Snowpeak Chalet in Tahoe Donner - Truckee, CA
Max occupancy: 8
2 Queen Bed,
1 Double Bed,
1 Twin Bed,
2 dog max
4WD/traction may be required in winter
12190 Snowpeak Way, Truckee, CA 96161
Dog-friendly mountain cabin in the pines w/ on-site hot tub & shared pool access
**Note: the use of Tahoe Donner HOA facilities requires additional daily fees.
Looking for the perfect mountain getaway? Look no further than this stately three-bedroom Tahoe Donner vacation rental. You're just moments from an award-winning golf course, and with gorgeous mountain views, a shared pool, and a private hot tub, this home will delight any family looking for a hideaway close to all North Lake Tahoe has to offer.
Situated in lovely Tahoe Donner, this home is just five minutes to the ski lifts and less than ten minutes to town and the beach. With four beach chairs on hand, you'll want to hit the water as soon as you arrive. The Tahoe Donner recreation center offers activities for the whole family, and plenty of fresh air for your pet dogs - up to two are welcome for a small nightly fee.
This gorgeous cabin has a Swiss chalet feel, with a wrap-around deck encompassing the wooden exterior. Enjoy a brisk morning walk surrounded by trees or savor a cup of joe before the sun rises.
A stone floor greets you in the entryway. Head to the right and you're in the the bright and cheerful living room, boasting hardwood floors and ceilings, a comfortable futon couch, a red rocking chair, snow-themed photos, and vintage skis. A wood stove occupies one side of the space and directly opposite, a glass door leads out onto the expansive wooden deck. Fire up four-burner gas grill in the summer and you'll have a delicious repast in no time - or stay inside and take in your favorite shows on the massive flatscreen TV.
The cozy wooden kitchen boasts a three-seat breakfast bar as well as a dishwasher, fridge, stove, and plenty of counter space to make meal preparation a pleasurable experience. Plaid curtains cover windows that overlook a thicket of trees.
Down the hall, you'll find two of the home's three bedrooms. The first boasts a pair of vintage snowshoes hanging over a full bed enveloped by a red coverlet, and a drying rack with two blankets. The second bedroom, featuring two twin beds, deck access, and a TV, is perfect for kids. A full bath is just down the hall as well.
Head up one flight of stairs and you'll come across the third bedroom. A slanted wooden ceiling overlooks a full bed with a printed quilt and a small desk and chair. It's a truly secluded haven if you want some peace and privacy. Another full bath is just around the corner, making the space almost feel like a master suite. This Tahoe Donner getaway is ideal for up to eight guests.
Outside you'll find an enticing hot tub, great for soaking off the cares of the world after a long day.
Guests have access to a washer and dryer as well as free WiFi, a kayak and three tennis racquets. Boats can dock at the Tahoe Donne Marina (for a fee) and guests can enter the Trout Creek Recreation Center for a swim or a pickup game of basketball - a fee applies.
North Lake Tahoe has many things to recommend. From several great ski resorts, including Northstar and Squaw Valley, to great hiking and biking trails and access to King's Beach, it's a recreational wonderland. That's not to say you'll find a dearth of more relaxing things to do. Shopping is a favorite pastime and a number of area restaurants are known for their award-winning cuisine.
Enjoy the comforts of home with moments of quiet contemplation at this lovely North Lake Tahoe vacation rental.
RCN # 469
Basketball court : Shared
Tennis court : Shared
Washer/dryer : Private
Pool : Shared
Propane/gas home : Gas
Sauna : Shared
Internet : Suddenlink
Hot tub : Private
Gas grill : Private
Snowpeak chalet had everything I needed for my family of 5. My family has already asked how soon we can return. We loved the location and the space the home provided.
Loved having pets with us and the hot tub. Great location. Super clean home with cute mountain character. Wi-Fi amd tv worked great. Only complaint was kitchen was a little lacking, other than that it was a great place for our family to stay.
It was the perfect place to get away from town
We loved everything about this cabin. My husband wants to definitely come again. The only issue we had was we couldn’t get the back porch light to work.
A wonderful cabin in Tahoe Donner that was the perfect place for me, my husband and our dog. It's close to many Tahoe Donner amenities, and after a day of activity it was great to come back here to enjoy the decks, hot tub and peaceful neighborhood. Working with Vacasa made for a smooth rental process and stress free experience.
The house was perfect for a summer adventure for our family of four plus our dog. The deck in front and back make it really easy to be outside. The surroundings are really beautiful and peaceful. There is no where to sit inside as a family for a meal so we ate most meals on the back deck. We used the gas grill a lot as well as the hot tub. We did a lot of cooking although a lot of the pans and knives were fairly low quality, they worked for the purpose. Loved the coffee machine! The bedrooms were as described except the upstairs got really hot. A fan was provided but it wasn't able to completely move air through the room. One room had twin beds which worked great for the kids. The full beds were really small. The TV in the bedroom didn't work and there was a Playstation but no way to hook it up. We really enjoyed the Roku TV and watched a bunch of the old Disney VHSs that were available. Most of the DVDs were too scratched to watch. Another major plus was the long driveway. The kids loved riding their scooters and playing outside where I could easily see them from the house. The house passes to all the Tahoe Donner amenities were invaluable. We went to a different location (2 pools, private beach, equestrian center, etc) each day. Overall, a great stay.
HI Dillon, we’re so glad that your family loved the home and that the weather was comfortable enough to spend the majority of your time outside. I agree with you about the peaceful surroundings—it really creates a serene environment that you just don’t want to leave. The owner has provided a foldable table and more chairs for a more convenient seating arrangement. Also, the full-size beds have been upgraded to queen beds. Let’s hope you can visit us again to take advantage of your recommendations. Thank you.
Would definitely rent this home again.
Hot tub was awesome and the hosts were very quick to reply! Great location and place!
Great home for a couple or family of 4.
I do not recommend anybody staying at that particular houseSpecially the stains in the bedsheets and the dog smell nasty do not recommend anybody to stay at the same house
We are sorry to see these guests did not enjoy their stay. We have replaced the bed sheets, and we will work with housekeeping to ensure the home smells clean and fresh. Thanks!
Very clean and everything you need to feel a home.
Nonidea why people complained about the beds and overall size — it was wonderful. Only add I’d suggest is a table and four chairs. The folding one in the garage is in bad shape and collapsed on us. Thanks!!!
Overall, it was OK. The positives were that it was clean and had everything you need. But, my family dealt with some issues you generally don't want to deal with on vacation: a lack of hot water, old unsafe decking, lumpy beds, and dangerous electrical that could have seriously injured our baby. I have rented several homes for family vacations, and never experienced these things. It was disappointing.
We're very sorry the guest arrived to find some things in the home that needed attention. A sign has been added above the hot water switch that explains how the tankless water heater operates. The deck has been restored and reinforced, topper were added to the beds for added comfort and the electrical cables have been cleaned up.
The place was great first time in that part of Truckee ever. I envy the owners. Kids were able to ride bikes without be watched, area was covered in snow and there were lots of thing to do nearby.
Most places in the area share the hot tub at the rec center. This one has it's own. It's expensive but worth it. It was clean and appliances worked well. Beds weren't amazing but plenty of space and good location.
We have stayed here before and will definitely be back. We love the convenience of being able to play outside the house in the snow.
Our 2 night stay was actually only a 1 night stay because we couldn't make it up the hill in our van, even though we had chains. I read the instructions for the house ahead of time and it didn't say a 4wheel drive car was a necessity; however, we found that the amount of snow that fell required a 4wheel drive car. We had to have a 4wheel drive car brought to us. We also lost power while we were there and could find no candles, flashlights, or the essentials for making a fire. We also couldn't get the hot water heater back on after the power went out because the instructions on it were all in Chinese.
We plan on coming back next year and we'd love to see candles, flashlights, and items to make a fire. We'd also love to see the changes made in the house instructions that say a 4wheel drive car is mandatory in heavy snowfall.
Thank you for providing a great house for our family to stay.
Slept 8 people comfortably. No dining table, but we ate and played board games on the coffee table. Didn't get to use the hot tub unfortunately, bc we thought it was buried under 6 ft of snow on the patio (it wasn't since it's covered; you just have to access it from one of the bedrooms). Also, we didn't have hot water while we were there bc we didn't know we had to flip a switch to turn it back on.
The cabin was close to Safeway and a great pizza place called Village Pizzeria; 25 min to Northstar without traffic.
We all had a great time and enjoyed ourselves at the cabin. The little fireplace was awesome and warmed up the whole living room.
The house is cute, but the photo is deceiving. The home is barely 1,200 sq ft and everything is small & tight. The beds are poor, there is no dining area except the kitchen counter, and the seating in the living room is barely adequate (one futon and two chairs).
Toppers have been added to the downstairs beds for comfort. Three stools have been added at the island In addition to the chair & futon in the living room, a card table and four additional chairs can be set up. Thank you.
Overall our stay was very nice. The house itself was clean and comfortable. The mattresses and pillows need replacing. Pillows were flat and hard, mattresses old and really uncomfortable. Newer/ softer blankets and or comforters would be a plus.
The pictures doesn't do this place justice it was beautiful and I'm already trying to plan a trip back thank you I enjoyed my stay it made my birthday very memorable
Very much enjoyed our two night stay at this rental. The back deck is very cool with a great area for sitting and eating (pictures don't do it justice). The hot tub was clean and worked well. Beds were comfortable. Not a lot of frills but has everything you need for a great vacay.
This house has a wonderful cabin feel. The view of the forest trees around is very nice. House is well lit with natural light during the day with a warm beauty.
House is adequately spaced from neighboring property to allow some significant privacy.
cozy, and comfortable for a small group. no dinning table, but we enjoyed having breakfast and lunch out side on patio. I would stay here again
Pros-Excellent location for skiing at Tahoe Donner! This house is a bit tight for their recommended 8, we only had 5 and it was perfect for us. House was generally adequate for the price. The best part of this house was the location.
Cons- pretty dusty house...my daughter has dust allergies and had to take Zyrtec indoors, cable tv not working and vacasa did not help.
No dining room table. Two of us ate at the kitchen bar and the rest on the futon or chairs...
To help those guests with allergies, we've replaced the soaps and other cleaning items to perfume-free versions, plus the addition of filters for the floor vents to remove dust. The cable box has been upgraded along with a 55" 4K HD television.
Hi, this is clean, tidy little cabin, nicely situated near Tahoe Donner. It was warm and comfortable. However:
- It could do with some larger beds. The largest 2 are twins, not queens, with very (excessively) soft mattresses.
- It needs some upkeep, especially to make sure all the lights and lightbulbs are replaced. A number of lights / light switches on the property did not function.
- Needs more blankets and towels.
- The fan in the lower bathroom appears broken and needs maintenance.
Thank you for your review. We will advise the Property Manager of your suggestions and will be sure all of the lightbulbs have been replaced. We hope you have wonderful memories to look back on!
This cabin is a good deal if you have 6 people to fill it. It is the bare minimum and nothing more. We will be coming to this cabin 3 more times this season and we know that we will have to bring a lot of things next time.
Extra towels for the hot tub (I would only go in it again if it's cleaned), extra blankets because some people were freezing, plastic bags/tupperware because there wasn't much, and I would probably bring my own large spaghetti pot.
All in all, it's a nice house and a good price if you fill all the beds.
Unusable filthy Hot Tub,
Living area not comfortable, single Futon
Missing light bulbs everywhere
Out of date home manual
We apologize for the disappointments you experienced during your stay. The hot tub is regularly cleaned, and we are sorry to see that it ended up so dirty prior to your stay. The pipes were not frozen, but the hot water heater did need to be reset, and we have taken care of the light bulbs.
We had a great time skiing-the weather could not have been more perfect! The rooms and beds were also satisfactory. However, the hot tub (our main reason for reserving this cabin) did not function the entire time we were there. We even called the maintenance number and left a message, but no one got back to use. We are still waiting for someone to discuss this issue with us a week after our trip. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but were expecting the use of the hot tub as that is their main selling point.
We are very sorry to see that the hot tub was not working during your stay and that you did not receive a response from us. The Property Manager will inspect the hot tub right away. We are currently hiring and training more agents to assist on the phones so that we can better assist our guests and so incidents like these will not be repeated.
We loved this place it was on a quite street with no traffic and close to the ski resorts the hot tub was great after a full day of skiing the pictures do make it look bigger than it really is but still not disappointing and the condition of the house was great it is well taken care of and we would definitely stay here again well worth the price
My children loved playing in the snow around your property.
This cabin is clean cozy cabin in a quiet golf coarse neighborhood. The house had all the necessities to make our stay very comfortable. It was perfect for my family of 4 and my two
parents. The kids really enjoyed the hot tub, my husband took advantage of the golf coarses and my Dad went fishing twice a day!
It is also close to the town so we were able to do our grocery shopping and go to Dairy Queen for ice-cream.
Would definitely book again
Thanks for sharing your review! We are excited to have you back soon.
This was a great location for our needs as we were traveling to the Lake Tahoe area to mountain bike and try out the Tree Top Adventures. This location was great and close to Truckee, what a great town! We would stay again.
The one thing we would like to suggest to the owners is putting some ceiling fans in the bedrooms. Though we were there when the outside temp was over 90 degrees and it got cooler in the evening, the bedrooms and the air did not move much so ceiling fans would have been nice to get the air moving and improve sleeping.
The only other tip to potential renters is all the "extra fees" be aware of them as they are not as up front at they should be. you have to pay cleaning fee, rental agency fee, hot tub fee, ..... a bit too many fees in my opinion and I would rather just deal with the owner than an agency however I understand how it is a benefit to having an agency.
all in all, we would stay again. Everything worked great, nice open kitchen into TV area, washer/dryer a must have!
We understand that sometimes the temperature becomes unseasonably warm, so the owners have installed a ceiling fan in one bedroom and stand-alone fans are available. Thank you.
It is an attractive house with appropriate adornments, and suitable for a small family. The management responded well to our requests to correct some of the problems we encountered.
Wonderful home, very nice surroundings, plenty of space for a family of 6. I would definitely recommend this place to others. Hope you get to enjoy the place as we did!