Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >
Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.
Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.
Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.
Ocean view home w/huge deck & yard, hot tub, firepit & game room - dogs OK!
Whether you're planning a summer beach vacation or a whale-watching excursion in winter or spring, this ocean view home just outside of Newport offers a bright, comfortable home base and a wealth of at-home entertainment for all ages. Beautifully situated on almost two acres of land overlooking the water, this home features an expansive grassy lawn where you can play softball and soccer, a large deck with a view of the ocean, and a private hot tub and firepit to warm you after days spent on the beach. Inside, you can use the telescope to spot whale spouts in the distance, cozy up with a book in front of the wood-burning fireplace, and prepare hearty homemade meals using the kitchen's stainless steel appliances. At night, you'll have six TVs to choose from for movie night, as well as a home game room with Ping-Pong, billiards, a dart board, and a Wii gaming system.
What's nearby: This home sits just across Highway 101 from the Pacific Ocean, with the parking lot for Moolack Beach only half a mile south. Downtown Newport - where you'll find the Historic Bayfront, the famous Oregon Coast Aquarium, and a wide variety of shops, restaurants, and family-friendly attractions - is five miles south. When you're not boogie boarding, surfing, or collecting seashells on the beach near home, you'll be less than two miles south of Beverly Beach State Park and four miles north of the Yaquina Head Lighthouse and Agate Beach.
Things to know: Free WiFi Full kitchen Dog-friendly for a nightly fee In addition to the three bedrooms, you'll find a twin and full-size bed in the nursery off the master bedroom and two queen sofabeds and a queen futon in the game room
Parking Notes: Please park in the driveway.
Water Access: Access to Beverley Beach is 1.5 miles north and the Moolack Beach Parking area is 0.6 miles south.
Other permit number: 2020-085
You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.
Hot tub (Private)
Washer/dryer : Private
Heating & cooling
Kitchen & dining
Internet : Charter
Cable : Charter
Nearby activities & attractions
Hot tub : Private
Pool table : Private
Gas grill : Private
Sharma C.Aug 2021
The house fit our family great the grandkids enjoyed playing baseball and flying kites in the big yard it would of been nice if the telescope in the living room had been working the location of the house is perfect we would book the house again
Scott R.Jul 2021
This was a nice family getaway, in a large house with plenty of room, and a spectacular view. You really don't hear the road noise, unless you sleep with the open window at night. There is a large yard, and plenty of parking and privacy. The hot tub was a nice touch, tons of fresh bottled drinking water, and we ran the indoor fireplace every night. The kids loved the game room, and we utilized the washing machine several times. However, there are quite a few little items that need attention, that put together would really make this house stand out. A thorough cleaning, and cobweb removal, instead of a surface cleaning. Repairing the missing window screens and reinstalling them. Replacing the cracked tile. Overall, though, if you can look past some of those items, this is a great house!
Hi, Scott! Your honest feedback is greatly appreciated and has been forwarded to the local staff so they can work towards better improving the home for future visits. We apologize for the items that were amiss and we appreciate your understanding while we work on the areas that need some extra TLC. We look forward to hosting you again!
Daniel J.Jun 2021
House needs lots of maintenance, hot tub is unusable. Well water is brown and smells horrible, makes the whole house stink. Cannot drink the water, take a bath or a shower. Nasty brown sulfur water comes out. Also hot tub is filled with same water.. I will never rent this place again.. which is too bad since the land and view is Beautiful !
We are sorry to read you were disappointed, Daniel. The home is on well water, as mentioned in the listing, and does have an off-color and odor. A contractor comes monthly to service the well and replace filters for the water. Please note the tannins in the water are not harmful. Thanks!
Daniel S.Jun 2021
We loved everything. The house, the beach, everything!
Blaire C.Jun 2021
While the location was perfect for the beaches and Newport, The lot was huge and private, the game room was fun, but some of the amenities needed some work.
The hot tub needs maintenance. The water was green and the sides of the tub had black scum all around. No chlorine tablets or chemicals around.
Huge leak in the kitchen sink that required us to empty once a day.
The back deck was huge but was on its last leg. Needed some stain about 10 years ago. The gate had fallen off. dont walk on it barefoot.
Could not get the telescope to work.
The TVs in the bedrooms or downstairs could not get any signals. Im going to have to find a different place next year.
Hi, Blaire! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. The hot tub is clean though the well water provides a funny color. This is a bromine hot tub with the chemicals already in place. The leak has been repaired, the garbage disposal has been replaced, and the TVs are working. We hope to host you again!
Samuel L.May 2021
Loved the two separate bedroom areas, perfect for our two families. The yard was also fantastic.
Davina D.May 2021
When you walk into this house you will be wowed by the huge picture window overlooking the ocean.
Pros: Close to Newport and all the amenities that affords. Close to wonderful walkable beaches. Plenty of room for a big group to share. Fresh water provided and hot tub is delightful. Great for dogs. If you forgot a book, they offer decades of reading materials!
Cons: You really have to drive if you need to take a walk as the beach access is down a section of the 101 with no real shoulder. The neighborhood consists of dirt roads with lots of “no trespassing” signs. The property and furnishings are not very old (2004) but they haven’t been maintained and are ready for updating/replacing
Karl T.Apr 2021
We enjoyed our time at Somerville's Escape. The large living room was very nice, with a large picture window facing the ocean. All the bedrooms had their own TV. The game room was a welcome addition. The property was large and gave us plenty of privacy. A couple things that were not as hoped, the well water was not something that we would want to drink, but they do have a 5 gallon water dispenser available. Also, sadly, the hot tub was broken for our entire week. They tried to get it fixed, but it kept having problems. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, Newport is only a few miles south, so easy access to pretty much anything that you want.
We are so sorry the hot tub was not working for you and understand what a disappointment that was. It is now functioning. Thank you!
Rudy C.Apr 2021
I spent over $800 for two nights at this house. The people didn't inform me that the water was not drinkable. The water gave off a sulphuric smell leading to make me think there was a possible gas leak. I let me 2 year old son take a bath in this water before I could smell the sulfur. I informed the company and they said they neglected to put softener in the water. They said they'll make sure that the next tenant knows which I doubt. The house was not properly cleaned since Christmas. There was Christmas wrapping paper under the couchs along with dust bunnies, USED tissues, and food. Not only was this in the living room but in the bedrooms also. The floors haven't been mopped in a while. This place is a health hazard!! Don't waste your money with these people! When I called to inform them of the situation all they said was okay. The guy brushed me off. I had my family in this health hazard of a place. I paid for a clean and healthy environment but now I'm out of $800 and hoping my family didn't pick up any sort of virus from this place. I also noticed a review from a couple months ago that the hot tub was not function, however the manager replied that they were getting it fixed. This was not the case as the hot tub was still not functional!
Thank you for your review! We are disappointed to hear the home was not up to the high standard of cleanliness that we hold ourselves to. Our local manager has addressed this with our housekeeping team. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope the refund you received helped to compensate for some of the disappointment. We hope we have the chance to impress you in the future!
Mariah S.Feb 2021
We had a great escape. :) We loved the yard, piano, and ping pong/pool table. Good house for families. Town is close by for groceries. We discovered the coast park slide, and Yaquina Bay natural area is truly outstanding. We had a storm and sunshine and clouds over the course of out stay. The view of the ocean from the house was absolutely the greatest ocean view ever!!!!
Matthew A.Jan 2021
Heads up that despite the photos and amenities showing a dishwasher, it is MISSING. The hot tub was broken unable to heat above 74 degrees. Displayed error message. Called staff to fix. They did not. The tap water is brownish orange, includes sediment, and reeks of sulfur so bring drinking water.
Hi, Matthew! Thank you for letting us know about your Somervilles Escape experience. The dishwasher has been replaced as of January 26, 2021. The hot tub will be repaired by a vendor as soon as the necessary parts come in. We do provide drinking water for our guests since the tannins in the water discolor it and create an odor. We hope to be able to impress you in the future!
Joann D.Jan 2021
I loved the veiw and the the playroom
Karyanne V.Dec 2020
We had a wonderful stay, it was a great home. Everything worked out well. The only thing that would need to be added would be some steps to get into the hot tub.
Thank you for your stay and the feedback, Karyanne! We're happy to hear that you had a wonderful time and felt at home. We will pass along your feedback and see if the owner will add some steps for the hot tub. We look forward to hosting you again!
Kathie A.Sep 2020
The house was great....super spacious, gorgeous ocean view. I loved everything about it, except for having to leave! I didn't want to ever leave, but the worst part is the checkout time.... 10am is just too early to have to get up and out when you're on vacation.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! Due to the COVID-19 situation, we are unable to offer late check-out at this time. We want to ensure our cleaning staff has enough time to implement our Premium Clean procedures between guests. We look forward to hosting you again!