USA Georgia North Georgia Helen Listing #78220

The Happy Camper - Helen, GA

Take a Virtual Tour
13 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 2 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 1 bedroom  plus loft 1 bathroom 2 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Peaceful, dog-friendly cabin with fireplace & decks - walk to downtown Helen

Find both serene relaxation and unmatched convenience at this charming log cabin in Helen. This alpine-inspired retreat boasts a beautiful woodland setting and multiple outdoor decks where you can unwind each evening - with the fun and activity of downtown Helen just half a mile from your door. There is a second sleeping space in the open-air loft.

Whether you're planning a vacation full of fishing, tubing, or wine-tasting, this cozy cabin makes an ideal home base. The interior is adorned with natural wood, while generous windows let in the sunshine and views of the surrounding trees. There's a compact but well-equipped kitchen, a dining table for four, and an inviting sitting area with a leather sofa, a gas fireplace, and a smart TV.

Bring a local bottle of wine outside to the deck, where you can grill and dine in the late afternoons. The evenings are best spent playing board games by the fire and planning tomorrow's excursions using the free WiFi.

THINGS TO KNOW

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Children

Children's games

Features

Iron

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Partial AC

Gas fireplace

House rules

Dog-friendly

Kitchen & dining

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

Wireless router

HBO streaming

Netflix streaming

Miscellaneous

Step-free access

Nearby activities & attractions

Playground

Disc golf

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Patio

Deck

13 reviews

Kimberly S. Dec 2022
I stayed at the Happy Camper in Helen, GA 12/26-12/29/2022. The home is very cute! Large porches, great seating area outside. The bathroom and living room are very spacious and the gas fireplace was great! We also enjoyed playing the cards and board games provided. The bedrooms are small but doable for average size people, the beds are also small (full size?) and the mattresses could use an upgrade. The hot tub was not working during our stay. We left it on for the duration of our stay hoping it would heat up, but it never reached over 60 degrees, so we were unable to enjoy that amenity. Other than the hot tub, I did not have an issue with the accommodations at all and likely would have left the review at that. However, I had a huge issue with VACASA, the management company of this property. On our second night there, we left to go to the laundromat (there is no washer and dryer in the home) and upon returning to the cabin around 7pm, I noticed the water wasn’t working. I reported the issue to Vacasa and also notified them about the hot tub at this time. Around 730pm 12/27, VACASA called and said that we would need to leave the property due to the water being out. I let them know that I would not be leaving that evening as I had started drinking. The lady told me she couldn’t authorize me to stay but she would would get with a supervisor to let them know and call me back. They did not call me back. I packed all my belongings that evening and loaded them up. I also started calling local hotels and none of them had pet friendly accommodations for the remainder of our stay. At that point, I emailed Vacasa and let them know that we could not find any other accommodations for the duration of our stay and asked how we could resolve the issue. I didn’t get a response or a call back. The water came back on just after 10pm. Yay, the issue is resolved, I thought, and shortly thereafter we went to bed. Upon waking up the next morning, I checked my Vacasa app and it said my checkout date was 12/27. I called Vacasa and was on the phone with them letting them know about the issue with the dates and that I was still in the cabin and would be until my checkout date 12/29. At that point they said, they had refunded half my money and in order to stay I would need to pay them the amount the refunded. The call disconnected shortly after that. I checked my banking app and called the bank, there was no refund or pending refund at the time. I called Vacasa back and got a different agent who was difficult to understand so I gave them my information and asked that the previous rep call me back so I would not have to reexplain the hour long disconnected call with another agent. She put that request in for me. We left the cabin and went to an Escape room. Upon leaving the escape room, I checked my banking app and Vacasa had charged my account for an additional $540 but still no refund or pending refund. I never authorized them to charge my (out of room for rest of review)
Manager response:
We're very sorry to read about the poor communication you experienced, Kimberly. The refund has been sorted, and the water issue due to the freezing and bursting pipes has been resolved in the area. Hopefully we'll have a chance to impress you in the future. Thank you!
Cayla F. Dec 2022
This home was clean, had everything we needed and was super close to town! It was super cozy.
Joel W. Nov 2022
Perfect little cabin within walking distance to town. Feels pretty private depsite the fact that there are 3 other cabins next to and below it. The Hot tub did not work, that was the biggest let down as I picked that cabin specifically because it had one. Coffee maker also did not work, we had to go into town to get coffee first thing each morning. We would definitely stay here again if the hot tub would work next time.
Manager response:
Hi Joel, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the location of our home. However, we sincerely apologize for the issues on the hot tub you encountered during your stay. We are glad to hear that the local staff acted promptly and rectified the issue as soon as possible. While, the coffee maker issue was not reported to us we are sorry if this caused trouble during your stay. Moving forward, we passed this concern along to our local manager to review and we appreciate guests’ preferences as a means to continually improve. We look forward to hosting your next stay.
David E. Aug 2022
Quiet and lovely views. Very close to town.
Gary H. Aug 2022
Nice little cabin in the woods. Worked great for our family of four.
Harold C. Jul 2022
We loved how close we were to everything in Helen also how very quiet and peaceful. Had plenty of room for my wife, myself and our fur baby. Had room for two more couples. Loved all the deck room and the nice hot tub.
Cynthia M. Jun 2022
Incredible location get the coolness of the mountains along with the privacy having your morning coffee on the deck. Less than 3 Minutes from the adorable town of Helen.
Garon M. Jun 2022
This cabin was perfect for a family of three with dogs. We were close enough to town to walk, if needed, but also enjoyed the privacy of the cabin. The hot tub was great after a chilly tubing adventure!
Steven N. May 2022
A gorgeous cabin, very convenient and pleasant. The driveway up the hill has a very narrow path and we did dread meeting a truck on that narrow path, but luckilly that never happened (we noted a lot of narrow hill residential roadways in the area).

The hot tub was a nice addition and I think this is the only unit that has one in this little 5 unit project. The area is very private with only the 5 cabins nearby and only a few other homes on the entire hill.
Adriana Z. Apr 2022
The Happy Camper was perfect! close to everything and in town!
The place was clean and very organized, I Would suggest having an extra set of sheets for the pull-out sofa other than that everything perfect for us, the kids had so much fun in the Hot Tub and even our dog Tahoe enjoyed the outdoors!
Thank you for having us!
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Adriana. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your home. Linens are only provided for the beds, not the futon. You may bring your linens for the futon or you may rent them by calling customer service. We hope to host you again.