USA Washington San Juan Islands Anacortes Listing #6418

Driftwood Retreat - Anacortes, WA

Take a Virtual Tour
54 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 2 Queen Bed 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Bayfront getaway with amazing views and easy access to nearby attractions!

Enjoy a romantic getaway in the Pacific Northwest, or bring the kids along on your trip to this Washington custom waterfront modern cabin! This Anacortes home is right on the no-bank sandy beach, with natural beauty and other destinations just minutes away yet is only a 75 minute drive from downtown Seattle.

Your new home away from home for four is only seven miles away from Anacortes' bustling downtown, providing quick access to dining and urban attractions while preserving a sense of natural isolation. Feel the sand between your toes as you admire the driftwood on the beach, then retire to the patio.

This guesthouse also has a three-bedroom main house that sleeps eight on the property that can also be rented. (Please note, outdoor areas are shared between these two rentals.)

The soft beige colors of the wall go well with the warm wooden textures on the furnishings and ceiling beams. Wide glass windows and doors bring in plenty of natural light, highlighting the naturalistic decorations of this low-key home.

The living area of the great room is ideal for relaxing, with a plush leather sofa right by the door to the patio. When you're not discussing the coffee table decorations with your sweetheart or watching cable on the flatscreen TV with the kids, you can use the WiFi to plan something fun!

With stainless steel appliances, a kitchen island, and a grill waiting outside, you're sure to whip up something tasty in the kitchen. Take in your meals at the indoor breakfast bar seating for four, then load your dishes into the dishwasher for easy cleanup.

Four guests can use this home's two bedrooms and baths. Each bedroom boasts a generous queen-size bed, with an accompanying full-size bathroom. The baths have smooth tile floors and a relaxing tub and shower, which will keep everyone clean alongside the private washer and dryer.

Just because you're right next to the beach, doesn't mean you shouldn't get out and explore! The shores of Cranberry Lake await at Deception Pass State Park six miles to the south, providing some freshwater fun along with the seawater of the bay at home. Anacortes isn't just a charming town - its ferry landing 10 miles away is the gateway to the gorgeous San Juan Islands! The hustle and bustle of Friday Harbor, unbeatable view from Mt. Constitution, and long walks along Spencer's Spit and Shark Reef are just a fun boat ride away!

Don't deny yourself this little slice of perfection. Place your reservation today!

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Kitchen & dining






Ocean view


Sound view


Water view


Beach access


Internet : Wave Broad Band



Wireless router

Netflix streaming


Gas grill : Private


Beach towels


54 reviews

Debbie T. Sep 2022
The view is lovely, the grounds are SO fun with fruit trees and bunnies, the unit is clean and quiet, 2 bedrooms w/2 baths are convenient. We loved our time there!
Cody B. Jun 2022
Truly a grand view to be out there, spend time away from the city and all. Plan on coming back again.
Alicia L. Apr 2022
Contemporary, clean and comfortable. Can't wait to return.
Bethany J. Nov 2021
The location and view is amazing. The wifi is fantastic. Heat works. Some issues: hot water lasts 10 minutes tops, and on some other review people complained it was loud but we didn't notice. Beds seem old, and other people have reviewed the pillows are pretty flat, which we agreed with. The dishwasher wasn't working. What they don't tell you is the dimmer switches are for floor heating and once you figure that out it's awesome! The driveway side bathtub struggled to drain and the exhaust fan in the same bathroom only hummed. The sliding glass door is tricky to lock and probably needs a new weather strip. Even when locked there's a draft on the bottom and you can see daylight. It would be nice if there were some curtains for the sliding glass door windows. In both bathroom windows there isn't blurred glass or curtains but trusting that people can't see in, it should be ok maybe. Still a little awkward. On the surface it all looks very well and good. If these things are addressed and fixed, I'd give it 5 stars!
Manager response:
Hi, Bethany! We're so glad you enjoyed the wonderful view from this home and appreciate your helpful feedback. The pillows are getting replaced, the tub drain is cleared, and the weather stripping on the sliding glass door. Foam mattress toppers and dishes are on order. Thank you!
Lacey C. Aug 2021
Carla K. Jul 2021
We loved our stay.
Lindsay C. Jun 2021
Loved this space and so did our kid! Great patio and backyard right on the water!
Amber M. Dec 2020
Know that there is a very steep driveway, the walk from the parking spot to the home is fairly long, the pillows are terrible, drift wood makes getting to the water nearly impossible, and the wall heater and water heater are very loud. All that aside, this home is set in a beautiful location, is well appointed, well stocked, clean, and all around a wonderful place to stay. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it!
Manager response:
Hi, Amber! Thank you for your comments! We are so happy you enjoyed the beautiful views! The driveway is steep; however, we have ensured the walkway is level and well lit. We are unable to remove driftwood which makes this place and others on the sound a unique experience. Pillows will be replaced. We have not experienced loud noises from the heater or water heater but will be more than happy to have them addressed. Thank you again for taking the time to post comments. We strive to give our guest a great vacation and look for all ways to improve.
Jennifer H. Oct 2020
Great location right on the water. We took our kayak out and paddled to Skagit Island and over to the shore of Whidbey Island. The home is small but modern. A few minor things—multiple light bulbs burned out or broken, and pillows old and flat— but overall very nice. Good amount of kitchen equipment to cook almost anything.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Jennifer! We are pleased to hear that the home met your expectations! Thank you for making mention of items in the home that need some TLC. We take this feedback seriously and please know that local staff is available to assist with any issues you encounter while in the home. We hope to have the chance to host you again. Thank you!
Jodi W. Oct 2020
We had a lovely stay. Even though it rained quite a bit, the home was cozy with a beautiful view of the water. There were guests in the main house, but we still felt we were staying at a secluded getaway.
Wilkes H. Oct 2020
My wife and I took my mom-in-law out here for a reunion. The house was perfect for the three of us. We each had a bedroom & bathroom. The kitchen was well equipped and we appreciated having the washer/dryer there. We especially loved the landscaping & spent a lot of time outside and in front of the fire pit. Thanks so much! Loved this place! Oh, a deer walked around the yard one night during a campfire.
Amy G. Aug 2020
The beach and the grounds were just lovely!! We had everything we needed and the view is astounding. The house itself is cozt and the lofts you can see in photos are off limits to guests. That would be nice to note in the images and description. Also, another chair at the kitchen island would be helpful so that 5 people can sit down to eat together.
Denise L. Jul 2020
The location can not be beat. We had 2 adults and 2 young kids and it was big enough for us. It encourages outdoor play and the view was amazing !!
ANGELA B. Jul 2020
Nice home, clean, staff even replaced empty propane tank on grill on short notice. Only negative is there is no dining table indoors or outdoors.
Eliese T. Jun 2020
This house was so pretty ! Really steep drive way though and pretty close to other houses. Decorations were very cute and trendy
yasser a. Nov 2019
Everything was great,
I just wish cleaning fee was les, especially iwas one person which I left the house almost clean as it was
Nikolaus A. Oct 2019
Spectacular view.
Tremendous space.
Celena B. Sep 2019
The cabin is adorable, yet modern. The view is peaceful and beautiful with the water just steps away. There is even a sauna! This was perfect for a weekend getaway with friends.

There were two things negative worth noting- the 5th sleeping area is just the couch. There are morning glories that have totally killed what I think used to be a pear tree and almost completely blocks the view from the living room. The morning glories have started infecting the other pear trees and if left unaddressed will kill the whole garden.
Manager response:
We are glad you enjoyed your visit, Selena! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry if the couch was not ideal as the fifth sleeping accommodation. While the home is only two bedrooms and offers two queen beds to sleep four guests comfortably, the home can accommodate a maximum of five guests. We have addressed the landscaping concern with our local manager to share with the homeowner for their consideration. Thank you for staying with us!
Jodi T. Sep 2019
Nice place if you don't mind p getting ripped off. Excessive fees, unkempt grounds, and Vacasas response was "Too bad! hope you rent with us again". We most certainly will NOT be renting through Vacassa again. Their fees nearly doubled the cost of our stay.
Many, Many other options out there for less money.
Manager response:
Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We have a landscaper that services this property weekly, and we will be sure to have them spend some extra time on that bush in front of the home. I hope you made it down to the beach while you were here, as that is where the view is best! Thanks!
Kris M. Aug 2019
Surprised friends with this amazing “house at beach” property, we all loved! Loved space, 2 beds and 2 baths, awesome kitchen. View and peaceful. Enamored of huge picture window sliding glass doors and patio. Management incredibly helpful in fixing mistake I made on reservation- thanyou!! Saw racoons! Bountiful gardens and tended landscape lovely. Loved this experience! Highly recommended.
Pat E. Aug 2019
great place for young families. the beach is fun to explore, the yard is great to through the baseball. easy to eat, sleep and be merry.
teresa g. Jul 2019
Very clean, well stocked kitchen supplies, awesome view! Loved it! Will be back. I would trim or cut down the flowering bush by patio. It distracts from the beautiful view.
Beth D. Jun 2019
The home is clean and modern, with a well stocked kitchen. The view is stunning, the grounds are lovely, and it’s just steps from the water.
Debbie L. Jan 2019
Beautiful setting for this contemporary style home. Space is small but works well for 2 couples. Beds are not very comfortable and in winter the heat makes a lot of noise when it kicks on throughout the night. Nicely appointed although baggies/storage containers would be a plus as would Kleenex.
We enjoyed our stay and would like to try it again in the summer. Location is very nice.
Jana C. Nov 2018
The view was amazing. The home was very comfortable. Equipped with everything we needed to enjoy coffee at sunrise (unforgettable) and catch the end of the game after a day of exploring the islands. We will recommend it to all our friends and family.
Scott E. Nov 2018
Very peaceful, and serene setting...
Wonderful sunrises and sets, which is all we really saw here as we spent most of our time on day trips to the cascades and San Juan islands.
Easy 10 min ride into Anacortes for some spectacular meals ( Don't miss Dad's for Breakfast) It's hard to beat the price point for this well appointed, comfortable setting, We'll be Back!
Karen W. Aug 2018
Idellic setting, fabulous views, and comfortable, private house. Would stay again.
Joann R. Jun 2018
We enjoyed the beautiful water views! The space itself was cozy, not small and overall quite comfortable. We also appreciated the location. Convenient to hiking and kayaking in Deception Pass State Park and forays into downtown Anacortes. Nicely done.
Diane D. May 2018
The view was exceptional and was very peaceful. Far enough away from everything yet close enough to everything for convenience.
Zygmunt D. Apr 2018
A beautiful spot to relax and recharge - and reflect on our busy lives in hectic cities. Perfection awaits you, but arriving here and being so close, you need to make one more effort at dealing with tight urban car parks: don’t get discouraged by a treacherous driveway.
Kaaren R. Apr 2018
Beautiful view, wonderful area to explore and walk trails, comfortable beds, good furnishings, and quiet setting.
Jen C. Mar 2018
We can’t wait to come back! Our family built memories that are forever carved into our hearts because of the setting and amazing accommodations. Thank you!
Martha H. Mar 2018
The property is very nice but the driveway and parking is far worse than what I expected, even though I had read other reviews.
I was happy to be farther along in my hip replacement recovery as access is not “accessible”.
If you plan to cook, you will need absolutely everything such as salt/pepper.
Judy B. Feb 2018
Spent a week in January checking out the geese, swans & eagles of Skagit county. They were all there! At the house, had a pair of eagles fly right by, a heron fed at low tide & a variety of birds searched for worms in the lawn.
The driveway is tricky (steep & narrow) as others mentioned. I wouldn't want a large vehicle. I'd be scared to death if it was icy but worked out fine for me..
Emily B. Nov 2017
Making breakfast while looking out over the sound, nothing better! Amazing location, I wouldn't have wished for anything different.
Ronald H. Sep 2017
this place was in a beautiful setting with very modern decor, very clean and a spectacular view of the ocean. would highly recommend this place for someone in need of relaxation and a place to unwind.

i sure hope to go again.
Judy M. Jul 2017
Lovely modern home in a fantastic setting. The landscaping, walkways, fruit trees, flowers and patio area is lovely. The kitchen is equipped with every imaginable utensil. It is nice to share the home with another couple as the bedrooms/bathrooms are on opposite sides of the home. The heated floors are WONDERFUL! The HOT water is instant! Just don't attempt to maneuver the driveway or parking space after a glass of wine!! The main house was a little loud with a family with multiple happy children. The wifi, cable and security system all worked perfectly. Please add two more chairs for outside seating and you have it!
Mark P. Apr 2017
Great place and great location.
Carrie H. Mar 2017
The property is as the pictures show... it is simply gorgeous! Loved the location, beachfront, and a beautiful view. Quiet and reasonably secluded, yet close to town and parks like Deception Pass. The property was well set up for my family of 4. Property management company was responsive and easy to deal with, even when there was a housekeeping snafu at check in.
Chelsea O. Mar 2017
What a great spot! The location is beautiful. The kitchen was well stocked and perfect for our girls weekend!
Deanne K. Feb 2017
Great view to the south. The driveway is very challenging, both to find and to negotiate. The only issue with the rental is that the sliding door is very heavy to move and the door lock simply does not work, and probably never has. Otherwise, very satisfied with the rental, especially the off-season pricing. I'd never rent it during the peak season at the advertised price.
Sara S. Nov 2016
My husband, young son and I stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend. It's in a beautiful location, convenient to town, and feels very private due to the way it's situated on the property next to the main house.

It's right on a rocky beach with a wide lawn down to the shore and my son loved going down to the beach to turn over rocks and look at all the tiny crabs. We took several long walks on the beach and it is truly one of the most beautiful places I've ever been.

The house is new, modern, immaculately clean and has a well-stocked kitchen with all the supplies you could need. The heated floors in the bathroom were a nice surprise on the this chilly weekend, and the whole house warmed up quickly. It was a cozy retreat for watching the birds and the waves in the beautiful bay.

We're thinking about coming back this summer!