Virtual Tour
USA California Idyllwild Idyllwild-Pine Cove Listing #4522

Hobbit House - Idyllwild, CA

62 reviews
Max occupancy: 4 2 Queen Bed 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 4 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
25875 Oakwood St, Idyllwild, CA 92549

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible options to change or cancel your trip.

If your check-in date is at least 30 days away, you can reschedule your trip, cancel and receive 100% of the cost as a Future Stay Credit, or cancel for a refund (minus the booking fee).

Expert cleaning

Professional housekeepers clean and stock each home, using an EPA-approved disinfectant.

Local support

Each trip is backed by 24/7 customer support and local teams everywhere we operate.


Many Vacasa homes use smart locks or lockboxes for a smooth, contactless check-in.

Inviting, dog-friendly cottage with a hot tub, wood stove, near the village!

You'll celebrate good food, long tales, and friendship in this dog-friendly Idyllwild vacation rental aptly named Hobbit House! The charming two-level cabin offers cozy amenities like a hot tub and wood stove for an intimate couple's vacation or trip for four.

The lodge is off the beaten path, yet has a central location mid-way between North Circle Drive and Strawberry Creek, offering easy walking access to all the Idyllwild Village restaurants and shops. Outdoor recreation surrounds you, as Idyllwild County Park and Nature Center are less than two miles from you front door, but with a hot dog right at home, you can have a nice night in!

The quaint two-story home has been remodeled from top to bottom, offering social areas on the main floor and private bedrooms upstairs. With two bedrooms and one full bath, the home comfortably sleeps four guests. Bedrooms are bright and sunny, offering two queen-size beds and a private balcony off of one room. The home also has a new whirlpool Jacuzzi tub. And don't forget a doggie bed! Dogs are welcome with an additional nightly pet fee.

Guests will find warmth and comfort in the living room which features a river rock woodstove and plush accent furniture. Watch your favorite romantic movies on the DVD/VCR player, or discover new ones with cable. Part time work can be done thanks to in-house WiFi. Relax with a homemade drink thanks to the wet bar.

At mealtime, the kitchen is fully outfitted with appliances including a stove/oven, microwave, sink, and refrigerator (though please note there is no dishwasher). A pass-through kitchen window will allow you to mix up cocktails for happy hour or cool dishes for your romantic feast. Dine indoors or outside thanks to an entry patio and back deck with grilling appliances.

This home also includes a washer/dryer for your convenience. While you do a load of laundry, hop into the hot tub and soak your worries away!

Beyond your private abode, the region is best known for hiking and climbing. Hike trails off the beaten path at Mount San Jacinto State Park or climb the iconic Tahquitz Rock. Bring your fishing pole and stand-up paddleboards for lazy days at Lake Hemet just nine miles away, or grab trail maps at the visitor's center just steps from home.

Share a meal at Tommy's Kitchen or Gastrognome, or raise your glasses in a toast at Goodtimes Bar & Grill. The city offers a robust arts scene, playing host to international film festivals and theater productions that cover the gamut - from Broadway to Shakespeare.

This quaint Southern California vacation rental is the ideal place to reconnect with those you love, whether it's a shared outdoor experience with friends or a private trip with that someone special. A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling


Wood-burning fireplace

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining








DVD player

Wireless router


On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games


Gas grill : Private



62 reviews

DANTE G. Jan 2020
the town and driving back through Palm Springs was great! All in all a great stay
Kristy A. Jan 2020
Had a great trip and the cabin made it even better! We will be back!
Flora D. Nov 2019
We loved the location. It was walking distance to restaurants, shops, wine tasting, etc. The jacuzzi was private and cozy. The staircase leading up to the bedrooms were a little treacherous since one of us had a fractured foot. However, it was nice to cook ourselves breakfast and not rush the day.
Manager response:
We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you encountered some difficulty with the steps. Please call us next time you book and we will assist in finding a unit more suitable for you.
Roy S. Oct 2019
My stay was all too brief. The house is cozy and welcoming. I wish I could have stayed longer. The house is a short walk from town but very secluded at the same time.
Noelia M. Oct 2019
We really enjoy this house and it is so close to the center of the village. It is fun fun for kids looking for hobbits. Thank you
Melody M. Aug 2019
We loved it! Super close to town so we could hear music playing nearby...super cute decor and not like a lot of tacky looking cabins I've seen. Lol... Loved the area both in town n surrounding nature. It was all lovely. House has everything I could've asked for on my trip. Plenty of towels and soap which was nice :) also host responds quickly and we felt welcome. I'd totally stay there again without a doubt! Thank you very much.
Cane V. Jul 2019
Ana M. Jun 2019
The home is so cute and cozy!! We loved the hot tub and bbq! We kicked back and watched the soccer game!!
Sigrid R. Apr 2019
The hobbit house is a cute and quirky cabin within walking distance if the town. It was clean and bright with lots if towels. The Jacuzzi was great (the neighbors dont want you to run it after 9:30 though) but we never got around to using the sauna. We had a great time and the propert
Victoria T. Apr 2019
Lots of space, unique, and cozy!
Andrew C. Dec 2018
This cabin was awesome. It was plenty of room for our family of three plus our dog. We all felt right at home. Was clean upon check in and we left it just as clean. Awesome warm and functional wood stove. The hottub was super hot, clean and relaxing. Plenty of towels, pillows, blankets and cookware in the kitchen. The sauna was nice although it didnt seem to get to hot. It was alright. The only problem we saw was one of the cushions on the back deck was chewed up or tore up by something. Although we didnt use the deck whilst there except to grill out one night. Also the bathtub constantly ran with water but that might have been so the pipes dont freeze. Plenty of walking space outside for our dog as well. The cabin is in a great location we walked mostly everywhere except once when we went up the mountain for a long hike. Also the cabin is strange and a little weirdly constructed it was still fun to live in for Christmas. For a bonus it snowed on Christmas day for us that left us in a magical vacay!! We will be back and have already had friends ask about where we stayed. We will be passing on the info. Thank you very much. Drew and Rachel Cheatum
Ashley P. Dec 2018
My girlfriend and I stayed the weekend here and it was so cute! The house has a jacuzzi that is already heated when you get there. A little note that Le Petite Chateau is on the same lot we didn’t know this before we came. But we had a great time! Such a cute and cozy cabin
Andrew W. Nov 2018
We loved our time here! So romantic. Beautiful unique wood details everywhere. Decks everywhere. An amazing hot tub with Jets that felt like a full body massage. Very clean. Very artsy and whimsical. Great people to rent from who made things very easy and inviting. Quiet and surrounded by woods. Great location to walk into town or walk up to section I love by strawberry Creek to Idyology for great dinner, drinks, and live chill local music. Celebrated our wedding anniversary in a perfect second honeymoon here!
Marisol D. Oct 2018
location, location, location... home was cozy and clean. Hot tub was HUGE, jets strong, tub clean and ready to use. Being able to bring our fur baby's BONUS. We will definitely be back!
Lisa D. Sep 2018
We like to visit Idyllwild whenever we feel the need for a weekend getaway. We have stayed at several places in town, and this is now are go to favorite. The place was clean, doggy friendly without a hint of dog smells, walking distance to everything in town, and had everything we needed for the 2 nights we were there.
Sarah L. Sep 2018
The house is soooo charming, has everything you need and a sauna room and hot tub! Very clean and bright.
Matthew S. Sep 2018
Great, clean cabin to stay in and super close to town. Walkable to everything. This is our second year in a row staying here for Labor Day weekend. Highly recommended
Katherine R. Jul 2018
Everything was clean and there was jazz music playing upon our arrival! There are NO spices and not a lot of cooking necessities... if you are planning to cook, make sure to come prepared with some of your own supplies! Great place and hot tub. Loved our stay!
Jennifer I. Apr 2018
This was a cute little house within easy walking distance to downtown Idyllwild. As you can tell from the photos and previous reviews, the house clearly was designed by a crafty and talented woodworker, but not by an architect.

I took off a star because there were ants all over the kitchen, and the hot tub was so full of chemicals that it was rendered pretty much useless for my family. Maybe fine for adults, I was also a little concerned about the sloping floor under the kitchen table, which happens to sit right above the sauna. How long before those floorboards mold through and give out completely? Yikes!
Caitlin G. Apr 2018
This place was perfect for us. You can't beat the location, everything you may need is within walking distance, and the neighborhood is tucked back on a side street so it's nice and quiet. if you're a larger person, or like to tie one on at the pub, I would be careful with the spiral staircase, it's sturdy, but the couch might be a better option. The house is surprisingly spacious, I thought it would be very cookie cutter and chopped up from the photos, but we were surprised to find it quite roomy. We enjoyed the Hobbit House, and hope you will too.
Lino S. Mar 2018
Great time beautiful weather
Lanita J. Mar 2018
Go! Enjoy!
DAWN F. Mar 2018
Everything was great!!!
Leonard Z. Mar 2018
The spiral staircase was difficult to climb, other than that it was really great, nice and quite location. Very cozy.
Sara M. Feb 2018
Loved the location. Everything is within walking distance. The home is cozy. Bring firewood and a bathing suit!
Jonathan H. Feb 2018
We had an incredible time in this picturesque cabin that was full of charming details. We loved the walking distance to restaurants and shops as well as the ammeneties of the cabin such as the pot belly stove and the hot tub! Great neighborhood and very comfortable clean cabin!
Aaron L. Jan 2018
Perfect for our small family and dog. The neighborhood was safe to walk through and the town was very close and had everything we needed. There were even a few really nice restaurants there. We were a little under weather so we didn’t go on any major hikes but there are plenty very close.
Blan C. Nov 2017
Great location, easy walk to village. Very clean, comes with everything.
David S. Nov 2017
Home is situated within very reasonable distance to shops, activities, restaurants and grocery. We didn't even use our car during our whole weeks stay.
Jeffrey W. Oct 2017
Nickolas D. Oct 2017
Was excellent location close to downtown. All shops eateries within walking distance
Jason B. Sep 2017
This cool little cabin is tucked away yet still walking distance to town. Very clean, well furnished and a cool setup. I loved the sauna and private jacuzzi. The gas BBQ was great and the wood-burning oven kept us plenty warm! I would definitely recommend this cabin to others.
Briana A. Jul 2017
Quiet, comfortable, clean. No AC, dirty jacuzzi
Manager response:
We apologize if the hot tub was dirty and will be sure to get that taken care of!
Holly C. Jul 2017
My new husband and his son decided to take an impromptu trip to California for Legoland and other activities. Because it was so last minute, we did not have time to properly reserve a place but the process for this place was awesome and fast. It was relatively easy to find once you get a feel for Idyllwild haha it is setup in a unique way due to the landscape but that's part of its charm. We really enjoyed it here. It was a ways off the path from Legoland but definitely a lovely way to finish out crazy busy days with the quiet and tranquil location of the Hobbit House.
D. F. Jun 2017
Like other reviews, the location of the Hobbit House is perfect. Just a quick walk to downtown, and a short drive to the nature center and Lake Hemet.
The property itself is a bit bizarre, but fun. I would definitely make sure you arrive during the day to get acquainted with the house. We made the mistake of arriving at night, and the angles of the house with all it's quirky spaces and possible hiding places made us a bit uneasy. Yes, this just proves we've been in the city too long and needed this weekend away, but non the less we were happy to survive the fist night. We were much more comfortable once we saw it in the light of day.
Also a note, if you are traveling with any young children this is not the place for you. The stairs are steep, and even if you block them off there are a million other ways for them to fall off of the second floor
Jeannine D. May 2017
We recently had the pleasure of staying in the Hobbit House. It is a darling house with tons of potential ... as we all know, potential can be a dirty word.

First the good: The house is in a great location, walkable to town for great food, entertainment, and shopping. You can even sit on the back porch and listen to the music being played at Ferro's, which makes for a nice transition from afternoon to evening.

Room for Improvement: It would seem that the owners have turned the management of this house over to a management company, as it doesn't appear to have the love and care that an owner of a house like would provide. It was dusty, had cobwebs, the upstairs bathroom floor was sticky (gross), the stairs to the sauna had a lot of cobwebs and felt like it hadn't been entered in quite awhile, the hot tub wasn't visibly dirty but it smelled funny so we chose to not use it.

From a maintenance perspective, there are shingles missing or broken that need replaced and there are numerous nail heads starting to pop out that need fixed. Nothing is egregious, just yet, but all are things that could potentially be a problem if left unattended.

While it's not a complaint, it is interesting to note that the fireplace isn't really a fireplace but a wood burning stove.
Manager response:
The Property Manager and housekeeping have completed a deep clean on the home. We apologize for the areas of oversight this guest experienced. The owner will be fixing the roof this month, and we have two technicians that service the hot tub so it is in good, clean condition for our guests. Thank you!
Tisha K. Apr 2017
Great place to get away quiet Town closes down early just a relaxing vacation just make sure to bring all groceries alcohol and what not you would need before you get up there because the town does close early and things are kind of overpriced so shop down the hill before you get up there
Tobin S. Feb 2017
Thank you. Overall, a very nice place and easy rental experience.
Wayne B. Jan 2017
It doesn't feel like a home away from home.
Jacob O. Dec 2016
Very nice cabin, kind of a weird design, but very cool none the less. Had a little trouble getting the hot tub going but it eventually worked great. Area is quiet but very close to main town area. Over all a nice place to stay, would definitely stay in again.
Brad P. Nov 2016
Great little funky weekend get-a-way spot. Walking distance to downtown. Definitely has the cabin feel, everything creeks and smells woodsy. Loved the old school fireplace and hot tub. It worked for us because our baby is not mobile yet, but if you have a little one that crawls or walks, those spiral staircase are a little sketchy.
Robert B. Nov 2016
Our weekend could have been a much better experience if a) the cabin had been clean when we arrived or b) management had been more responsive in resolving the situation.

The cabin was the perfect size for a couple looking for a weekend getaway and had all the amenities you would need. The area wasn't very private as it's basically a neighborhood with a few trees between houses, but it is a short walk to the town center which was worth it. Overall it's a good place that could have been much more enjoyable with proper management.

When we arrived on Friday afternoon we found the hot tub was dirty. It contained leaves, pine needles, and other debris and smelled strangely. There were bags of trash on the porch, and the furniture was dusty. I promptly contacted the local manager who had sent an arrival email stating to let him know if anything was unsatisfactory when we arrived. He promised to contact the hot tub guy and get back to me as to when it would be cleaned. I never heard back from him so I called again Saturday mid-day. He then promised to refund the $25.00 hot tub fee regardless of when the maintenance guy made it out to the property. The maintenance guy never came and neither did the refund even after multiple follow-up emails from myself that received no responses and several weeks of waiting.

There is also a cleaning fee of $110, yet the departure instructions requested that we clean the dishes, wash the bed linens and towels, and take out the trash. All this and the cabin already wasn't clean when we arrived, so I doubt much of the $110 actually goes to paying housekeepers.

Overall I wouldn't recommend this cabin or any Vacasa listings in Idyllwild. There are better deals with better management to be had. I do not plan to use this service again.
Manager response:
We sincerely apologize that this guest did not have a better experience with us. It is rare that a missed clean like this happens, and we understand that it's frustrating when it does. The spa is in perfect condition now. The guest has been refunded for their inconveniences.
William K. Oct 2016
This house is in a good location and within easy walking distance to the center of town. The bad news is upon our arrival the hot tub was less than half full and questionable in cleanliness. We had to fill the tub our selves and wait for the temp to rise to even use it the first night. Called the contact / management number but no one returned my calls or came over to help. No soap, Shampoo etc as promised. As a side note: if you are over six feet tall this may not be the house for you with the low ceilings, doors upstairs and a spiral staircase that makes you duck every time you go upstairs to the bedrooms.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see that the hot tub was not ready for this stay; it is currently functioning. Soaps and shampoos are provided under the sink. Thanks!
James K. Oct 2016
It was nice to get out of the city and into the mountains and fresh air.
Mark M. Sep 2016
My husband and I couldn't of ask for a more peaceful weekend. The house as very clean , it is in a perfect location, only walking distance from the little town . Our over all experience was defiantly 5 stars .
Thomas S. Aug 2016
Had a very pleasant stay.
Nancy M. Aug 2016
We had a fun time in this quirky little house. Loved the location -
Shannon A. Jul 2016
I would definitely stay there again. You may want to dust and wipe down the kitchen. The location makes this place for me.
Carlos M. Jul 2016
Cute place in a beautiful surrounding.
Tracey F. Jun 2016
It was a great location.
Melissa R. May 2016
The Hobbit House is in a great location, walking distance to the main town in Idyllwild. The house was also very clean and well kept, and we liked the fact that we could bring our dog. The only negative we found was that the stairs to the bedrooms are very steep...we brought our dog with us and she couldn't get up or down them by herself. Also there is a large locked room off of the main living area that cannot be accessed which seemed a little strange.
Meghan R. Apr 2016
Hobbit house is a little weird, but has it's charm. It's in walking distance to the town so that is great. If it wasn't raining all weekend we would have been able to enjoy the town better, but we brought our dog so our options were limited. It still ended up being a perfect lazy weekend.
Lino S. Mar 2016
Had a really great time already planing to come back soon
Violeta M. Mar 2016
My boyfriend and I decided to have a weekend getaway and chose this house last minute. The house it adorable! It is an older house, fyi, but that was its charm. The furnishing was new, and the couch comfy. Everything was super neat and clean, no old house smells. We were super pleased with its charm, its oldschool fireplace, the pretty views, and the hobbitlike feel of the house.

It was a walk from town, which was amazing!
David P. Feb 2016
Cute little home. Perfect location for walking to town.
Mark M. Jan 2016
Nice place within walking distance of town. This 2 BR was just right for 2 adults/2 kids. Would definitely stay here again.
Jessica C. Dec 2015
Great location! Only a short walk from the center of town. Clean and cute! However the house is COLD without the fireplace so plan on using it! Also wiring issues with the lower level. Can't plug in much without the breaker popping. The living room only has one couch which makes for limited seating/lounging. The house is also a bit strange in design, a lot of "useless" space taken up by what I think was a spa room at some point. Other than that, it was a good time .