Virtual Tour
USA South Carolina Coastal South Carolina Isle of Palms Listing #33157

Ocean Boulevard 802 - Isle of Palms, SC

10 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 4 bathrooms Sleeps 8 comfortably  No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible travel options.

  • 7+ days before check-in: You can reschedule your trip, or cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit.
  • 30+ days before check-in: You also have the option to cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Exceptions apply. Read our full policy for details.

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean each home with an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Gorgeous beachfront home with stunning ocean views - walk into town!

With a stunning location right on the beach, this Isle of Palms home offers 3,100 square feet of light-filled living space complete with incredible oceanfront views. The open floor plan extends to two spacious ocean-facing decks, and a private boardwalk leads to a tranquil stretch of gorgeous beach. Spend your days sunbathing, swimming, and strolling into the heart of downtown Isle of Palms just a few blocks away!

What’s nearby:
This home enjoys an unbeatable oceanfront location in the center of Isle of Palms. The beach is mere steps from your back porch, and you're within three blocks of a variety of shops, restaurants, cafes, and live entertainment. Rent a bike to venture out and explore the island, or head three miles northeast to rent a jet ski, a stand-up paddleboard, or a kayak at the Isle of Palms Marina. Downtown Charleston - with its renowned restaurants, rich culture, and historic architecture - is also just 13 miles inland.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen

This property is managed by Vacasa South Carolina, LLC.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf Nearby

On-site activities

Basketball court : Shared

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

10 reviews

Uwe K. Oct 2020
The location of the rental property is perfect. Great access to the beach and in short distance to restaurants/bars.

Some upgrades/repairs in kitchen and some bathrooms are necessary.
Manager response:
Uwe, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We have passed your suggestions to our local manager who confirms the homeowner will be renovating parts of the house this winter. We look forward to hosting you again!
Christina H. Sep 2020
We loved every minute of our stay!
Dennis S. Aug 2020
Great location and front porch. Kitchen equipment was lacking.
Susan G. Aug 2020
We LOVED the big covered deck on the house; we were very close to the ocean even on the deck.
Joel L. Jul 2020
Our family enjoyed this house. We enjoyed dinner every night on the back porch. Location was close enough to everything & far enough away from the crowds. The inside was a little dated, but didn’t phase any any part of our trip. We enjoyed every minute.
Michael J. Jul 2020
The only thing going for this house was its location. Otherwise it felt like it was built 30-40 years ago and stayed there. The entire thing was in desperate need of help. The wooden walkway from the house to the beach was chipped everywhere, had exposed nail heads that hurt our feet, and a few boards were loose, making the walk even more precarious. The in-house amenities were lacking which for the price we paid was very disappointing. We’ve stayed in several houses on the beach and this one, by far, had the fewest amenities. No beach chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas, etc., all of which have been in other houses. The WiFi was less than stellar and the TVs were ancient. And who doesn’t put a BluRay player in their house today - seriously? All-in-all, we would never recommend this house. Vacasa states that they’re new management, and maybe so, but new management does not mean the house will get renovated and updated the way this thing needs. Do not stay here.
Manager response:
Hi, Michael! The homeowner is doing some renovations this winter, and basic safety issues have been rectified already. We do not provide beach amenities at our rentals due to guest misuse, but there are several beach services that will rent these items out. The WiFi is working well at this time. Thank you!
Megan S. Jun 2020
This house is in an ideal location right on the beach and a 5 minute walk to bars and restaurants. The porch is big and airy, and we loved being able to just walk right down to the ocean. There is plenty of space in the bedrooms although we found all of the beds to be pretty hard. Beautiful views, spacious house, perfect location. We had a great stay and would definitely come back!
Cheryl P. Mar 2019
We rented 3 properties for 3 nights each. The reason for the rating is that one had black mold growing up on the inside of a slider, next to the AC duct thus causing a concern on air dispersion. One other property had what appeared to have bloody sheets and a bath that contained a far bit of mold and didn’t look like it was properly. Since the rental was during my daughter’s wedding, we rewashed the sheets and cleaned up the bath. Hence the rating
Manager response:
We're very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. This issue occurred under a previous management company. Our local teams are working with that company to learn from feedback and fix any issues. We just started managing this unit and would love for you to try staying with Vacasa in the future to experience our world-class service.
Cindy M. Aug 2018
Great location, easy check in and check out.
Michael V. May 2018
Great place, easy booking/check in process. Only downfall was the grill was rusty and unusable. We had planned on several barbecues, and were disappointed that we had to go out and buy a grill for the week.
Manager response:
We're very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. This issue occurred under a previous management company. Our local teams are working with that company to learn from feedback and fix any issues. We just started managing this unit and would love for you to try staying with Vacasa in the future to experience our world-class service.