Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >
Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.
Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.
Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.
Lakefront Home with Private Beach & Gorgeous Peninsula Location - Dogs OK
Catch spectacular sunsets over Lake Champlain at this Isle La Motte cabin, a beautiful lakefront escape with an amazing view, private beach, a tree-lined deck, dog-friendly accommodations, and a stunning island location ideal for anglers, swimmers, cyclists, and hikers.
This Vermont retreat sits among the treetops on the western shores of Isle La Motte, with 750 feet of lakefront beach on a small, protected peninsula and cove. Here in the tranquil Lake Champlain Islands, you'll be just 46 miles north of downtown Burlington and 60 miles south of beautiful Montreal.
Secluded, spacious, and full of sunlight, The Bird's Nest shares its property with an historic farmhouse that dates back to 1835 (but the two do not share any common walls). Inside the open living space, you'll feel right at home under lofty ceilings, on several plush sofas, and beneath large picture windows that frame the lake and the trees.
Wake up each morning to sip your coffee in the living room, where you can spread out the newspaper on the coffee table, play a few tunes on the stereo, or use the WiFi to post photos. Grab a book from the shelves, flip through the channels on the flatscreen TV, and enjoy the peace and quiet of island living.
Flip pancakes with your loved ones in the full kitchen, where you'll find standard appliances and a dishwasher to take care of the chores. Indulge in some local maple syrup as you eat breakfast in the dining space for six, and throw on your bathing suits and flip-flops for a day of fun on the lake.
Soak in the summer sunshine, dip your toes in the cool water, or spend the morning fishing along 750 feet of lakeshore. Return home in the afternoon to fire up the gas grill, set the patio table, and enjoy an al fresco dinner at sunset on the deck. Please note that as this home's water is drawn directly from Lake Champlain, while perfectly fine for bathing, doing dishes, etc., we do recommend bringing your own drinking water.
With two bedrooms, a loft, and one full bathroom, this Isle La Motte home will accommodate six guests, and a dog is welcome for a small nightly fee. There are two bedrooms with double beds. There's an additional double bed - which is in a sleeping nook - and a daybed with a trundle in the open loft, as well as a bathtub/shower combination in the full bathroom.
Thanks to its remarkable position surrounded on three sides by Lake Champlain, The Bird's Nest is tailor-made for lovers of Vermont's outdoors. Spend your days sailing, fishing, birding, or swimming off the shores of your own private beach, or hop on your bike to tour the island's quiet country roads.
Make a tee time at Alburg Golf Links just five miles north, or spend the morning at Alburg Dunes State Park only eight miles east. The Historic Fisk Farm also sits within walking distance one mile down the road, offering concerts, arts and crafts shows, and performances and exhibits each Sunday afternoon in July and August.
Begin planning a summer vacation you'll never forget - reserve your stay on Isle La Motte today!
Meals & Room Tax License #MRT-10082226
1 dog welcome in this home. No other animals are allowed without specific Vacasa approval.
Parking notes: You'll find parking just off the road in the driveway.
You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.
Heating & cooling
Kitchen & dining
Gas grill : Private
Alyson T.Aug 2022
The view and beach on it's own point
Igor L.Aug 2022
Beautiful settings, lovely place, very enjoyable stay.
Kevin W.Jul 2022
Positives - The property has lake access within steps of the barn. The property is very private. The homeowner greeted us upon arrival and was very friendly. The linens were very clean and there were plenty of towels provided. The homeowner provided a jug of bottled water since the tap water was not potable. We were able to park on site.
Negatives - It's a barn. The accommodations were situated in the second level of a barn attached to the main house. Although the main floor is an open plan, the entire residence was filled with an abundance of useless old stuff which created an atmosphere of clutter. The room does get good ventilation at night which alleviated our concerns about the lack of air conditioning. Plenty of fans were provided but they were filthy. Some were so dirty, they carried a musty/body odor smell.
The bathroom is in the kitchen and has no ventilation so there is mold all over the shower area window. We did not have hot water the first night, perhaps because there were people in the main house.
The upstairs is a loft. Plywood was laid down and there are area rugs to cover the main walkways. The loft would probably be suitable for one nice bedroom. Rather, it is divided into three areas/rooms and everything is crammed together. Because of the limited space in each area and the steep inclines of the ceilings it is difficult to take a couple steps in either direction without hitting your head. It's advertised as able to sleep six, but it would be a very tight fit for four adults.
The accessibility to the lake is clearly the highlight of the property. Compared to the photographs, the beach is slightly overgrown with plants and a dead fallen tree. Most of the chairs provided on the beach need to be replaced because they are cracked and about to completely break apart. Even with the great views of the lake, the accommodations make this stay way overpriced.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to hear your feedback about your time with us, Kevin! We appreciate you bringing this to our attention so that we can take appropriate measures to implement improvements. Rest assured that we will follow up with our local team regarding your feedback. Please know that our Guest Services team is available 24 hours a day to assist should any questions or concerns arise prior to arrival or during your stay. Thanks for staying with us, we look forward to hosting you again!
Scot R.Jul 2022
Our family spent an amazing week at The Bird's Nest this summer. The location is without parallel. A small peninsula on Isle La Motte, with a large beach area. Sitting on the lakeside, waves lapping gently, a cooling breeze; perfectly relaxing!
From the deck, a view of the lake to the left, to the right, and straight ahead!
Ample space for our family of four to spread out in. The large dining table was perfect for eating or late night card and board games. Highly recommended for those seeking seclusion, relaxation, and lovely views of Lake Champlain.
Marc G.Jun 2022
The house was well maintained and exists a very short walk down a path from the water. The area on the property by the water has great views of the lake with the mountains on the horizon. The island itself is quaint and the people are friendly. The only thing I’d dock it for was that the internet wasn’t working for us for the long weekend. That said, it didn’t impact our fun much as we were mainly outside and exploring the area. Highly recommended.
John W.Oct 2021
As other reviewers have said, the property and location are great. My wife and I especially enjoyed the private beach and lake view, and the fire pit on the beach was nice too. The property is quite secluded, but that was perfect for us, as we were looking for a retreat-like atmosphere.
The home itself was a mixed bag. We loved the wrap around windows in the morning and day time, but the lack of curtains or shades made us a bit uncomfortable at night, especially when we heard noises in the front of the house. The grill on the porch was great. The living room was spacious enough, but not quite as large as the pictures made it appear. The biggest downside was the hard tap water, which left yellow stains on the sink and in the toilet bowel. We were told that the water was from a well and had been tested for cleanliness, but both the smell and appearance of the well water stains were disconcerting.
One final note. When we first walked in, I noticed that the home had not been cleaned (dirty towels on the bathroom floor, garbage not taken out, beds not made). I called Vacasa and to their credit, they sent someone over right away to do some basic cleaning and give us fresh towels and sheets, and then sent a housekeeper the following morning to do a more thorough cleaning. They apologized profusely for the mistake and refunded the cleaning fee. So, even though it was a pretty big oversight for a rental property, I would still give Vacasa high marks for customer service, for responding promptly and making things right. Everyone we talked to was professional and helpful, which made the rest of our vacation, after a bumpy start, much better.
Jessica J.Sep 2021
Pros: proximity to the beach is fantastic, huge beach area, nice views, fire pit right on the beach, new-ish pedal boat on the beach was a nice surprise (bring your own life jackets). Mattresses were firm and comfortable, towels and sheets super clean, small “kids corner” with a table, crayons, and a small basket of toys was appreciated. Kitchen well stocked with dishes and cookware. Lots of natural light, lots of fascinating old books on the book shelf. Water pressure in the shower made it feel like I was getting a massage. Gas grill on the deck worked great!
Cons: the lockbox was not in the location stated in my arrival email- we had to call Vacasa (thankfully they were very responsive and we had no trouble getting in). There is a list of about half a dozen WiFi passwords on the fridge- the correct one was in my arrival email from vacasa, but that was a little confusing. When we arrived, there were 2 mason jars with flowers in the kitchen- the flowers were dead and the water was green. I didn’t see a smoke alarm in this unit. We arrived after dark and there was only one outdoor light outside the sliding door- it was a lot of stairs to navigate in the dark. The stairs were also slippery when wet. One of the handles to open the window in the kitchen was broken. What was the most bothersome was the bathroom- there is no fan, the window doesn’t open, and there was mold on the window frame. It desperately needs some ventilation.
I had asked if the water to the unit was lake water prior to our arrival- I was told it was well water, but they encouraged folks to bring drinking water anyway, which we did. However, there was a note in the property which said it was lake water- and it certainly smelled like lake water. This isn’t unusual for these houses on the lake, but I do think folks should be aware of what to expect.
I also asked about whether or not we needed to bring our own firewood, and if the other house on the property would be occupied while we were there. I didn’t get a response; we didn’t see any firewood, so bring your own. And it turned out the other house was unoccupied during our stay.
In my checkout email I received info about the property that I didn’t receive in any emails prior to our stay, including information about the water situation, as well as that there is poison ivy in the woods, so stay on the trails to the beach- probably would have been nice to know prior to.
It’s the perfect place if you just want to spend time near the water!
Overall, didn’t hate it, but needs updates.
Martha A F.Aug 2021
The location was lovely. The accommodations -not so much. There are a lot of improvements, repairs and upgrades needed if you continue to use this as a vacation rental. Many windows are broken, some without screens, all filled with cobwebs and dirty window panes. There are not enough outlets- extension cords needed for lights and any phone/ iPad devices in both bedrooms . There are missing outlet covers, no outdoor lights for stairs, no fire alarms- this alone makes this building totally unsafe. While some of the furniture is suitable, much is outdated—- and the entire place was filled with unnecessary clutter . One outdoor chair on the deck collapsed and broke as soon as we sat on it. There was mold on the bathroom window and with NO ventilation, was almost unusable in the 80 degree plus inside temperature- fans and no AC made it extremely uncomfortable , especially since so many windows were unusable. Because one of us has a medical condition that makes it difficult fir him to regulate his core temperature, we did not linger inside for long. Curtains and blinds on all the windows would help to reduce the sunlight that poured in and over heated the rooms . The bathroom is very small, and really not adequately functional for 4 guests. The best thing besides the location, were the towels.
We would also like to note that the state of the adjoining house, makes the property very uninviting. And we’d like to note as well , that around midnight , a car pulled into the driveway, with some folks getting out with flashlights , wandering around the house which had opened doors / windows and lights on the entire 3 days/ nights we were there- yet no one was occupying the house. They did eventually leave. It did not give us a very easy feeling.
Consequently we would not recommend this location as a vacation rental to anyone.
Thank you for your review, Martha. We apologize you weren't happier with your stay. We do wish you had called while there so we could have assisted you in being more comfortable. The property manager has a copy of review so he can begin enacting changes and improvements based on your feedback. We hope to have a chance to impress you in the future!
Donald G.Jun 2021
The house has a beautiful view. Waking up to the sound of waves was wonderful.
Lauri A.Oct 2020
Location and views are breathtaking. Fire on the beach, sunsets, privacy.
Other reviews weren’t happy with the attached house but we had no problem. We had all the privacy we needed and it was nice to have someone close if we needed them. He even made sure we had wood for a fire on the beach. The house has a well stocked kitchen, plenty of space to spread out, canoes with paddles, nice deck and windows everywhere to take in the views.
Cons: Sadly the unit had a few issues. Shower curtain was moldy. Very moldy. That is so unnecessary being they are so cheap. Some of the windows were full of cobwebs. Yuck. There were no working smoke detectors and outlet covers were missing. We lost our home to a house fire three years ago so this was unnerving. Also had the breakers pop off several times and my husband kept having to reset them even after relocating the space heater.
If those issues were taken care of I would definitely rent again. Expect rustic and you will love the place.
Victoria D.Sep 2020
Extraordinary location on the water. Lovely apartment up stairs over a barn. We didn’t use the canoes as it was pretty chilly out. We did go to the Fisk Quarry and Goodsell Preserve nearby to see the fossils. Quiet, beautiful area.
Amber C.Sep 2020
This was the perfect Staycation getaway. It's magical private beach, water views from nearly every window, and friendly property owner made our stay everything we had hoped it would be.
Mark F.Aug 2020
The house is located in an ideal location on the island. Quiet, calm, and refreshing. The living arrangements are on a second floor of a barn. The lockbox is incredibly hard to find and instructions poor. Maintenance leaves something to be desired. Owner seems not to have made improvements suggested by others like repairing windows, installing screens, or placing a fan in the bathroom. Fire extinguisher needed for kitchen. New BBQ grill super. Great location for a quiet vacation, but upkeep needed for an otherwise great rental.
Katherine A.Jul 2020
We loved the location! The views of the lake were breathtaking and the private beach was magical.
Leah D.Jul 2020
The house is right on the lake! Gorgeous sun sets and a relaxing atmosphere.
David A.Aug 2019
Quiet, secluded, beautiful sunsets. Access to the lake is just a few steps away. Ample private beach with fire pit was magical. Great place to get away from it all. The only thing was that there was no AC. It wasn't a big deal for us as we had great weather most days and the fans provided helped a lot, but can be an issue on hotter days.
stephane a.Jul 2018
Love the beach, fire on the beach at sunset, amazing spot
James F.Oct 2017
We enjoyed the property very much. The Birds nest has a larger house next to it. Had it been occupied the property would not be secluded as stated and would have been a bit awkward. The contact should insure that you are the only occupiers of the property when rented. Also could use an exhaust fan in the bathroom especially if six adults are using it. The views are beautiful and you get the real lake front experience. We would love to stay again!
Venkat G.Oct 2017
The property is in a great location. Highly secluded with nice private beach to enjoy beautiful sunsets.
But the unit by itself is not well maintained. We saw a hair bundle on the floor. We killed some 10-15 forest flies. No idea how they entered, but they were near their dying stage. No heating system. The temperature went to lower 40s during our stay and we barely got heat with two tiny portable electric heating units. There's no ventilation inside bathroom. If you're going to take a hot shower, make sure you're alive breathing after 10 mins :) . Well, one can argue it's a renovated barn from 1830s, but not considering basic amenities doesn't seem to be an excuse.
We had good 15 minutes of fun finding the keys for the property (yes, with a Vacasa customer rep on the phone). The property is attached to another home and has a confused point of separation. When we finally managed to find the lockbox location, they key code given to us was not working and ended up trying multiple codes.
And consider driving at least 30 miles to get to a decent grocery store. The country stores may not have everything you need. Finally all three stars for the location.
Mark W.Sep 2017
I was in search of a simple, quiet, isolated place to unwind and unplug for a few days before a very busy work season. This was the perfect place for that. Fabulous sunsets and hardly a person to be seen. This was late-September off season. What was surprising was to drive up and see that unit was part of a main house. It's an apartment upstairs in an old barn. That wasn't evident in any photo or description I recalled seeing prior to booking. Had the main house been occupied the isolation and privacy would have been a misrepresentation. It is basically a lake-side duplex. Both the barn and the main house could use a good power washing, and the inside a bit more thorough cleaning, but it was perfectly manageable. Keep your expectation in line with rustic and you should have the same enjoyment I did - as long as the main house is not occupied. And be aware that you need to arrive with all of your groceries. There is a small market on island that I stumbled upon precariously. The shelves were pretty bare, but again this could be due to off season. The next markets are quite a ways away in Alburg or North Hero with limited hours. For what I was seeking, this was the perfect place at the perfect time of year.
Amy W.Sep 2017
My husband and I and our two dogs stayed for for nights over Labor Day and loved it. The beach, though pebbly, was great - scenic and private. We swam two of three days...had rain the other day, which was fun as we could see the weather coming down the lake.
The living area is all upstairs, with beautiful windows and a nice deck (with a gate, which was nice), so keep that in mind! The living/dining area is spacious and furnishings are comfortable. Good wifi, smart tv worked great. There are a ton of books, games and toys.
Bedrooms are up against the roof, so sloping ceilings are the rule. Cute, but a little cumbersome. There are additional beds outside the bedrooms, in the loft area, that are more convenient if less private.
The yard is big and sunny, and there are plenty of beach chairs. If your dog (like one of mine) enjoys chasing bicyclists, you'll need to be vigilant.
Isle la Motte is great for walking and biking...We rode all over; though there were a couple killer hills, there was little traffic and lots of open space.
We loved the place, and would visit again.
Nicola P.Sep 2017
We really enjoyed a stay in the Bird's Nest. It was comfortable and great to be right on the beach
Meredith N.Aug 2017
This house was the perfect place for some friends and I to spend the weekend. The beach was secluded and clean, the backyard was sunny and nice for lawn games, and the house was comfortable. Isle La Motte is a cute little island great for biking and touring around.
John H M.Aug 2017
Great for young kids and quiet seclusion. House is on small point into lake so has fresh breezes and beach access, no worry about crossing the road.
Tight fit for adults but totally okay for a week because living spaces are large.