Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >
Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.
Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.
Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.
Family & Dog-Friendly Home w/Satellite Internet & Electric Fireplace
Prepare for a secluded retreat, where quiet is part of the bargain! This home was once owned by a Swiss German yodeler, who found that their yodel could echo up to five times due to the area's quietness. That's the kind of quiet you can expect! But there's plenty to do in this cabin-inspired home with a limited view of the lake and a beautiful view of the forest (especially from the living room's wall of windows). Enjoy a game of air hockey or oversized Connect Four in the game room. Stoke up a fire outside in the private firepit and spend a great time outdoors. If you're leaning toward cooking inside, the full kitchen boasts a dishwasher, a wine fridge, a French door refrigerator, a breakfast bar that seats four, and a double oven to help feed everyone on your crew. After dinner, enjoy a DVD from the library or stream from your favorite service. Central air conditioning will keep everyone comfortable inside, and there's room for everyone around the electric fireplace at this home.
Nearby Services and Dining Options Cafe within 14 miles. Casual dining within 5 miles. Dine-in restaurant within 14 miles. Gas station within 14 miles. Supermarket within 14 miles.
Places to Visit During Your Stay
Distance From Home
Fontana Dam And Visitors Center
Nantahala National Forest
Fontana Lake Overlook
Wesser Bald Fire Tower
Indian Flats Falls
Things to Know *Satellite internet is currently available at this home. Please note it can be spotty during bad weather. Full kitchen with a dishwasher Tubi Free TV and Disney+ streaming available A 4x4 is required to reach this home in winter Flat path to front door, with incline ramp Boat trailer parking available Dog-friendly for a small, nightly fee! Two dogs (30 lbs max) are allowed. Guests must travel by car to reach this home Pontoon rentals available at Prince Boat Dock (nine miles), Fontana Village Resort Marina (14 miles), and Almond Boat Dock (14 miles), and public lake access available. *A security camera is installed at the side entry door, facing the driveway. It is a Ring camera system that is motion activated and does not record sound
This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC.
2 dogs welcome in this home. No other animals are allowed without specific Vacasa approval.
Parking notes: There are two or three parking spaces by the house, along with a gravel parking spot about halfway down the driveway. There is also a paved parking pad by the beginning of the driveway long enough to park a boat trailer.
Security camera details: This camera is installed at the side entry door, facing the driveway. It is a Ring camera system that is motion activated and does not record sound.
You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.
Limited mobility access
Washer/dryer : Private
Heating & cooling
Kitchen & dining
Nearby activities & attractions
Boat rental available
Safety & accessibility
Limited mobility access
Suzanne L.Dec 2022
The very first night we spent in the house, 4 AM the power went out. The home has electric heat and no back up generators. It was 4° outside as it was the end of December. We had absolutely no cell signal whatsoever. Had to drive 6 miles to get cell service to call someone to find out about the electricity. We were informed that they had no idea when it would be back on and the middle person that I spoke to Did not know what to do or how to help us and the management refused to call us. All they said was they didn’t know when it would be back on and offered no other solutions of any kind. I was supposed to receive a phone call from the manager later that day because we had to leave with no heat and two elderly people in the home . Never did receive a call from a manager. Thankfully, I paid for the travel insurance and had to file a claim that way because they were only willing to refund the nightly fee for the night we did not stay. And we’re going to keep all of the fees that they charge . So for a $2600 bill I would’ve only gotten back around $600.
Thank you for your honest review, Suzanne, and we sincerely apologize for the power outage you encountered. Please know that we never wanted you to experience any of those and that we aim to give you a relaxing and satisfactory stay in the home, and we are sad this was not your case. We are also sorry for the lack of follow-up, which is not the high level of customer care we strive to provide our guests, and we make every effort to attend to our guests as quickly and efficiently as possible. The power outage in the area is a circumstance beyond our control, and our property manager offered you a refund for the unused nights if you choose to vacate the home, which you did not, and filed a claim on your travel insurance company instead. We will continually work with our local staff and homeowner to make necessary upgrades in our home and service to you. We hope we can impress you better in the future.
Jonnie M.Dec 2022
This house was perfect for our cousin get away. We will be back. Very clean.
Dale S.Oct 2022
You can’t beat the views! And the home was immaculate! Thanks to those before us who left some coffee, popcorn, and some other goodies - we paid it fwd!
We really enjoyed the fall leaves and the fire pit, which we used nightly!
Definitely highly recommend Five Echos.
Arrive during daylight if you can (some twists and turns up the mountain). 4WD would be a bonus but a standard car can definitely make it! The (appeared to be very new) hammock was a plus as well!
Shannon C.Oct 2022
Beautiful cabin. Very clean and spacious. If you are wanting remote this is definitely the place.
Janis D.Oct 2022
The house was absolutely gorgeous! Clean and modern. With the view from the balcony/porch we were able to see the lake, mountains and all the beautiful fall colors. As mentioned in someone else’s review, the drive up the mountain to the house is a little challenging and best done the first time in daylight. After that you should be good to go. The home is in a secluded area so you don’t have to worry about traffic on the road with you. We were a group of 4 adults and were very happy with our stay.
Michael W.Sep 2022
Although the cabin is great for a family, it is not exactly as advertised. We were a party of 8 adults. The 4th bedroom was an attic converted into an extra room with the entry into the room as basically a ladder, which is not suitable for adults due to the short depth of the steps. There is no TV, no closet to hang clothes, or furniture to lay a suitcase or clothing. The 3rd bedroom does not have a closet either. The listing for a 4th bathroom is inaccurate as it is only a toilet in the laundry room.
The view is outstanding, the sounds of nature soothing, and the roads are gravel which was expected due to the location of the cabin.
I would recommend the cabin but, in my opinion, is not equipped for more than 6 people due to lack of closets and/or clothing space and a 4th shower area.
Thank you for your review, Michael, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our home during your stay. We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding this listing, as it is never our intention to disappoint. To clarify, this home is listed with three and one-half baths. Please know that we provide photos, a unit description, a list of available amenities, and a virtual tour option, which provides an in-depth look at the home's specific layout and design, so that future guests know exactly what they will see upon arrival and can make an informed decision about what they are paying for and make the right decision for their needs. We're sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your visit. We appreciate your feedback and welcome the opportunity to better improve our homes for future guests, and we hope to have the chance to better impress you on a future stay.
April F.Sep 2021
Beautiful home, plenty of space.
Alan .Aug 2021
This is a wonderful home, and spotlessly clean. It’s quite a bit larger than I expected. Very well equipped, and in a very quiet, idyllic setting. The echoes have to be experienced! Know that internet and cell signal are both marginal; don’t plan on working or studying by internet here. Apparently it’s part of being in this remote area. We didn’t mind.
Shannon L.Jul 2021
Beautiful mountain cabin with all the amenities of home. We loved being tucked away from tourists yet close enough to enjoy all the area has to offer.
This home is artistically decorated, extremely clean and modern. Comfortable beds and yes, an espresso maker for those beautiful mountain mornings. The 12 days we spent there were a perfect way to unwind with our family. We would highly recommend Five Echoes.