USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Florence Listing #5969

Salty Dog Lodge - Florence, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
53 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 3 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 3 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms 2 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Charming Coastal Abode with Fireplace, Private Hot Tub, WiFi - Dog-Friendly

Peaceful and serene, this dog-friendly Florence vacation home invites guests to kick back and relax for a truly memorable getaway on the Central Oregon Coast. Enjoy a location near the beach, plus modern conveniences and plenty of space for your large group!

For coastal relaxation with good proximity to the beach, it doesn’t get any better than this! Walk less than a mile through a quaint tree-lined neighborhood to arrive at a public access point at Heceta Beach to spend your days hunting for seashells and uncovering other hidden treasures deposited by the roaring surf. You could also take a short drive south and into town for local dining, souvenir shopping, and fun entertainment. A bi-level abode, this house features spacious rooms with plenty of natural light, comfortable furnishings, and even an expansive deck to take in the lovely views.

On chilly days, settle into the living room’s comfy couches with a good book and a warm fire in the brick fireplace, or head upstairs to the loft to snuggle with your loved ones while watching DVDs or your favorite cable shows on the flatscreen television. For added entertainment, there’s also a foosball table to play around with. When it’s time to eat, head back indoors to the kitchen, which is well-appointed with cookware, modern appliances like a stove, a fridge, a microwave, and an oven, along with ample countertop space.

Share homemade meals and great conversation at either of two dining tables, each seating six, or take meals onto the outdoor deck for al fresco dining during the summer. Feel like having a cookout? Just fire up the gas grill and get grilling! You could even grab the provided beach chairs and have a picnic on the nearby sand. A dishwasher takes care of the cleanup at the end.

At the end of an activity-filled day retire home for restful slumber in any of three bedrooms and a loft, which will accommodate up to 12 guests. Sleeping options include four twin beds and a sofabed in the loft and queen beds in each of the other rooms. There is even an en-suite bathroom and access to the deck through the master suite, which sits on the main floor. With vaulted wooden ceilings in an A-frame style, the upstairs loft gives a cozy feel that’s further brought into focus with skylights and floor-to-ceiling windows.

Wake up after a great night’s sleep and start planning a new day of adventures using the home’s WiFi. Interested in some fun day trips? Grab your family and head about 10 miles north to visit the Sea Lion Caves along Highway 101. Your kids will love seeing and hearing barking sea lions while learning about the natural history of the Central Oregon Coast. Go just a few miles farther north to visit the iconic Heceta Head Lighthouse and hike along breathtaking coastal trails around Cape Cove.

Florence is also known as the gateway to the sand dunes, which is a great place for sandboarding. Head just three miles south to Sand Master Park where you can rent a board and spend a day zipping down huge sand dunes. Visit Florence with a stay in this charming, dog-friendly, Central Oregon Coast vacation home. Spacious and filled with all the conveniences to make your stay comfortable, your vacation starts when you book this home today!

Nearby Services and Dining Options
Cafe within 4 miles. Casual dining within 4 miles. Dine-in restaurant within 4 miles. Gas station within 4 miles.

Places to Visit During Your Stay

AttractionDistance From Home
Sand Master Park - Sandboarding2.7 Miles
Darlingtonia State Natural Site4.5 Miles
Sea Lion Caves10.3 Miles
Carl G. Washburne Memorial State Park13.5 Miles
Muriel O. Ponsler Memorial State Scenic Viewpoint14.2 Miles

Things to Know
Dog-friendly for an additional fee
*Please note that there is a Ring door bell security camera at this home

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Internet : Charter



DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router

Netflix streaming

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games

Foosball table


Gas grill : Private


Beach towels


53 reviews

Terry T. Jul 2022
Our family enjoyed the house, amenities, cleanliness, and proximity to the beach.
Jessica G. Apr 2022
While the decor and ambiance of the home is great, there are definitely some items that need a little TLC/upgrade and we connected to the Wi-Fi fine, however it wasn’t even strong enough to load images on my cell. Utilized my hotspot instead. Not certain if this had anything to do with the note behind the couch clearly stating “Don’t Remove” on it, which had nothing plugged in? Otherwise home is cute and in a great spot for all activities around the area. Would definitely stay again.
Shaun M. Apr 2022
I would stay here again. The house seemed well maintained and clean. The beds were comfortable. The internet did not work well, which is a risk you assume on the coast, but I needed it for work, so it caused some stress. The tv also didn’t work, which is not a dealbreaker, but it would have been nice during the heavy rain. Also, the hilly driveway has a lot of potholes, and I damaged the bottom of my car, even though I was driving really slow. It’s a couple of minutes from a really nice beach.
Steven F. Apr 2022
We were able to have a great time connecting as a family in the lodge. It was spacious, comfortable and so close to the beach we could hear the waves from the back deck. Parking was a bit of a challenge, as well as the floodlights outside two of the guest rooms. Otherwise it was a great stay.
Greta C. Mar 2022
Things we loved: Good price, loved having a hot tub, easy 5-7 min walk to the beach or a quick 1 min drive with lots of parking (it's a pretty quiet section of beach which we also loved), 2 separate living areas which was nice during the rainy day we spent a lot of time at the house. The house was clean, loved the Salty Dog theme throughout, and the kitchen was well appointed for a large group (except for wine glasses). We loved the darts.

Things we didn't love: the loft where 5 of the beds are is open--it sits over the main living area/kitchen/dining. If you have kids sleeping in the twin beds know that you will all probably need to go to bed at the same time because it was impossible for them to sleep while the grownups were up. There is a motion sensor on the outside garage door that went off all.night.long and it's really bright in one of the bedrooms. At least 2 of the queen beds were incredibly squeaky (but the mattress itself was very comfortable). The lighting in the house was poor and there were a lot of lightbulbs out. The Ring Doorbell overlooks the hot tub--we knew there was a Ring Doorbell but the fact that it could also see the hot tub felt very invasive.

Things we wish we knew--if you want to have a fire in the fireplace you provide the wood. If you have a large group (the house sleeps 12 and we had 11 with us) you will want to bring your own dish soap, toilet paper, laundry detergent, etc. We ran out of everything by day 4 of our 7 day stay. The dishwasher is terrible so we washed a lot of dishes by hand. We didn't have any dogs with us but if you plan to bring pets know that they aren't allowed upstairs--had we brought our pup he would have been very sad not to be with our kids while they were upstairs--otherwise, it is well set up for your furry friends.

Overall we had a great time and enjoyed our stay.
Rocio M. Mar 2022
Absolutely loved our stay! Beautiful property loved the volleyball net! The home is surrounded by trees makes you feel like you are actually away from it all!
The deck is amazing. Not even a 5 min walk from beach access.
Super pet friendly! We had our furry friends join us too and it was great !
Everything was perfect really. We plan to book again!
Karissa M. Feb 2022
Such a charming house. Total beach cabin, but with nice updates. We loved it!
Doug F. Feb 2022
Worked out great for 4 old guys on a golf trip. Close to everything we needed.
Anthony K. Dec 2021
The house was nice and clean. The kitchen was well equipped. I was not expecting 5 twin beds in the loft, we were thinking there would be at least another double or queen to accommodate all of the coupled guests. The walkway to the hot tub was blocked by big rocks that we had to navigate over to get to it. The lights over the dinning table did not seem to work except for the spot light that was plugged in. Not that this was a big deal, but I had to call prior to vacating the property to verify what I needed to do with our recycling/garbage since the garbage can at the bottom of the driveway was already full. (we ended up leaving it in the kitchen). The directions to the property are pretty vague. Ended up going into the neighbors back yard they need to state to take that last right turn, as a main road or street name.
Besides the petty issues I mentioned it was great, it served our purpose for the weekend everyone enjoyed our stay.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Anthony. We are glad you had a nice time overall but apologize for the details that were amiss. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and concerns with us in order for us to address the areas in need of attention throughout the home. We will work with our local team to ensure these items are corrected for future guests, and we hope for an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional vacation experience in the future.
Melissa H. Nov 2021
Lots of space and plenty of fun activities.
Jessica O. Jul 2021
I absolutely loved this place. Only problem is the alarm and wifi didnt work and alarm kept beeping all night, Towels were still wet and smelled musty in all the bathrooms. Other than that was absolutely amazing. Would stay there again in a heartbeat
Manager response:
Hello Jessica, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. These issues have been addressed by our local team and should no longer be a problem for future guests.
Sonia W. Jun 2021
Love the house! Roomy, comfortable and well supplied. Love that it is Dog friendly and carry the Dog theme throughout. Short walk to the beach and peaceful easy time away! Thank you Salty Dog!
LouAnn M. Mar 2021
My family and I absolutely lived our stay at Salty Dog! My kids are already wanting top plan our next trip back!!
Cathy L. Mar 2021
The loft was wonderful for the kids.
Nice fireplace
Easy walk to the beach
Jacob H. Dec 2020
Perfect for our little family
John W. Dec 2020
Children’s play room, and pet friendly. Loved the layout, and spacious.
Doreen F. Nov 2020
We loved this house. Perfect for a family getaway/Thanksgiving dinner and close to the Dunes!!!
Blanca C. Nov 2020
Nice place my kids love it
Manager response:
Hi Blanca! Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you and your kids loved the home. We hope to host you again soon!
Faith G. Oct 2020
This fireplace saved the day. The house was 57 degrees when we arrived, so we huddled around the fireplace for the first few hours. By then the house had warmed up to around 60 degrees. There were plenty of extra blankets and throws that got good use as well. Be prepared to buy lots of firewood if you're visiting during the winter months.

The other thing we liked was the kitchen. There were plenty of dishes, utensils and cookware.
Erin G. Oct 2020
The Salty Dog has a great layout, the loft up stairs is awesome for kids and 3 bedrooms make a lot of room and if you like dogs it’s a spot for you. Hot tub needs to be fixed and if it was I would rent this place again
It does smell a bit like dog.
Manager response:
Hi, Erin! Housekeeping has eliminated the unpleasant odor you experienced, and we do apologize this was the case for you. The hot tub is not currently advertised, but a new one has been ordered, so hopefully we can offer it to our guests again very soon. Thank you!
Natysha H. Sep 2020
Very pleased with the peaceful location and the spacious yet cozy layout. Extremely home-y. Only downfall was no phone service and the wifi only works in the main room and kitchen, so we had to drive in to town to call and make reservations for activities. So many fun things are supplied you don't even want to leave! Thank you!
Caitlin S. Sep 2020
We gathered our family together for a coastal getaway and had a great time at Salty Dog Lodge. There was enough room for 4 couples and our small kids. They have toys, games, tv, private deck areas. The beach is about a mile walk or just a 2 minute drive away. We saw the Sea Lion Caves and explored various beaches nearby. Our only issue with the home came after we cooked all of our meals. The faucet to the kitchen sink was spraying water everywhere and they were not able to fix it for us while we were there. It did not help that the dish washer barely worked either. Everything else was enjoyable for us.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay. We apologize for not being able to make the repair to the faucet and dishwasher before your departure. However, those repairs have been completed. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our home and hope to have another chance to impress you in the future.
Amy S. Sep 2020
Great house to stay in with our pups. This home has an amazing location only a few blocks from a $5/day beach access area and only about 10min from sandboard rentals and dune access! The home itself has tons of games and space to keep you having fun while at the house as well. Great stay!
Anna D. Jul 2020
The Salty Dog was difficult to find at 11:00 p.m., the time we arrived. Get there before dark as it is pitch black (no street lighting)! The decor is Salty Dog’s everywhere and very cute. I wished we had brought our pup to enjoy the trip with us.
Andrew V. Jun 2020
Quiet neighborhood and a short walk to the beach. The dishwasher and stove could be updated. The house was big and clean.
dominic B. Jun 2020
We had a good time the house was nice and very spacious for our group the only complaint i had was the hot tub was not working and we were not told ahead of time and when we reached out to tell them they did not respond
Manager response:
Hello Dominic, thank you for sharing your review with us. We are thrilled that you found this home to be the perfect fit for your stay. We apologize for any miscommunication in regard to the home's amenities. Please know that the home no longer lists the hot tub as an available amenity. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to the opportunity to impress you again in the future!
Kimberly A. Jun 2020
This house is large enough everyone can stay away from each other and still enjoy everything there is to enjoy a The coast! The house is perfectly equipped with everything you could possibly need!
Shawna V. May 2020
Cozy and spacious. Close to a beautiful beach. Hot tub one of the best. The home is dog welcoming which was perfect.
Sadly we went during covid and the entire town was closed. It breaks my heart to think of how this has affected the economy for the locals.

Only constructive criticism is you need a new washer/dryer and dishwasher. They Barely worked.

We will definitely come back !
Jackie H. Nov 2018
This house was great for our three families. Everyone had space. It was clean and adorably decorated. The kitchen was well stocked for pulling off a traditional thanksgiving diner! We ate and watched football games by the fire, read and played board games, hot rubbed and walked to the beach.... Great place and we hope to return soon!
Ed O. Nov 2018
It was just a little tricky to find but did not stump us. The parking for our three vehicles to a little planning. For an older house, it was clean and comfortable for the seven guys that stayed there. We cooked three meals and found all the cooking equipment that was needed. One challenge was the lighting for our evening meetings. We were not able to watch the duck football game. We did enjoyed the hot tub.
Gina G. Nov 2018
Cozy home, charmingly decorated. We used it for a work retreat and enjoyed all the working areas and multiple bedrooms.
Michelle B. Oct 2018
There were so many games, darts, foos ball! And it seemed to be dog friendly though we didn’t have a pet. Hot tub was nice for our backs:)
Meagan T. Oct 2018
The house was fantastic. During our stay we had 6 adults and 6 kids in the house. The upstairs loft area was perfect for the kids. The hot tub was amazing. The house is a little difficult to find the first time, but that is my only complaint.
Janina W. Aug 2018
I loved how you felt like you where at home .
Christal S. Aug 2018
A cute house could be a 5 star with a few tweaks.
The bad; sheets, towels, and blankets all smelled of mildew and needed to be rewashed before we could use and sleep. This is a pet friendly home which is great but there is an odor of dog urine, specifically in front area of the house. There was some garbage and dishes left under the twin beds from previous tenants. Hot tub could have been cleaned and filtered. A good amount of the lights in the home do not work so it seems very dark inside.
The good; nice home with lots of space and room for a large group and family. It is secluded and in a nice quiet area. Kids loved the foosball table and all the family games. Its only about a half mile from the beach. Overall it is a nice home.
Manager response:
We appreciate this feedback. All housekeeping issues have been addressed, and the carpets are scheduled to be cleaned.
Dean N. Aug 2018
Big house, well kept , comfy beds. Everything we needed. Short walk to a great beach. The only reason I’m not giving a 5 star rating is because the hot tub wasn’t working correctly (not all jets were working) and the washing machine and dishwasher were a little finicky.
Heather O. Jul 2018
Big house, lots of board games, nice kitchen. House needs loving attention and lots of minor maintenance.
Shiela G. Jul 2018
What a great house! Our family was very comfortable in this spacious coastal home. The house came stocked with all the things one could need (TP, soap, shampoo, towels, blankets, lots and lots of kitchen essentials and very useful non-essentials). The kids had a blast up in the loft and couldn’t get enough foosball. We had a bit of a walk down to the beach but it was nice to stretch our legs. We would definitely recommend this house to others and hope to stay again in the future.
Melissa G. Feb 2018
This was a great house for our weekend getaway to the coast. The upstairs loft had great sleeping arrangements for teenagers, and the downstairs rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable. Our only complaint was that some of the entertainment amenities that were listed in the description were unavailable. There was no xbox at the house even though it was listed in the description. There was no ball for the foosball table, and the darts were all mostly broken. We were hoping to use these listed amenities as entertainment for the teenagers since it was a rainy weekend and spending time at the beach was not a good option. So the kids were disappointed in that, but everything else was great. The house was clean and cozy and we would definitely stay there again (but bring our own darts, xbox, and ball for the foosball table).
Manager response:
We sincerely apologize for the missing items; they appear to have been stolen. We have removed the Xbox and darts from the advertised amenities, and we have replaced the foosball balls. Thank you!
Luke H. Jan 2018
The house was awesome in many ways. Very spacious, kids loved the game room up top. Very annoying that the hot tub was not working for 3 days when we were told it was working! Hard to find. Needs better directions.
Jerry A W. Aug 2017
The house is beautifully decorated and a nice open floor plan. Close to grocery stores and things to do for a fun vacation. Sleeps 12 comfortably and having a hot tub was a nice bonus. Aside from a few maintenance problems, we had a great time and would definitely rent there again.
Kimberly A. Jan 2017
This is my second time at this house. The first time the hot tub was up on the deck and unavailable for use This time the hot tub was running and ready for use, but I was not prepared. The house is very nice! And very cozy for all of us. I can't wait to go there again!
Brandon C. Oct 2016
Great house
Megan W. Aug 2016
Great amenities and location for dogs. Lots of stuff for group activities in the house. Fun stuff like fusbal and darts.
Christy G. Aug 2016
The Salty Dog was nicely designed and perfectly furnished for a fun and relaxing weekend.
Marlene P. Jul 2016
The home is amazing, just what we needed for the kids and for us. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Nonetheless it is hard to find. The website says St. when it's really an ave. Which ended up being on the other side of town. Once you figure where it's at it is totally work it.
Yee T. Jul 2016
Great place for family vacation!
Tessa M. Jul 2016
We had an enjoyable visit with 10 adults, 1 toddler, and 2 dogs. Well stocked kitchen and excellent game selection. House is spacious and clean. A few small changes would have improved our experience but all in all we would definitely recommend this house to others! Thank you!!!
Dean T. Jul 2016
Nice and clean with all required amenities. All beds are "full" size, it would have been really nice if they were queen sized. Drive way is very bumpy so be careful with sports cars.
Manager response:
It has been confirmed that each bedroom does have a queen sized bed; we apologize for any confusion that may have occurred there.
Kimberly A. Jun 2016
Don't get your hopes up because you see a hot tub in the pictures Everything else was beautiful well-kept and very inviting to stay We really enjoyed our stay!
Manager response:
We apologize if the pictures caused some confusion regarding the hot tub; it is currently not an advertised amenity at this time. You can see all advertised amenities at the house by viewing the checklist provided beneath the calendar.