Virtual Tour
USA California Truckee Tahoe Donner Listing #3905

Serenity at Tahoe Donner - Truckee, CA

54 reviews
Max occupancy: 12 2 Queen Bed, 8 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
13838 Copenhagen Dr., Truckee, CA 96160

Private sauna, shared hot tub and pool, game room, Tahoe Donner amenities!

**Note: the use of Tahoe Donner HOA facilities requires additional daily fees.

Plan your family getaway at this Tahoe Donner vacation rental. With must-haves like a game room, private sauna, and wood-burning fireplace, plus access to the Tahoe Donner facilities nearby, this is a prime spot with something for everyone!

Under two-and-a-half miles away are the Northwoods Clubhouse and Trout Creek Recreation Center, which offer many amenities for those looking to blow off some steam – basketball, tennis, golf, a fitness center, and those looking to relax – a hot tub, sauna, seasonal pools, and restaurants. Meanwhile, the Tahoe Donner Marina on Donner Lake is only four miles away where you can dock or launch your watercraft in summer. In winter, head over to the Tahoe Donner Ski Area nearby, or to Northstar, Squaw Valley, and Sugarbowl. You won't have to travel far at all when you stay at this great Lake Tahoe lodge.

Speaking of not traveling far, the home itself even has its own game room. Challenge your friends to pool or Foosball. Serve snacks on the wet bar and watch the big game on the TV. There's also WiFi so you can stay connected. This room represents the cozy atmosphere brought on woodwork and rich natural hues throughout the rest of the home, inspired by the Sierra beauty on the property.

Convene in the living room while guests trickle in. The high vaulted ceilings and abundant windows with detailed framework (and even seating) give this space an airy feeling while still being comfy with soft rugs and cushy furnishings. A fire crackling in the wood-burning fireplace will top everything off.

Make morning coffee or Sunday dinner in the fully stocked kitchen. With a dishwasher, kitchen island, gas stove, double oven, and breakfast bar seating, you'll have a little taste of luxury. Dine casually at the table as guests mill about the great room.

Rest up in one of the four rooms. Two of them have a single queen bed for those who want a bit of privacy. The two other rooms each have two sets of bunk beds, making this a fun home for siblings and cousins, young and old, to have a mini sleepover. Two full bathrooms, as well as a washer and dryer will keep everyone happy. Altogether, 12 guests will comfortably fill this home with laughter and good memories.

There's also a private sauna so you can feel rejuvenated after a day enjoying the nearby activities.

Beyond the nearby Tahoe Donner amenities and Donner Lake are tons of popular North Lake Tahoe attractions about twenty miles southeast. Beaches dot the shore of Lake Tahoe and a notable one is at Carnelian Bay. On the way is Northstar Resort for premier skiing and outdoor activities all year long. You'll also pass through Truckee, which has a few historical sites of notes as well as charming shops. For lower-key family-orientated vacationing, you'll love returning to your Tahoe Donner vacation lodge.

Conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood near Tahoe Donner amenities, and with so many perks of its own, this Truckee vacation rental is one to bookmark – or book a.s.a.p.!

RCN # 469

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Basketball court : Shared

Dock

Foosball table

Golf on-site

Gym/fitness room

Pool table : Private

Tennis court : Shared

Features

Fireplace

Washer/dryer : Private

Wood-burning fireplace

Pool : Shared

Propane/gas home : Gas

Sauna : Private

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Suddenlink

Cable : Suddenlink

DVD player

TV

VCR

Wireless router

Outdoor

Hot tub : Shared

Deck

54 reviews

Sushil R. Sep 2018
Roomd
Miguel C. Jun 2018
The place grate. Really peaceful
Siarah S. Jan 2018
Decent place to hang out at. Not top quality stuff but the price is good so you get what you pay for and it was just fine.
Kate C. Dec 2017
We had such a warm and enjoyable stay here with our family. It had everything we needed such as extra blankets for the kids, a pool table with other extra fun activities and a comfortable and spacious living room area. Thank You!
Vitalina D. Nov 2017
The house was comfortable place to stay, but the pictures of the house are outdated. They show a clean house but in reality the carpets are very stained, the couches are duct taped together, the air hockey table was damaged, and to top it all off, a few crucial lights were burnt out. Will not be returning to this house unfortunately.
Mikhail P. Nov 2017
If space and convenience is more important than luxury then this is it.
Jessica P. Nov 2017
First timers!! & This cabin was amazing ! Our family loved everything inside it was so beautiful . Anyone looking for a cozy spot to hang out with the family during winter this is the way to go . We recently just came back & didn't need chains at all. Look forward to coming back !
Nicholas R. Nov 2017
It was very clean and accommodating. It had everything we need. We especially loved the big bath tub with dual showers and the game room. Our stay was very private with no one around to bother us.
Jeime B. Oct 2017
We enjoyed our stay. There were a few items that need updating in this home. But great location and nice area close to Squaw Valley! We were here to attend an event and this place accommodated our group of 12 guests. The manager Ernest was absolutely amazing to work with! He provided us the necessity that was missing in the cabin! Thank you so much! We would love to see this house with updated furnishings and we will definitely come back!!!
Frank C. Sep 2017
This is the way to go!
Home to travel this way again soon.
Even the deer love this location!!
....... huge 4x4 and his little buddy and girl friend.
Birgitta P. Aug 2017
This home is in a nice location but very dirty, many things broken or not working and require to be fixed. If you use the local facility they advertise through the filter to have a pool/hot tub, it is a shared facility 7 minutes from the house. You must have passes with the owners name and it is still $8.00 per person. No information about this when we arrive and one of the reasons we rented the house. We were very disappointed. Game room is the nicest part of the house. I would not stay here until many of the broken items are fixed. I would also recommend an update to the deck, BBQ (to a gas grill) and cleaner furniture. The deck needs painting.
Alberta S. Jul 2017
This was a nice, big home but the refridgerator wasn't cold enough (called to report but never got a response). The dishwasher was filthy and not working, the trash compactor was broken , but no big deal. The stuffing was coming out of the arms of the couch and couch was uncomfortable. The deck railings were broken with exposed wiring for lights. The deck was rough with nails popping out. There was black mold downstairs. Will not rent again unless we were guaranteed that everything was repaired and everything up to date!
Manager response:
All of these items will be fixed by mid-August. Thank you!
Christopher C. Jul 2017
Overall the cabin was very enjoyable and beautiful, it looked better than the pictures displayed.
Raul P. Apr 2017
Great place to stay town is very nice and plenty of activities for the kids
Daria K. Apr 2017
We enjoyed our stay at Serenity at Tahoe Donner. But there are couple things that owners should pay attention on, little upgrades like TV's, couches and carpet flooring.
We liked that cabin have sauna,but for some reason it has no door. Pool table and bar area was very nice. Overall , it was good experience
Leo M. Apr 2017
I would stay here again. We got a bargain midweek, late spring, at $99 per night and it was definitely worth it.
Dishwasher was broken. Since we had a relatively small group, we made do and we were fine handwashing. But something like that should have been taken care of. It needs to be fixed sooner or later. Why not sooner?
Saul S. Mar 2017
The place has potential, the owner needs to put some money in to update the place. The place looks really nice on the pictures, but as soon as anybody walks in they are going to be disappointed
Zoe Sau W. Feb 2017

I emailed to the cabin team before the trip to confirm if the sauna room and other facilities were working. I was told the sauna room was working well. We all were expecting to relax a bit and planned to use the sauna room. That's the key reason we chose this cabin. However, when we got there, not only did it not function, there is NO DOOR at all. I have never seen a sauna room without a door! Also, The jacuzzi did not open for use due to draught? Do we still have draught right now? I think you shouldn't advertise them at all. It's totally deceiving. And the dish washer was not working. We reported to Jason, one of your property managers, on the first day though.

Also 2 out of 3 toilet bowls (the basement and the third floor ones) were not working properly from time to time. We had to fix them by ourselves.

The most importantly, there was NOT enough hot water for shower at all. For the first night, most of us arrived late, there was no hot water after 2-3 people having shower. Most of us skipped shower. However, last night after a full day of outdoor activities, we went back to the cabin for shower. We had to wait for hot water for an hour each time after a person having shower. We all have babies and young kids. We could not use cold water for shower, especially for kids. I felt so bad that I chose your cabin for the whole group. My family let others to have shower first. So my kids waited til 11pm but still no hot water. They couldn't have shower for the whole stay.

After all, we were all totally disappointed for this stay.
Manager response:
We apologize for the inconveniences and disappointments this guest experienced. The Property Manager is aware and will look into these complaints.
Steve C. Feb 2017
I will try to be brief. Ice Maker and dishwasher broken. Carpet badly stained. We had no T.V. for 2 days until we figured out the cables. T.V. is from the 80's? No Kitchen towels. Had to use bath towels. No access to front door. Snow blocked all access to front door. Had to go through garage and slipped on ice and hurt my back good. There was no steps, just a slope uphill. Garage door does not work. Air hockey game was broken. We fixed it best we could. No cues was in any shape to use. Went to store to buy chalk and new tips. But forgot to buy glue. Recliner chair in living room was broken, the handle was laying on the hearth. No wood for fireplace. And the thermostat had a timer on it, so we were cold late at night and in the morning. The only good thing was the queen bed was comfortable. Upon my return home, I booked another 3 nights at another Vacassa Cabin. I wish I could get my money back for this place. Thank you for listening.
Manager response:
The snow has been cleared from the home, the Property Manager is working on the chair, and an electrician will have the garage repaired by mid-May. Thank you!
Lane B. Jan 2017
Where should I begin? The property is beautiful and well-located. It is also very run-down and in desperate need of updating, attention to guest comfort, and TLC.

Examples:

The house-cleaner left without finishing, so we had to finish the vacuuming, scrub, and wash previous tenant's dirty dishes.

The button that operates the trash compactor is missing, so it can't be used.

The dishwasher was just shoved into the space but not hooked up or installed, so unusable. It tries to fall out onto your legs when you open it.

Four of the six closets and the armoire are padlocked; of the other two closets, one contains a furnace and the other lacks even a single hanger, so don't plan to unpack.

The carpeting needs to come up.

No hand towels or face-cloths were provided.

Neither of the table lamps in the cavernous living room was operational, so reading was impossible.

The handle of the recliner chair was broken off, so the chair doesn't recline.

The kitchen gear was spotty and disorganized. Bring your own spatula and measuring cups.

Plenty of skillets but only one small pot in a house that sleeps 12 people.

The advertised sauna was missing door hinge-pins so couldn't be used, and the door fell onto my grandson when he tried to open it.

The jets in the spa tub have been turned off to conserve water. Great, but then don't advertise the spa-tub.

One toilet was non-operational and the other kept clogging because of low water pressure.

One hand-held shower hose kept coming off.

The triangular billiards ball rack is broken.

Part of the air-hockey game is non-operational.

The fridge ice-maker s broken.

The TVs date from the 1980s. They work, but with 12 people in the house, you need a much bigger screen.

The electric - not gas as advertised - stove is impossible to cook on.

And on and on and on...

Vacasa was responsive when I contacted them about all this, and have promised me a 50% refund. This review is predicated on the expectation that they will make good on that promise. And even with it, the property isn't worth even the 50% of what we paid if this stuff isn't taken care of.

In its current condition, this potentially terrific property shouldn't even be listed on the Vacasa site.
Balaji G. Jan 2017
There is a 10% ramp which ended up being hard for 2-wheel drive with chains. it will be good to post that warning and possible alternate route for the same.
Manager response:
There is a note on the home’s listing page indicating the requirement for four-wheel drive or traction devices. It's always important to check the weather for this area before arriving.
Christian H. Jan 2017
Nearly everything is broken in this house. No one has cared for the property in years.
Manager response:
The Property Manager has received a list of improvements needed that this guest noted and has begun work on them. We greatly appreciate the feedback.
J. R. Dec 2016
We have stayed in multiple other Vacasa rentals before and like renting through Vacasa. We did call Vacasa twice during this stay to report issues and the staff was apologetic and helpful.

First, the positive: good location, large house, big dining table, game room, wi-fi, washer/dryer, dishwasher, flat driveway with garage. The negative: the place is old and dated. The carpet is stained and gross, most of the closets are locked off for the owners but I didn't want to put our clean clothes on the dirty carpets, the heat is hard to regulate (kids woke us up during the night because they were drenched in sweat but the upstairs bedrooms were chilly), upon arrival there were quite a few burned out light bulbs and we literally took them from various locations so that we would have light in the main level bathroom, the garage door broke the first night with our car in the garage so we had to disconnect the garage door and manually open/close it every time we left/arrived which is a hassle after a long drive, a full day of skiing and/or freezing cold weather, the dishwasher falls out of the mounting every time you open it and you have to catch it, one of the kitchen drawers gets stuck so you have to wrestle it every time you need a utensil, the tv and 'boom box' are decades old and way out of date, the cleaning team left multiple loads of towels overstuffed into the dryer so we had to separate them into multiple loads and re-dry all of the prior renters towels and old toast was still sitting in the toaster when we arrived.

Overall, if you are on a budget and looking for a big place to park your large crowd this place will be sufficient. However, I would not stay here again. The house needs some basic repairs, things like clean pot holders and kitchen towels and some updates. However, I will continue to rent places through Vacasa as they have always been easy to work with.
Lacey C. Dec 2016
Great house, couldn't get the downstairs warm enough ever. Needs some updating, but worked for what we needed.
Tyler C. Oct 2016
There's 2 queen beds and 8 bunk beds to accommodate two families and the downstairs game room will be a sure hit with the kids. House was clean with enough essentials in the kitchen.
Tony V. Oct 2016
Cabin was very spacious and cozy. The kids were able to stay entertained with the different amenities that were available within the cabin such as board games, tv, pool table, etc. which kept them entertained after hours.
Scott P. Oct 2016
This place was perfect for our group.
Robert D. Sep 2016
This house was really big and comfortable. It would be better if they had flatscreen TVs and allow visitors to use closets. The carpet should be removed and hard flooring should be put down. The carpet is stained and needs to be taken out. The price was great for a house this size. We would stay there again.
Chuck D. Aug 2016
Cabin was perfect for our large gathering. Plenty of room and lots of fun for the kids
Nancy P. Aug 2016
This is a nice place to stay if you have a lot of people to accommodate. The views are lovely and the house offered a fun game room and plenty of beds. It would have been nice to have furniture out on the deck as well as better supplies in the kitchen, but overall, we had a great time and would recommend this house to anyone looking for a fun place to stay near Donner Lake.
Elham S. Jul 2016
We had a great time!!!
Kenneth W. May 2016
We took our boys and grandson to this home and they really enjoyed it. From the foozball, pool table and air hockey, along with games we had brought, we really enjoyed this home. For the price and accommodations, it was really worth it and we would definitely stay here again. It was close to downtown, the lake and hiking trails. We loved it.
Matt N. May 2016
Large great room for dining and meal preparation and socializing. 10-15 minute drive to most venues in Tahoe-Donner.
Felicia S. Apr 2016
We planned a weekend ski getaway with two other families (three families total) and this house was perfect! It had enough beds and a great living area. The kids LOVED the game room which had an air hockey table, foos ball table, and a pool table. They also got to sleep in the bunk beds. Also, more than enough parking at the house and it was close to Donner (too bad it was closed in early April) and Squaw (20 minutes away). This house has a ton of linen and blankets which was much appreciated. Large mudroom which was perfect for all of our ski gear!

The downside to the house is that the bathroom light was broken so we could only use two of the three bathrooms during the evening time. Also the TVs are not updated and there isn't a Blu-Ray player.

Otherwise, we were all very pleased with this home and it was perfect for a large group to hang out without feeling cramped! Would recommend this home!
Michelle B. Apr 2016
We love this place! Had a GREAT time, PLENTY of supplies and everything we could possibly need. Air hockey table needs a piece fixed but other than that....we had an amazing time in this awesome house! OH, the two people that stayed downstairs seemed to be very hot at night...maybe the furnace radiates heat in those bunk bed rooms? We plan on renting this house again in the future, so yes we highly recommend it!
LAURIE S. Mar 2016
very nice house and extremely comfortable for a large family.
Ericka C. Mar 2016
We really enjoyed our stay. We hope to be able to come back soon!
Amy T. Feb 2016
We had a lot of fun in this house - with two other families with small children. The game room was a lot of fun! The beds were comfortable, and it was in good location for nearby Tahoe Donner Ski Area - which was perfect for families with young children. Sledding was possible nearby as well. The only problem we had was that the dishwasher kept practically falling out of its place in the cabinet. It felt very precarious!
Kate J. Feb 2016
We found this place to be a good value for our group. Everything was as described, large game room made it extra fun! The place has wear and tear, but was perfect for our needs. Our bed was very, very comfy too. A good time was had by all. A bit disappointed that the large Jacuzzi tub proved to be non-functional and watch out for the dishwasher-needs to be properly mounted as it tips out extremely. All in all a good value that met our needs.
Carrie B. Jan 2016
This house was the perfect family getaway, especially for a mixed age group. There were 7 of us aged 19 - 75 (the house sleeps 12) and the house layout was perfect. I think the house is a a 5 bedroom 3 bath but only 4 bedrooms are open to the guests as the 5th is reserved for the owner. The driveway is nice and level and they even had a spot cleared in the garage for us! The walkway is also level with only a couple steps so there is no trouble getting in and out for cars or people.

There was firewood mostly cut, and my son split it a little better, so we built a fire and started unpacking our stuff. The other reviews had said the kitchen was not well stocked so we had brought a lot more than we needed because we found the kitchen to be well stocked. We cooked lots of homemade meals and the only thing we would have needed from home was a pair of tongs (for frying the homemade taco shells) and a meat thermometer (but I didn't expect that at the cabin anyway). I would also recommend bringing some flour for the high altitude cooking directions as we had a few "minor" failures. There were tons of pots and pans and even fairly decent knives. Unlike a previous review, there was a cheese grater. There was even a hand mixer, crockpot, blender and a sandwich press. We really didn't need anything. I do recommend bringing ice or making ice right away when you get there. The ice trays were empty so it was several hours before we were able to have ice. Didn't matter much as there was plenty of snow!

We were able to play all the games in the game room and they were in pretty good shape too. While there is a TV upstairs and downstairs, only the upstairs TV has a DVD player which only worked intermittently. I reported this to the management team so it may get corrected but just in case, you should know that these are old school TV's with no HDMI inputs or anything and a barely working DVD player so if this is your planned entertainment you may want to adjust. We had brought board games and card games and of course went out skiing as well so we were never bored. The local ski resort, while small and for beginner to intermediate, was only $25 with your guest pass.

The cabin has a great furnace for warming up the house. We did have a little trouble regulating the temperature between upstairs and downstairs, particularly in the bedrooms but we just had to open and close vents to balance that out. The cabin could use a couple extra blankets to help when we didn't have the balance quite right.

There's a wonderful mudroom for getting all your parkas and boots out of the way and a jacuzzi tub and dry sauna which we did not get the opportunity to take advantage of since we were having too much fun doing other things.

If I was going to build and stock my own home in the Tahoe area, this is almost exactly what I would have done. It's dated circa 1980's but in great shape. We would love to come back sometime. The house is cozy and inviting, conveniently located, and well appointed without being anything fancy.

We were disappointed in the management company, but it didn't affect our overall stay. We have reported our concerns and hopefully they will be corrected for future guests.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize that the DVD was not working for your stay and that you could have used more blankets. We will get the DVD player taken care of and will look into getting more blankets in the home. We are glad to see that you otherwise enjoyed this fun home!
Jeremaih F. Nov 2015
The cooking utensils are pretty basic, bring a cheesegrater and a sharp knife. Ice machine doesnt work be sure to bring ice.