything was clean and very well kept
Laura W. May 2021
The Hideaway is a gorgeous home that is beautifully decorated and full of amenities. The appliances seemed new, there is a washer and dryer, and there were lots of extra blankets. There is a Roku stick to watch movies, and there were even toys, books, and games. The views are beautiful, the porch inviting, and there were lots of animals to see. We saw mule deer in the neighborhood every day, and the first night, we saw a herd of about 25, only 2 miles from the house. In the yard, we saw rabbits, chipmunks, and even a red fox. I highly recommend staying at the Hideaway!!! It was a wonderful week, and there was so much to do in the area. We went to several parks, hiked, zip lined, took a segway tour of Garden of the Gods, and ate great food. The house is quiet and secluded, and yet very centrally located to lots of parks and attractions. We loved our stay there and can't wait to go back.
Hannah E. Feb 2021
My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Hideaway so much! It was such a beautiful home and had everything we needed for a great getaway. The house was clean, cozy, and spacious. We loved sitting on the porch and watching the birds on the bird feeders, and the view of the mountains from the kitchen was absolutely amazing! It’s so peaceful and quiet in that neighborhood, but still close enough to town to grocery shop before or during your stay. We are already looking forward to our next stay here!
James L. Jan 2021
My wife and I (ages 67 & 49) had a wonderful time of rest, reflection and action. We encountered so many mule deer up close plus mountain views plus views of stars and planets from our balcony. We rested and read, but we also explored nature everyday. The kitchen, living areas and bedrooms are perfect for a short or long getaway like ours.
Chris A. Jan 2021
We seriously couldn’t have been more happy with our stay. The home was amazing with great views and so comfortable. It really is everything we’re looking for in a weekend getaway and we will DEFINITELY make this our place to go when we do so in the future. Everything from the cleanliness of the home to the quality of furniture and beds, to the deer prancing past the house just outside the front window, we just loved it.
Peggy M. Sep 2020
When we pulled up to the house we thought what a wonderful place. This is exactly what we were looking for. Once in the house, we appreciated all the room and the toys for the children. Unfortunately, as we looked around the house a bit more, we encountered a mouse nest and mouse droppings all over the home. When I called the management company they told me they were having rodent issues all over the place but didn't know they had any at this particular home. They said they would bring mouse traps first thing in the morning. There was never an offer to clean the home and only offered a minimal refund. When you spend 500 a night, I certainly do not expect to have mice. We had no where to go, so we cleaned the place everyday with a terrible vacuum. I really did not want my 1 year old grandson crawling in all the mouse droppings. We used our own supplies to bait the traps. We cleared the traps to use again for each day we were there. We had a total of 8 mice in 2 days. Definitely not the vacation I was hoping for. I feel for the owners, but this was the worst experience I have had for any rental we have had. I left comments for a review and asked them to contact me via email but they have not responded. I asked for a refund and have had no response either. If this is the way they envision making things safe and comfortable for those staying at their properties, they failed miserably. This was a horrendous vacation and I am extremely disappointed. I had to rate this just so I could submit the review. Don't stay there ever because they will not help in anyway to make things right.
Manager response:
Hi, Peggy! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and are so sorry to read you were unhappy with your experience. We did refund you for your frustrations since we are unable to enter the home for additional cleanings during COVID-19 while guests are present; we hope this shows our desire to provide the best experience possible despite any unforeseen circumstances. The home has been exterminated for mice, and we are keeping a close eye on the situation. Thank you!