USA Gulf Coast Florida St. George Island Listing #86255

Driftwood - St. George Island, FL

Take a Virtual Tour
10 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 King Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 2 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly beachfront bungalow with gorgeous views, outdoor shower, and deck

With a great East End location, this charming beachfront cottage is mere steps to the sugar white sands and uncrowded beaches of St. George Island. This vacation rental offers beach living all on one floor and an excellent location close to Island shops, restaurants, nightlife, the St. George Island State Park, and the St. George Lighthouse Museum. Your family dogs will love it too - Driftwood is dog-friendly! Whether exploring the Island on bicycle or paddleboard, soaking up the sun and splashing in the surf, or just relaxing on the deck with a good book and a refreshing beverage, the best of the Forgotten Coast awaits you at Driftwood.

The exterior of this vacation home offers an outdoor shower, a fish cleaning area with running water, a park-style grill, a picnic table, and direct access to the sparkling Gulf beaches. Stairs lead to the first floor's open living/dining/kitchen with great views of the beach and sparkling Gulf waters beyond. The living room is light and bright with a casual beachy decor, offering generous seating (queen sleeper sofa), a TV with cable, a stereo system, and lots of natural light from the numerous windows that look onto the large covered deck. The deck offers unobstructed views of the beach and Gulf waters beyond and plenty of lounge-style seating.

Inside, the dining room features a dining table with comfortable seating for six. There is additional seating at the breakfast bar that looks into the cozy, well-equipped kitchen. The kitchen offers all a cook needs, including a dishwasher for easy cleanup. On the west side of the living space is a spacious bedroom featuring windows looking directly towards the Gulf beaches, a TV with cable/DVD, and shared access to the hall bath. Directly across the hall is the twin bedroom. This cheerfully decorated room features a TV with cable and shared access to the hall bath. On the east side of the living space is the large main bedroom featuring a TV with cable and windows that offer direct views of the Gulf beaches and shimmering waters. Beach gear credit is included with this home - book a stay and get your choice of kayaks, paddleboards, beach chairs, and more!

WHAT'S NEARBY

AttractionDistance from home
St. George Island Lighthouse4.1 Miles
Island Dog Outdoors4.3 Miles
Apalachicola National Estuarine Research Reserve Nature Center9.6 Miles
Battery Park15.6 Miles
Orman House Historic State Park15.8 Miles
Lafayette Park16.3 Miles

THINGS TO KNOW

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

House rules

Dog-friendly

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Ocean view

Oceanfront

Water view

Waterfront

Gulf view

Gulf-front

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

Wireless router

Outdoor

Balcony

Patio

Deck

Lanai

Theme

Snowbird-friendly

10 reviews

Janet B. Jan 2023
Beautiful views of the Gulf from the porch. Property borders right on the beach.
Jennifer F. Dec 2022
Loved the views, porch, comfy beds and proximity to lighthouse and other favorite haunts. Perfect pet-friendly family getaway!
Karen G. Nov 2022
Driftwood was an adorable house that has the perfect location in the beach. Houses are not on top of each other, no steps to get down to the beach except from the house to the ground. Views were amazing. Sadly the new rental company has DOUBLED the price for the same week next year. We will not be back. 😢
Manager response:
Karen, it was our pleasure hosting you and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please keep an eye on the calendar as prices do flex up and down, based on availability and the dates that a guest is looking into booking. Additionally, we have agents available 24/7 to assist with finding the best possible vacation rental for each guest's needs, location, and budget. We hope we can host you again soon!
James M. Nov 2022
Upon arriving at the property and opening the door, we were overwhelmed with the most unpleasant smell. It smelled as if someone had been cooking fish for an extended time in heavy used grease with no apparent effort to "neutralize" the smell prior to rebooking. Upon notifying housekeeping and advising that it had imbedded even in the curtains, bed linens carpet, refrigerator, etc., and to please bring products (Lysol, Fabreeze, etc.) to try and neutralize the smell, we were day 3 into a 5 night stay before they came and showed up with a steam mop and some rags but nothing to address the impregnation of all the "fabric" materials. Further, while listed as "pet friendly", the yard is full of sandspurs (a simple fix) and we spent an inordinate amount of time picking sandspurs out of our little one, which was traumatic considering her having never experienced this, thus necessitating us having to always pick her up and carry her through the yard. In addition, the remote controls in 2 of the bedrooms were not functioning properly, again simple fixes with universal remotes costing a minimum amount. Needless to say, for a beautiful setting on the beach, these experiences sort of threw a "wet blanket" over our trip. The perception is that this rental appears to be more about profit than customer satisfaction. Disappointing at a cost of $600.00/night!!
Manager response:
We're sorry to read you were disappointed, James. Housekeeping did go by with deodorizing items, but you were not home. We have asked them to leave the items by the door in the future. Hopefully we get to host you again someday for a better experience. Thanks, James!
Lynn R. Sep 2022
We absolutely loved our stay, the house was clean and refreshing. The location is absolutely perfect and such beautiful scenery and easy access to the beach. We felt like we had a private beach just for us.
Had a couple of small issues but the folks at Vacasa was on it ASAP. Overall a wonderful vacation.
Anonymous U. Oct 2021
We have stayed at Driftwood for the last 3 years. Could use some updating and please fix the deck door! It opens out and the wind catches it and rips it out of your hands. This has been a problem for several years but still has not been fixed. Overall has everything we needed. Unfortunately the property has gone up in price more than &1000 for next year so we are renting elsewhere. This review was submitted while the home was managed by a different property management company.
Anonymous U. Sep 2021
The view from Driftwood is beautiful. The kitchen could use some work but overall, it`s a nice house. Love that we could bring our fur baby with us. This review was submitted while the home was managed by a different property management company.
Bret H. Jul 2021
We like that this end of the beach is very quiet. Even with construction going on directly behind the house we were surprised at how little noise we heard inside. The property is certainly about value. The kitchen is tired and the carpets in the rooms are as well. Shower doesn`t drain well, but that`s to be expected with all the sand at these beach houses. Easy access to the beach. My main gripe is that we wanted to re-book for 2022 and i was shocked to see the cost is up 50% for next year. Maybe they are planning some renovations and looking to cover those costs, but i can`t see that this is warranted. I had to look elsewhere for our 2022 needs and was able to find a reasonable house on the beach for less than $4,000 for the week.... This review was submitted while the home was managed by a different property management company.
Kristi B. Jul 2020
We have been coming to St. George for over 20 years. Love the peace and quiet! Not to mention BJ’s pizza! Driftwood is in a good location and the views are wonderful. The home itself could use some updating/minor repairs (as most beachfront properties do) but had everything we needed for a great vacation. This review was submitted while the home was managed by a different property management company.