Virtual Tour
USA California The Central California Coast Felton Listing #1893

Tree Top View Cabin - Felton, CA

86 reviews
Max occupancy: 4 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom 2 dog max 
10970 Sequoia Ave , Felton, CA 95018

Dog-friendly, modern-rustic mountain getaway with cozy features

Tucked away in the trees in the Santa Cruz mountains, this one-of-a-kind Felton vacation rental offers a peaceful location for a laid-back Northern California getaway! With a lovely and spacious covered deck, two bedrooms, WiFi, and a cozy wood-burning stove in the living room, this retreat puts you right in the middle of wilderness areas and outdoor beauty! It's also dog-friendly, so you are more than welcome to bring along your furry family members.

Leave the busy Bay Area behind and escape to Felton! Make the trip from San Jose in about 50 minutes and then be prepared to unwind and recharge! From your Felton retreat, the beaches of Santa Cruz are just 12 miles away. Right nearby, Loch Lomond Reservoir and Quail Hollow Ranch County Park offer plenty of outdoor activities.

This Tree Top View Cabin has three flights of stairs, so please be aware that it may not be best for those with mobility issues or small children. Once you do arrive at the upper-level, you're greeted with a peaceful front porch, complete with sitting areas and even a table for sipping morning coffee and enjoying a muffin or scone!

The decor inside is bright and modern, with tall, slanted wood ceilings, comfortable furniture, and artwork displayed prominently on the walls. There's a wood-burning stove to keep the living room all cozy and books lining the shelves in case you want to curl up for an afternoon of reading. In addition to WiFi, there's a TV with cable and a DVD player for movies and to catch your favorite shows.

The full kitchen is complete with a refrigerator, stovetop/oven, coffeemaker and grinder, a microwave, and more. Easily prepare meals if you don't want to head out and, when you do sit down to eat, there's a dining table with four chairs. You can break bread while you still enjoy the ambiance from the wood stove! If it's a nice day, there's a charcoal grill out on the back deck - just pick up some steaks and vegetables at the store and you'll be all set for an outdoor feast!

Both bedrooms are nicely-decorated with colorful bedding, wall art, and accessories like dressers and bedside tables. One has a queen bed and the other a full-size bed. The full bathroom is spacious with a tile-covered vanity and a tub/shower combo. Up to four guests can comfortably stay at this Felton cabin in the woods.

Just off of Highway 17, the community of Felton is home to a number of state parks and the Roaring Camp Railroads for a scenic train ride through the Santa Cruz Mountains and towering redwoods. In both Felton and the next door in the community of Ben Lomond (six miles southwest), there are a handful of restaurants for the evenings that you don't feel like cooking.

This charming community and the surrounding Santa Cruz mountains are home to an 1892 historic bridge, a Tuesday Farmers Market,the Santa Cruz Mountains Makers Market, and a number of wineries. Of course, there's also the beach! In about 30 minutes, you can be surfing, walking along the shore, or exploring the famous beach boardwalk in vibrant and popular Santa Cruz!

No matter how you spend your time at this unique Central California Coast vacation rental, you'll definitely enjoy the view of the tree tops and the peaceful ambiance of your own quiet cabin the the woods.

Property permit ID: 141267

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Children

Baby gates

Features

Space heater

Wood stove

Kitchen

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Comcast

TV

Cable : Comcast

DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router

Miscellaneous

Iron

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

86 reviews

Sally L. Sep 2019
Loved staying darling tree top cabin. Cozy little spot in the forest.
Billie M. Aug 2019
The house was very comfortable and quaint. We enjoyed our time here very much. It was a reasonable distance from Santa Cruz and there is a grocery store nearby. It's very peaceful sitting on the patio and we liked being able to cook our own meals. Would stay again for sure.
David M. Jul 2019
The place was clean and wonderful. Enjoyed the place very much. The porch area is so incredible. It was everything it said it was. Thank you! I'd stay again!
John C. Jun 2019
The property was very clean and well equipped. It was very quite and relaxing. We felt like we were in a treehouse with all of the amenities of a normal home. Nice easy to use kitchen and bbq. The beds were very comfortable. Had some trouble using the TV, but we did not come up to watch TV! Very nice relaxing stay.
Diane B. May 2019
The beautiful redwoods give me such peace !
Thanks to Vacasa for a lovely cabin in the trees and big thanks to the owners of this property for sharing your jewel of a cabin with us , very much appreciated ❤️🌲❣️
Tanya P. May 2019
The house is remote yet very close to the towns of Felton and Ben Lommond. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. A friend and I spent four days exploring the area and had a great time.
Anita L. Apr 2019
The views and a cute cosy cabin.
Kimberly U. Mar 2019
Accommodations were great! We weren’t even disappointed it rained the whole time we were there. We found plenty to do and see.
Tim G. Mar 2019
Living in the trees. Cute little cabin close enough to the attractions but far enough for privacy loved it!
Mindy S. Mar 2019
The cabin was clean, well provisioned, and nicely decorated with comfortable beds and a great bathtub. Getting to it was challenging with a winding often single lane road and many potholes. The reward was a lovely quiet place and a beautiful lake just up the hill with nice hiking trails. The stairs were difficult for our older dog and the backyard so sloped that it was also difficult for her to get outside any other way.
Jennifer S. Jan 2019
We loved our stay at the tree top cabin! Beautiful views, home was clean and as described. All around a great location.
alan f. Dec 2018
Amazing stay, the place is perfect for chillin🍷
Melissa R. Nov 2018
We love staying here with our dog! The location was awesome. We enjoyed being secluded in this beautiful mountain neighborhood but we were only 10 minutes from any shopping and gas, and 15-20 minutes from redwoods and Santa Cruz! There is a large front porch to relax on with our dog. I would recommend this home to anyone traveling to the area for multiple nights.
Steve A M. Aug 2018
We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful location. We sat out everyday to enjoy the inspiring scenery. We actually decided to hang out more at the house to bbq and relax. There’s a nice lake a mile away and great parks to visit on your way to Santa Cruz. Nice people in the neighborhood. We hope to stay there again.
Andy M. Aug 2018
We found exactly what we were looking for: remote, quiet and surrounded by trees & hills. The Loch, just .5 miles up the road, is a quiet fishing lake (read: no motors) and was a convenient walk up the hill. The Treetop Cabin had all of the amenities and kitchen gear we needed to cook and have a peaceful stay.
kira B r. Aug 2018
We really enjoyed our stay in the Tree Top cabin in Felton. Lovely to be among the trees. Close to Santa Cruz but far enough away to feel removed from the city. We spent time at Henry Cowell State Park, the Santa Cruz Boardwalk, UCSC and 2 different beaches over the course of our 4 day stay. Also very close to Loch Lomond, but, we didn't make it there. Great spot for families to getaway. Totally recommend. The only negative was the kitchen equipment was dirty and the pots/pans were non-stick that had their coating scraped off, thus were not useable. Otherwise, we were very happy to spend 4 nights there.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see the cookware was not in better shape. We have purchased new pans to replace the scratched ones. Thank you!
Tracy m. Jul 2018
The house had a great view. As for the smell of the rotting garbage, dirty sponge left with no other clean sponges left for us to clean the dirty coffee pot and the grounds left behind, we will not be returning here. We wanted to love it but it just wasn’t comfortable at all.
Manager response:
We appreciate the guests feedback and apologize about the missed clean. Clean sponges have been supplied and the garbage has since been taken care of for future guests.
Gregory B. Jun 2018
A very clean cabin with a great view.
Heather S. May 2018
This was a very nice cabin to stay in. The check-in and check-out process was very easy and convenient.
GREG S. May 2018
Very relaxing visit once at the home. Travels to the Cabin has some challenges especially at night. Parking more than one vehicle is very challenging also but can be done. Very comfortable Cabin while there.
Elizabeth F. Apr 2018
My husband and I, and our golden retriever just spent 4 nights at the Tree Top house. The most outstanding point of the this home is the large lanai in front with a comfy chaise lounge and nice view of the redwoods. The rest of the house was OK. The cable did not work on their ancient TV and the sheets were like sandpaper. The beds were comfortable enough and the kitchen is functional and well stocked. The house is located in a quirkly neighborhood about 10 minutes drive from Felton's town center. Just up the hill is Loch Lomond recreation area. You can walk in for free, but the Loch is about a 20 min walk down a hill and about 35 minutes to walk back up.
I am not sure if we would return as we were a bit disappointed with Vacasa's poor customer service (we called about the cable not working and were told we would receive a return phone call and never did).
Manager response:
We are very sorry this guest did not have a better experience with us. The cell reception in the area can be spotty making phone calls difficult. We did attempt to reach this guest, but were unsuccessful. The cable has been fixed. Thank you!
Alma Chavez O. Mar 2018
The house was beautiful and in a great location.
George P. Jan 2018
Very beautiful cabin. Very clean. Well appointed. We would definitely stay here again.
Charlotte C. Jan 2018
The only reason we gave this house 4 stars and not 5 stars is that we have a 21-month old and it took a while to drive to places that were the best to visit with him. That combined with his nap schedule made it not as convenient a location for us. We talked about how it would have been perfect for just the two of us adults.
Hannah R. Nov 2017
Ww had a great stay for a couple of days here. House was well equipped and cosy with the wod burning stove. Loved being in the redwoods.
Denise & Nicole B. Nov 2017
Very disappointed for the money I paid. U might consider staying again with a really good discount. We are comu by back in July. 2018
Manager response:
We are sorry to read this guest was disappointed and wish they had contacted us during their visit so we could have tried to make their stay more comfortable.
Robin C. Oct 2017
This was the perfect location for us and our 2 year old son. We spent some time at the Roaring Camp Railroads and visited the Henry Cowell State Park. We also went down to Santa Cruz a couple of afternoons and played on the beach. This cabin was very close to lots of fun places but felt removed enough from the hustle and bustle of life. We loved it and would definitely return here in the future!
Kristie H. Oct 2017
Loved the cabin in the woods! Super relaxing and the morning pine smell was amazing. Very comfortable. Wish they would have provided coffee at least for the first night instead of leaving dishwasher soap and fabric softener and there isn’t even a dishwasher nor washer and dryer in the cabin.
Krystle B. Sep 2017
We absolutely loved this little home. It is nestled far into the Redwood forest, easily a 30+ minute drive from Santa Cruz. However it is comfortable and we loved the remoteness. We drove into town several times a day, it was not a problem. The only problem was the driveway, it has a Terrible angle to it, it is very steep with a very tight turn to get into the "carport". We ended up parking at the end of the short driveway and walking up because we bottomed out so bad.

Lots to explore or just read a book. Kitchen has everything necessary. House was clean and tidy. Comfortably slept 2 couples. Outdoor deck was beautiful to drink coffee and listen to the birds! Highly recommend.
John A F. Sep 2017
Very nice house in a quiet neighborhood. Not too far from the grocery store, but stop and grab your food and stuff before you get there because you won't want to go back down the hill once you get there! :)
Laurel M. Sep 2017
We loved our stay at the cabin! My sisters and I had never been to the area but were very happy we ended up in Felton away from the touristy aspects of Santa Cruz but close enough to enjoy the beach areas as well. The cabin suited our needs perfectly. The deck was awesome - we spent a lot of time just sitting out there! No phone service, but wifi was sufficient for us.
Kari Q. Aug 2017
I went there to study for a test, and it was perfect. It would be great for quiet time, or a romantic get-away. The home is clean and well stocked. I appreciated the small library to choose from. I did most of my studying on their large,furnished deck. The view is awesome. At night it's peaceful with crickets chirping. Safeway was close by, about ten minutes away through the woods. The wifi works great, but there is no cell phone reception. Please use the directions that the owners sends. My GPS had me take the Summit Road, I was lost- no fault to them. Pay close attention to the street signs.
Andrea C. Aug 2017
I had a great time thank you.
Jacquelyn M. Aug 2017
We really enjoyed the cabin. It was a little smaller than we thought it would be and we expected washer/dryer and dishwasher. None of which were there. The patio was huge and perfect for BBQ dinners/morning coffee.
Martha R. Jul 2017
Loved it. Stayed for 6 nights in late July.
Jennifer L. Jul 2017
Exactly what we wanted quiet, away from the busy city and full of nature. Nice house, comfy beds kitchen fully stock with utensil and everything you might need for cooking. Movies,board games and books to keep your little ones busy at night.
Meghan B. Jun 2017
Very nice and cozy spot in the mountains, we really enjoyed the deck
Tammy R. May 2017
Sweet spot in a cute neighborhood in the mountains. We loved the easy access to Loch Lomond and getting to retreat back to a comfortable cabin after navigating the Santa Cruz crowds.
Janet K. Apr 2017
Steep curvey road, three flights of stairs, small place. Very beautiful view, great deck we really enjoyed our stay everything was well supplied too bad for us it rained the whole time.
Joe M. Apr 2017
Cool location, great front patio in the trees.
Mike Z. Mar 2017
A very comfy and clean house that had everything we needed for our stay.
Simon T. Jan 2017
We used this place for a quiet weekend's work on a business project. The wifi was good - which is what we needed and the area was super quiet which meant it was great for concentration. We had issues with the hot water not working for which we received instructions on how to relight the boiler which, being in a locked storage area, was kind of inconvenient. The toilet flush also broke while we stayed so it seems there's a bit of an issue with the quality of some of the maintenance. Overall though, we got what we needed out of the stay and if these issues can be eliminated for the future then this will be a great quiet little place to stay.
Manager response:
We are happy that we could provide a space to help you concentrate on your project. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and working with us to resolve the issues you ran into during your stay. The pilot light went out due to the major storm during your stay, along with several other units. This is not a common occurrence and we are happy to help if it ever happens in the future. We also had the toilet repaired, so that will not be an issue going forward. Thank you for choosing to stay with Vacasa, and we hope to host you again soon!
Jennifer B. Jan 2017
Comfortable beds, clean and cozy home. Close enough to things, but off the beaten path and perfect for my mini-retreat from the hustle bustle of San Jose. I enjoyed my stay and would visit again. Thank you!
Larry R. Jan 2017
Overall the place was fine.
Tim D. Dec 2016
Perfect for 2 couples or family of 4. Hiking within walking distance of resivour.
Lori B. Nov 2016
We had never been to this area before and were very happy with out stay. The cabin was perfect for myself, my husband, and our two boys. We loved the location, but it was a bit further from Santa Cruz than we expected. But, if you like to stay off the beaten path, then this is a great choice. We went south to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, north to San Francisco, hiked the Henry Cowell State Park, spent some time on the boardwalk and at Natural Bridges. Overall, a wonderful stay. We definitely recommend the cabin.
Anthony F. Nov 2016
Great location and an awesome deck to Lounge on. Would definitely return for another stay here with the family.
Casandra P. Sep 2016
The cabin is cute and the trees around the property provide a sense of privacy even though the neighbors are fairly close. The place was very clean and well maintained. Will consider visiting again.
Markus L. Aug 2016
Nice quiet place to relax and re-charge!
Lynda B. Aug 2016
This place was such a God send find. We were on a little family vacation with 4 and 8 year old. It was great to have a house with separate bedrooms for them. We were afraid of doing a week in hotels because we didn't want them up all evening with us. It was great that they could go to sleep on time...if needed.
I'd love to come back again.
Lee Anne R. Jul 2016
This home is a great location for a family vacation. There was something for everyone. We rented a boat and fished in the nearby lake. We enjoyed hiking by the lake, too, among the redwoods. The local beaches and Boardwalk are less than 20 minutes away. The home is very clean, bright and cheerful. The kitchen had every appliance we needed. The deck was perfect for a relaxing morning, birdwatching, and enjoying the tree top view. This was my second stay at this home, and we would stay again.
Lisa H. Jul 2016
Lovely house. Common room is a bit small.
Sara T. Apr 2016
Cozy private cabin, lovely deck. We would happily stay here again.
Shawn E. Apr 2016
My wife and I spent four days and four nights at the Tree Top View Cabin in early April 2016. We both agree that the property and its location were wonderful. The cabin is comfortably furnished and nicely decorated. It's a pleasant drive to and from Felton, which is just over 5 miles away. We absolutely enjoyed our stay!
Markela C. Apr 2016
I was looking for an outdoor place that I could take my dog and this was the pace. My kids and I spent a few days in this cabin and the experience was wonderful. The cabin was very clean and it had what we needed. We were able to visit places that are found near this cabin like Mount Hermon Canopy tours, the Big Basin State park and lake Loch Lomond. The lake walking distance is less than a mile and it is a very beautiful place. I will rent this place again, I had a great experience.
Marco T. Apr 2016
I would welcome the opportunity to use this service and rent this property again.
West C. Mar 2016
Great little place exactly as offered. Very quiet. Nice facilities. Note that is small, you would not want more than four staying at this home.
Denise E. Jan 2016
Great location! Perfect place to hide away for a few days.
Jamie A & James . Dec 2015
Wonderful place! Very comfortable and quiet neighborhood. Love the porch. No bedbugs!! (at the time we were there). We weren't notified before we arrived that the fridge was out and lost the food we took up the mountain to prepare for our family gathering. Too far to "run" back to town, back up to cook, then back to join family. We were given an ice chest but too late. Management knew as they contacted us that they needed to check it but hadn't done it prior to our arrival. They didn't ask us if we wanted to move and get a refund, just if we wanted an ice chest.
Manager response:
Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We are sorry that the fridge was out while you were at the home, but are pleased to share that there is in fact a new fridge that has replaced it! We are happy that you had a great time at this wonderful home and hope you have a chance to come back soon.
Annette M. Nov 2015
We spent 4 wonderful days in Felton. The house is in good condition and well-equipped. We brought a 4 year-old and the stairs was no problem for him at all.
Good place to just relax or as a starting point to explore the area.
Kristy D. Oct 2015
The neighbors are really close and always home... There is a workshop they are using constantly so be aware there is noise... Besides that the place is adorable, clean and so comfortable
Brooke R. Aug 2015
We had a wonderful time staying at this cozy cabin in the woods this past weekend. The cabin fit 2 couples and a dog wonderfully - any more would probably be a tight squeeze. Close enough to both Big Basin and Santa Cruz to get both hiking and surfing in - we would definitely stay here again!
Mirna B. Jun 2015
The house is located in a residential area and it is surrounded by the woods. Houses are built somewhat close to one another, but you really do not see the neighbors. The inside of the house is on the small side, the living area is small (family room/kitchen area in particular) but both bedrooms are good size and the bathroom is specious enough. Two adults and two kids (10 and 13) stayed comfortably in this house, however we were lucky because we were able to use the deck outside for dining and as a family space. If the weather is not cooperating, it could get crammed in there. The house is about 20 min away from Henry Cowell Redwoods park, so we spent most of the time there, beautiful hiking area and very relaxing. Santa Cruz beaches are also 25-30 min away, but there is always traffic so, it could take longer. Kitchen is small, but fully furnished and the only thing I wish they did have is a dishwasher, but it is not a deal breaker for us. TV is rather small, as I mentioned, the living space does not allow for anything bigger, but again, if you are going here to stay inside, this might not be the place for you. Grocery stores are located near by, there is a BBQ grill (gas and charcoal both) available on the deck. We did not use it, so I cannot tell if they work or not. The driveway can be a bit tricky, I recommend backing in...it is easier to get out that way. We enjoyed out stay, it was a great change for us.
Tess G. Jun 2015
My husband and I couldn't decide whether to rent closer to Santa Cruz or this place- we're happy we decided to go with this adorable house! We didn't realize how secluded the location was but we loved it and it was a quick drive down to town whenever we needed anything. The front deck is spacious and has a great view of the quiet neighborhood and surrounding forest. The inside of the house is small but comfortable and very welcoming- perfect for a small family. My only suggestion would be for more window curtains. The house is private enough not to really worry but still a little uncomfortable at times, especially at night.
Erin J. May 2015
5 stars across the board. Very clean, and great attention to detail. They even set up a bed and blanket for my dog! I can't wait to go back. Thanks for a great vacation.
Kathi B. Apr 2015
Our weekend stay at this "treetop" cabin was very enjoyable. The cabin is clean, cozy and well maintained. The only slight inconvenience was that we had no cell phone reception on the property!
Manager response:
We are thrilled to hear that you thought so highly of this fantastic cabin. The owners have taken great care to ensure that it is warm and welcoming for guests. Even though you didn't have cell reception there, due to the area of the home, Tree Top View Cabin does offer wifi as well as cable TV to keep guests connected while enjoying some peace and quiet. We appreciate you sharing your review with us and we hope to see you again!
Dawn C. Apr 2015
This was a great little place in the forest. Quite comfy and great deck with bbqs.
Tuyen N. Mar 2015
Very nice cabin. Clean and cozy. Perfect for what we wanted.
Manager response:
It's so nice to hear that Vacasa was able to help you plan a perfect getaway! This home is beautifully maintained and the views of the trees are hard to beat. We hope you'll stay again soon!
Tiertza S. Mar 2015
Sweet place, well kept up, clean and quiet. We enjoyed our stay. We went the back way to Davenport and the beaches. The second contract the owners have you sign is way overdone and unfriendly but we worked that out by clarifying our understanding of the strong language in it with Vacasa but this took us extra time.. Hopefully VACASA will get the owners to modify it because it was a lovely place to stay and the owners can make their point that this is not a "party" house in a more customer friendly way.
Manager response:
Thank you for this great feedback. The contracts send out is the standard that we have set for all our homes. We understand your concerns, an hope that you understand that it is not to offend anyone, but to protect our guests, homeowners, and Vacasa. In light of the situation I am glad that you enjoyed your vacation and loved the home.
Susanne S. Feb 2015
We had a pleasant stay. Everything was clean and welcoming. They have board games there and wifi, so everybody was happy.
The driving instructions where perfect. No complaints there!
The kids decided that they want to go there again - I guess there is no better compliment.
Amy M. Jan 2015
Everything you need is there and you have a nice, super clean, great space at nearly the top of the Mtn. Way better than a hotel room. It is the Mtns and on a small street so noise carries. Great deck, I would definitely come back to this place. Watch the driveway, it can be tricky. Thank you~