Virtual Tour
USA Oregon Mt. Hood Government Camp Listing #205

Big Bear Cabin and Little Bear Cabin - Government Camp, OR

31 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 30 7 Queen Bed, 16 Twin Bed 7 Bedrooms  Plus Loft 6 Bathrooms Dog Friendly  4WD/Traction May Be Required In Winter
30100 E Blossom Trail, Government Camp, OR 97028

Two beautiful and spacious, dog-friendly mountain cabins with hot tub

These two Government Camp vacation rentals are located on the same lot in the beautiful forest of Mt Hood and, with a combined total of seven bedrooms, can accommodate up to 30. They're perfect for hosting a large gathering in a scenic and comfortable setting.

The Big Bear Cabin will fit your large group comfortably in its 2,500 square feet and three floors. On the main floor you will find an expansive living and dining area, complete with an extra large dining table that fits 18 guests, comfy leather couches and recliners, and a flat screen TV with a DVD player. A beautiful master bedroom sits on the main floor as well and includes a queen sized bed with its own private bathroom.

Upstairs a large bedroom holds a queen bed and four twins to sleep up to six guests and comes with a flat screen TV for entertainment.

Downstairs are two more bedrooms; the first hosting two sets of bunk beds and a queen sized bed, and the second room containing a queen and another set of twin-over-twin bunks as well.

The Little Bear Cabin vacation rental is the smaller of the Bear cabins, but can still accommodate up to 12 guests.

It is the perfect place to gather everyone together after a day of enjoying all that Mt. Hood has to offer and relax in the cozy living room that comes complete with a wall mounted flat screen TV and entertainment center. There is also wireless internet throughout the houses so you can work and play while you are away.

An open and upscale kitchen with granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances coaxes out your inner chef and includes plenty of seating around the island.

The master bedroom can be found on the top floor and includes a queen sized bed with a private bathroom and an open loft that houses an additional queen mattress. A large bathroom splits the hall between this room and the second upstairs bedroom, which includes two sets of bunk beds and a queen bed.

The third bedroom is on the main floor and contains another set of bunk beds and queen bed as well. Dogs are welcome here and if you do bring your dogs along, it's just a nightly fee per dog, with a small minimum fee required.

These charming and spacious Mt. Hood vacation rental cabins are located close to the base of Glade Trail, which is connected to Timberline Ski Area and a favorite with snowboarders, skiers, and those who like to snowshoe. In summertime, take in the sounds of beautiful Camp Creek that runs between Big and Little Bear cabins while soaking in the shared hot tub.

Read more Read less 



Washer Dryer : Private







Internet : Century Link

Cable : Dish Network

DVD Player




Hot Tub : Private

Gas Grill : Private


31 Reviews

Keely K. July 2018
We had a great stay and the property management team was prompt to our requests and helpful. I'd highly recommend Big Bear and Little Bear Cabins to anyone interested in an amazing experience in beautiful Government Camp, OR!
Alison B. June 2018
Plenty of space, clean, lovely
Brooke N. May 2018
The Vacasa staff were incredible in their customer service - very quick in responses to questions, helpful, and accommodating. We used these two homes for a retreat for 25 people, and it was so great. People loved the lodge feel and beautiful surroundings. Thank you for a great stay! Parking was the only real tricky part, but we were able to fit five cars in the driveway, and had no problem parking just down the street across the street from Huckleberry Inn (we didn't have to worry about paying for parking, and the cars were safe down there).
Anna W. May 2018
We absolutely loved staying at big bear and little bear cabin! The space was perfect, well kept, and had a beautiful view. We were allowed to check in early which helped us immensely. We hope to stay again in the future!
Martha M. January 2018
We enjoyed staying in Big and Little Bear. We had a large group and the space suited us well.
Nolan T. November 2017
We had a room completely covered in rat feces and poison. The staff has told us over the phone they will refund us but whe. I ask if they can make that happen now, they eventually feign some an excuse that a supervisor or property manager must approve and that "they'll be able to do that tomorrow". So mamy "tomorrows" have gone by it's become obvious they are just trying to have me forget. I've called numerous times for a number of days. This whole experience has been a joke.
Manager Response:
We are very sorry to see this guest did not have a great experience while staying with us, and we apologize rodent issue experienced. We are getting this situation under control. This guest has been refunded the full cleaning fee. Thank you!
Tuanjai R. September 2017
We enjoyed our stay in this house. The house has a big dining table, big living rooms, many beds that available for the big group gathering.
Laura R. September 2017
The main house and smaller house all on the same property was amazing and perfect for our large group!
Michelle D. June 2017
The homes where great for large groups, not great for outdoor gathers due to lack of yard, mosquitos, and neighbors want no noise or for you to step on their property which literally is hard not to as they are so close. Very hard to be quite with larger groups especially when your having fun.
Kevin K. May 2017
Enjoyed our stay
Alison W. October 2016
Working with Vacasa was simple and pleasant. From the initial reservation to checkout, I was extremely satisfied with our service. We rented both homes for a 23 person retreat. The accommodations were perfect. Plenty of beds and lots of extra blankets and towels. The space is really inviting and the house has all the amenities one needs. I would highly recommend renting with Vacasa!
Tamra H. August 2016
Beautiful cabins with all of the amenities. The neighbor and the parking is the biggest downside.
Andrea V. July 2016
We had 30 friends join us at Big Bear and Little Bear for a weekend. It slept everyone very comfortably. The decor is beautiful and was very accommodating to our large group.
Lauren W. March 2016
Homes are large and legitimately have beds to sleep 30 people - no couches or air mattresses needed. A group of friends stayed here the weekend of Spring Break and were competing in the Red Bull Sledding Competition (Schlittentag).

I would stay here again, but with reservations. We did receive a noise complaint on our first night when two people were in the hot tub after 10pm, and also were reminded that we were not allowed to park in the neighbors driveway, which we had received permission to do prior to the neighbors leaving town for the weekend. They were very pleasant. After these incidents, we felt like we were constantly being watched and monitored. We kept the blinds closed the majority of our stay. Two houses that sleep 30 people requires more than 4 parking spots and most likely won't be silent at 10pm. I think this should be communicated up front, rather than waiting for LARGE groups to make reservations, and then letting the group know that neighbors are permanent residents and quiet time is very strict.

One thing that I believe could use major improvement was the walkway or lack thereof from Big Bear to Little Bear. It was a HUGE safety hazard as there was no path shoveled between the homes. It was nearly impossible to get between the two without having to grab on to the hot tub, fence line, or railing behind Big Bear (also broken).
Lily D. January 2016
The neighbors next door were quick to be upset regarding parking and noise. A house that holds up to 30 people, yet only 5 parking spaces, requires some logistics to be figured out and upon arrival we discovered they were immediately difficult and frustrated. However, once we were able to shuttle all cars and unload everyone's belongings we adhered to the 5 car maximum the entire weekend.

The cabins themselves were beautiful and we really enjoyed our stay!
Traci B. September 2015
This was a great place for a family reunion. We loved the large living/dining area in Big Bear for gathering - especially after the multiple warnings about outside noise after 10. Which worked anyway because there isn't a ton of outside space for gathering and game playing. The big dining table made it easy to play games. And there is lots of comfortable seating in the living room. Nice to have laundry facilities too.
Carol T. August 2015
Great location, Many adventures to participate in that are close and available. . Hiking at all levels. Dog friendly which was a must for our family. Wonderful kitchens which were well stocked. All in all one of our better vacations !!!
Frances P. July 2015
Overall our stay was well worth bringing the family together at this location. It was my first time staying at Government Camp. It was also many family members first time as well. The houses were very adequately stocked so cooking and cleaning were a breeze.

Because of the size of our family renting both houses was necessary and later turned out to be a nice bonus. The two houses are not very far apart from each and the hot tub is placed along the back side of Big Bear making it almost appear like a Big Bear exclusive. Renting the two houses allowed us to arrange a little outside patio of sorts around the hot tub for interaction between those who wanted in the tub and those who didn't.

Big Bear's house was great for the family to come together to eat and enjoy each other's company. For the cooks of the family, unless your in the kitchen alone it's a very bad design for a house made for a big group. We were constantly bumping into each other. If you are looking to rent Big Bear by itself, the front is parking and the back is gravel and is in direct view of guest in Little Bear. If you like privacy, this is not the house for you.

Little Bear's house was cozy and cute. The kitchen was the main feature of this house very open with an island that lent itself well to the fact that the living did not have much space. The chairs around the island could stand to be replaced especially since it becomes the main seating area in the room. Something a little more comfortable.

The front porch and creek in front of Little Bear are the best features of the house creating a very mountainy feel to the house. However, along with that view is the view of the back of Big Bear and the hot tub.

The hot tub is shared between the two houses so unless you're one for making friends this is not a great feature to the houses.

Finally, two things that need added to the description: there is a BBQ on the front porch of Little Bear, and most important to those with children, there is a railing on the loft in the master bedroom, it is NOT open. Both of these items were crucial in the planning of our mini family vaca, and both caused us to rearrange our plans only to find out once arriving our rearrangements were unnecessary.
Manager Response:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and future guests. Renting Big Bear and Little Bear together is wonderful for large family reunions and provides space and fun for all ages. Thank you!
Dalia C. July 2015
Staying at Big Bear and Little Bear was great for our big family reunion. The one piece that was missing was a sufficient outdoor BBQ.
Steven T. June 2015
The Cabins were very nice, well equipped. The only problem is that it was very hot 95%/no air conditioning! I would never rent this property again in the summer time.
Manager Response:
Thanks so much for sharing your review and feedback. We are very sorry that your stay was affected by the recent heat wave in Oregon. In the future when booking AC is a listed amenity you can use to narrow your search to include only homes with AC. You can also call and one of our reservationists will happily help you find the perfect home! Thanks for choosing Vacasa!
Alison W. October 2014
We had a retreat with 22 people at Little Bear and Big Bear. The accommodations were perfect. The houses had all the amenities that one could hope for. The internet in Little Bear was a little unpredictable but other than that we have no complaints. We had some trouble with the lock box but the staff were extremely helpful in assisting us with our issue.
Lizanne W. September 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on Blossom Trail. Perfect location for a group of 14 women on a hiking trip. Lots of beds and enough bathrooms for everyone to spread out and have privacy. Nice to be able to rent both cabins yet congregate in the large cabin for socializing. Plenty of space.
Thanks .
Manager Response:
Thank you for the nice review. We are glad that the property fit your group's needs. We look forward to your return visit.
Dana S. July 2014
We rented Big Bear and Little Bear cabins to celebrate my mom's 90th birthday. There were 27 of us and these cabins were perfect. I was particularly impressed that all of the items in the kitchen were useful for a large group. Everything was perfect for a bunch of people. Both houses had everything we needed. We didn't even run out of hot water in the morning when we all showered. Our only problem was getting my mother up the stairs in Big Bear to the master bedroom. Fortunately we had some big guys who carried her up the stairs. We all had a great time! I recommend this place for anyone with a large group.
Mindi -Leadership Students for Colton School S. November 2013
The cabins were a great location for our retreat. We had plenty of room and very comfortable accommodations.

We did not have a problem with the 'neighbor', but would have liked to have known about her crankiness prior to spending a lot of money; to then worry if my kids were going to aggravate her... they did not.

Also, would have liked to have known where the key was located to get into the heat control in Big Bear. We did figure it out, but it was a bit of mystery for a while and it was kind of cold. Also, instructions as to how to deal with power outages... matches for the lamps and is there a heating alternative?

Basically just little things - it was beautiful and we had a great time!
Manager Response:
Thanks for sharing your review with us. We are very pleased to hear that your retreat was a success. Thanks also for your suggestions. We hope to see you again!