Get away from it all and find sweet serenity here at Full Stream Ahead, a riverfront retreat that will spoil the whole family! Boasting unobstructed views of the Tuckasegee River, a furnished wraparound deck, a hammock, picnic table, corn hole, horseshoes, and a firepit, you can easily spend each day at home with unlimited fun right at your fingertips. Start each morning in the fully equipped kitchen and brew a cup of coffee to enjoy out on the deck as you wave to the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad Train which passes right behind the house! When days come to a close, the warmth of the gas fireplace will welcome you with open arms as everyone kicks back on the plush sofa while watching a favorite movie on the mounted flatscreen TV!
What's nearby: Bring your fishing gear and enjoy fishing in the hatchery-supported, trout-stocked waters of The Tuck (fishing is closed during the month of March). During the summer months bring your floats and tube down the river in the sunshine. Feel lucky? Just eight miles away is the Harrah's Cherokee Casino open 24/7. Experience the Great Smoky Mountain National Park and Blue Ridge Parkway, both just 12 miles away if you have a few outdoorsy guests. Want to stay close but venture outside? Check out Uncle Bill's Flea Market on Highway 74E just a few miles from the cottage (between Dillsboro and Cherokee).
Things to know: High-speed WiFi 4WD/traction may be required in winter Hwy 74 has traffic in the summer. You may hear road noise.
This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC.
Parking Notes: There are three parking spaces in the driveway for this home.
You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.
Washer/dryer : Private
Heating & cooling
Kitchen & dining
Internet : Hughesnet
Nearby activities & attractions
Ann O.Nov 2021
Love the fact it was on the river. Neighbors very friendly and helpful. House was clean. Unfortunately a couple of issues we reported on arrival did not get resolved until last day of trip.
Martha F.Nov 2021
We loved the water view. The home was very nice and clean. My 4 year old grandson loved that the train came right by there.
I want to know what kind of mattress is in master BR. It was very comfortable, even better than my bed.
Karen A.Oct 2021
Nice place but traffic noise was less than desirable.
Josh L.Oct 2021
So, we tried to find a cabin in the mountains last minute and stumbled across this home. All in all, this home wasn't bad, but it wasn't the best I've stayed in either. We made the best of it with our two families and appreciated the fun little touches they added to help keep everyone occupied outside of downtime.
Stream for fishing
Nice set up under the house for games, lounging, etc.
Okay floorplan for two small families to share
Close to Casino
The location could be better. No mountain views and right next to the main highway so a lot of road noise. Stream does help drown it out a little, but still very loud. Additionally, it's next to train tracks, but the train rarely comes by.
Looks like the yard was recently renovated and there wasn't grass, so it was a bit muddy with just straw down.
The road coming in is an adventure... Got turned around a couple of times and was very rough on our car.
Not much to do in the surrounding area other than Casino, but if you're visiting to relax and stay put, then this is for you.
Debbie C.Oct 2021
Everything with this rental is as listed. The property was very clean and comfortable. The river is gorgeous but the highway noise does take away from it some. The directions into the property are quite tricky! If there were more details of landmarks along the road or direction signs it would be helpful. Once you learn the way though it is fine! The only issue we had was the fireplace did not work. I texted and also spoke with someone from vacasa and was told it would be corrected for us but it never was. We had chilly nights and a fire would have been nice! Other than that the property was perfect! It’s a very convenient location for many day trips.
Debbie, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable vacation overall. We apologize for any noise disturbances the highway caused. We make every effort to allow the check-in process to be seamless and easy and are sorry for any difficulties and confusion you experienced. We apologize for the inconvenience you dealt with regarding the fireplace. Our records show we reached out to you to provide assistance with the fireplace and were not informed of any further difficulties you had with it. We apologize for any miscommunication and frustration you may have experienced. We appreciate your feedback as a means to improve and hope to host you again soon.
David I.Jul 2021
Great house, spacious, comfortable beds. Enjoyed the river!
Lynn L.Jun 2021
The house is so amazing! I cannot say enough great things about our stay…..the house was so large and welcoming! I will recommend to others! Thank you for offering your rental.
Andre E.Jun 2021
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Full Stream Ahead. As native North Carolinians now living in Florida, it was wonderful to come back home for a week. This home is thoughtfully equipped with everything you need. The kitchen was well-stocked, the bathrooms were very clean, and the couches and beds were perfectly comfortable and firm. The home was exceptionally clean, and AC kept us plenty cool. Bonuses inside the home include family games, books to read, DVD collection, satellite TV, and extra blankets. We enjoyed many meals on the wrap around porch, and the downstairs porch area was a great hang out area too with a hammock, swing, and picnic table. The yard is spacious, full of rolling hills and shade trees by day and so many lightning bugs at night. There's so much room to run and play. We enjoyed playing horseshoes and corn hole. The train came by occasionally too. The railroad tracks made a great place to snap some family photos. The real reason we chose this home was the Tuckaseegee River. We enjoyed the new deck and fished daily. We were lucky enough to catch speckled and rainbow trout, catfish, and small-mouth bass. There's a grill on site to grill fish and BBQ chicken. We spent every evening by the fire pit roasting marshmallows and hot dogs too.
The area is fabulous so check out the following: Tuckaseegee Outfitters to float the river; Foragers Canteen restaurant in Dillsboro; Great Smoky Mountain Railroad trip, Cherokee area shops and gem mining, Harrah's Casino - your teens can safely enjoy the arcade while the adults gamble; a trip to Bridal Falls Waterfall was an outstanding experience, etc. We love the NC mountains!
Things you should know: The road to the home is a one-lane gravel road. It is an adventure! The first time it was a little scary but we got used to it. Bonus animals sightings - peacocks, chickens, and cows! Highway 74 is across the river from the house, and it's loud. The rolling river drowns out the highway noise sometimes, but just be prepared you're going to hear traffic. We decided to overlook it and enjoy the beautiful things surrounding us. Nothing beats a hot cup of coffee and fishing in the morning while watching the otters and geese swim, and then smores and silliness with your kids around the fire pit at night.
One recommendation: The smart TV in the living room is great, but I would recommend a TV in the master bedroom so adults could enjoy early morning/late night TV especially if people are sleeping in the loft area.
Overall, well done Full Stream Ahead! Thank you so much for allowing us to enjoy your beautiful home! What a wonderful way to vacation after being cooped up from the pandemic. Highly recommended!
James B.Mar 2021
Great location to Cherokee!
Daneen P.Mar 2021
The house itself was awesome. Even the drive to get there wasn't bad. Some issues though was the fact that it was on a river but we couldn't fish there and that was not anywhere in the description. Major disappointment. Also the sheets had visible dirt on them and the counter tops were dirty. Our fishing poles also were stolen from under the house
Hi, Daneen! Thank you for letting us know about your experience though we do wish you had informed us prior to your leaving. We will discuss the cleanliness issues you found with housekeeping staff and apologize the home was not perfect for you. We are also sorry to read about any theft; we believe this must have been another guest staying along the road. Hopefully we can impress you in the future!