USA Vermont Lake Champlain Islands Isle La Motte Listing #9672

The Bird's Nest - Isle La Motte, VT

Take a Virtual Tour
20 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 3 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed 2 bedrooms  plus loft 1 bathroom 1 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Lakefront home w/private beach & gorgeous island/peninsula location - dogs OK!

Catch spectacular sunsets over Lake Champlain at this Isle La Motte cabin, a beautiful lakefront escape with an amazing view, private beach, a tree-lined deck, dog-friendly accommodations, and a stunning island location ideal for anglers, swimmers, cyclists, and hikers.

This Vermont retreat sits among the treetops on the western shores of Isle La Motte, with 750 feet of lakefront beach on a small, protected peninsula and cove. Here in the tranquil Lake Champlain Islands, you'll be just 46 miles north of downtown Burlington and 60 miles south of beautiful Montreal.

Secluded, spacious, and full of sunlight, The Bird's Nest shares its property with an historic farmhouse that dates back to 1835 (but the two do not share any common walls). Inside the open living space, you'll feel right at home under lofty ceilings, on several plush sofas, and beneath large picture windows that frame the lake and the trees.

Wake up each morning to sip your coffee in the living room, where you can spread out the newspaper on the coffee table, play a few tunes on the stereo, or use the WiFi to post photos. Grab a book from the shelves, flip through the channels on the flatscreen TV, and enjoy the peace and quiet of island living.

Flip pancakes with your loved ones in the full kitchen, where you'll find standard appliances and a dishwasher to take care of the chores. Indulge in some local maple syrup as you eat breakfast in the dining space for six, and throw on your bathing suits and flip-flops for a day of fun on the lake.

Soak in the summer sunshine, dip your toes in the cool water, or spend the morning fishing along 750 feet of lakeshore. Return home in the afternoon to fire up the gas grill, set the patio table, and enjoy an al fresco dinner at sunset on the deck. Please note that as this home's water is drawn directly from Lake Champlain, while perfectly fine for bathing, doing dishes, etc., we do recommend bringing your own drinking water.

With two bedrooms, a loft, and one full bathroom, this Isle La Motte home will accommodate six guests, and a dog is welcome for a small nightly fee. There are two bedrooms with double beds. There's an additional double bed - which is in a sleeping nook - and a daybed with a trundle in the open loft, as well as a bathtub/shower combination in the full bathroom.

Thanks to its remarkable position surrounded on three sides by Lake Champlain, The Bird's Nest is tailor-made for lovers of Vermont's outdoors. Spend your days sailing, fishing, birding, or swimming off the shores of your own private beach, or hop on your bike to tour the island's quiet country roads.

Make a tee time at Alburg Golf Links just five miles north, or spend the morning at Alburg Dunes State Park only eight miles east. The Historic Fisk Farm also sits within walking distance one mile down the road, offering concerts, arts and crafts shows, and performances and exhibits each Sunday afternoon in July and August.

Begin planning a summer vacation you'll never forget - reserve your stay on Isle La Motte today!

Meals & Room Tax License #MRT-10082226 A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: You'll find parking just off the road in the driveway.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Children

Children's games

Features

Iron

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Space heater

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Water view

Waterfront

Mountain View

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

Wireless router

Stereo

On-site activities

Board games

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Firepit

20 reviews

Martha A F. Aug 2021
The location was lovely. The accommodations -not so much. There are a lot of improvements, repairs and upgrades needed if you continue to use this as a vacation rental. Many windows are broken, some without screens, all filled with cobwebs and dirty window panes. There are not enough outlets- extension cords needed for lights and any phone/ iPad devices in both bedrooms . There are missing outlet covers, no outdoor lights for stairs, no fire alarms- this alone makes this building totally unsafe. While some of the furniture is suitable, much is outdated—- and the entire place was filled with unnecessary clutter . One outdoor chair on the deck collapsed and broke as soon as we sat on it. There was mold on the bathroom window and with NO ventilation, was almost unusable in the 80 degree plus inside temperature- fans and no AC made it extremely uncomfortable , especially since so many windows were unusable. Because one of us has a medical condition that makes it difficult fir him to regulate his core temperature, we did not linger inside for long. Curtains and blinds on all the windows would help to reduce the sunlight that poured in and over heated the rooms . The bathroom is very small, and really not adequately functional for 4 guests. The best thing besides the location, were the towels.
We would also like to note that the state of the adjoining house, makes the property very uninviting. And we’d like to note as well , that around midnight , a car pulled into the driveway, with some folks getting out with flashlights , wandering around the house which had opened doors / windows and lights on the entire 3 days/ nights we were there- yet no one was occupying the house. They did eventually leave. It did not give us a very easy feeling.
Consequently we would not recommend this location as a vacation rental to anyone.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Martha. We apologize you weren't happier with your stay. We do wish you had called while there so we could have assisted you in being more comfortable. The property manager has a copy of review so he can begin enacting changes and improvements based on your feedback. We hope to have a chance to impress you in the future!
Donald G. Jun 2021
The house has a beautiful view. Waking up to the sound of waves was wonderful.
Lauri A. Oct 2020
Pros:
Location and views are breathtaking. Fire on the beach, sunsets, privacy.
Other reviews weren’t happy with the attached house but we had no problem. We had all the privacy we needed and it was nice to have someone close if we needed them. He even made sure we had wood for a fire on the beach. The house has a well stocked kitchen, plenty of space to spread out, canoes with paddles, nice deck and windows everywhere to take in the views.

Cons: Sadly the unit had a few issues. Shower curtain was moldy. Very moldy. That is so unnecessary being they are so cheap. Some of the windows were full of cobwebs. Yuck. There were no working smoke detectors and outlet covers were missing. We lost our home to a house fire three years ago so this was unnerving. Also had the breakers pop off several times and my husband kept having to reset them even after relocating the space heater.

If those issues were taken care of I would definitely rent again. Expect rustic and you will love the place.
Victoria D. Sep 2020
Extraordinary location on the water. Lovely apartment up stairs over a barn. We didn’t use the canoes as it was pretty chilly out. We did go to the Fisk Quarry and Goodsell Preserve nearby to see the fossils. Quiet, beautiful area.
Amber C. Sep 2020
This was the perfect Staycation getaway. It's magical private beach, water views from nearly every window, and friendly property owner made our stay everything we had hoped it would be.
Mark F. Aug 2020
The house is located in an ideal location on the island. Quiet, calm, and refreshing. The living arrangements are on a second floor of a barn. The lockbox is incredibly hard to find and instructions poor. Maintenance leaves something to be desired. Owner seems not to have made improvements suggested by others like repairing windows, installing screens, or placing a fan in the bathroom. Fire extinguisher needed for kitchen. New BBQ grill super. Great location for a quiet vacation, but upkeep needed for an otherwise great rental.
Katherine A. Jul 2020
We loved the location! The views of the lake were breathtaking and the private beach was magical.
Leah D. Jul 2020
The house is right on the lake! Gorgeous sun sets and a relaxing atmosphere.
David A. Aug 2019
Quiet, secluded, beautiful sunsets. Access to the lake is just a few steps away. Ample private beach with fire pit was magical. Great place to get away from it all. The only thing was that there was no AC. It wasn't a big deal for us as we had great weather most days and the fans provided helped a lot, but can be an issue on hotter days.
stephane a. Jul 2018
Love the beach, fire on the beach at sunset, amazing spot
Tks
James F. Oct 2017
We enjoyed the property very much. The Birds nest has a larger house next to it. Had it been occupied the property would not be secluded as stated and would have been a bit awkward. The contact should insure that you are the only occupiers of the property when rented. Also could use an exhaust fan in the bathroom especially if six adults are using it. The views are beautiful and you get the real lake front experience. We would love to stay again!
Venkat G. Oct 2017
The property is in a great location. Highly secluded with nice private beach to enjoy beautiful sunsets.

But the unit by itself is not well maintained. We saw a hair bundle on the floor. We killed some 10-15 forest flies. No idea how they entered, but they were near their dying stage. No heating system. The temperature went to lower 40s during our stay and we barely got heat with two tiny portable electric heating units. There's no ventilation inside bathroom. If you're going to take a hot shower, make sure you're alive breathing after 10 mins :) . Well, one can argue it's a renovated barn from 1830s, but not considering basic amenities doesn't seem to be an excuse.

We had good 15 minutes of fun finding the keys for the property (yes, with a Vacasa customer rep on the phone). The property is attached to another home and has a confused point of separation. When we finally managed to find the lockbox location, they key code given to us was not working and ended up trying multiple codes.

And consider driving at least 30 miles to get to a decent grocery store. The country stores may not have everything you need. Finally all three stars for the location.

Mark W. Sep 2017
I was in search of a simple, quiet, isolated place to unwind and unplug for a few days before a very busy work season. This was the perfect place for that. Fabulous sunsets and hardly a person to be seen. This was late-September off season. What was surprising was to drive up and see that unit was part of a main house. It's an apartment upstairs in an old barn. That wasn't evident in any photo or description I recalled seeing prior to booking. Had the main house been occupied the isolation and privacy would have been a misrepresentation. It is basically a lake-side duplex. Both the barn and the main house could use a good power washing, and the inside a bit more thorough cleaning, but it was perfectly manageable. Keep your expectation in line with rustic and you should have the same enjoyment I did - as long as the main house is not occupied. And be aware that you need to arrive with all of your groceries. There is a small market on island that I stumbled upon precariously. The shelves were pretty bare, but again this could be due to off season. The next markets are quite a ways away in Alburg or North Hero with limited hours. For what I was seeking, this was the perfect place at the perfect time of year.
Amy W. Sep 2017
My husband and I and our two dogs stayed for for nights over Labor Day and loved it. The beach, though pebbly, was great - scenic and private. We swam two of three days...had rain the other day, which was fun as we could see the weather coming down the lake.
The living area is all upstairs, with beautiful windows and a nice deck (with a gate, which was nice), so keep that in mind! The living/dining area is spacious and furnishings are comfortable. Good wifi, smart tv worked great. There are a ton of books, games and toys.
Bedrooms are up against the roof, so sloping ceilings are the rule. Cute, but a little cumbersome. There are additional beds outside the bedrooms, in the loft area, that are more convenient if less private.
The yard is big and sunny, and there are plenty of beach chairs. If your dog (like one of mine) enjoys chasing bicyclists, you'll need to be vigilant.
Isle la Motte is great for walking and biking...We rode all over; though there were a couple killer hills, there was little traffic and lots of open space.
We loved the place, and would visit again.
Nicola P. Sep 2017
We really enjoyed a stay in the Bird's Nest. It was comfortable and great to be right on the beach
Meredith N. Aug 2017
This house was the perfect place for some friends and I to spend the weekend. The beach was secluded and clean, the backyard was sunny and nice for lawn games, and the house was comfortable. Isle La Motte is a cute little island great for biking and touring around.
John H M. Aug 2017
Great for young kids and quiet seclusion. House is on small point into lake so has fresh breezes and beach access, no worry about crossing the road.

Tight fit for adults but totally okay for a week because living spaces are large.
Rachel S. Jul 2017
Loved the beach and lawn. Had a blast!